Autopsy Nab Challenge: Match 1 - Hawthorn vs Collingwood (Feb 26 Aurora Stadium) - autopsy from page 18

Not to concerned about the result, good to see the young kids getting a game but unfortunately the ball use was woeful.
Also disappointed that Sam Grimley was given a chance and did not take his opportunity ,can't see him being a regular player if at all at Hawthorn.
also expected to see Alex Woodward have more of an influence on the game...he seemed to struggle a bit and Taylor Duryea kicking was very poor tonight.

Really impressed with Will Langford and Sam Mitchells efforts tonight, Jed Anderson showed his class along with Ben McEvoy.

Good:
Mitch: Like a fine wine that gets better with age
Jed: Bit of Pendlebury about him imo. Hope he can stay injury free
McEvoy: Kicked 3, clunked a few pack marks.
Sicily: Kid can play. Football brain

Bad:
Spud looked.....well like a Spud
Breust and Stratts looked off and indecisive
Duryea didn't look like a premiership player
Woody and Billy would want to improve massively in order to play round 1
Grimley: Apart from that failed turn wouldn't have thought he was playing. Will be delisted at the end of the year you'd think

Everyone else was neither good nor bad. Probably closer to bad

Shame about Brand but doubt he would have played much anyway. Hope it's not serious

I couldn't give a rats about the poor performance of the new kids. What really stood out for me was the poor effort of the two who had a taste last year and were the designated replacements for any of our injured midfield/runners. Woody and Hartung showed nothing and that to me is a worry. These are the blokes we hope to carry the midfield in future. Hope it's just early season jitters or we might be asking why we dumped Hallahan.

Have to give them the benefit of a bit of doubt. Players outside the first 22 stepped up last year and sometimes even the best guys have a bad game. You would want to see a bit more in the next few weeks though.

Take a team of headless chooks, add hodge, mitchell, burger, rough, gibbo, lake

No problem.

Theyre obviously a few years off taking over the leadership though

All great players yes, but 4 of them in the twilight of their careers, Personally Nab cup aside, i thought your younger players looked average, all similar and nothing extraordinary to continue the point of difference over the rest of the comp. Still though, the hawks will be flying when it counts this year.

Eight things I learned.
Sam Mitchell is still easily the best player on out list.
Sam Grimley is still easily the worst player on our list.
Jed Anderson might win the 2015 Rising Star.
Jimmy Sicily might win the 2016 Rising Star.
Howe will be a player
We have three very, very good forward/ruckmen (if no very, very good ruckman).
Simpkin, Woodwood, Hartung have to work on their skills.
Woodwood, Litherland have to work on decision making.

P.s. And Frawley will only play against teams with big, slow forwards once we get close to finals. .

Could we have anymore out there that couldn't seem to "one grab" a ball?

Good:
Mitch: Like a fine wine that gets better with age
Jed: Bit of Pendlebury about him imo. Hope he can stay injury free
McEvoy: Kicked 3, clunked a few pack marks.
Sicily: Kid can play. Football brain

Bad:
Spud looked.....well like a Spud
Breust and Stratts looked off and indecisive
Duryea didn't look like a premiership player
Woody and Billy would want to improve massively in order to play round 1
Grimley: Apart from that failed turn wouldn't have thought he was playing. Will be delisted at the end of the year you'd think

Everyone else was neither good nor bad. Probably closer to bad

Shame about Brand but doubt he would have played much anyway. Hope it's not serious
Agree regarding Duryea. Though kind of got the feeling he was just a bit unlucky with the ball often coming his way when he was on a mismatch opponent. A lot of his kicks fell short or were off target though. Will likely lose his spot to Anderson.

A win against the Hawks is good for us but meaningless. Wouldn't be in the least bit worried if I was Hawthorn. You had a couple who look very handy, Anderson looks star material. How good is Sam Mitchell? Pies happy cause some kids showed a bit but realistically a lot of them like Gault, Ramsay etc are still VFL players who are a long way off the 22 so were going hell for leather tonight whereas your guys were just going through the motions.

We just want some kids to come on for now and Fasolo and Karnezis types to show us they are over injuries and can continue their development. You are our bogey team and we are miles off you so I wouldn't worry. Would be happy to be competitive against you when the real stuff starts

Good luck for 2015 and Mitchell, what can you say. He should have that Norm Smith around his neck. Was the clear architect of your flag performance last year. Love watching him play.

Good signs that frontal pressure from the pies might be back. Was devastating to opponents in 10-11 but a lot of those smalls got burnt out early

In the granny it was over early and hodge obviously had a word with his mates to make him look good. Must have more mates than mitch

They ran through them at half time, we had 14, they had about 6.

Thanks mate. I was out so couldn't hear the commentary.

I understand, but its the pre-season syndrome I comment on. You get all excited about the prospects, then realise there is still a way for a bunch of these blokes to go.
but hawthorn aren't in a position where these 12 players are all going to have to come in at the same time, as they have today

we will blood a couple of youngsters at a time, it will be a gradual transition from Mitch, Hodge, Burgers, Lewis, etc to Lewis, Anderson, Woodward etc

Hartung almost ready to shave what is left of the hair.
Miles has less muscle than those emaciated dogs walking around Soi cowboy in Bangkok.

Would have liked to see Woodward get a little more of it.

These nab games won't help Frawley much, he needs the speed and pressure of real games to make necessary adjustments.

Pretty happy with that outing. Fumbly as you would expect, a few turnovers and handballs not hitting targets in close, but all in all our kkds showed a great deal of promise, despite the lower number of rotations and being a tall down after Brand went off early.

Anderson was superb, but plenty of others showed bits and pieces. Hardisty, Howe, Miles, JML, Pittonet....these guys are all 18, remember.

Duryea looks to have found a couple of tonnes of belief over summer. Attacked every ball like it was his own. Frawley will be better for the run, but seemed to play almost a full 4 quarters of the "Bad Brian" role. I have no worries that he won't turn that around though, once he feels more at home in our set up.

McEvoy forward, and Cegs in the ruck looked very strong. Breust roaming was very influential.

Lots of errors, but lots to like. Remember people, it's February.

Agree regarding Duryea. Though kind of got the feeling he was just a bit unlucky with the ball often coming his way when he was on a mismatch opponent. A lot of his kicks fell short or were off target though. Will likely lose his spot to Anderson.
Not sure about losing his spot to Jed as they play different positions but on that performance you'd think Doc would be at BHH R1

I thought Duryea's ball use stood out tonight. Hit his targets by foot when few others did.

Half of those players who missed tonight's game should get a run at it next week against North Melbourne on Sunday.

It's clear what our intentions were going into this game and that's to get our players match-fit and ready for Round 1. If Anderson can keep this form up over the next two games, then one would think he's a certain starter for Round 1 against Geelong.

All great players yes, but 4 of them in the twilight of their careers, Personally Nab cup aside, i thought your younger players looked average, all similar and nothing extraordinary to continue the point of difference over the rest of the comp. Still though, the hawks will be flying when it counts this year.

Our older guys are showing no signs. Hodge and mitch killed it in the IR an burgoyne for the all stars

The secret is having hill and smiths run to allow them to do that, thats why we are sweating on hartungs development, in case we lose one

And yes tonights players need more composure. Hopefully it will come

Well we did learn plenty of things tonight.
1. Simpkin never plays unless we have injuries.
2. Hartung & Woody are a long way off getting a regular game.
3. Grimley would be at home next to Kermit & Miss Piggy.
4. Frawley will know the road to Box Hill pretty early.

5. Sammy is all class.
6. Jed showed plenty.
7. Liked snippets of Miles,Howe & Sicily.
8. Thought Stratts could of dominated more.

It's a practice match,so no harm done.
Where was JOR? Hope not injured.
I couldn't disagree more with you on 2 & 4

Hartung & Woodward will go alright in a near full strength team. Having Hodge, Lewis, Burger, Roughie etc around them will give them more confidence & the delivery will be 100% better than today

Frawley has just played his 1st game for a new team with structures, rather than his old team with no structures or skill.
He's got to have time to learn the Hawks game plan & as with Hartung & Woody, he will benefit from having the senior players around him.

Pretty painful to watch really. The difference between today and winning a premiership a few months ago is quite something. I guess it puts our up and coming players into a bit of perspective. Not quite as good as the pre-season training has had us believe.

if we were to add 4 of the kids into our main side they'd be fine.

Having 14 Senior players out is what hurts

I couldn't disagree more with you on 2 & 4

Hartung & Woodward will go alright in a near full strength team. Having Hodge, Lewis, Burger, Roughie etc around them will give them more confidence & the delivery will be 100% better than today

Frawley has just played his 1st game for a new team with structures, rather than his old team with no structures or skill.
He's got to have time to learn the Hawks game plan & as with Hartung & Woody, he will benefit from having the senior players around him.

That's it in a nutshell. Geez, cut the guy some slack..

I thought Duryea's ball use stood out tonight. Hit his targets by foot when few others did.
Interesting. I won't say that I recall every one of his disposals but those I do remember weren't great. Off the boot they generally looked good but either they'd fall short (but at least bounce straight up to a player) or they'd be cut off due to him wanting to kick it long and flat.

Autopsy Nab Challenge: Match 1 - Hawthorn vs Collingwood (Feb 26 Aurora Stadium) - autopsy from page 18