Roast NAB 3 Post match - the vent thread

Everyone just needs to take a deep breath hell, if I was bucks and had the brions heirarchy sitting in the stands I would not have played my trump card either ..here's to a lot of posters on here having egg on their face at the completion of round 1 ..easy 2 say but hard 2 do 'patience' people. .

Well I hope we do have Egg’s on our Face

Lol. this secret trump card that apparently only works once so we need to save it for round one. Give me a break. If you have a great plan it will work for a while. In 2010 our press didn't get found out after 2 games did it.

I love how you assume we can just switch on our form. It just doesn't work that way.

I hope we lose every game this season just so buckley can **** off! pathetic recruiting and even worse gameplan!

They won't have egg on their faces until the team improves it's structures, systems and ball efficiency. But then I would hazard a guess it wont be egg as it's what they are wanting.

Scrappy rudderless wins aren't going to see us become a good team which is the exact type wins we had last year.

So you maybe right we may beat Brisbane but ultimately have a poor season come round 22.

Lol. this secret trump card that apparently only works once so we need to save it for round one. Give me a break. If you have a great plan it will work for a while. In 2010 our press didn't get found out after 2 games did it.

It's so secret we hid it from the entire playing group for the whole of the 2014 season.

He hasnt yet demonstrated he's picked up the pace. He was just okay in his first intra club, wasn't terrible but wasn't great in the vfl game against Geelong and didn't do heaps in Fri night's vfl intra.
Hes just not ready yet. They need to find the balance between giving him exposure/experience and not killing his confidence. Ive seen all three of his games and im with the club on this one - he's not ready........but when he is, watch out!!!!!

And what happened when we played our best 22, they got flogged. He deserved a chance.

Deserves a chance by not training or playing in practice matches to standard?
Your logic is curious to say the least.
I think everyone needs a good nap.

Throwing him to the wolves may only result in slowing his development. For the record, that wasn't our best 22, there are players ahead of him at this stage. I love the fact that you assume to know more than the coaches that work with him day in day out. His kicking was askew in the vfl game against Geelong and wasn't brilliant in the intra club. So if you're picking him on the basis that he's a good kick, then he's not ready. I'm not here to bag the kid just to give an opinion that he's not quite up to the standard required at afl level...but he will be in due course! Hes got wonderful traits that should see him playing plenty of footy if he works hard enough. And obviously the coaches agree at this point of time and that's all that matters. I still think he'll play sometime this year-mid to late in my humble opinion.

History shows you are wrong.

The only time it can be taken as a nothing game is generally when teams play half their vfl side or play players out of position all over the ground.

Year / Premier / Runner Up | Winner Season / Runner Up Season
1988 Hawthorn Geelong Premier 9th
1989 Melbourne Geelong Semi Finalist Grand Finalist
1990 Essendon North Melb Grand Finalist 6th
1991 Hawthorn North Melb Premier 8th
1992 Hawthorn Fitzroy Elimination Finalist 10th
1993 Essendon Richmond Premier 14th
1994 Essendon Adelaide 10th 11th
1995 North Melb Adelaide Preliminary Finalist 11th
1996 St Kilda Carlton 10th Semi Finalist
1997 Carlton Geelong 11th Semi Finalist
1998 North Melb St Kilda Grand Finalist Semi Finalist
1999 Hawthorn Port 9th Elimination Finalist
2000 Essendon North Melb Premier Preliminary Finalist
2001 Port Brisbane Semi Finalist Premier
2002 Port Richmond Preliminary Finalist 14th
2003 Adelaide Collingwood Semi Finalist Grand Finalist
2004 St Kilda Geelong Preliminary Finalist Preliminary Finalist
2005 Carlton West Coast 16th (Spoon) Grand Finalist
2006 Geelong Adelaide 9th Preliminary Finalist
2007 Carlton Brisbane 15th 10th
2008 St Kilda Adelaide Preliminary Finalist Elimination Finalist
2009 Geelong Collingwood Premier Preliminary Finalist
2010 Bulldogs St Kilda Preliminary Finalist Grand Finalist
2011 Collingwood Essendon Grand Finalist Elimination Finalist
2012 Adelaide West Coast Preliminary Finalist Semi Finalist
2013 Brisbane Carlton 12th Semi Finalist

As you can see more often then not GF teams played finals or won flags.

Teams who show shit structure and ball movement generally carried it into the season proper.

As with all things perspective needs to be applied ie Hawks vs Pies NAB 1 what can be taken from that? Not a lot other then our VFL/junior side looks to have their measure at this stage.

Dogs vs Pies what can we glean from that a heck tonne. Senior team players generally in position, team looking to find form leading to rnd 1, coaches looking to players to put hand up, systems shown, ball movement shown etc. That team was just a continuation of the 2014 team in fact it was almost the same personnel playing.

Not about results, a lot about method.

I think your missing why people are so pissed, it isn't cause we lost it is due to HOW and WHY we are losing, the method not result. We really are playing pathetic footy and it was the same last year. In our wins they were horrid to watch and often felt like we were losing despite being in front on the score board.

2014 - Hawthorn 3-0, Sydney 2-1
2013 - Hawthorn 1-4, Fremantle 2-2
2012 - Sydney 2-2, Hawthorn 3-1
2011 - Geelong 3-2, Collingwood 5-0
2010 - Collingwood 3-1, St.Kilda 3-1

They're the pre-season results of that year's grand finalists. A winning record for most of them sure but a mixed bag of results most years. Paul Roos blatantly tanked during the pre-season during his time at Sydney ("don't kick a goal"), that should tell you all you need to know about how coaches feel about practice matches.

As for the method, yeah I get your point but at the end of the day it's still bruise-free footy with coaches wanting nothing more but to get prep into the players. Bucks' said as much in his presser - he'll take note of what went wrong but come round 1 it's a different ball game. I'm not going to hit panic stations based off practice matches.

2014 - Hawthorn 3-0, Sydney 2-1
2013 - Hawthorn 1-4, Fremantle 2-2
2012 - Sydney 2-2, Hawthorn 3-1
2011 - Geelong 3-2, Collingwood 5-0
2010 - Collingwood 3-1, St.Kilda 3-1

They're the pre-season results of that year's grand finalists. A winning record for most of them sure but a mixed bag of results most years. Paul Roos blatantly tanked during the pre-season during his time at Sydney ("don't kick a goal"), that should tell you all you need to know about how coaches feel about practice matches.

As for the method, yeah I get your point but at the end of the day it's still bruise-free footy with coaches wanting nothing more but to get prep into the players. Bucks' said as much in his presser - he'll take note of what went wrong but come round 1 it's a different ball game. I'm not going to hit panic stations based off practice matches.

So I was right, I did give you 25 years worth of proof but thank you for reinforcing it on a smaller scale.

As to the secondary bolded I said discretion needs to be used, ie if a team is known for using it to just play youth mess with structures etc then you can't gleam a lot from it but most teams in their last games do not do this and we certainly didn't.

You only have to watch how despondent Buckley was in his presser to know he was clearly wanting more, might of been bruise free for some (very few Pendles, Varcoe and Swan mainly) but most our team was having a crack.

Just to put it in perspective, most of the team were playing for spots in the best 22. There are many spots open to players who earn their spot and perform well. Bucks alluded to this in the presser by saying it opens the door for players in the VFL game. Sure some players are on training programs and different loads etc but the fringe players are playing for spots in an AFL side round one. Do you think coaches say "your a lock round one, don't knock yourself out tonight". NO. Fasolo, Sinclair, White, Blair and others are fair dinkum being pushed and thats how they respond?

Our back 6 is a massive worry, especially if Buckley wants to be the "best transition side in the competition". Blokes like Frost, Toovey, Sinclair, Williams are just butchers of the footy while Langdon lacks agility and penetration in his kicking. Oxley looks a player and could add something off half back.

I seriously cant wait til Maynard amd Scharenberg are in our back 6 and add that touch of class. Maybe even Seedsmam but he never looks up for the fight once hes picked.

Forward line was shithouse last night but will be better when Broomhead and Kennedy come back in. Hopefully we piss Blair off sooner rather than later coz he has no pace whatsoever and no defensive capabilities.

Buckley, is just like a politician, promises everything, but delivers nothing.
I'm still waiting for our players to be acceptable, kicks - when Bucks' started he said disposal efficiency was what he was going to improve on. He now what's us to be the best transition team??? It looks like we are becoming the best team for allowing the opposition to transition from defence to attack.

I don't want talk anymore, I want action and improvement in the team.

At least the sun came up again this morning and it will again every morning........ I hope......

It's not about Round 1. It's the persistent problems we have as a team. If we win rd 1, it doesn't mean Bucks is a super coach that we sign up for the next decade. To me, results are meaningless. It's all about HOW we play. If we don't improve in how we play, then I hope we get rid of Buckley ASAP.