Current day:
Bont
Libba
Cripps
Heeney
Toby Greene
Rowell

I never saw some of those names. But the ones in bold I remember liking a lot as a young kid following footy.

Would have loved to have seen Greening.
You must have seen Cyril Rioli? But yeah Johnny Greening was the one.

Too early for me to see him play - but where does Darren Millane sit in this discussion?

Early tragedy seems to make someone universally beloved - or, at least, untouchable - but I'm not sure exactly where Millane sits, given his 'scallywag' reputation and the fact he played for Collingwood.

Jason McCartney and Anthony Stevens, on the other hand...
The love for Dazzler was pretty much one sided I reckon. We loved him but other teams and their supporters not so much. Sorta like Derm....

I know I'm a Hawk, but I would have thought Peter Knights would be right up there. Scrupulously fair, brilliant and spectacular player. Never heard anyone say a bad word about him, and don't expect to.

I'm in agreement, loved watching Knights play (his duels with Vanda were legendary) but I do know quite a few Don's supporters who don't and never did share that opinion.

Too early for me to see him play - but where does Darren Millane sit in this discussion?

Early tragedy seems to make someone universally beloved - or, at least, untouchable - but I'm not sure exactly where Millane sits, given his 'scallywag' reputation and the fact he played for Collingwood.

Jason McCartney and Anthony Stevens, on the other hand...
They all made jokes about him when he died, scumbags

To be fair, many many people have made many, many jokes about the recently deceased when they've barely hit the ground.

Challenger disaster jokes. Michael Jackson. Princess Diana. Michael Hutchence. List goes on...
People were telling those jokes to his TEAM MATES

It was a disgusting time

People were telling those jokes to his TEAM MATES

It was a disgusting time
Look, I don't condone speaking insensitively of the dead to their loved ones.

But there is a grey area more broadly in society, in so far as that many of us - indeed, most of us - make jokes about the recently-deceased, even those who died in vastly more tragic circumstances than Millane.

As The Chaser's Eulogy Song and the surrounding furore illustrated, there's a very messy and difficult to tread line around recent celebrity death and national humour.

There’s plenty of Hawks players I genuinely like (plenty I dislike too - but that goes for all sides). Just can’t stand the team.
Selwood was a very good nomination earlier. Exempelary person off-field and absolute warrior for Geel. Not many other Cats players i can nominate however over the years. Bartel i didn't mind, but otherwise it's more so the players i dont hate, like Mitch Duncan, or, bizzarely Dangerfield and Hawkins who are both fine by me.

I liked Rough obviously, Hodge, Gunston, Breust, had no problem with Buddy, Lewis, Gibson.

Good hard players without any real bullshit in them

For current players, Rowell and Anderson get my vote. Both absolute guns and both seem like decent people, and love their story coming together through the ranks

Josh Dunkley comes across as a really likable footballer

Royal Cazaly seems to have been a very popular man, feted far above his ability (which was considerable.

These days basketball kids say Kobe, when I was a lad we'd yell Jezza! Even the Pie kids.

Before all back in the 20s the kids said Up there Cazaly.

The love for Dazzler was pretty much one sided I reckon. We loved him but other teams and their supporters not so much. Sorta like Derm....
Spot on, heart and soul player who used violence effectively. Strongly disliked by the opposition, but they were mostly generous when he died.

Is there any Hawks bias in saying Jai Newcombe??

Matt Rowell and Touk Miller are two
who instantly come to mind.

Sam Docherty.

Bont for sure.

Harry Sheezel seems incredibly likeable. The only knocks he gets are that his 40 disposals aren't damaging enough, but generally it's the team being blamed more than himself.

Ben Cunnington was always a ripper as well.

Is there any Hawks bias in saying Jai Newcombe??

Matt Rowell and Touk Miller are two
who instantly come to mind.

Sam Docherty.

Bont for sure.

Harry Sheezel seems incredibly likeable. The only knocks he gets are that his 40 disposals aren't damaging enough, but generally it's the team being blamed more than himself.

Ben Cunnington was always a ripper as well.
Yep Bontempelli is awesome