NAB cup challenge

Piss Poor

Aug 27, 2010
Ok so this years theirs no knock out tournament, which I don't mind because they were pretty dull anyway with some teams lack of effort, when I looked through the fixture again today as you do and I notice that there's a game everyday no stop until the start of the season,

I like this idea, everyday from feb 12th we have something to watch.

that's all I wanted to say.

Hope North don't get too excited like they usually do when they play Carlton so both of our teams don't get anyone injured from over zealousness.

So are you saying that Carlton are soft?

sent from my Atari using Tapatalk

Do you want North to go treat it like a real game? They are for fitness, skill work and to give the country towns some footy, nothing more.

Not anymore mate, every game now means something. Players wanting to prove themselves, the demand to train and play with intensity.

sent from my Atari using Tapatalk

Excited as always to see the pre season roll around again..but after the first week or so u just want the real stuff to start

Not Brisbane supporters.

Do you want North to go treat it like a real game? They are for fitness, skill work and to give the country towns some footy, nothing more.

It is hard to say, depends on the type of squad picked, players who are keen to be included in the round one team might go harder than well established players.

From my own team, the likes of Armfield, Lucas, Buckley would might go on a bit harder but I still wouldn't want to risk it. I reckon most coaches have an idea of their round 1 22. I don't know if one stand out NAB Challenge game will change that.

I am not sure if the reduced number of games will impact what clubs instruct their players, nobody wants to go into round one firing on two cylinders.

Yeah I'll tune in to see a few clubs, always light hearted trialling of kids and gameplans which never hurt anyone and appeases the footy appetite which goes hungry quickly over Christmas.

Haven't your club come out and said they'll be picking their best available team for the NAB Challenge games, to be ready for R1? Pretty sure Melbourne did as well.

Less games this preseason = less experimenting and less "trialling of kids", which I think is a bit of a shame. I've always looked forward to the first couple of rounds of the Nab Cup so that I can see some of the young ones on our list that we might not otherwise see for the rest of the season. Might not happen much from now on.

Still looking forward to seeing my team and footy back again in a big way, but would be looking forward to it more if I knew I'd get to see more of the "kids", especially from my team.

Remember if your club plays like shit in the NAB cup it doesn't matter.. oh wait.

What it means depends on if the writer's team wins or not...

Beforehand, most will play it down, after that view will shift depending on the wins, or lack thereof.

Think I need to invest in foxtel, or I guess I could just go to the pub 18 days in a row, yeahhh I think ill go with the pub idea!

A subscription to foxtel will probably end up cheaper in that case.

It will kind of be like the big bash for me. Not really that interested (apart from my own team) but will find myself watching every game because of nothing else being on tv and if any form of footy is on I will watch.

NAB cup challenge