FTA-TV My Kitchen Rules 2019

The pre requisite to any good food is proper seasoning, that doesn't mean a few teaspoons I'm talking a few table spoons and a decent portion of pepper or any other herb or spice that will enhance the flavour. I don't serve anything without a good dollop of seasoning, I want people reaching for the water when they eat.
Gordon Ramsay would not have been happy tonight.

Help me out guys! I’ve never ever watched it before but I’m watching it this year because an old girlfriend is on it. She hasn’t been on yet apparently it’s done in two halves.
But I’m just struggling with some of it. Is it fair dinkum? Are these brothers real or just actors? Could they really be real??
I know one thing I am absolutely ****ing spewing she isn’t on when they’re on. She’d have torn them a new arseh*le in a heartbeat if it’s for real.
Maybe there is a reason they are on different times and come to think of it they seem to have put these brothers on with pretty passive people. Would be very ugly otherwise.
Not across it all or how it works but I bloody felt sorry for those people who cooked on tonight’s.
Imagine that.

Tonight we were happy we record it first, a lot of fast forwarding going on. I loved how the Columbian MILF tasted the stew in the Kitchen and had a foodgasm crying how her grandma would be so proud, and then was told it was utter shit by the judges. Lack of seasoning (aka salt) is a cardinal sin in cooking. I can't see this couple going beyond the elimination cook. I always thought the Byron Bay Hipsters had a good enough score (71) to get through this round. Looks like the gay guys are going to join Latino and the pussy whipped in the elimination round.

Help me out guys! I’ve never ever watched it before but I’m watching it this year because an old girlfriend is on it. She hasn’t been on yet apparently it’s done in two halves.
But I’m just struggling with some of it. Is it fair dinkum? Are these brothers real or just actors? Could they really be real??
I know one thing I am absolutely ******* spewing she isn’t on when they’re on. She’d have torn them a new arseh*le in a heartbeat if it’s for real.
Maybe there is a reason they are on different times and come to think of it they seem to have put these brothers on with pretty passive people. Would be very ugly otherwise.
Not across it all or how it works but I bloody felt sorry for those people who cooked on tonight’s.
Imagine that.

Hey Rodney, your old girlfriend isn’t named Karolina by any chance? (From Perth)

Na. Names Anne.
You’ll see her she’s as mad as a cut snake. She’s lovely and I’ve known her forever since kids but right out there. And takes no shit.

I know one thing I am absolutely ******* spewing she isn’t on when they’re on. She’d have torn them a new arseh*le in a heartbeat if it’s for real.
Imagine that.

Might have to wait a month or so before your ex appears on TV. Sounds like she's in the second group which they don't air until the first group has all cooked and, from memory, one of the pairs has been eliminated.

Like all reality TV shows, MKR is edited to within an inch of its life in order to play up the rivalries and tensions between competitors. But it's pretty clear that the homeschool brothers are just incapable of interacting with other people in a normal fashion.

There appears to be a fairly clear formula to how the shows are edited. One couple (in this case, the Peruvians) are depicted as being know-it-all foodies who criticise everyone else and then either score "the highest score ever"(TM) on MKR or crash and burn when it's their turn to cook. Another couple (in this case the Christian brothers) are depicted as villains that snipe everyone else around the table. Usually, there's another couple (the gay blokes) who hide something (in this case, the fact that the gay Lebanese bloke has worked in restaurants his entire life).

As for last night's competitors, I actually don't have any sympathy for them. The Peruvians are pretty mean-spirited but Andy's comment about Karito's parents lacking palate isn't actually that far off the mark, IMO.

For health reasons, I've reduced the amount of added salt I consume in my food, and my wife (who is from El Salvador) always complains about my lack of seasoning when I cook so I've had to learn to add what seems like a bucket load of seasoning to the food I cook for my wife compared to food I cook for myself.

Generally, Latin American food is seasoned a lot, and when I mean "a lot", I mean A LOT. Spices, salt, pepper, the whole nine yards. It's really inconceivable that a Colombian could turn out food that is apparently really bland given how food is prepared in Latin America. It seems to me that the only way this could occur is because that's how she was raised - which gets back to Andy's point about her parents' palate.

What an utter gimp Ian was. Fair dinkum, he couldn’t cook a piece of toast, let alone give poor karito a chop out.

Karito is pretty clearly a gold digger. She certainly didn't marry him for his cooking abilities, that's for sure.

For health reasons, I've reduced the amount of added salt I consume in my food, and my wife (who is from El Salvador) always complains about my lack of seasoning when I cook so I've had to learn to add what seems like a bucket load of seasoning to the food I cook for my wife compared to food I cook for myself.

Generally, Latin American food is seasoned a lot, and when I mean "a lot", I mean A LOT. Spices, salt, pepper, the whole nine yards. It's really inconceivable that a Colombian could turn out food that is apparently really bland given how food is prepared in Latin America. It seems to me that the only way this could occur is because that's how she was raised - which gets back to Andy's point about her parents' palate.

I have to have more salt because of my hypotension. Crazy.

I really was surprised that their stew was bland. I've always heard that Latin American food has plenty of spice and flavour. I've had a bit of Cuban food and Brasilian food, but the latter was mostly for the meat.

This is the stew recipe:

BEEF STEW
25g butter
2 tbs olive oil
1kg beef cheeks, cut into 5cm pieces
2 brown onions, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
2 sticks celery, chopped
6 cloves garlic, chopped
500ml red wine
1 litre beef stock
6 bay leaves
1 bunch rosemary, tied with butchers twine
1 bunch oregano, leaves picked
400g royal blue potatoes, coarsely chopped
500g frozen peas

Nothing really special there. Disappointing. Hopefully their next meal will be a winner.

Karito is pretty clearly a gold digger. She certainly didn't marry him for his cooking abilities, that's for sure.
And he didn't marry her for her cooking either

Her bio.

I can’t believe I’m sharing, for the first time in My Kitchen Rules, Colombian culture,” she says. “I’m here to honour my grandmother, my background and make my daughter proud.”
Ian meanwhile is “your typical skip.”
“Falling in love with a Latino really spiced up my life,” the business owner reveals.

https://mkr.7plus.com.au/karito-and-ian

I've looked up a few recipes for the Estofado and the ones I did see that were similar to Karito's had cumin and tomatoes or a variation such as a tomato puree. None mentioned oregano or rosemary. it appears that the beef stew I used to make is very similar to Estofado. Hey, I'm a Colombian cook!

There's a Colombian cafe on Flinders Street, but no Estofado. It's only open for breakfast and lunch.

Her bio.

I can’t believe I’m sharing, for the first time in My Kitchen Rules, Colombian culture,” she says. “I’m here to honour my grandmother, my background and make my daughter proud.”
Ian meanwhile is “your typical skip.”
“Falling in love with a Latino really spiced up my life,” the business owner reveals.

https://mkr.7plus.com.au/karito-and-ian

Did Ian fall in love with a Colombian bloke, did he? Or did Channel 7 put a typo in the bio?

Hmmm.. perhaps there will be another coming out after Ibby's secret being revealed last night! :eek:

Anne sounds exactly like Karolina who comes in next group.
Might be some fun viewing coming up.
Anne has apparently become a psychic lol. I haven’t seen her for a while but this does not surprise me one tiny bit.
Referring to what Dixie Flatline says about the editing and the way couples are portrayed I can almost guarantee that Anne and her mate will be portrayed as the bat shit crazy women, your blonde mid 40’s Bogan speaking types who aren’t too concerned about what people think etc.
Knowing her it’ll be highly entertaining anyway.

Lol another secret!

I like his bio. Short.lol

Wha??? Ibby and Romel aren't a couple? I haven't read up on any of the pairs. You've forced me to look at New Idea. Damn you!

LOL. From New Idea:

In fact, it was Ibby’s break-up with his girlfriend of seven years that propelled him to accept friend Romel’s offer to join him on My Kitchen Rules.

“We had a conversation about it before we started,” Romel recalls. “The minute we got on the show we made it extremely clear that we are not partners, we’ve never shared a bed, we’ve never seen each other naked. We are like brothers – as far as I am concerned, he’s got zero genitals.”

I thought it was Ian who didn't have genitals. I'm so confused!:huh:

The Colombian woman can't cook but she has nice "cha-cha-cha's"
Rico was a better cook than Ian and his partner.

Wha??? Ibby and Romel aren't a couple? I haven't read up on any of the pairs. You've forced me to look at New Idea. Damn you!

LOL. From New Idea:

In fact, it was Ibby’s break-up with his girlfriend of seven years that propelled him to accept friend Romel’s offer to join him on My Kitchen Rules.

“We had a conversation about it before we started,” Romel recalls. “The minute we got on the show we made it extremely clear that we are not partners, we’ve never shared a bed, we’ve never seen each other naked. We are like brothers – as far as I am concerned, he’s got zero genitals.”

I thought it was Ian who didn't have genitals. I'm so confused!:huh:
Thanks for checking and posting the information. Lol I didn't want to check new idea

Zero genitals...

FTA-TV My Kitchen Rules 2019