Music

Edited for pleasure.

L2M4G, if a tassie bloke is into draught he will drink other beers but always, always go back to draught. so tassie saint would drink first harvest but be thinking of draught.

Personally I'd edit it as Cascade Pale Ale's or James Boag Premium. I was a pariah growing up in hobart as I didn't drink much draught.

Anyways------- back on topic.

I'll add in Jazz as a new artform i've gotten into this year particularly John Coltrane. However have Most types at home depending on which mood I'm in: for example this is the first five artists on my mp3:
Dropkick Murphys
Thelonious Monk
Cavalera Conspiracy
John Coltrane
The Pogues.

Does anyone like Chinese Democracy? I got a copy of that cd just out of sheer curiosity. I have never been huge on Axil or GNR, except for a few odd songs. I must say, I really do enjoy this album. It has been a regular in my cd player.

the first five artists on my mp3:
Dropkick Murphys
Thelonious Monk
Cavalera Conspiracy
John Coltrane
The Pogues.

Gday krusden, have you tried Flogging Molly?

Surprises me how many metalheads there are on forums. Was looking through a thread on the FTP forums and half the kids are into metal.

I've never really listened to country, but I'm sure it can't be worse than rap. I mean, at least the person can sing. :p

You're right mate there's definitely a link between the internet and metal, you rarely find a bloke who likes one and not the other I've found.

I'm surprised how many people are into it on bigfooty though, wouldn't usually associate footy and metal.

Surprises me how many metalheads there are on forums. Was looking through a thread on the FTP forums and half the kids are into metal.

I've never really listened to country, but I'm sure it can't be worse than rap. I mean, at least the person can sing. :p

jeez how could i forget rap!, worse than country IMO , cant stand how everyone in the footy rooms are on there ipods and i ask, what are you listenin to? he replys solja boy yeh!.

Bad choice of music if you ask me

Dont worry my sisters goin to see her with the Pussycat Dolls. Can't fall much further than that. :p

Nah I dont mind Lady Gaga, PCD on the other hand...

Hilltop Hoods are hip hop aren't they? And I'll admit they aren't bad.

Jeez I'm really gonna have to try and educate the masses here when I have time via a heap of youtube clips.

Thing is deep down everyone likes hip hop, they are just off put by Fiddy, Lil Wayne, Souljia Boi etc. I have a mate who point blank refused to even concede hip hop was music a year ago, nowdays Hilltop Hoods, Funkoars, Drapht, The Herd, TZU are all on high rotation on his iPod.

I like a range - RATM, RCHP (more their older stuff) bob dylan, johnny cash, the stones, beatles, acdc, edith piaf, QOTSA, nina simone, lots of 80s:o, lynyrd sknyrd, the eagles, john lee hooker .. someone recently got me onto elliot smith, little red, muse, andrea bocelli oh & mgmt :thumbsu:...

As you can probably tell by my name it's gotta be Soulja Boy Tellem and my favourite genre is snap music

Oh gee where to start..... Interpol (duh), Brand New, System of a Down, The Butterfly Effect, Pearl Jam, Fall out boy, Thursday, Muse, Coheed and Chambria, Tokio Hotel, Amy Winehouse (such a shame she is all over the shop, she is so talented), Slipknot ... Off the top of my head anyways... Yeah, im a bit indie/metal/rock etc... Dunno where Amy Winehouse fits in there lol

Am a fan of some decent hip hop or RnB .. But not as much as I used to be... T.I & Kanye go alright.

Love a bit of good old fashioned pop. Don't mind P!nk, i mean its catchy music, and she hasn't changed her image on bit since day 1, props to her. Pop's written by a random dude/chic, performed by some hot chic with a good voice, lol, sex sells I guess.. Get's a bit repetitave, but at least the performers are talented .. unlike.....

Can not, and I mean CAN NOT stand sh!tty house music. If I could remove one genre off the planet, it would be it. I'd even leave Country and Western! All it is, is ripping off old classics and adding this dodgy TOTALLY GENERIC beat and some D-Grade female singer to do some vocals. Because the DJ and "singer" are total uggo spoons, they maker film clips with half naked girls (which im not opposed to, but it makes no sense, there is no theme to the clip) just dancing around in circles, with no actualy meaning to it. C'mon, Destination Calabira? Those women are NOT from Calabria, I guarantee you that! And all these teenyboppers go nuts over it.... None of them would know that 75% of these "new" songs, sample and use old songs, it's a joke. It requires minimal talent, I could get out there and make a #1 Club Hit. . . Here, i'll do it now..

Imagine all the pe-pe-pe-pe-people, people, people, people *doog doof doof doof* *clap sound, clap sound, clap sound*

No, im not some rocker who has always been anti-house, I used to be a decent fan of it years back. Until i looked into it more, and realised it really was all the same.

/rant :P

Download a whole heap of Crookers songs. I think they are goodski.

To Protect and Entertain
Thunderstruck
Day N Nite

All pretty good IMO :thumbsu:

Bbbump.

ZOMG. :eek:
Tupac. Real or unreal?

1996:
0,,6602777,00.jpg

2009:
tupac_lives_0002_Layer_4_copy_2_full.jpg

This guy must earn a bit of dosh making appearences at partys alongside close buddies Elvis Presley and Kurt Kobain.

Bbbump.

ZOMG. :eek:
Tupac. Real or unreal?

1996:
0,,6602777,00.jpg

2009:
tupac_lives_0002_Layer_4_copy_2_full.jpg

This guy must earn a bit of dosh making appearences at partys alongside close buddies Elvis Presley and Kurt Kobain.

explains his quite frankly PRODIGIOUS output since his death doesn't it?

i knew that internet foto of him on the autopsy table was a fake :mad:

Jeez I'm really gonna have to try and educate the masses here when I have time via a heap of youtube clips.

Thing is deep down everyone likes hip hop, they are just off put by Fiddy, Lil Wayne, Souljia Boi etc. I have a mate who point blank refused to even concede hip hop was music a year ago, nowdays Hilltop Hoods, Funkoars, Drapht, The Herd, TZU are all on high rotation on his iPod.

You could say that about almost any genre though, except maybe RnB :rolleyes:

There are some Hilltop Hoods and The Herd songs in particular I like, but I wouldn't say I'm a hip hop fan by nature

My wife hates QOTSA, but there are 2 or 3 songs of theirs she likes (one of which got played at our wedding!)

Just because Metallica's One is a classic, doesn't mean everyone's a fan of metal

I try to keep an open mind with music, and have a varied playlist running on Winamp right now, probably annoying some people in the office :D

I try to keep things varied, so my top bands / singers (meaning most listened to) would have to be:

QOTSA
The Strokes
Bjork
Wolf Parade
The Presets
Daft Punk
Tool
The Black Crowes

My local fave bands inc
You Am I
George
Kiss Chasy
Spiderbait

My fave oldies are
Tim Buckley
Pink Floyd
Queen

I'll follow the judge's format:

Most listened to recently:
QOTSA
Eagles of Death Metal
Kyuss
RATM
The Black Crowes
The Black Keys
Black Mountain
Black Sabbath
Michael Jackson (see the theme ;) jfa)
Clutch
Sigur Ros
Explosions in the Sky
God is an Astronaut
Mogwai
Gomez
Liam Finn
Sublime
Nirvana / Foos

My local fave bands:
Eddy Current Suppression Ring
Spiderbait / Kram
The Living End
Silverchair

My fave oldies are:
Zeppelin
Sabbath
Stones
The Meters
Funkadelic
John Lee Hooker

- ok I better stop

here's my two pence worth

Most listened to recently:
John Coltrane
Thelonious Monk
RATM
Sepultura
Miles Davis
Russell Brand Radio Show
Fatboy Slim (live set)
The chemical Brothers (live set)
Andrea Bocelli
Dropkick Murphys
Pogues

My local fave bands:
Spiderbait / Kram
Grinspoon
frenzal
Wolfmother

My fave oldies are:
Zeppelin
hendrix
Stones
Floyd
Coltrane/davis/Monk/jazz masters
Doors

and that's a small touch of it. coulda gone on for ever really.

I love my music. :)

seems we have a nice varied mix happening here :thumbsu:

The general (recent) theme seems rock / indie / grunge / with lashings of metal (like the Sepultura in there Krus)

Must say I went through something of a metal phase, and had the privilege of meeting the boys from Pantera (set some equipment up in their hotel room many moons ago) and James Hetfield (didn't realis ehow tall he was!) and forgot in my list of current most listened to bands to list System of a Down. They get me pumped at the gym

Also like the few "other" bands we all seem to chuck in, something cruisy, something dancy, something less hard core

Any of you boys and girls learned any instruments either currently or past?

Teaching myself electric bass currently, and in my teenage years learned snippets of acoustic guitar, violin, piano and flute :o

My man! :thumbsu: Fellow bass brother here! Played guitar / drums / keys until kids came along 8 years ago then recently a neighbour got my interest up again to join a garage band. Played bass for the last year n half & really love the soul shaking grooves. I'm part of a couple of recording bands more for the fun of it + hobby than delusions of grandeur. Turned down a place in a gigging cover band - now thats rock n roll! Whats your gear setup?

Very amateur I'm afraid. I didn't want to spend loads of dough only to find that:
1. I'm totally crap
2. I recognise I'm totally crap and don't want to play

Fortunately so far 2 is out :)

So I bought a Fender Squire about 6 months ago, two pickups
Just a small 15w amp

My brother plays a little acoustic but he's in Melbourne, so only occasionally do we get to play together. Sometimes over the phone :p
Our music tastes are a bit different, but once we get Money going, it's pretty good

I wouldn't consider a band, but hoping to get some lessons in this year, though expecting our first child so that could be tough!