95 Solid Rock - Goanna
96 Band Of Gold - Freda Payne
97 Am I Ever Going To See Your Face Again - The Angels
98 More Than A Feeling - Boston
99 Magic - Pilot
100 Rain - The Beatles

Feel free to add your patronising critique below...:eek:

Ripper

Pretty much spot on, although I would have some in different order, number 1 for me would be Mull Of Kintyre, * I hate that song, that is when I stopped listening to any of his music, he lost all credibility with that abomination. :mad:

14 Department of Youth - Alice Cooper, sorry can never find fault with his stuff, guess I am biased.

78 Turn the Page - Jon English, I am a big fan of his, love his voice & have to admit I really like that song.

87 Go Your Own Way - Fleetwood Mac, once again big fan & enjoy all their songs.

56 It's all over Now Baby Blue - Graham Bonnet, have to agree that was a crap version, the best version of this song I have heard was recorded by "The Groop" an Aussie band late 60's, their lead singer Ronnie Charles (Boromeo), had an incredible voice for an 18 year old, they also did the best version of a Bo Diddley song, "Who Do You Love".

There is one you might have missed out, but would have to be in the top ten worst songs, "Boom Sha La" Hans Poulsen, what a shocker. :eek: mind you I have got that album, I just skip over that track. :eek:

ROFLMAO

I hope you are kidding Ripper, I thought they were your worst. :eek: :eek:

Am surprised there haven't been more responses, maybe because the other people realised they were your favs & didn't want to upset you. :D

Well, since I stole your thunder, I might as well critique :)

1 The Unguarded Moment - The Church - Out and out classic - brilliant song.

2 I Had Forgotten You - Paul Kelly and the Messengers - Wouldn't have made my top 50 Paul Kelly songs, but I still like it. I'm assuming special personal signifance for this to be so high.

3 Mississippi - Pussycat - Dunno it.

4 Could You Ever Love Me Again - Gary and Dave - Ditto.

5 Eloise - Barry Ryan - That'd be three in a row.

6 Goodbye To Love - Carpenters - Fair, perhaps my favourite Carpenters song, but not a fan generally.

7 I'll Meet You Halfway - The Partridge Family - Dear me.

8 Never Can Say Goodbye - Gloria Gaynor - Good pop song, not to my tastes, but has merit.

9 Substitute - Clout - Is this a Who cover? If so, I like the song.

10 My Coo-Ca-Choo - Alvin Stardust - Can't say I know the tune, but the artist (!) doesn't inspire confidence.

11 You're My World - Cilla Black - Don't Know It.

12 If I Fell - The Beatles - Absolute pop masterpiece. Magnificent song.

13 Golden Miles - Healing Force - Dunno it.

14 Department of Youth - Alice Cooper - I preferred Dr Harry Cooper's version. Dodgy song.

15 This Time - Dragon - Where's Young Years? Now that's a good Dragon song.

16 Magic Woman Touch - The Hollies - Decent ditty.

17 I Saw Her Again - The Mamas and the Papas - Good song for the genre - again, not to my tastes, but solid.

18 Love Really Hurts Without You - Billy Ocean - CLASSIC! How good is the key change into the final chorus? Love your (early) work Billy!

19 Your Mother Should Know - The Beatles - 250 odd songs, and you put that in. How about Mr Moonlight? How about You Know My Name, Look Up My Number? How about Revolution 9? Can you tell I'm upset. I love Paul, but that's a wet, soppy throw away with far too many da-da-dahs in it. Not good.

20 Shout To The Top - Style Council - Goes alright.

21 Baby's In Back - The Beatles - Better! Good song - you like the harmonies, don't you Rip.

22 Fox On The Run - Sweet - I have a mate who loves this song. He's also a big W.A.S.P. fan, and counts Something Happened On The Way To Heaven by Phil Collins amongst his all-time favourites. I think that says it all really.

23 39 - Queen - Don't know it.

24 That’s Me - Abba - Interesting choice. I was hoping for When I Kissed The Teacher, but it's early days yet and it might get a run later.

25 Love Is Blue - Paul Mauriat - Dunno it.

26 The Unforgettable Fire - U2 - Not my favourite, but still good.

27 I Think I’m Gonna Fall (In Love) - Supercharge - Dunno it (judging from the title, a good thing).

28 Kiss And Say Goodbye - The Manhattans - Dunno it.

29 Rose Of Cimarron - Poco - Dunno it.

30 Midnight Confession - Grass Roots - Dunno it.

31 Doctor’s Orders - Carol Douglas - Dunno it.

32 Feels Like I’m In Love - Kelly Marie - Wish I didn't know it.

33 Classical Gas - Mason Williams - Bah! Average.

34 Don’t Pull Your Love - Hamilton, Joe Frank & Reynolds - No. Just no.

35 You Won’t Find Another Fool Like Me - The New Seekers - Did you read this back before you submitted it? I don't know whether you noticed, but you put a New Seekers song in.

36 Change In Mood - Kids In The Kitchen - YES! Bloody good band they were, cop far too much grief.

37 Black Is Black - La Belle Epoque - Time to switch off Gold FM now Rip.

38 We’re All Alone - Rita Coolidge - Dunno it.

39 Going About My Father’s Business - Paul Kelly and the Coloured Girls - Another interesting PK outing. Somebody's Forgetting Somebody is better.

40 Winter In America - Doug Ashdown - Dunno it.

41 Cold As Ice - Foreigner - Hahahaha! Daggy but catchy - sums you up beautifully.

42 Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree - Dawn - Oh dear. We used to have this song on a 45 when we were kids. It used to get a run with Ernie, The Fastest Milkman In The West by Benny Hill and Funny Face by Donna Fargo. I think we had it in better company.

43 Paloma Blanca - George Baker Selection - Dunno it.

44 Rainy Days and Mondays - Carpenters - Nah - where's Close To You - much better.

45 Poor Boy - Split Enz - That's the stuff - much better!

46 From St. Kilda To Kings Cross - Paul Kelly and the Messengers - Yes, he's on a hattrick!

47 Kiss You All Over - Exile - ... and he's been smashed to the boundary for four.

48 Who Loves You - Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons - Dunno it.

49 Cruel To Be Kind - Nick Lowe - I said turn Gold FM off!

50 Atomic - Blondie - Personal problems with Blondie - can't stand them. Surely I'm not the only person in the world who thinks Deborah Harry flat out can't sing a note.

51 Take A Chance On Me - Abba - Excellent. A brilliantly written, constructed and performed pop masterpiece.

52 I Feel Fine - The Beatles - Great riff, perhaps the first song to showcase their later brilliance. Love it.

53 I Get A Little Sentimental Over You - The New Seekers - That's two. That's two too many.

54 Mull Of Kintyre - Wings - ARGH! Rubbish!

55 Precious To Me - Phil Seymour - Dunno it.

56 It’s All Over Now Baby Blue - Graham Bonnet - *sheepishly* I sorta, kinda like that.

57 Let Me Be There - Olivia Newton John - *still sheepishly* yeah, I sorta kinda like that too. Dammit Rip, you're turning me into a dag!

58 A Little Bit More - Dr. Hook - Much better. Can't stand it.

59 Ego (Is Not A Dirty Word) - Skyhooks - I think Skyhooks were shockingly overrated. I don't really like anything they did, and Ego is right there with Horror Movie as a dated, nothing song.

60 Rush - Big Audio Dynamite - Top stuff - that'd me in my top 100.

61 The Winner Takes It All - Abba - This would go close too. Brilliant.

62 Invisible Me - Paul Kelly and the Messengers - Likewise.

63 Angeleyes - Abba - Don't know it, but my wife assures me that it's good. Of course it's good, it's ABBA.

64 The Longest Time - Billy Joel - More harmonising. It's good, but he's done better.

65 If You Love Me (Let Me Know) - Olivia Newton John - Don't care much for this one.

66 Sugar Baby Love - The Rubettes - Dunno it, but it seems like a dodgy 60s outfit who I wouldn't pass water over. Not that I'm dismissing it out of hand ;)

67 Looking For An Echo - Ol’55 - Dunno it, but Frankie J Holden is involved, which gets it off on the wrong foot.

68 Nowhere Man - The Beatles - Good song, but again not featuring in my top whatever of the Fabs.

69 Dancing Queen - Abba - Hate it - don't care if I never hear it again. Their worst well known song by miles.

70 All My Friends Are Getting Married - Skyhooks - See previous Skyhooks comment.

71 S.O.S. - Abba - Pretty darn good.

72 I'm A Loser - The Beatles - Great.

73 Well Hello - Yellowstone & Voice - Dunno it.

74 Rosanna - Toto - Surely Hold The Line goes in first? Still, pretty good. She must have done the job in the sack ol' Arquette.

75 Leaps and Bounds - Paul Kelly and the Coloured Girls - That's "our song" - my wife and I. Excellent tune.

76 I Will Survive - Gloria Gaynor - Yeah, it's alright for an over-exposed, over-played, over-blown man bash.

77 Rock The Casbah - The Clash - Speaking of an over-exposed song - why do we hear this so much more often than London Calling, amongst others?

78 Turn The Page - Jon English - Dunno it. Anything like the All Together Now theme?

79 Killer Queen - Queen - Average.

80 When Will I See You Again - The Three Degrees - I got a bit excited, the line finished at "When Will I ... " and I thought Bros were getting involved in the play. No such luck. Dunno it.

81 Don’t Go Breaking My Heart - Elton John and Kiki Dee - Oh for goodness' sake! Pap! Rubbish! Elton - how about I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues or I Don't Want To Go On With You Like That?

82 Forever Now - Cold Chisel - Absolute pop masterpiece.

83 You're Going To Lose That Girl - The Beatles - Excellent song, for some reason ignored by Gold FM. Another good key change.

84 Darktown Strutters Ball - Ted Mulry Gang - There should be a mercy rule invoked somewhere around here.

85 Xanadu - Olivia Newton John & ELO - ... because we're really getting into the dregs. Can I have my say on Jeff Lynne? SHOOT HIM! SHOOT HIM NOW! What the intercourse was he doing in the Wilburies?

86 Girls Talk - Dave Edmunds - Pap.

87 Go Your Own Way - Fleetwood Mac - Fine tune, the Macs best.

88 Born To Run - Bruce Springsteen - Yes, a little bit of rock Rip. Let that Norscaa hair down!

89 I’m On Fire - 5000 Volts - dunno it.

90 Making Your Mind Up - Bucks Fizz - There really is no excuse for that. That's in for a stir, isn't it? It'd want to be.

91 Africa - Toto - BLOODY HOLD THE BLOODY LINE!

92 Darling It Hurts - Paul Kelly and the Coloured Girls - Perhaps my least favourite tune on "Songs From The South". Still decent, but nowhere near my favourite PK efforts.

93 Hold On - The Models - Like that, like the Models.

94 Right Back Where We Started From - Maxine Nightingale - I can see the mirror balls now. That is a shocking song. The Only Way Is Up by Yazz and the Plastic Population. That's the one you want.

95 Solid Rock - Goanna - Yeah, the Oils did it so much better (PK did too - Maralinga, Bicentennial, etc.).

96 Band Of Gold - Freda Payne - Dunno it.

97 Am I Ever Going To See Your Face Again - The Angels - Tragic song. People complain about Khe Sanh, but AIEGSYFA is the classic "pissed" song that should never be heard in public again.

98 More Than A Feeling - Boston - NOW WE'RE TALKING! *DCFC pops on an mp3 that he has ignored for too long*

99 Magic - Pilot - Dunno it.

100 Rain - The Beatles - Pretty good.

That's not a bad effort Rip, a bit too disco for me, but you redeem yourself with Boston and Big Audio Dynamite. Well done.

Okies just one thing Rip that I thought I would bring to your attention.........

NOT ONE BEACH BOYS SONG IN THERE

:mad:

"who love you" - four seasons, I LOVE that song. :D

Great list Ripper.

Only one dud in there that I can find..

Mississippi by Pussycat.. ughhh. My ex girlfriend found that album in a second hand store one day I had to ban her from playing it in my presence. The cover is a classic, such sex appeal ROFL. :D

Top effort Rip, and DCFC for reviewing every freaking song.

A couple of things:

- Substitute by Clout bears no relation whatsoever to The Who's song - so help them God. But a band called Peaches and Cream did release a version of the Clout song around the same time (both all girl bands I think).

- Rip, absolutely stoked by That's Me at 24 - an oft overlooked classic that ranks alongside Dum Dum Diddle as the finest moment on The Helicopter Album.

- More big points for Eloise. I own a copy of Barry Ryan's greatest hits, the songs on which should be titled Eloise Parts 1-13. Diversity not a strength in the Ryan stable. But ya can't keep a classic down, plus ya gotta love those ethereal beach scenes with the poochies in the video.

- A tad disappointed that you couldn't find room for Fade To Grey by Visage, or anything at all by Redgum (or even the Mulligrubs theme). But a small let-down in the scheme of things :)

Good to see 8 Beatles tracks making the list, no room for some classic George?? WHile My Guitar Gently Weeps, Something (absolute masterpiece), Ive got my mind set on you, Taxman....No Lennon tracks either, Imagine, Jealous Guy, Watching the Wheels, Beautiful Boy.....Not enough Wings either...

AND NO JEBS :D

This is my sort of topic. Have a go at these...

1 - SPACE ODDITY - DAVID BOWIE
2 - ECHO BEACH - MARTHA & THE MUFFINS
3 - EVIE PARTS 1 TO 3 - STEVIE WRIGHT
4 - OLIVER'S ARMY - ELVIS COSTELLO
5 - WARM RIDE - GRAHAM BONNET
6 - THE BOYS ARE BACK IN TOWN - THIN LIZZY
7 - I WAS MADE FOR LOVING YOU - KISS
8 - ROCKIN' ALL OVER THE WORLD - STATUS QUO
9 - SURRENDER - CHEAP TRICK
10 - LOLA - THE KINKS
11 - THE UNGUARDED MOMENT - THE CHURCH
12 - LOVE IS ALL - RONNIE JAMES DIO
13 - BEAUTIFUL WORLD - DEVO
14 - YOU BETTER, YOU BET - THE WHO
15 - IN THE FLESH - BLONDIE
16 - LET'S STICK TOGETHER - BRYAN FERRY
17 - BABY IT'S YOU - PROMISES
18 - THE GIRL ON THE WALL - JANE CLIFTON
19 - RUNAWAY BOYS - THE STRAY CATS
20 - CA PLANE POUR MOI - PLASTIC BERTRAND
21 - BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY - QUEEN
22 - ONCE BITTEN, TWICE SHY - IAN HUNTER
23 - BALLROOM BLITZ - THE SWEET
24 - LIFE'S BEEN GOOD - JOE WALSH
25 - STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN - LED ZEPPELIN
26 - HEY ST PETER - FLASH & THE PAN
27 - THE REAL THING - RUSSELL MORRIS
28 - DANCING QUEEN - ABBA
29 - HELLO, HELLO, I'M BACK AGAIN - GARY GLITTER
30 - LONDON CALLING - THE CLASH
31 - SMOKE ON THE WATER - DEEP PURPLE
32 - HEY LORD, DON'T ASK ME QUESTIONS - GRAHAM PARKER & THE RUMOUR
33 - ONE BOURBON, ONE SCOTCH & ONE BEER - GEORGE THOROGOOD & THE DESTROYERS
34 - TAKING CARE OF BUSINESS - BACHMAN TURNER OVERDRIVE
35 - BAT OUT OF HELL - MEATLOAF
36 - MY SHARONA - THE KNACK
37 - THE BREAKUP SONG - THE GREG KHIN BAND
38 - RUN RUNAWAY - SLADE
39 - THAT'S ROCK 'N' ROLL - SHAUN CASSIDY
40 - JAILBREAK - ACDC
41 - NO SECRETS - THE ANGELS
42 - THE RIVER - KING TRIGGER
43 - ONE PERFECT DAY - THE LITTLE HEROES
44 - TURNING JAPANESE - THE VAPORS
45 - MAKE ME SMILE - STEVE HARLEY & COCKNEY REBEL
46 - SUNDAY BLOODY SUNDAY - U2
47 - IMAGINE - JOHN LENNON
48 - RADAR LOVE - GOLDEN EARRING
49 - I SEE RED - SPLIT ENZ
50 - LOOKING FOR AN ECHO - OL' 55
51 - ALL THE YOUNG DUDES - MOTT THE HOOPLE
52 - KIDS IN AMERICA - KIM WILDE
53 - BLISTER IN THE SUN - THE VIOLENT FEMMES
54 - SUBURBAN BOY - DAVE WARNER'S FROM THE SUBURBS
55 - BOYS IN TOWN - DIVINYLS
56 - HORROR MOVIE - SKYHOOKS
57 - I LIKE IT BOTH WAYS - SUPERNAUT
58 - HOTEL CALIFORNIA - THE EAGLES
59 - COPACABANA - BARRY MANILOW
60 - HOW YOU GONNA SEE ME NOW? - ALICE COOPER
61 - MEXICAN RADIO - WALL OF VOODOO
62 - 2,4,6,8 MOTORWAY - TOM ROBINSON
63 - MOVIN' OUT (ANTHONY'S SONG) - BILLY JOEL
64 - GONNA MAKE YOU A STAR - DAVID ESSEX
65 - NIGHT BOAT TO CAIRO - MADNESS
66 - TURN ME LOOSE - LOVERBOY
67 - SMOKING IN THE BOYS ROOM - BROWNSVILLE STATION
68 - WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE - BON JOVI
69 - PRISONER OF SOCIETY - THE LIVING END
70 - HURRICANE - BOB DYLAN
71 - GET BACK - THE BEATLES
72 - GENERALS & MAJORS - XTC
73 - MAGGIE MAY - ROD STEWART
74 - SATURDAY NIGHT'S ALRIGHT FOR FIGHTING - ELTON JOHN
75 - WILD THING - THE TROGGS
76 - MACHO MAN - THE VILLAGE PEOPLE
77 - COUNTING THE BEAT - THE SWINGERS
78 - BONEY MORONIE - HUSH
79 - PARADISE CITY - GUNS 'N' ROSES
80 - HOLLYWOOD SEVEN - JON ENGLISH
81 - BUT YOU DON'T CARE - MI-SEX
82 - SCARRED FOR LIFE - ROSE TATTOO
83 - NIPS ARE GETTING BIGGER - MENTAL AS ANYTHING
84 - TOJO - HOODOOGURUS
85 - WHO CAN IT BE NOW? - MEN AT WORK
86 - FRIDAY ON MY MIND - THE EASYBEATS
87 - BUSTIN' LOOSE - MOVING PICTURES
88 - THE LOVE CATS - THE CURE
89 - LIDO SHUFFLE - BOZ SCAGGS
90 - DIRTY WHITE BOY - FOREIGNER
91 - I ONLY WANT TO BE WITH YOU - THE TOURISTS
92 - PSYCHO KILLER - TALKING HEADS
93 - AFRICAN REGGAE - NINA HAGEN
94 - SWORDS OF A THOUSAND MEN - TENPOLE TUDOR
95 - DARKTOWN STRUTTERS BALL - TED MULRY GANG
96 - MY COO CA CHOO - ALVIN STARDUST
97 - THE WILD ONE - SUZI QUATRO
98 - ROCK SHOW - WINGS
99 - JUST CAN'T GET ENOUGH - DEPECHE MODE
100 - STUPID MARRIAGE - THE SPECIALS

Fat Pizza, that is definitely the first list I have seen with both Anthony's Song and Prisoner of Society.

Full marks for eclecticism:)

Aaahh Pizza,

It was only a matter of time. Bit surprised to see Moving Pictures relegated to Number 87. Isn't Days Of Innocence no.1 on Pizza'a Rock Across Australia Album Chart?? Nothing from Laurie Serafini either? Ahem, I think you've got some talkin' to do.

Whoa! Are you two guys lining up for work at Gold 104???

Some great songs in there though.

Winter In America is a personal favourite. A mate of mine's Dad has quite a few folky-type house concerts and Doug Ashdown played at the one I went to. Great night!

A couple of FIGJAM's fave softies:

Summer Breeze - Seals & Crofts
Fire & Rain - James Taylor
Ventura Highway - America
Smooth Operator - Sade
Easy Lover - Phil Collins

...alright, this is just getting embarrassing. Let's talk metal!!!

1 The Unguarded Moment - The Church

Grossly over-rated band. Weak as piss live. But they did write some useful songs. This was one of them.

5 Eloise - Barry Ryan

One of my favourite songs in 1969. I've hardly ever heard it since, but it brings me to tears when I hear it. Big production for its time.

11 You're My World - Cilla Black

Dusty also did a version of this, but Cilla's version was best. In the 60s there was Dusty, Sandie and Cilla ... and I loved them all. And this was probably the best song between the 3 of them.

12 If I Fell - The Beatles

One of many gems by the fab four. Classic 60s pop ballad.

30 Midnight Confession - Grass Roots

This is one of those songs you hear every 4 or 5 years and always find yourself wondering why it isn't more widely known. It came out in the mid-60s and it was obscure even then.

33 Classical Gas - Mason Williams

Stirring instrumental with strong Spanish influences. There weren't many instrumentals that became hits during that halcyon era of the pop song (late 60s) ... and yet it was hugely popular, and rightly so.

45 Poor Boy - Split Enz

I'm listening to this as I type. Probably my favourite Enz track. That tingly keyboard lick in the refrain gets the peepers all glassy ... it's hauntingly beautiful.

46 From St. Kilda To Kings Cross - Paul Kelly and the Messengers

P.K. really loves dropping place names into his songs ... and he dropped a couple of beauties into this one ... I love St.Kilda (the place, NOT the footy team) ... and I used to live in Kings Cross ... so, yeah, I get the tingles when I hear it.

50 Atomic - Blondie

Dynamite. Deb Harry was probably THE adolescent fantasy of my mid-20s.

52 I Feel Fine - The Beatles

And I feel fine too when I hear this. Was that a sitar at the start?

69 Dancing Queen - Abba

I don't know why I love this ... I just do.

71 S.O.S. - Abba

I don't know why I love this ... I just do.

75 Leaps and Bounds - Paul Kelly and the Coloured Girls

Should have been THE footy anthem of all time.

76 I Will Survive - Gloria Gaynor

I absolutely HATED disco at the time ... but some of the songs from that apalling era have just bludgeoned me into submission over the years. This is one of them. And, as the title suggests, it did "survive".

92 Darling It Hurts - Paul Kelly and the Coloured Girls

I once scored smack from the actual squat that bore the graffiti that inspired this song. It was the place that Honey Barbara's junkie boyfriend was living in in the movie, "Bliss".

95 Solid Rock - Goanna

Some very solid rock about some very solid rock.

96 Band Of Gold - Freda Payne

Not sure why I like it because it's not really what I'm into ... but, I dunno, it's just a great song.

97 Am I Ever Going To See Your Face Again - The Angels

One of the defining songs from the greatest era for "live" bands in Australia. And there were few "live" bands more exciting than this mob.

Interesting collection of songs, Rip ... some of them were downright horrible.

Originally posted by Waltzing Woof Biscuit
Aaahh Pizza,

It was only a matter of time. Bit surprised to see Moving Pictures relegated to Number 87. Isn't Days Of Innocence no.1 on Pizza'a Rock Across Australia Album Chart?? Nothing from Laurie Serafini either? Ahem, I think you've got some talkin' to do.

Days of Innocence is indeed my no. 1 album. When are we going to see some lists from you, Biscuit?

Fat Red will be pleased to note that both Billy Joel & The Living End also feature prominently amongst my favorite albums.

I tried to engage some French fans in a rendition of Ca Plane Pour Moi at the Davis Cup Final yesterday, but they didn't seem to understand. Still, no-one seemed to mind when I sang the Fitzroy theme song.:D

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
5 Eloise - Barry Ryan
10 My Coo-Ca-Choo - Alvin Stardust
14 Department of Youth - Alice Cooper
22 Fox On The Run - Sweet
23 39 - Queen
68 Nowhere Man - The Beatles
82 Forever Now - Cold Chisel
84 Darktown Strutters Ball - Ted Mulry Gang
88 Born To Run - Bruce Springsteen
98 More Than A Feeling - Boston

Originally posted by Fat Pizza

6 - THE BOYS ARE BACK IN TOWN - THIN LIZZY
7 - I WAS MADE FOR LOVING YOU - KISS
8 - ROCKIN' ALL OVER THE WORLD - STATUS QUO
12 - LOVE IS ALL - RONNIE JAMES DIO
14 - YOU BETTER, YOU BET - THE WHO
16 - LET'S STICK TOGETHER - BRYAN FERRY
20 - CA PLANE POUR MOI - PLASTIC BERTRAND
21 - BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY - QUEEN
22 - ONCE BITTEN, TWICE SHY - IAN HUNTER
23 - BALLROOM BLITZ - THE SWEET
24 - LIFE'S BEEN GOOD - JOE WALSH
25 - STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN - LED ZEPPELIN
31 - SMOKE ON THE WATER - DEEP PURPLE

34 - TAKING CARE OF BUSINESS - BACHMAN TURNER OVERDRIVE
35 - BAT OUT OF HELL - MEATLOAF
36 - MY SHARONA - THE KNACK
38 - RUN RUNAWAY - SLADE
48 - RADAR LOVE - GOLDEN EARRING

58 - HOTEL CALIFORNIA - THE EAGLES
68 - WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE - BON JOVI
70 - HURRICANE - BOB DYLAN
71 - GET BACK - THE BEATLES
79 - PARADISE CITY - GUNS 'N' ROSES
95 - DARKTOWN STRUTTERS BALL - TED MULRY GANG
96 - MY COO CA CHOO - ALVIN STARDUST

Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

This is my sort of topic. Have a go at these...

28 - DANCING QUEEN - ABBA

53 - BLISTER IN THE SUN - THE VIOLENT FEMMES

59 - COPACABANA - BARRY MANILOW

*EDIT*
D'OH. botched up the rest of the cut'n'paste :mad:

Noooooooooooooooo!!!!!
:(

Thought I'd single out a few noteworthy entries...

5 - WARM RIDE - GRAHAM BONNET
Got busted by some schoolgirls whilst peforming air vocals to this number on the way home from work one day. Someone should explain to those brats how rude it is to point and laugh. :eek:

17 - BABY IT'S YOU - PROMISES
Yeah, she was alright, wasn't she! ;)

More partial to Down Among The Dead Men myself, but a grouse number nonetheless.

Great get, FP!

57 - I LIKE IT BOTH WAYS - SUPERNAUT
:D

60 - HOW YOU GONNA SEE ME NOW? - ALICE COOPER
A most touching and heartfelt song. My second fave Alice track (behind DoY).

73 - MAGGIE MAY - ROD STEWART
Bao bao! Fits snuggly in my 'never wanna hear that song again' file.

85 - WHO CAN IT BE NOW? - MEN AT WORK
See Maggie May

94 - SWORDS OF A THOUSAND MEN - TENPOLE TUDOR
Hoorah hoorah hooryaye Over the hills with the swords of a thousand men! Great track!

Top list Fat Pizza! NovaFm could do alot worse than hire us two as music programmers. :D

P.S. Do you like Jethro's new avatar? ;)

This is right up my alley. Ripper, you've brought back some incredible memories. Now for the analysis:

1. The Unguarded Moment - The Church: Very glad you didn't put "Under the Milky Way" here. Too obvious. I love The Church. My personal faves are "It's No Reason" and "When You Were Mine", but I'm not complaining.

2. I Had Forgotten You - Paul Kelly etc. I'm not a massive Paul Kelly fan, but I'm leaning towards "I'm Leaving Her for the First Time". That one always gets me.

3. Mississippi - Pussycat: Now we're talking. Bracketed with "Summer Breeze" and "Afternoon Delight" in my memory. It's a lovely song and a true one hit wonder. Why haven't you mentioned "Jackie Blue" by the Ozark Mountain Daredevils? Same era, probably superior.

4. Could You Ever Love Me Again - Gary and Dave: Hard to sing, I know that. No argument with it. Great pop classic.

5. Eloise - Barry Ryan: I'll pay it, but it immediately puts me in mind of Russell Morris's "Rachel", which I like more.

6. Goodbye to Love The Carpenters: All their songs are great, but I'd go the whole hog and put "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft" Or perhaps that's being bloody minded.

7. I'll Meet You Halfway - The Partridge Family. Don't know it. My knowledge of them extends little beyond "I Think I Love You." Susan Dey was cute though.

8. Never Can Say Goodbye - Gloria Gaynor: My disco anthem is "I Feel Love". Or perhaps "More More More" by the Andrea True Connection. But this one you can really dance to. Good call.

9. Substitute - Clout: Superior to the Peaches version. They were South African, weren't they? Saw the video once, on Sounds Unlimited.

10. My Coo Ca Choo - Alvin Stardust: Can't fault it. Everything David Essex tried to be.

11. You're My World - Cilla Black: I dunno. Can't get the Daryl Braithwaite version out of my head.

12. If I Fell - The Beatles: If you're looking for prime early Beatles, look no further. There are others equally worthy of mention, though. "Anna (Go To Him)", for one. "Baby's in Black" "I Don't Want to Spoil the Party" These are underrated, there are plenty of others.

13. Golden Miles - Healing Force: Good Get! Only ever hear it on Gold104, but what a breath of fresh air!

14. Department of Youth - Alice Cooper. He's always at his best at his most maudlin. "Only Women Bleed" "How You Gonna See Me Now" That sort of stuff.

15. This Time - Dragon: Yes. They were so good when they were just starting. "Get That Jive" would have been just as worthy.

16. Magic Woman Touch - The Hollies: Was that really the Hollies? I'm more a fan of their prime 60s stuff. "Sorry Suzanne", "Bus Stop", that sort of thing.

17. I Saw Her Again - The Mamas and the Papas: Beyond the two big hits, I lean towards "Dream a Little Dream of You" or "Creeque Alley".

18. Love Really Hurts Without You - Billy Ocean: Oh yeah. It's his only really good hit. But it's a beauty. Dance floor filler.

19. Your Mother Should Know - The Beatles: From that album, I'd say right up there. Everyone has their favourite
Beatles songs. That one only rates mid field for mine.

20 Shout to the Top - The Style Council. My first nup. Can't have it. "Speak Like a Child" or nothing. Preferred The Jam.

21. Baby's In Black - The Beatles: Oh, there it is! Yeah, I like that one. I really liked "Here, There and Everywhere".

22. Fox on the Run - The Sweet: If it's not their best song it's so close it doesn't matter. Perhaps "Ballroom Blitz" pushes it, but nothing else comes close. (Oh, forgot "Peppermint Twist")

23. 39 -Queen: Don't know it. Queen were a band I admired, but I never bought the albums. Apart from "The Game", which still throws up memories.

24. That's Me - Abba: I had a single which that was the flip side to. I remember I played this one more, but for the life of me I can't recall how it goes. The best Abba songs are the ones Bjorn sings.

25. Love is Blue - Paul Mauriat. What's this? Never heard of it.

Have to continue this later. I have a visitor.

cheers