nab

Hi guys, thought I'd put this up here as well. I put it on the Collingwood board yesterday so it was written before I knew the final teams.

As always, my previews are back for another season. I've knocked something up for the NAB Cup. More just a preview on the 3 teams and how they are travelling. Also takes a look at a few players to keep an eye on. It's good to have some footy back.

http://bit.ly/hOgQRP

***Note: This is a link to an external site. The site is sponsored by a betting agency, and this fact in the past has upset some people when they click on the link. Also, as a matter of full disclosure, if my article is the most popular, then I will get paid by the website. However, those that have followed my work would know I'm very passionate about my footy and I've been doing this for a long time purely out of love of the game.

I copped some criticism last time for posting a link on this board to a carlton related piece...so thought I would fully disclose the arrangement this time.
And I remember defending you last time and it's great to see that you have persisted into entering the dangerous terrain that is the Carlton Board...

The most impressive part of your article is your knowledge of the blues... I didn't read the Richmond part but jumped straight to Carlton... and it was a good read... something that most on here already know... but for an outsider it is good to see...

For your research purposes, another player we are really excited to see what he has to offer is our first round rookie, Ed Curnow...

The squad really excites me...

To be able to see how Zach Touhy handles playing in a Carlton top has got me excited... I hope he impresses

Ed Curnow, Wayde Twomey, Matthew Watson, Andrew McInnes, Jeremy Laidler, Mitch Carter, Levi Casboult, Rohan Kerr and Jaryd Cachia all playing... CANNOT wait to see them...

I love the Nab cup for only this reason...

And I remember defending you last time and it's great to see that you have persisted into entering the dangerous terrain that is the Carlton Board...

The most impressive part of your article is your knowledge of the blues... I didn't read the Richmond part but jumped straight to Carlton... and it was a good read... something that most on here already know... but for an outsider it is good to see...

For your research purposes, another player we are really excited to see what he has to offer is our first round rookie, Ed Curnow...

Thanks mate...i actually went to the 1st Carlton intra-club match with my Carlton supporter mate and had a good look at the game. Was most impressed with Walker who I reckon is going to be like a new recruit this year. If fit, I reckon he is going to be a very hard match-up in the forward line considering most sides are going to have to send their smaller defenders onto Betts and Garlett. Duigan and Kane Lucas were also very impressive.

Have heard very good things about Curnow...but am also hearing a lot about Laidler and that he might crack into the side. I'd also like to see Watson thrown to the wolves as a defender.

Just thought I'd share the love.

The AFL web site lists the NAB Cup Coll/Rich/Carl game as on a 5hr delay, but I checked the channel 10 website and it is in fact live into Sydney on One HD (I even called to check).

So in case you thought you had to do something boring like go out with friends, you can now watch the game live!:)

The AFL web site lists the NAB Cup Coll/Rich/Carl game as on a 5hr delay, but I checked the channel 10 website and it is in fact live into Sydney on One HD (I even called to check).

So in case you thought you had to do something boring like go out with friends, you can now watch the game live!:)
those TV waves from Syd will probably get over to WA. Odin has a big dish

Yep gotta give credit where due, 10 has it live into Sydney on 1 (checked guide earlier in the week and they have had it listed all week) whereas the scum at 7 are not showing tonights games into Sydney at all.

3 fricken channels and they couldn't find even the usual midnight slot for it (yes that is the time on a Fri night that 7 shows games into Sydney during the season proper unless the Swans are involved).

The AFL really need to grow a pair with the next rights deal and make it a condition of getting the rights that they show games at no later than 10.30pm, in fact live ought to be the deal but I would settle for being in bed by 2am on a game night. How the hell do they ever expect to grow the AFL TV market if they wont show games when discretionary viewers, that is, new to the sport viewers will watch. Only a hard core fan will stay up till midnight to see the start of a game so they have not attracted any new viewers and just annoyed an already rusted on fan.

Yep gotta give credit where due, 10 has it live into Sydney on 1 (checked guide earlier in the week and they have had it listed all week) whereas the scum at 7 are not showing tonights games into Sydney at all.

3 fricken channels and they couldn't find even the usual midnight slot for it (yes that is the time on a Fri night that 7 shows games into Sydney during the season proper unless the Swans are involved).

The AFL really need to grow a pair with the next rights deal and make it a condition of getting the rights that they show games at no later than 10.30pm, in fact live ought to be the deal but I would settle for being in bed by 2am on a game night. How the hell do they ever expect to grow the AFL TV market if they wont show games when discretionary viewers, that is, new to the sport viewers will watch. Only a hard core fan will stay up till midnight to see the start of a game so they have not attracted any new viewers and just annoyed an already rusted on fan.

It's on Foxtel live, as are the Sunday games. I assume they have bought the rights which is why it is not on 7.

I think Mark Austin will be one the MC are looking to string a few games together in the pre season.

Agree with Lucas and Yarran needing a good hit out and hopefully Watson can show he is ready to step in if required this year.

Just a shame Hendo is injured as I would have loved him to have a solid pre season and then hit round 1 with a vengance.
I'm very surprised his not on the list Austin this is a bad sign is he injured?

Austin wasn't named on the injury list, yet won't play.

Sack Ratten and Coutts who keep pulling the wool over our eyes with their injury lists.

:p
I seen that you would think he would get a run so he can cement a spot.I don't think it looks good for him with the new recruits we got and players like Laidler and Duigan.

New syphoning laws have allowed FTA broadcasters to show AFL on their auxillary digital channels (i.e One HD and Eleven)

So well done Channel 10 (all of them!) for at least having it live on one of the channels, albeit One HD is essentially a sports channels

New syphoning laws have allowed FTA broadcasters to show AFL on their auxillary digital channels (i.e One HD and Eleven)

So well done Channel 10 (all of them!) for at least having it live on one of the channels, albeit One HD is essentially a sports channels

I just checked the TV guide before & CH10 is showing the game live as well as One HD :thumbsu:

Going to be a bizarre game. Weird format. It's basically a practice game for our younger players. We're resting heaps of players. I doubt we'll reveal anything about our new game-plan. A fantastic opportunity for some of our rookies to shine, and put their hand up for round 1 selection. Curnow's one to watch. Real shame Mitchell and McCarthy aren't available. Also the first game for Brad Miller lining up at CHF for the Tiges.

:)

Going to be a bizarre game. Weird format. It's basically a practice game for our younger players. We're resting heaps of players. I doubt we'll reveal anything about our new game-plan. A fantastic opportunity for some of our rookies to shine, and put their hand up for round 1 selection. Curnow's one to watch. Real shame Mitchell and McCarthy aren't available. Also the first game for Brad Miller lining up at CHF for the Tiges.

:)
While the bleak and the filth basically end up playing a full continual game, we have the problem with keeping players warm and in condition through a large break between halves. I wont be expecting too much from our team or any other team in the same predicament. Seems like a stupid format to me Parrot but still a good experience for the young blokes.

been watching the games on tonight...new Out of bounds rule is shit...wtf was the rules committee thinking????

Thrilling Blues are on the boil

GET ready for Carlton to unleash an exciting squad with genuine depth as it begins its NAB Cup program tonight at Etihad Stadium.

Assistant coach Mark Riley said the Blues would put "a decent" team on the park for its matches against Collingwood and Richmond, kicking off with the Tigers at 7.15pm.

The club will showcase new faces Jaryd Cachia, Levi Casboult, Ed Curnow, Nick Duigan, Jeremy Laidler, Andrew McInnes and Matthew Watson.

Thrilling Blues are on the boil

I did not know that the NAB games last night were not on free to air anywhere, I just thought it was in non AFL states.

So it would seem that CH7 is not interested in NAB at all, whilst 10 still has interest.

But from next year the entire pre season comp except for the GF will only be on Fox.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/pay-tv-may-score-nab-cup-games-20110211-1aqly.html

That, along with the stupid rule changes should just about kill off any of the tiny amount of cred it still has as a "real" competitive competition.

At which time it will then be abolished to make way for an expanded 24 round season to accommodate the 18 team comp. So no harm no foul I guess.

Bring back the team organised practice games. Will happen and I can't wait. Only thing that would save the NAB setup would be a million dollar prize pool and they only made 5B profit last year so no way that will occur.

But from next year the entire pre season comp except for the GF will only be on Fox. quote]

The sooner more games are shown on Foxtel the better, it is the first time I have had the privledge of watching a Friday night game (even though it was a shocking game) live.

1 HD are the only free to air channel that should be allowed rights to teh coveraged, the rest should be given to Foxtel who show the games live.