Jun 24, 2006
The start of a new era
Nathan Ablett quit shock for Geelong
30 November 2007 Herald Sun
Jon Ralph
cats.jpg
RELUCTANT Geelong forward Nathan Ablett yesterday dropped a pre-season bombshell by informing the Cats he had retired just three years into a promising football career.

The Cats spent yesterday convincing him to instead take several weeks to clear his head, before coming back to them with a decision in late December.

The 21-year-old had played a key role in Geelong's drought-breaking premiership win just nine weeks ago but has told the club he has no interest in playing on.

Nathan, the youngest of the Ablett brothers, has lived with his father in Jan Juc and had only this year confirmed his standing as an outstanding attacking talent.

But while older brother Gary is seen as a future captain, Nathan shied away from the limelight and had to be repeatedly convinced by the club he should attempt an AFL career.

Geelong's premiership season was his breakout year, the quietly-spoken full forward playing 21 games and kicked 34 goals, including three in the club's Grand Final win over Port Adelaide.

It was felt the win would provide the former Modewarre bush footballer with the confidence he would need to blossom into a key attacking weapon for the Cats.

His decision comes 48 hours after his father came clean about his past drug addiction and the circumstances surrounding the death of young fan Alisha Horan in 2000.

http://heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22849700%5E20322,00.html

What a waste of talent.
Definately a different family but to throw away a chance at what thousands would give a right whatever for is, well.....a waste

I don't know if it is the pre-season training he doesn't like? He did this once before, and lot of people had to convince him.

He might be a loss to Football, but it doesn't mean he is doing the wrong thing. Some people are brave enough to walk away from something they might be good at, for the simple reason that they are not enjoying it.

Plus Tom Hawkins is more than good enough to kick 30 to 40 odd goals, and he is better than N.Ablett in my opinion. So it might work out well for Geelong overall.

What a waste of talent.
Definately a different family but to throw away a chance at what thousands would give a right whatever for is, well.....a waste

but coming from another perspective, wouldn't you say it was also a waste of talent if he stood in the way of someone who really wanted an opportunity to play afl footy? lets be honest he can be replaced, he isnt quite the one of a kind talent like his brother nor father. i wish him all the best.

I don't think i worded my post very well but yes i agree if he isn't happy playing, then by all means give it away but it just seems such a waste of an opportunity most would love to have......

Just because he is good at football it doesn't meen its a waste of talent. He obviously has other interests... he had a good patch but he never seemed to enjoy football. I know, you don't take AFL for granted but he obviously doesn't like the spot light. GOod on him, it's his decision.

Always has been a bit weird. I had a mate who used to work him.....

When my friend and his colleagues would have lunch togther, Nath would go outside, read the bible and throw pebbles at some sought of target 20m away. Would do this every day.

As a joke one day, one of the guys got a porno and showed him, Nath had a 1000 heart attacks, didn't know where to look.....

No surprise to see him walk away.

Nablett is a dud. If he quits it would just help Geelong in the long run.
You must not have seen many geelong games mate? Might not get quality touches but he worked for his team creating space for them. Far from a dud just did a lot of one percenters. Would love him at the bombers. He is still only 21 so i think we will see him back soon.

I wasn't a fan of Nathan's either, didn't look fully motivated to me, but I was expecting him to grow in confidence throughout his years and become a valuable player in their forwardline in years to come.

Good on him. Obviously hated the limelight, now he can go back home and have a kick with his mates and suck a few cans after without all the pressure.

Minus $200,000 a year for the next 10 years, of course.

Some people like N.Ablett put an extraordinary importance on having a kick wiht his mates. I think he must be insane. You only play for 10 years. He can set himself up for life, and then go back to being a bum (with heaps of money) from age 30-80 and suck all the cans he wants.

Believe it or not, Money is not the be all and end all! If you are only playing footy for the money, and not the love of the game, then step aside. If I was making 200k a year in a job I ****in hated, I would quit too. Id rather be broke and happy than a miserable rich prick!:p Do what feels right Nathan!

He might be doing a Mal Michael.....

Retire, then move to a club he actually likes by the PSD.....

I am not so good on the details of this stuff but I didn't think that was possible now. 31 of Nov the deadline or something like that. Too late to be delisted so must stay on the cats list this year. Cannot not nominate for PSd. Someone will know about this better than I.

Anyhow I am sure that wasn't on his mind. I doubt even "God" knows what is going on in there.

Always has been a bit weird. I had a mate who used to work him.....

When my friend and his colleagues would have lunch togther, Nath would go outside, read the bible and throw pebbles at some sought of target 20m away. Would do this every day.

As a joke one day, one of the guys got a porno and showed him, Nath had a 1000 heart attacks, didn't know where to look.....

No surprise to see him walk away.

he is a weirdo. My mate played footy with him, and one time they found him standing in a swamp in the dark, after sunset, just standing there. When they asked what he was doing he just said "looking for eels"... :eek:

Nablett calls it quits