My New View on Dockerland

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
It's Farmer skidding on his knees whilst trying to dive to get a free kick which usually makes it go over his head.

Making things worse here....

United we stand.

By the way IP, My son went to the AFL shop to do some Chrissy shopping and bought his Docker loving Grandad an Eagles coffee mug. Thats my boy. There is a god after all.

Given the fact that you have Dockers on either generational side of you Streaker, one would have to presume that good taste and intelligence skipped your generation entirely, and was passed directly from grandfather to grandson. Listen carefully to their words of wisdom and repeat... "GO FREO".

Perhaps the Eagles mug will be put to good use when granddad develops incontinence and needs a pot to keep beside the bed for night time emergencies.

i know it's shanes site but i find his "edited by shane" a bit heavy - i keep gettingn loads of posts deleted & certainly no profanities, no insults in them so i have a real hard time understanding why particlularly when i read some of mish's or dutcheys cos they seem to sail pretty close to the wind!
- and i suppose what annoys me is if i ask him why i never get an answer - still it's useful site to read eveyone else's stuff even if it's hard for me to have a post last longer than 5 seconds!

Originally posted by janiek
i know it's shanes site but i find his "edited by shane" a bit heavy - i keep gettingn loads of posts deleted & certainly no profanities, no insults in them so i have a real hard time understanding why particlularly when i read some of mish's or dutcheys cos they seem to sail pretty close to the wind!
- and i suppose what annoys me is if i ask him why i never get an answer - still it's useful site to read eveyone else's stuff even if it's hard for me to have a post last longer than 5 seconds!

I have also had posts deleted/Edited but thats no big deal. When I didn't understand why I just clicked on the contact us link and quite quickly got a fairly reasonable reply. Not that I agreed but I could understand his reasons.
Overall it is a very good site with a lot of wit and humour being displayed without some of the carry on you sometimes see around here

it's a good site dockertor and i know i'm not alone in having the posts deleted - but i've never yet had a response when i have asked why
i wish i was more able to say -" post deleted hey no big deal"
but being a fairly typical female i probably take it to heart a bit too much & then feel less & less inclined to post

Quite often what happens is, there's something posted that doesn't agree with shane's fairly strict rules of what's acceptable and what's not, or it goes way off track and off topic, and then a whole lot of posts that are responding to that come along. Rather than just delete the stuff that started it all, meaning that everything that comes after makes little sense, he gets rid of the lot.
What it means is that while some stuff that appears perfectly okay gets the @rse for no apparent reason, it keeps things clean, above the belt (except when things Weevil related are concerned - then it's basically a free for all!!), keeps the bad language and the trolls out, and geherally keeps things on topic.
I often go there, and try to push it a bit further... it's fun to see how long some of the "off" topics stays there, and how many responses it gets before it goes.
It used to pee me off, but once you get the idea of what goes and what stays, play by the rules and you'll find heaps of high quality, very funny and clever stuff.
For all else - there's BigFooty!!

And for all those supporters of other teams who get on and say "stupid Freo purple ****tahs take it up the @rse" and similar stuff... why and how could you expect that to stay? Say something clever, witty, TRUE, controversial yet factual - and it stays and often provokes long and interesting discussion. It's a site for Freo people, by a Freo person and we can blow it up our own backsides as much as we want in that forum!
There are a few regulars there (like carneagles, hotpies, Wild Eagle to name a few) who know the rules, don't come there simply to bag Freo and we all get on fine. They take the barbs and give it back. But they keep it clean and relatively mature most of the time.

Originally posted by Scal

Funnily enough, I doubt shane would let a thread like this (bagging someone else for little reason) exist on dockerland...

Ah I was waiting for this....
Shane runs dockerland one way, this board is run another.
Its a little ironic you taking a swipe at how this board is run in the same post as taking a swipe at someone else for doing exactly the same thing.
Shane edits any mention of bigfooty fullstop, and thats how he operates.
Hitman can have his rant, just as everyone else can.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Its a little ironic you taking a swipe at how this board is run in the same post as taking a swipe at someone else for doing exactly the same thing.

I often post links to BF - and they stay.

I'm a big fan of both sites, but I post differently on each one.

BTW sabre - I reckon you do a great job (and I'm sure Scal wasn't having a go, just pointing out one of the differences).:)

have to agree with sabre - i'd be interested to see the archives on dockerland to find any references to this board one of my deleted posts related to BF- which is a shame as it shouldn't be seen as a threat or competiition
like many i go to both boards

Ive mentioned bigfooty in one of my posts and positive it was not deleted. I have had heaps of my postings deleted though but accept that. Thats just part of the parcel at dockerland.com. Testing shane.

But in my book its the best and will remain the best. Ive only been apart of dockerland.com for just under a year, def not part of the so called "boys club". dont know about them all being Souths supporters, I think most of them are West Perth/Garlic Munchers/Cardinals/Falcons/Joondalup, whatever you call them supporters

Not having a swipe, sabre, you run things fine. Just pointing out that some things, even though they are kept clean, can come under shane's no go area.

If you think I'm taking a swipe, not much I can do about that, but if I didn't like the way you moderated here, I wouldn't post here, and would leave it at that.

I certainly wouldn't take a swipe at you on any other messageboards...

And no, he doesn't edit any mention of bigfooty...

You lot all seem a bit paranoid.

Not having a swipe, sabre, you run things fine. Just pointing out that some things, even though they are kept clean, can come under shane's no go area.

If you think I'm taking a swipe, not much I can do about that, but if I didn't like the way you moderated here, I wouldn't post here, and would leave it at that.

I certainly wouldn't take a swipe at you on any other messageboards...

And no, he doesn't edit any mention of bigfooty...

Not paranoid at all, just thats how it sounded.
The other site can operate however it wants, its just a pity that many poster from over there refuse to post here.
As this site is more than just another freo board.

Scal ,Sabre does a great job & his job is made easier cause everyone knows where the goal posts are set.
Where as the other hand & you cant deny this , shanes goal posts are set for diffrent people and these posts can change popsition at any given time which is BS . How can anyone make any solid contributions on a regular basis. In Shanes latest story he likens Van Gogh to Freo & read the story & I think " this is the same nut who edits everyone on a whim". Shane should take his own advice in the story and give everyone a fair go or atleast till he see's what makes them tick. Even Shane said it , No one saw the genius striaght away & people shouldve have been more patient - I thnk Shane should hold onto that story for a while & realise not everyone has the same thought process's as himself & he is not the be all and end all & if he think he is atleast put up a set of guidelines & Scal you asked why I hadnt messaged him before , well I have & got no reply some 7 months later
I think Shane is the one suffering some sort of paranoia / unstable state of mind & by him the way he acts only strengthens my beleifs.

Hitman read your first post and then your last post .....spot the medical problem (multiple personality). If your hungry I think there are still a few pieces of humble pie left.

You start by saying gees I was a bit harsh on Shane & I apologise and then you finish up with a back hander at him....and your criticism is Shane is inconsistent ....me thunks it is 'hello Kettle gees you are black' time

It is his site and he shall govern it how he pleases and in doing so he runs the best unofficial AFL site bar none....guess something he is doing works.

Anyway can you confirm are you retracting the initial apology or the last insult?

Moo

Originally posted by Moo
Hitman read your first post and then your last post .....spot the medical problem (multiple personality). If your hungry I think there are still a few pieces of humble pie left.

You start by saying gees I was a bit harsh on Shane & I apologise and then you finish up with a back hander at him....and your criticism is Shane is inconsistent ....me thunks it is 'hello Kettle gees you are black' time

It is his site and he shall govern it how he pleases and in doing so he runs the best unofficial AFL site bar none....guess something he is doing works.

Anyway can you confirm are you retracting the initial apology or the last insult?

Moo

Sarcasm CowMan - That 1st post had it all aswell , & its been backhander ever since , not on him pesonally or his site , just his moderating stance. To announce an apology would probably be the only way to get the guy/girl to have a look at the thread. & if you must know "sorry" is a word I loosely use.

Also Cowman instead of studying my threads perhaps you should read Shanes last story he wrote and perhaps when he comes back he may have taken some thing from it ;) Even though he was trying to flog off "Way to Go" , I found Shanes peice a very good read:)

In order to prevent this degenerating into a me / you .....Cows with Guns Vs Brett the "Hitman" Hart type scenario - I'll present my closing argument and then throw to you for your final serve.
(Though to be fair I should warn you that there are 2 cows on the jury).

My point was you posted an initial peaceful piece of prose but then appeared to get bored with that ....so decided to re-join the bagging of site and person.

I particularly liked your denial of criticising Shane personally mmmmmm lets see...."I think Shane is the one suffering some sort of paranoia / unstable state of mind & by him the way he acts only strengthens my beleifs." Me thunks that unless Shane is a codeword for something else other than Shane that this may just count as a personal comment.

To be fair Hitman, if it wasnt for the down arrow key ...your devishily and dastardly ploy may have fooled me.

I have read Shane's last piece and it was excellent.

Now Hitman - fire up those Cow jokes and tell me why I shouldnt claim a TKO in the 6th round of this bout?

Moo ooM

BTW This is me having a long hard look at myself ....K ...have your return Hitman and then lets declare peace amongst our clans and sing "Where is the love?" together.

Hitmans first post was meant to be sarcastic. As I said at the beginning of the thread "it went straight over his (theferrett) head" although it seems Hitman thought I was talking about him (thickskinned I guess). Personally I enjoy the wit that is bandied about on Dockerland but find a lot of the so called debate turns out being all about oneupmanship so I have stopped reading it. I agree that it is a well set out site but censorship can have it's drawbacks.

OK so I totally missed that - but hey its summer and I am bored (bloody cricket). Half the post is still relevant (I think).

I'll lower my bid from 6th round TKO to first innings points and a tasteful draw.

Moo

PS Does this meant I dont get to sing "Where is the love?"

Originally posted by Moo
PS Does this meant I dont get to sing "Where is the love?"

As long as you do a better rendition than those guys on Sunrise, you can sing to your hearts content.

Not paranoid at all, just thats how it sounded.
The other site can operate however it wants, its just a pity that many poster from over there refuse to post here.
As this site is more than just another freo board.

OK, so since it sounded to you like I was taking a swipe, it means that must have been what I meant to do.

My own words saying that was not what I was trying to convey must not mean a thing.

So now not only am I taking a swipe, I'm a liar as well...

Good stuff.

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
Scal ,Sabre does a great job & his job is made easier cause everyone knows where the goal posts are set.
Absolutely. I said so in an earlier post. Can't disagree here.

Where as the other hand & you cant deny this , shanes goal posts are set for diffrent people and these posts can change popsition at any given time which is BS . [/B]
Well, see, I can deny this, although I could be wrong. It is your opinion that shane changes the goal posts, and I have already said that everyone cops the same treatment. I have had conversations with regulars who have talked about the editing and deletions.

How can anyone make any solid contributions on a regular basis. In Shanes latest story he likens Van Gogh to Freo & read the story & I think " this is the same nut who edits everyone on a whim". Shane should take his own advice in the story and give everyone a fair go or atleast till he see's what makes them tick. Even Shane said it , No one saw the genius striaght away & people shouldve have been more patient - I thnk Shane should hold onto that story for a while & realise not everyone has the same thought process's as himself & he is not the be all and end all & if he think he is atleast put up a set of guidelines [/B]
Well, I treat the stories on the site and the messageboard differently. Shane's stories should always be taken with a grain of salt. I firmly don't believe that shane thinks he is the be all and end all. Now, let me say that I don't know why some posts get edited or deleted, mainly because I haven't asked, but shane generally does so for some decent reason. I have seen people on here say that they have emailed and not received a reply. Well, then they have reason not to be happy. Not a lot I can do about that... but I will concede that if they have emailed because they weren't happy and not receieved a reply, as long as the email was sensible and not full of abuse, then fair enough, be as unhappy as you like. I, however, still don't see the point of bagging shane out on this messageboard...

& Scal you asked why I hadnt messaged him before , well I have & got no reply some 7 months later
I think Shane is the one suffering some sort of paranoia / unstable state of mind & by him the way he acts only strengthens my beleifs. [/B]
Actually, I didn't ask whether you had emailed him before, I simply suggested that you email him with the idea you had earlier in the thread, as I thought it was a good one. The paranoia comment was not directed at you, but rather at those that thought that "every mention of bigfooty was edited out", which it most definitely is not.

People are aware of shane's editing, and they assume that everything gets edited, which is certainly not the case.

In any event, my original reply to you was just to email shane with your idea. If you don't want to because you have emailed him before and not received a reply, then fair enough.

Just take note that I wasn't actually having a go at sabre, as I have already explained (but I don't think I have been believed), it was just a comparison I was using.

Perhaps in the future I should not buy into these arguments, or try to "have my rant", I don't like being accused of being a liar.

I've had most of my posts edited over there and none have been anti-Freo or scathing at any players/officials.

At the end of the day it's his board and he can do as he wishes but it's a shame that other points of view are not heard. Personally I think that it is dangerous to delete/edit different ideas as long as they aren't slanderous.

Sorry guys.
The thread had to be closed because of certain comments that were not only offensive but could have gotten this site into allot of trouble.
Keep it clean please.