Mothers' Day?

I guess if we want to cultivate that whole blue rinse brigade cliche. I'd rather we staked out a proper public holiday. No reason why we couldn't go ANZAC day with the weagles, alternating home ground year for year. Make it more of a national celebration than just a Melbourne based thing. Or Good Friday as someone else said.

Richmond have their Dreamtime at the 'G game.

I do agree that we should have a marquee game, but I can't really think of any teams we have huge rivalries with apart from Port. Mid 2000's was West Coast, but that seems to have diminished recently. As for Hawthorn, I feel like we see it as a rivalry but they have bigger Victorian teams to care about than us. Reminds me of my high school, down the road was one of the biggest, richest private schools in Adelaide, we were a small (in comparison) private school who always tried to build up this huge rivalry and said school down the road took it as a regular game... they had bigger schools to have rivalries with.

This is the one i reckon. I remember posting something about it years ago.

We are both the biggest clubs outside of Victoria, and the biggest clubs in the non-vic traditional football states.

I dont know when the right occasion is, but i think we should be going out of our way to promote a rivalry and regular marquee game with the Eagles. Promote it as the biggest game outside of the MCG, talk up how much better we both are than the Power and Dockers (this has the added benefit of annoying them down the road), both teams have birds as logo's, i dont know but there must be something that can be done to talk the game up.

It could work, and i think it's the only one that realistically has some chance of having any significance.

Plus it would dimish the likelihood of always playing at Subiaco in the final round:rolleyes: .

I don't like Mothers Day for the game though, i just think it's a dead timeslot no matter what.

We are both the biggest clubs outside of Victoria, and the biggest clubs in the non-vic traditional football states.

I dont know when the right occasion is, but i think we should be going out of our way to promote a rivalry and regular marquee game with the Eagles. Promote it as the biggest game outside of the MCG, talk up how much better we both are than the Power and Dockers (this has the added benefit of annoying them down the road), both teams have birds as logo's, i dont know but there must be something that can be done to talk the game up.

It could work, and i think it's the only one that realistically has some chance of having any significance.

Plus it would dimish the likelihood of always playing at Subiaco in the final round:rolleyes: .

I don't like Mothers Day for the game though, i just think it's a dead timeslot no matter what.

Absolutely, I've always seen it as a natural avenue to have a marquee match up with west coast. It just makes perfect sense. Would give the comp as a whole a more national feel as well, as opposed to just a series of local derbies tacked onto the VFL. Could be huge

I think this blew up in the AFL's face on Sunday. They thought they would burn the worst timeslot of the year on a game that wasn't going to pull a decent crowd anyway instead of hurting the attendance elsewhere, and that people would just say 'oh well, it's GWS v Adelaide' and it would go unnoticed. Ultimately, they really exposed their lovechild to some fairly harsh criticism and in turn raised questions about why they don't have a better plan for Mother's day, which serves them right.
Good points. The AFL have made a dog's breakfast of the whole GWS push. They play early season "home" games down here in Canberra, but no game at Skoda until they are already a basket case. Then give them the worst timeslot in the season to "launch" their home games.
Skoda is actually a pretty good stadium, but it was embarrassing how empty the whole place was.

Normally correct although the intention is to celebrate your own mother specifically, as opposed to being a singular holiday celebrating all mothers.
But we celebrate our own mother as a collective. I'm reasonably sure that wave of Hardly Normal ads over the last 7 days advertising Vacuum Cleaners that also make coffee weren't directed just at me and my ma.

Back on topic, male strippers dispensing chocolates over the boundary fence at half time may be worth a bash.

I think this blew up in the AFL's face on Sunday. They thought they would burn the worst timeslot of the year on a game that wasn't going to pull a decent crowd anyway instead of hurting the attendance elsewhere, and that people would just say 'oh well, it's GWS v Adelaide' and it would go unnoticed. Ultimately, they really exposed their lovechild to some fairly harsh criticism and in turn raised questions about why they don't have a better plan for Mother's day, which serves them right.
A very good point :thumbsu:

it doesn't need to be - that is a myth that needs squashing - people still rock up to the Queens Birthday game don't they?

it needs to be a well marketed and targeted games with two teams that have a solid following and are capable of drawing non core fans

Take Crows v Richmond

at the MCG there will be a minimum of 60k there, purely on Richmond fans and ex pat Crows fans

At the AO it will be sold out, easily.

once the games gets a name and a following it will build, I mean really, wtf do non CFC and EFC fans go to ANZAC day? the contests aren't that consistent but fans have been sucked into the gimmick and bullshit forced down their throat by the AFL.

The AFC need to grow a set of balls and take a risk.....as long as we don't put any dodgy clauses in of course :D
Unless the Queen is your mother that doesn't hold any water.
Agree there needs to be better marketing. Crows and a bigger Melbourne club on Sunday is another good idea. Teams like North, Bulldogs, Suns, GWS, Melbourne and even Port should not play on Mothers Day.
It is the one day of the year that footy mad blokes should be giving their better halves their full attention. The AFL knows that and hence the crapola fixturing. I mean Crows game at lunch time on Mothers Day...make it mid afternoon.

Great concept.

I thought it was a bit of a slap in the face that we got the Mothers Day game along with Gold Coast / GWS / Melbourne.

Anyother big club would have thrown a tantrum (and rightly so) to be given such a crap timeslot.

I do, however think that our best option would be trying to make something of a Good Friday blockbuster. Would be ideal if we could set it up as our own. Its criminal that there is no footy on that day.

Think as far as who we target - WCE and Richmond are the two best suggested on this board.

Get on the front foot I reckon.

Embrace it, make it an annual thing, sound out another (good) club to get on board with it, make it well known that we're trying to make a traditionally poor timeslot a winner.

Most importantly be seen as a club that is progressive and is pro-active, and not one that sits there and cops a shitty timeslot and fixture, among other things.

Good points. The AFL have made a dog's breakfast of the whole GWS push. They play early season "home" games down here in Canberra, but no game at Skoda until they are already a basket case. Then give them the worst timeslot in the season to "launch" their home games.
Skoda is actually a pretty good stadium, but it was embarrassing how empty the whole place was.
There are reasons why they haven't played at the Showgrounds until now.

Firstly, Canberra gets bitterly cold in winter. I suspect the AFL schedules games here in autumn rather than winter in order to avoid exposing the players to the extreme cold weather as much as possible.

Secondly, the Showgrounds are used for the Royal Easter Show, which runs for 2 weeks, starting at Easter. Having never been to the Sydney Show, I'm not sure what events they host at the stadium, but I wouldn't be surprised if the ground needs a week or two afterwards for them to rehabilitate the surface, fixing damage done by the show events.

It's far from ideal for the Traffic Cones.. but they knew these conditions when they signed on to play their home games at the stadium.

i don't know if i've missed the point and I think it's a great idea, but where would the actual footy tickets come from. if i'm a season ticket holder and wanted to take mum, how would I get her a seat next to me. add to that by a brother and a couple of sisters who may want to share the day as well, who may not be ticket-holders, how do they get in. there's a lot of games where it would work and be fantastic, but I would have thought one of our games against a high-drawing opponent would make it a fairly significant challenge.

feathers.jpg

i don't know if i've missed the point and I think it's a great idea, but where would the actual footy tickets come from. if i'm a season ticket holder and wanted to take mum, how would I get her a seat next to me. add to that by a brother and a couple of sisters who may want to share the day as well, who may not be ticket-holders, how do they get in. there's a lot of games where it would work and be fantastic, but I would have thought one of our games against a high-drawing opponent would make it a fairly significant challenge.
I don't know the ins and outs of all the new memberships but most tickets are transferable. Unless you're going to the footy by yourself mum should be able to come along - just mum instead of dad, brother, sister, mate... some sacrificial lamb. Are there guest passes available for members as well? Wouldn't be too hard. I don't think we'd ever burst AO open on a Mother's Day lunchtime game. I'm sure if a member could purchase a "plus one" we wouldn't run out of space.

Reserved seat season ticket holders would be a bit harder admittedly. That's what our A Grade bunch of administrators are for, logistics like this.

General admission is pretty easy - just have some sort of family ticket option.

Plus the mums who already have tickets who don't come usually on Mothers day and drag all the others away with them for lunch

I don't know the ins and outs of all the new memberships but most tickets are transferable. Unless you're going to the footy by yourself mum should be able to come along - just mum instead of dad, brother, sister, mate... some sacrificial lamb. Are there guest passes available for members as well? Wouldn't be too hard. I don't think we'd ever burst AO open on a Mother's Day lunchtime game. I'm sure if a member could purchase a "plus one" we wouldn't run out of space.

Reserved seat season ticket holders would be a bit harder admittedly. That's what our A Grade bunch of administrators are for, logistics like this.

General admission is pretty easy - just have some sort of family ticket option.

Plus the mums who already have tickets who don't come usually on Mothers day and drag all the others away with them for lunch

Sorry Carl, I've been drinking, is the ticketing thing an issue bro? It's a great idea, and I know it's not your job, but you're smart enough to put an adequate project plan in place if you ate serious about this. Jen likes to tell us that trigg & co are open to good ideas. This is one, but you're better than they are to put it together.

Again, I'm drunk.

Like the idea of us having our own day, Good Friday would be my choice (although watch Port fans expect to have it on rotation just because..). Mothers Day seems a bit pointless, It would be like permanently accepting a crap time slot and then having to spend a heap of money promoting it only to have at best just another average crowd instead of a low crowd.

Good Friday I feel would be more chance of turning it into a must attend blockbuster.

I'm sure someone has already said it but why don't we schedule all games for Thursday, Friday, Saturday,Monday and have sunday off. Have 1 on Thursday night, 2 on Friday night, 5 on Sat and 1 on Monday night. I know Monday night footy has never taken off here but maybe a game up in Brisbane against another good side like Geelong or Melb would draw a crowd. Leaves Sunday free to spend with family as footy has never worked on Mothers Day.