Murphy..

• Thread starter Thread starter hodge#15

Stevie J had umpteen scoring shots against him and he took an injured kid in Gary Rohan on Fri.

You can't carry 1 trick pony's into BIG finals unless they're a KP FB/CHB. Even then, Gibbo is a great rebounder, as is Ben Reid, Scarlett etc.

With Stratts now back, we need more run & carry from defence this week.

I'd play Suckers ahead of him and play Bruest as sub.

I hate the word hater, and would like to see it substituted with critic. I don't believe any Hawk fan hates Murphy, ( I certainly don't) and shouldn't be labelled as such, just for being critical.

Well theres your obvious problem Thaihawk, you prefer to think logically and write in english!

BTW - If i like Murphy does that make me a Murphy liker? or if i don't then perhaps i am a Murphy disliker. No, I'm probably an ambivalenter, at least until he gets gooder, or could even be a Cheney preferer.

Look when he got most of his 27 disposals and it was when the flood gates had opened and Gibbo and Shoey were leaking as well. If the cats get the ball into the forward 50 70 times, I think SteveJ is going to get a lot of touches!

I guess we have to agree to disagree, the amount of forward entries didn't help Shoe and Gibbo considering the tall timber they were trying to stop but at least Shoe and Gibbo provide something on the counter attack. Shoe is only 21 and is showing signs of improvement, Murphy is 27 and the jury is out whether he has improved.

With Stratton back in playing the third tall, and Guerra and Puopolo capable of playing a pure negating role on small forwards where does that leave Murphy. For mine he is competing with Birchall and Suckling both of whom bring more to the table.

I guess we have to agree to disagree, the amount of forward entries didn't help Shoe and Gibbo considering the tall timber they were trying to stop but at least Shoe and Gibbo provide something on the counter attack. Shoe is only 21 and is showing signs of improvement, Murphy is 27 and the jury is out whether he has improved.

With Stratton back in playing the third tall, and Guerra and Puopolo capable of playing a pure negating role on small forwards where does that leave Murphy. For mine he is competing with Birchall and Suckling both of whom bring more to the table.

Seeing all those guys were available last week, could I suggest it leaves him in the back line playing as consistently as normal! I would have thought having a guy you don't have to spend a second worrying about would be a blessing to Clarko!

For those who say Murphy is high in kicking % u must be blind. His kicks are 30m backwards sideways kicks to free men under no pressure. Pleaseeeee don't use that as an excuse.

Quite an effort really.

Now, would you prefer he kicks the ball to manned up (or outnumbered would be even better) men under enormous pressure?

Your kidding me, right?

Awkward looking????? Is there point for style now? Give me a break. Most awkward looking player in the game is Cameron Ling, and I can't wait for him to retire as he flogs us every game!

When he has a bad game???? Fair enough. When that finally happens, let me know!

fails in another final??? When was the first one he "Fail(ed)" in? Against the Cats? Well, will Gibbo be questioned if he "fails" in another final? What about Mitch, Rioli, etc?

Someone has to be the voice of reason here!

Style has no necessary connection to his effectiveness but it is why he attracts some much attention from hawthorn supporters. It is a point of fact that Murphy looks awkward at times. If you can't admit this I must doubt your honesty.

You think he played well against Geelong? Nope. Was shocking. Kicking accuracy was the only thing that stopped SJ from being best on ground. And against the swans he was defensively fine early when there was zero pressure but as soon as it came in the third quarter Rohan became their most dangerous forward despite carrying injury. This is in addition to what was generally a poor night for Murphy with some of his decision making with the ball. We all saw how Gibson responded to a bad game against the cats - he set a world record and was clearly in the best few on field.

The only other big game we have played in recently was against Carlton. Betts kicked 0.3, 19 touches and set up a couple of goals. All three of Betts shots came within 30 m of goals (two set shots and one from play) and considering he had kicked something like 18 goals without a behind going into that game, Murphy can count himself lucky it wasn't 3.0.

To me that makes for bad reading for a guy whoes value is primarily as a stopping defender on our last line. Of course you won't accept any criticism of Murphy no matter how valid, right? Because I must be a hater, right? Irrational hate of Murphy is the only reason anyone would criticise him, right?

I think he’s been pretty handy this year. I'm under no illusion that he's a star of our team, but he does his job most weeks and he’s put in quite a few gutsy attacks on disputed balls too.

I’ve been critical of him in the past, but now that he’s taken the “kick the ball straight to the opposition while under no pressure” out of his game, I can’t knock him.

You think he played well against Geelong? Nope. Was shocking. Kicking accuracy was the only thing that stopped SJ from being best on ground. And against the swans he was defensively fine early when there was zero pressure but as soon as it came in the third quarter Rohan became their most dangerous forward despite carrying injury. This is in addition to what was generally a poor night for Murphy with some of his decision making with the ball. We all saw how Gibson responded to a bad game against the cats - he set a world record and was clearly in the best few on field.

Lets assume this bolded section is true (which in fact it is complete and utter crap, but lets forget this point as it goes to show a classic case of haterism!) lets look at this:

1) Rohan's figures were 4k,2hb,3m & 2tackles 1 goal. No not for they 3rd quarter but FOR THE GAME!
2) So maybe he did all that in the third quarter anyway, right? Hardly. He kicked a goal off a mark in that quarter. Now DreamTeam isn't the be all and end all but Fanfooty is the only site I know (please let me know if there is another) that breaks any sort of individual stats by quarter. It shows that he had 16 dt Points in that quarter. Once you take the Goal sequence of 12 pts (3pts for the mark, 3 for the Kick and 6 for the goals) that leaves (assuming no frees against) 4 more points in the qrt, most likely either 2 hb or more likely a tackle.
3) But Murphy gave up the goal that could of won the game for them, right? Deporable! Drop him now! Well actually he didn't give up the goal! HE WAS ON SPANGER AT THE TIME! Exhibit b) http://www.gameanalyser.afl.com.au/?round=1082&match=10320201&eventType=in50Mark&seek=5493&videoQuality=med (keep watching for the down the ground shot showing him holding spanger out of the contest).
4) So, i guess this mean spanger was the most dangerous forward on the ground in that quarter, right? Wrong, his night was WORSE then Rohans!

And you wonder why I call people Hating on Murph haters!

PS. Really on Eddie bets? Really? Your kidding me right? Is this a piss take? Are you guys just winding me up now? He kept him goalless for the second year in a row and in fact, no Goal assists in either of those games either! Isn't that the job of a stopper? To stop a guy!

Come on Mods? Really? This is going to continue?

Lets assume this bolded section is true (which in fact it is complete and utter crap, but lets forget this point as it goes to show a classic case of haterism!) lets look at this:

1) Rohan's figures were 4k,2hb,3m & 2tackles 1 goal. No not for they 3rd quarter but FOR THE GAME!
2) So maybe he did all that in the third quarter anyway, right? Hardly. He kicked a goal off a mark in that quarter. Now DreamTeam isn't the be all and end all but Fanfooty is the only site I know (please let me know if there is another) that breaks any sort of individual stats by quarter. It shows that he had 16 dt Points in that quarter. Once you take the Goal sequence of 12 pts (3pts for the mark, 3 for the Kick and 6 for the goals) that leaves (assuming no frees against) 4 more points in the qrt, most likely either 2 hb or more likely a tackle.
3) But Murphy gave up the goal that could of won the game for them, right? Deporable! Drop him now! Well actually he didn't give up the goal! HE WAS ON SPANGER AT THE TIME! Exhibit b) http://www.gameanalyser.afl.com.au/?round=1082&match=10320201&eventType=in50Mark&seek=5493&videoQuality=med (keep watching for the down the ground shot showing him holding spanger out of the contest).
4) So, i guess this mean spanger was the most dangerous forward on the ground in that quarter, right? Wrong, his night was WORSE then Rohans!

And you wonder why I call people Hating on Murph haters!

PS. Really on Eddie bets? Really? Your kidding me right? Is this a piss take? Are you guys just winding me up now? He kept him goalless for the second year in a row and in fact, no Goal assists in either of those games either! Isn't that the job of a stopper? To stop a guy!

Come on Mods? Really? This is going to continue?
Really no goals assists? You posted a video in another thread showing murphy spoil the ball right into Betts' arms who handed it to Garlett who kicked the goal (you thought that was good play from Murphy for some reason). There was also another he set up. So that is two right there. You can live in denial about Betts 3 shots or you can accept Murphy was very lucky not have have coughed up 3 goals. Nothing Murphy did prevented those goals. It was bad kicking by Betts who is normally a very accurate shot at goal. And they were all dead set sitters too! Be honest, he was beaten then, just like he was against SJ who also butchered his chances flattering Murphy.

Got a link to what I said? If I remember rightly, you (update:looked back and it may not have been you. apologies) were claiming something like his errors (update: For the record, term used was "incredibly costly mistakes") caused three goals. As I remember I agreed that one where he was smoothered was one error but one was were he went back to assist on Jamerson who was killing us at that stage and hardly his fault (thats what you are mentioning here) and the other was a different player (Birchall maybe????) who, from memory, you basically said it didn't matter if he gave up goals off errors (double standard much????).

On the goal assists,unlike the haters that combo through the vision praying to find a Murphy mistake to call for his head about, I got the goal assists from the stats on http://footywire.com (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-carlton-blues--edward-betts). If you have an issue with those stats, I suggest you contact them and spread your hater aid around!

Just a shout out to the OP, Murphy is a 50-50 player, 50% like him, 50% don't. If you don't like him and say it, you get shouted down by the Pro-50% who manage to make him out to be an amalgamation of Chris Mew, Gary Ayres and Ray Jenke all in one.
if you criticise his disposal, they say how his disposal efficiency is high, eyt fail to mention most are across the ground or backwards to a team mate all alone. If you claim he doesn't get it enough, it's because his role isn't to get poessions, just stand next to someone and stop them. If he gets beaten, it's because he's playing out of his comforst zone and it's herois he did so well. Just need to learn the rules OP, and you'll be fine around here mate. Steer clear of Murphy threads is my suggestion.

My opinion, the guy is borderline best 22 who does a job each week, but could easily be replaced, however hasn't really done much to deserve to be dropped. Much like Whitecross. Not a certainty every week, but fills a need for our side.

Anyway, let's just hope he does his job again this week and we can get into another GF, against the Cats. Wooo

Just a shout out to the OP, Murphy is a 50-50 player, 50% like him, 50% don't. If you don't like him and say it, you get shouted down by the Pro-50% who manage to make him out to be an amalgamation of Chris Mew, Gary Ayres and Ray Jenke all in one.
if you criticise his disposal, they say how his disposal efficiency is high, eyt fail to mention most are across the ground or backwards to a team mate all alone. If you claim he doesn't get it enough, it's because his role isn't to get poessions, just stand next to someone and stop them. If he gets beaten, it's because he's playing out of his comforst zone and it's herois he did so well. Just need to learn the rules OP, and you'll be fine around here mate. Steer clear of Murphy threads is my suggestion.

My opinion, the guy is borderline best 22 who does a job each week, but could easily be replaced, however hasn't really done much to deserve to be dropped. Much like Whitecross. Not a certainty every week, but fills a need for our side.

Anyway, let's just hope he does his job again this week and we can get into another GF, against the Cats. Wooo

Mate, if there was only stuff said when he had a bad game, you could live with it. But he is held to a different standard to all others and there is a post every week whether he kills his opponent or not calling for his head! Its extremely uneven and a lot of the stuff said is just crap (like the argument that he let Rohan become the most dangerous forward on the weekend). Even you have to admit there is a lot of crap spread about him!

No doubt Molly, but the Pro Murphy clan make him out to be the greatest defender since sliced bread. As i said in my post, the guy is an average footballer who does a job. He plays good games and he plays bad games plus ones in between. I think we can replace him with others but he hasn't really done much wrong to deserve being dropped. As I also said, 50% don't want him in the team, 50% do. The guy cops it on here no doubt, but he also gives the anti boys a fair bit of ammo at times.

End of the day, like just about any player in the game, he has a role and if he does it to his best ability, then he's worth a spot till someone shows they can do it better

Whitecross HATER...

Those defending Murphy, just watch the games again and isolate his actions.. his positioning is terrible,, he is a stop start one action player.. ie. he punches or handpasses etc and then stands stationery with hands on hips.'

He rarely helps out ie. comes over the top as the third man, or cuts off opposition passes...

He fumbles under pressure... Watch him blow his cheeks and inhales everytime there is pressure..

Shows little effort

Really dont know how he gets a game... just ask Steve Quartermain, Robert walls and the majority of the football community.. Murphy is not AFL standards..
How we continue to cover for him is an amazing feat in its own.

We need Stratts in and perhaps Savage to come in for some more run against the Pies.

But aint going to happen.. he will get selected no matter what. Perhaps he can play on Krakeour and keep him to 6 points..

Bit of equilibrium here wouldn't go astray - this board has a pretty long history of punters taking cheap shots a blokes that have made the very best of their natural talent and made the Hawthorn Footy side.

Which puts them one giant step ahead of their detractors in my opinion - who more frequently than not show no affinity for the game whatsoever or how it's played, let alone being good enough to represent this great club. Just because you 'watch' football doesn't give an instant degree into the nature of the beast.

More disappointingly, they claim to represent the good of our club but would not, and cannot by virtue of their belittling posts, recognise what our great club is about.

Over time this ignorant and combative posting has got a bee in the bonnet of many around here and has resulted in the position that any post regarding him polarises the whole 'community' to the point where constructive comment is near impossible.

Murph's form has dropped away from mid year - he is still doing a job - he will not be dropped - he will probably struggle to make B22 next season - and for ****'s sake, someone ban this ****wit OP troll from this board before I go spare.

We are Hawthorn - we are all in this together!

No doubt Molly, but the Pro Murphy clan make him out to be the greatest defender since sliced bread.
I think this is the real problem. He has been vilified and scapegoated by a lot of supporters, to the extent that the rest of the supporters have come out and overcompensated the other way - so most neutrals are stuck between posting as a so-called hater or a member of his family!

I want Murphy to be amazing. I want to win, and to do that we need the best 22 on the park. But it's a fact that if you turn over the ball in the defence, you're going to get punished (and thereby, noticed). If you turn it over in the forward 50, welp, there goes a chance at a goal but the midfield might get it back for you. If you do it in defence, there's a massive chance that it's going through the sticks...and THAT is the mistake that everyone remembers - but that's the peril of being a defender.

Let's face it. All posters that believe Murphy is not good enough to hold his spot are really at odds with Clarko.

That's the way I see it.

Maybe, maybe not.

I'd expect the selection committee to debate the strategies and structures behind closed doors each week, just as we do on these boards.
The pros and cons of a players form and ability to carry out their role would no doubt be a continuos theme from week to week with peripheral players like Murphy.
He's had plenty of jobs to do over the course of the year and performed quite well. He has made the odd blunder however, and so with the return of Stratton and the increased pressure of finals people are just putting forward their thoughts about whether or not he still has a role to play.

All that being said, I highly doubt that Clarkson would be cruel enough to remove Murphy from the side at this point in the year.

I think Murphy has had some very solid games and the odd very average one. He's never going to be a star, but I think the coaching staff know what they're doing.

I'm a Hawthorn man and though I have differing views and thoughts, I feel we should back ALL of our players. People who actually believe Murphy is getting GIFT games from Clarko are dreaming.

He has a role which changes each week depending on match ups. Because we are undersized, it's probably a balance of staying on your man and leaving to help the other defenders.

Cheney has been playing solid footy. If he was ahead of Murphy in the role the coach wants and needs to be played, he would be playing. As it stands, Murphy is ahead. There are no emotions in picking the best 6 defenders available for finals.

Our strength has been that our defenders have worked as a group. They've done incredibly well as a unit and I wouldn't stuff around with that. The coach obviously doesn't either. The lack of height has been a huge hurdle for us to overcome. Kudos to the players and coaches.

Got a link to what I said? If I remember rightly, you (update:looked back and it may not have been you. apologies) were claiming something like his errors (update: For the record, term used was "incredibly costly mistakes") caused three goals. As I remember I agreed that one where he was smoothered was one error but one was were he went back to assist on Jamerson who was killing us at that stage and hardly his fault (thats what you are mentioning here) and the other was a different player (Birchall maybe????) who, from memory, you basically said it didn't matter if he gave up goals off errors (double standard much????).

On the goal assists,unlike the haters that combo through the vision praying to find a Murphy mistake to call for his head about, I got the goal assists from the stats on http://footywire.com (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-carlton-blues--edward-betts). If you have an issue with those stats, I suggest you contact them and spread your hater aid around!

If Footy wire does not judge crumbing a pack and handballing to a player who kicks a goal, a goal assist then they need to revise their definition. As for people who trawl the video looking for examples, you do this more than anyone on this site. There is barely a critical comment of murphy you don't respond to. You employ questionable interpretations of stats (D.E. in particular) and counter examples of where Murphy has made errors with examples of where other players have made errors without applying any sort of qualitative test to those errors.

I don't agree with everything people say about Murphy (some good, some bad) but so long as people aren't been purely personal (e.g. just saying he sucks) and make a reasonable attempt to justify their comments, I don't think they deserve to have you jump on them every time they make a comment you don't agree with. IF I look at the top two teams in the comp this year, they don't have Murphy's running around in their backlines. They have AA or near AA guys. Hunt would probably be the worst defender from either collingwood or cats and even he is solid with a deadly boot. So when people complain about his lack of run/hurt from the backline, they are comparing him to players in the best teams and wondering why we have a player that doesn't offer anything in attack or rebounding. That is a fair question and people should be allowed to ask it without being labeled a hater. I think it is too late to change things for the finals and will back Murphy to do his best but if we are going to improve our backline, he is a player for whom we have to find a better option.

Cheney has been playing solid footy. If he was ahead of Murphy in the role the coach wants and needs to be played, he would be playing. As it stands, Murphy is ahead. There are no emotions in picking the best 6 defenders available for finals.

Yep agreed with all of that. On this point, I was disappointed we did not spend more time blooding Cheney in the seniors ahead of someone like Bruce or even to give Sheils a rest (for one week only). Murphy is probably the best option right now regardless but we don't know that for sure because Cheney just wasn't given much opportunity (played well in most games he did play). Just have to back the match committee in I guess :thumbsu:

Murphy is a very limited afl footballer. However, he can perform a role in our backline attempting to negate a small/medium fwd. He generally does an okay job of it but has a very limited range of players he is suited to, and struggles if has to push up the ground.

What he does not do is provide any rebound or 3rd man up / defensive coverage for other players - as such he is a very frustrating player to watch. He probably would struggle to get in to the back 6 of any other top 4 (and potentially even top 8) team.

However, at the moment he is good enough to be in our 22 (despite a drop in form from mid-season) and is preferred by the coaching staff to other obvious alternatives (e.g. cheney) - who at this stage of the season are unlikely to get a game as his replacement as lack match practice.

I'm sure for a lot of supporters its frustrating to watch him play, but at this stage of the season not much is going to change.

In looking at murphy's season lets not forget that we have had f all scores kicked against us this season - how many bags have our other small defenders had kicked against them (i.e. guerra, suckling, birchall, etc) - not many I'd guess. Would I like a more skilled and flexible player to replace murphy in the 22? Yes. Do we have an obvious replacement? Not right now. Do I want him in our 22 next year? Prob not.
But if he plays in this Friday's final will I support him to the hilt? F Yes

If Footy wire does not judge crumbing a pack and handballing to a player who kicks a goal, a goal assist then they need to revise their definition. As for people who trawl the video looking for examples, you do this more than anyone on this site. There is barely a critical comment of murphy you don't respond to. You employ questionable interpretations of stats (D.E. in particular) and counter examples of where Murphy has made errors with examples of where other players have made errors without applying any sort of qualitative test to those errors.

Look whether right or wrong, that is what I based it on and thats what it said (by the way, AFL site stats (official????) have no GAs either: http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/16931/Default.aspx#fixtureid=5643&tab=Stats (see advanced tab)).

On trawling the video looking for examples, actually, its more of a case of getting the facts by looking at the vision rather then looking through the biased eyes (and it is funny about your comment of "trawling the video" as you will see in an upcoming post :D :D ). Perhaps if others did this, then there would be less argument about it. Can I tell you, that if you think that Murphy is out of position all the time, you will see him out of position all the time! Because that is the time you take a mental snapshot of his position and use it in examples. As we keep on about this Blues game, the reason for "trawling the video" as you called it was to see the 3 critical errors that he was meant of have made. The one in question was when he went back to help out on Jamison (when Jamison was marking everything and threatening to take the game away from us) which makes it even more comical as all the people ready to drop Murph use the argument he never helps out as a reason! Well if you come off your man to help, occasionally the ball is going to spill to your man.

But people have said to look at his game and I will do this (in fact, I will help everyone to do this).

Just so we have it straight, his game against the Swans was poor right? And Cheaney could have done better right?

PS. I somewhat joke above about the Cheaney thing. Firstly, again, I really like him as a player but he is outside our best 22. Secondly, as others have correctly stated, he isn't competing with Murph for his spot, he is more competing with Poppy and Guerra, and I think we all agree, he isn't in that league at present.

Those defending Murphy, just watch the games again and isolate his actions.. his positioning is terrible,, he is a stop start one action player.. ie. he punches or handpasses etc and then stands stationery with hands on hips.'

He rarely helps out ie. comes over the top as the third man, or cuts off opposition passes...

He fumbles under pressure... Watch him blow his cheeks and inhales everytime there is pressure..

Shows little effort

Really dont know how he gets a game... just ask Steve Quartermain, Robert walls and the majority of the football community.. Murphy is not AFL standards..
How we continue to cover for him is an amazing feat in its own.

We need Stratts in and perhaps Savage to come in for some more run against the Pies.

But aint going to happen.. he will get selected no matter what. Perhaps he can play on Krakeour and keep him to 6 points..

On behalf of Tom, I apologies for him breathing! He is going to try to do less of it in future, especially when under pressure!

By the way, I have not only watched the video again. I have cut it up so you can point out every mistake he makes with his positioning! Stay tuned sports lovers!

Right. Here is Murph's game v Swans. Point out all the mistakes. For extra points point out the "mistakes" not like the others!

[YOUTUBE]GagPj3l78i8[/YOUTUBE]

By the way. This "worst hospital ball of all time" is at about the 3:17 point of the video. I look forward to everyones perspective on it as I have to say I couldn't remember the actual incident from the night and after watching it after the talk on here, I was expecting something completely different (in fact, one of the other things is left in the video is a "hospital ball" by Rioli that in my (maybe biased eyes) was worse, at least the same sort of thing! (it is at around the 4:25 point of the video))

Just wanted to add, that is basically everytime Murph was on camera! Even when he is just in the background (as it shows positioning). By my count, players he played on (from the vision) had 1k and 1hb and setup 1 goal. That is not nominating a player (as it seemed to me watching some of the vision he played on McGlynn, Spanger and Rohan on and off through the night) but who he was picking up at the time. Now in the interest of cutting out a counter argument, yes, plays wouldn't show up here if his opponent was miles away from him, but I didn't see any cases that were obviously his man in a mile of space in a dangerous position.

So my view of his game was a very good one in a defence that worked together beautifully!

PS. If you don't watch the whole video, at least watch the last 30 seconds as it is funny in the context of this and the thousands of other anti-murphy threads over the years!