Game Day NAB Cup Round 1 - Hawthorn v Brisbane

Just sayin the Hawks rested plenty in this match which the poster said we didnt.
The new format is forcing clubs to play more guys in an attempt to get match fitness into them with fewer games.

Im a massive Garlett fan - IMO he will be best 22 when the whips are cracking come finals.
Kid has a couple of weaknesses (Namely 2 way running) but u cant ignore the talent. Kid is a gem.
IMO we are a better side with him inside the best 22.

Even if u drop him becuase u dont rate him - Its still 9 best 22 guys that didnt play.

Please dont put me in the BF low IQ bin trolling squad. Just browsed through this thread for a read on Brissys thoughts on the match.

There is very little thoughts from us on the match as we didnt really play. Yes, you had some top players missing, but you had 13 odd premiership players still playing, and the core of the team intact, we had 13 odd players playing their first game. The gap was massive. You boys will be better off from the run and blowing out some cobwebs, but were never challenged, nor should you have been. I think we pretty much picked our team for the suns game, and took all those players out of the hawks game.

Very different circumstances though. We've got two longer flights for our first two games. Then we've got the long flight to Tassie for round 1. Hawthorn play in Melbourne then Tassie then Tassie - hardly globetrotting. Our annual nomadic existence in Feb/Mar takes a very different type of man management to deal with.

As I said earlier, I would have picked the Melbourne game for our stronger team but, given how spaced out our games are, I can also see the sense of effectively starting the match practice for our senior side with the Townsville clash.

Of course, another option would have been to split the best 25 or so between the first two games. That would have helped the youngsters, made for a more competitive performance and given us a decent insight into the side. But potentially, it comes at the cost of developing combinations among the senior cohort and getting the side sorted under a new structure.

At the very least, I would have thrown two more senior midfielders into the side for the first match which would have had a knock on effect down the line for the midfielders and running types.

From memory, Voss played a weak side in one game of the pre-season pretty much every year he was coach. I remember we copped a walloping in NT somewhere against the Crows.
Totally agree with your thoughts on travel demands - add to this... bonding of the young/new.
BgZecsOCEAAP-1Y.jpg

To see the young traveling group [read as predominantly our 2014 NEAFL team] play the reigning premiers and reinforcing the lesson of "this is the type of level you need to get to" - then share/witness/be part of the Simon Black tribute lunch on Friday would be planting more positive than negative seeds IMO.

With limited Pre-Season NAB cup games this year - Teams are being forced to play more senior players to give them a run before the big stuff starts.
For the Record Hawks argueably had 9-10 of their best 22 still in the sheds for this match ...... Pretty much the entire first team backline as well.

Gibson
Lake
Hodge
Shoey
Stratton
Birchall
WhiteX (ACL)
Garlett
Jed Anderson
Sewell

pretty smart from Clarkson knowing we'd offer nothing up forward so he took the chance to rest the backline

Really depends on how we go in our last 2 games to see whether the plan has paid off. Fair points made by LukeHodge15.

Also on another note ignore the trolling Richmond and Port flogs (not all, just a small minority) some of those supporter groups are insecure about their team and feel threatened by us for a number of reasons and others think they are list analysing gods.

There is very little thoughts from us on the match as we didnt really play. Yes, you had some top players missing, but you had 13 odd premiership players still playing, and the core of the team intact, we had 13 odd players playing their first game. The gap was massive. You boys will be better off from the run and blowing out some cobwebs, but were never challenged, nor should you have been. I think we pretty much picked our team for the suns game, and took all those players out of the hawks game.

Surely it's time we got some NORMAL players to EVEN things up?

Will the 3rd practice game against the swans be televised at all?

Not on conventional channels e.g. Foxtel/Ch 7/73, although it possibly could be televised through the Lions YouTube channel as has been the case with some of the reserves games through the NEAFL and/or NT Thunder YouTube channels.

Hope so, would be good to see the Lions show a bit of initiative in that regard.

Hope you're right but not holding breath. NT stream their games off their own initiative. Similar with NEAFL ....doubt Lions have ever organised themselves.

Was pretty impressed with Bourke, Robbo, Aish, Close and for the little bit of time he spent on the ground, Freeman was pretty impressive. Led pretty well and has a good set of hands. Out of all the new players, Bourke and Freeman impressed me the most, expected the others to do pretty well. I'm calling it now, Freeman will be our key forward in a few years. Bookmark it.

Raines was terrible. When he got the ball he gave it off to someone who had a Hawks player right next to them. Really can't see him being in our team going forward. West was pretty disappointing, expected a lot more out of him. Lisle is not the answer.

Looking forward to our next game and how some of the kids do with a more experienced team around them.

Was pretty impressed with Bourke, Robbo, Aish, Close and for the little bit of time he spent on the ground, Freeman was pretty impressive. Led pretty well and has a good set of hands. Out of all the new players, Bourke and Freeman impressed me the most, expected the others to do pretty well. I'm calling it now, Freeman will be our key forward in a few years. Bookmark it.

Raines was terrible. When he got the ball he gave it off to someone who had a Hawks player right next to them. Really can't see him being in our team going forward. West was pretty disappointing, expected a lot more out of him. Lisle is not the answer.

Looking forward to our next game and how some of the kids do with a more experienced team around them.
Agree about Bourke being impressive but how can you call Freemans game impressive? You must be kidding! He had 1 disposal in just over half a game, missed an easy mark in the 3rd quarter and never got anywhere near it again. He was completely lost when the hawks were coming out of defence failing to put pressure on any defenders. This is not to be taken as Freeman bashing as I certainly hope he will develop into a good player (he wasn't the only dud out there) but for anyone to consider his debut as impressive certainly doesn't give them much credibility in the understanding of what is required from these games. I hope he is our key forward in a few years but if he is it certainly wont be on the basis of this debut.

Dud? Geezus, steady on. Had one more disposal (and goal) than Jonathan Brown did on debut (and Browny had a competent team around him). Let's give him some time. He came on as a substitute forward in a game where the traffic was going 95 percent in the other way.

I know you're disappointed that Cain didn't get drafted but let's give the Academy kids that did a chance. Queensland kids have one hand tied behind their backs from the start in this Vic-centric league, let's give them a break.

Was not too disappointed as the "tragedy" unfolded right there on my TV.
But what shocked me right out of my brain was the very average performance of one Jordan Lisle.
CHF looks right out of his range.
On the bright side, we feel our bla bla bla, concerning, young guns Aish and Robertson was somewhat justified.
Big surprise was little workaholic midfielder Zac O'Brien; has the smarts, guts and works hard. bla bla bla.
Could be a dark horse, oh yeah.

Dud? Geezus, steady on. Had one more disposal (and goal) than Jonathan Brown did on debut (and Browny had a competent team around him). Let's give him some time. He came on as a substitute forward in a game where the traffic was going 95 percent in the other way.

I know you're disappointed that Cain didn't get drafted but let's give the Academy kids that did a chance. Queensland kids have one hand tied behind their backs from the start in this Vic-centric league, let's give them a break.
As I said this wasn't directed at Freeman as I certainly hope he goes on to make it. But it was silly for anyone to call his debut impressive. I did not mean that he is a Dud but that the whole episode with the young team turned out to be a rather dud performance. I have a great deal of time for all the Academy kids and wish them every success but you do have to call it as you see it. Simple fact is that it was not an impressive performance.

All I look for in first gamers is a glimpse of their talent and I saw that in Freeman. Whether you agree with that or not is a completely different story. To me, I can see a player who has talent and with more experience and a few more pre seasons under his belt (imo) will be a very good player for us for many years. He's a great size, led pretty well, has a good set of hands and kicked well for the goal he scored. There are many GREAT players who I'm sure you would have said were duds based on their first games where others would have looked for glimpses of their talent and weighed up how much better they would be in the future with more experience, pre seasons etc.

Yeah, you called him a dud. Saying he wasn't the ONLY dud out there implied that you think he was a dud.

Ok , I probably should have used the term overawed by a far more experienced team as were plenty of others. The kid has been impressive and more than likely will continue to be impressive. He just wasn't on Thursday night.

I thought Freeman worked into the game in the last after bring nowhere for most of the game. He seemed to get more confident as the game went on and was leading well and was a decent presence up forward. He did a bit of chasing as well. He didn't look in the best of shape and as mentioned dropped one he should have snaffled but there was enough to be hopeful. I doubt we will be seeing him in the firsts until this time next year when hopefully he will be having a bigger impact working off Hammelmann who will be tearing them a new one as an 18 year old ;)

Is Hammelman that kid who was with us for a bit, like an "apprentice" of sorts? I have heard a few posts about him, would anyone be able to tell me if he is worth drafting and what position he normally plays. What is so good about him? Sorry for ignonnace haha, just havent heard a great deal about him.

MATTHEW HAMMELMAN
DOB:
8 March 1996
Height: 196cm
Weight:
84kg
Club/s:
QUEENSLAND/LIONS ACADEMY/MORNINGSIDE

BIO: Tall forward with excellent marking ability and leg speed as well as clean hands. Is very good both on the lead and in a one on one contest. A very reliable set shot for goal with a good understanding of where to lead and find the football. Has the ability to bring his team mates into the game. Averaged 11 disposals and 5 marks at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

Hyundai Lions Academy Manager Luke Curran Says:
“Matt is still growing and is quick for his size with good hands. We will be focusing on building his body strength over summer, which will help improve his contested marking along with his repeat effort running. Played four out of the five State U18 games as a tall forward, and kicked a goal in every game – including the winning goal against Northern Territory in the final match.”

MATTHEW HAMMELMAN
DOB:
8 March 1996
Height: 196cm
Weight: 84kg
Club/s: QUEENSLAND/LIONS ACADEMY/MORNINGSIDE

BIO: Tall forward with excellent marking ability and leg speed as well as clean hands. Is very good both on the lead and in a one on one contest. A very reliable set shot for goal with a good understanding of where to lead and find the football. Has the ability to bring his team mates into the game. Averaged 11 disposals and 5 marks at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

Hyundai Lions Academy Manager Luke Curran Says:
“Matt is still growing and is quick for his size with good hands. We will be focusing on building his body strength over summer, which will help improve his contested marking along with his repeat effort running. Played four out of the five State U18 games as a tall forward, and kicked a goal in every game – including the winning goal against Northern Territory in the final match.”
Sounds good and is tall, however we have a lot of forwards that are pretty average and l dont want another one (hopefully he is awesome). It doesnt sound like he is getting a lot of goals, only 1 per game or something. I like how he knows how to lead and find the footy. Do you think he is more of a FF or CHF?

Is Hammelman that kid who was with us for a bit, like an "apprentice" of sorts? I have heard a few posts about him, would anyone be able to tell me if he is worth drafting and what position he normally plays. What is so good about him? Sorry for ignonnace haha, just havent heard a great deal about him.
Are you sure you aren't thinking of Cain Tickner? He had an extended AFL club agreement with the Lions for 2012 and 2013. Both Tickner and Conway trained with the Lions a number of times, which I guess you could call an apprenticeship of sorts.

nah , they were 16 or 17 and part of the Lions Academy program. There was another guy Liam Davis or Dawson or something was with him. A poster told say Mcgrath told him to "wake up"

Game Day NAB Cup Round 1 - Hawthorn v Brisbane