Preview NAB AFL Draft

Re: National Draft / Rookie Draft Strategy (No Trade Talk)

You are arguing for the sake or arguing !

And with the wrong person - I am someone who would like to have 6 or 7 picks in the ND - I value draft picks - whether they are 1 or 80.

I merely posted information about rucks that have been drafted between pick 6 and 30 - Our first two draft picks.

You are the only one that is disputing the information.

I'm only disputing it because you can't predict the future based what's happened in the past.

It's like me saying "let's only draft rucks in the rookie draft" because Sandilands and Cox, two of the best rucks in the last decade were drafted there.

I'm only disputing it because you can't predict the future based what's happened in the past.

It's like me saying "let's only draft rucks in the rookie draft" because Sandilands and Cox, two of the best rucks in the last decade were drafted there.

Of course no-one can predict the future 100%, but at least I have provided some research looking at the drafting of quality rucks in the last 20 years.

RIG could you fill me in on where to find this batcave?
I'd love to read ants opinion..

BTW, loving the Avatar, how good was Velasquez!!!

One does not simply walk into the Batcave.

You guys need midfielders. Pick the best available outside mid at 8 and I would go Josh Green (I know I am a biased Tassie) if he is still available with your next pick (25?). Need another in and under player who can support Jobe.

This.

Why is everyone making it so complicated? :confused:

I'm starting to lean to the fact that if we get one of Caddy, Gaff, Heppell, Polec or Atley, we will win handsomely.

In particular, Caddy, I know H Minion doesn't rate him and I don't think ant does either, but he could have the biggest impact of the 'live' midfielders next year.

Could really compliment the outside-ness of Zaharakis, Colyer and, at times, Melksham.

Inside footy Draft Special came out today:

Here is what they have to say about a few of the potential draftees (To Essendon)

Reece Conca, 12/8/92 - 182cm - 76kg - Forward/Midfield - Perth/WA
WA Representative '10
Reece is a midfielder who played state 18's this year and was the vice captain of that side. Played 10 games of colts footy and seven games of league footy. Playing midfield and half back and at Colts level he was the premier midfielder in that competition. He's a quick inside player with outstanding skills, exceptional speed and great ball handling skills. When he went up to league level he was ablel to perform like he had in the colts and had a couple of best on ground efforts. There's a good chance he'll go top 10 I reckon.
Perth Coach Damian McMahon

Sam Crocker, 12/3/92 - 180cm - 78kg - Forward/Midfield - Oakleigh/VIC
Sam's a wing/half forward and is what recruiters describe as an 'elite kick' - a magnificent left -foot kick. He's been one of, if not the biggest improver in our whole squad this year. Good ball carrier, breaks lines, can take a markbut his kicking sets him apart. Showed this year his commitment to the ball and has added that string to his bow.
Oakleigh Chargers coach Steven Grace

Josh Green, 24/8/92 - 179cm -76kg - Midfielder/Forward - Clarence/TAS
Tasmania Representative '10
All Australian '10
Josh is an attacking midfielder who can play as a small forward as well. He has just won his second state league premiership in Tasmania so he's very well regarded at senior level in this state. Captain of the under 18 side and MVP for Tasmania at the championships. Interviewed brilliantly at the draft camp and earned a write up for it with quotes from Brisbane about how good he was. His agility reading was 6 and he ran a 2.92 for 20 meters. We'd be hopeful that he could go as high as the second round. Last year at the National Championships he was top 10 for disposals and this year he topped a couple of stat categories. His negative is that he looks a little short and dumpy.
AFL Tasmania High Performance Manager Nick Probert

Daniel Gorringe, 2/6/92 - 200cm - 92kg - Ruck/Forward - Norwood/SA
South Australia Representative '10
All Australian '10
Dan played the whole year at senior level for us. Probably two thirds league (seniors) one third reserves which is a good effort from a 17-18 y.o. Travelled overseas with the AISsquad and was named All - Australian after the national championships. All in all, he's been outstanding. Got a great vertical jump and kicks well both sides of his body. If you watched him in a cone - to - cone drill you would think he was an onballer. He'll go top 6 I reckon - the best young ruck prospect in Australia, so they say.
Norwood Development Manager David Oatey

Mitch Hallahan, 23/8/92 - 182cm - 82kg - Midfielder/Forward - Dandenong/VIC Country
Vic Country Representative '10
All Australian '10
Mitch was our captain and the pinnacle of the year was the national carnival where he was voted one of vic countries most valuable players and was in their leadership group. In the latter part of the season he struggled with some ankle problems and maybe if we had our time over again we might of just let him sit out, but he's a real competitor and leader. Good, tough and hard inside player who has clean hands and kicks the ball well. Just an imposing player around the footy.
Dandenong Stingrays Coach Graeme Yeates

Luke Parker, 15/10/92 - 182cm - 83kg - Midfield/Forward - Dandenong/Vic Country
Dandenong/VIC Country '10
Vic Country Representative '10
Luke is a really strong bodied endurance athlete who probably just tappered off a bit towards the end of the year but had a good national carnival. An exciting player who can play midfield as well as a small forward, a terrific kick and decision maker. Really hard and tough. He was one player who was targetted by oppositions each week and he was manned up no matter what position he went to. But, to his credit he handeld that fantastically well.
Dandenong Stingrays Coach Graeme Yeates

Dion Prestia, 12/10/92 - 175cm - 82 kg - Midfield/Forward - Calder/Vic Metro
Vic Metro Representative '10
Dion's a midfielder who wins his own footy both on the inside and can break lines on the outside with his carry. Really classy midfielder who probably in the best two or three players, bearing in mind I'm very bias, in the TAC Cup. Had an injury playing school footy but still finished second in our best and fairest.
Calder Cannons Coach Martin Allison

Brodie Smith, 14/1/92 - 189cm - 80kg - Midfielder/Defender - WWT/SA
South Australia Representative '10
All Australian '10
Brodie was solid all year and went away with the AIS Squad at the start of the season and then played for SA during the state championships. We didn't get to see him alot at the Eagles until after the championships but he played a couple of games in the reserves and then got promoted into the seniors and stayed there. Had a really good finals series, including a great semir final againt Glenelg. Playing mainly half back and back pocket on the smaller forwards in the league.
Eagles Talent Manager Shane Grimm

If there are any other players that you would like me to dig up and put the write up about, feel free to ask.

Thanks guys, even a few on some "likely VFL types" whilst some brief descriptions on some guys from WAFL and SANFL are also inclided.

**NOTE: I'm either blind or stupid, but I cannot find the profile/bio for Shaun Atley.

And the 'Inside Mock Draft' top 12 is:

1.Gold Coast: David Swallow
2. Gold Coast: Harley Bennell
3. Gold Coast: Sam Day
4. West Coast: Andrew Gaff
5. Brisbane: Jarred Polec
6. Richmond: Dyson Heppell
7. Gold Coast: Shaun Atley
8. Essendon: Daniel Gorringe
9. Gold Coast: Tom Lynch
10. Gold Coast: Josh Caddy
11. Gold Coast: Billie Smedts
12. Gold Coast: Jack Darling

Stops there, sorry guys..

And the 'Inside Mock Draft' top 12 is:

1.Gold Coast: David Swallow
2. Gold Coast: Harley Bennell
3. Gold Coast: Sam Day
4. West Coast: Andrew Gaff
5. Brisbane: Jarred Polec
6. Richmond: Dyson Heppell
7. Gold Coast: Shaun Atley
8. Essendon: Daniel Gorringe
9. Gold Coast: Tom Lynch
10. Gold Coast: Josh Caddy
11. Gold Coast: Billie Smedts
12. Gold Coast: Jack Darling

Stops there, sorry guys..

Thanks HFF. With all this talk of us getting Gorringe, I think GC will lock him in at 7. Leaving us to pick from Atley and Caddy.

Gee HFF any of those blokes could be a great get at our 2nd pick. For me it's still caddy or atley. Hope prestia or conca slides to 30. When should we know what clubs are going to use their compensation picks?

We will have to use our first pick on Joe daniher next year so I'm off the idea in taking another tall in gorringe with our first pick this year.

Joe is a KPP. Gorringe is likely to be the best ruckman in the 10' draft. Given our injection of midfielders over the last few years, and with some of them showing considerable improvement (zaka, howlett, melky and colyer), I say go with the "best available" approach. If Gorringe is available at 8, grab him, if not, grab the next best mid.

at pick 30 i wouldn't mind essendon taking shannon rioli. he looks well composed and capable of rotating from half-forward onto on-ball. we bring in shannon this draft and then throw a big deal at cyril to join next year joining the club where he should be.

If GC are taking Hickey as pre-listed, not sure if this has been confirmed, it leaves the ruck stocks in this draft very thin at the later picks. We have to take Gorringe or we could be stuck with 3 ruckman.

We'll definately pick up a ruckman at some point. Maybe in the rookie draft.

I'd personnally like atley or prestia at 8.

Guthrie or Sam crocker at 30-37 by the time the consession picks are taken.

Then jonathan Giles at 47-whatever. He won sturts best and fairest and has been described as the best ruckman outside the afl. One of port or Adelaide will take him IMO at some point but at 47 I think he'll be a chance to still be available.

GC pre-listing Hickey would have to lessen the chances of Clayton selecting Gorringe at 7. If he's available at 8, Essendon won't hesitate to call out 'Daniel Gorringe.' He's the best availiable ruck and Hille is getting on. We can select mids with the rest of our picks, not to mention all of our 2011 picks.

I dont know alot about the young kids coming through the draft other than what i read. So my question to the guys on here in the know is what are the biggest knocks on the guys we are interested in? Say Gorringe, Atley, Caddy, Prestia (is it just his height?)???

I think we should take Josh Caddy at #8 cos he's my mate. He's also a handy player, but mainly cos he's my mate lol.. And we can't seriously be thinking about Gorringe, we need MIDS ffs

Nah, supports Freo, I should know, I'm his son.