Nathan Ablett

You have the time to file back through my posts obviously.. So go find where I gave my opinion. I have said that I would be wrapped if Nath became a 40+ goal kicker and that is within his reach. Negative to you / realistic to me.

You all think your so self-righteous because Nath played 2 good games... and I'm the football fan with no idea?? Maybe I should wait till he plays a couple of bad games and re-visit this thread to play the games your playing... pfft.. pathetic, grow up.

img_l_tissue_66653.jpg

You have the time to file back through my posts obviously.. So go find where I gave my opinion. I have said that I would be wrapped if Nath became a 40+ goal kicker and that is within his reach. Negative to you / realistic to me.

"I hope he improves but am not expecting anything more than an average AFL forward at best. Realistic."

"He's the kind of player who isn't talented enough to become exceptional without working hard, and to put it simply, he doesn't give a $hit anyway..."

Think both of those would qualify as an opinion wouldn't they?

This thread is starting to get a bit ridiculous.

I think the last two games show that he is beginning to realise his talent. He is certainly starting to look much more comfortable and assured out on the field. The way he moves and uses the ball is just exceptional for a big fella. I've never really doubted that he has the ability but it now looks like he has the desire and a little bit of experience to back it up.

We'll see how the year plays out but I'm tipping 60 goals plus this year. Perhaps that's a big call but if he continues to look as assured as he has thus far then there is absolutely no reason why he cannot put those runs on the board.

What about Mark Bairstow , would you put him in that class Partridge

No way. Was good from 1987-89, buggered off in 1990, came back in 1991 and probably had his best season. Unfortunately in round 22 he had his nose broken against Collingwood and never went into a pack again. Had absolutely no left side either.

Wouldn't call him great under any circumstances. Got humiliated in the 1994 GF by Dean Kemp as well. Harsh but true.

This is just complete crap I reckon. He grew up with Gary snr & Jnr kicking the footy in the backyard and wondering around the Geelong Club rooms. He had plenty of opportunity to develop football nous. And 1 year in the AFL is easily worth several years of TAC Cup footy. He is 21 years old and should be treated as one.

In terms of athleticism he is pretty crap really; he is kind of slow, not that strong and doesn't seem to have a particularly big engine. Ottens has more talent in his little finger IMO. In saying that he has great timing, a good football brain and a great kick.

I think he will be a good/very good footballer but certainly not a superstar.
He does not have the aerobic capacity and Strength of a Brown/Carey or the speed and athleticism of a Pavlich/Reiwoldt.

All going well I reckon he could play at the level of Lance Whitnall .

Hmmm I think you were a little off base with this one. If he hasn't proved you wrong already, I get the feeling he will.

How so? I don't think I was that far off base. Wayne Carey just last Monday said he thought Nathan Ablett lacked athleticism, was poor below his knees and a little slow last year.

I did say he could get to the level of Lance Whitnall. Lance wasw AA 2000, Carlton's leading goal kicker 3 times. Nathan has not reached that level yet. Granted I think Nathan doesn't seem anywhere near as slow as last year but I still have the same concerns.

I personally think Otten's is one of the most talented footballers in the league. He has never realised that talent however.

How so? I don't think I was that far off base. Wayne Carey just last Monday said he thought Nathan Ablett lacked athleticism, was poor below his knees and a little slow last year.

The key there is "last year". Carey said that was his view of Nathan last year but his performances this year have impressed him. He was intimating that he had called it wrongly.

I have been impressed with him as well but lets put it in perspective. 3 goals playing on Gilbee and 5 goals in a game where Geelong kicks its highest winning margin ever against Carlton.

I reiterate - He will be a good/very good player of the level of Lance Whitnall. He will not be a superstar like Carey.

He will be a good/very good player of the level of Lance Whitnall.
Just hope he doesn't have the brother trouble of Whitnall, although it would make training interesting

"I hope he improves but am not expecting anything more than an average AFL forward at best. Realistic."

"He's the kind of player who isn't talented enough to become exceptional without working hard, and to put it simply, he doesn't give a $hit anyway..."

Think both of those would qualify as an opinion wouldn't they?

Yep, and I stand by all of that. The only thing good about Nath so far is 2 games. Get your hand of it.

Excuse me.
Haven't made a comment about the kid being a "super star" or anything of the sort, so why exactly am I supposed to be "getting my hand off it?" for simply pointing out that you have indeed offered an opinion about him.

I have been impressed with him as well but lets put it in perspective. 3 goals playing on Gilbee and 5 goals in a game where Geelong kicks its highest winning margin ever against Carlton.

I reiterate - He will be a good/very good player of the level of Lance Whitnall. He will not be a superstar like Carey.

We shouldn't expect him to be the next Carey. Carey is a once in an era player.

Nathan Ablett could be anything. We don't know how much of his potential he has reached yet.

Why can't we just be satisfied with Nathan simply becoming the best possible player he can be.

Excuse me.
Haven't made a comment about the kid being a "super star" or anything of the sort, so why exactly am I supposed to be "getting my hand off it?" for simply pointing out that you have indeed offered an opinion about him.

I invited whoever that was to go back and quote whatever I've said in the past, so what was your point? Why would you think I didn't have an opinion? I've been very clear about what I think about the kid. Or did you miss this when you were spending time going through 10 pages of this thread trying to catch me out... truely pathetic, get a life.
What are you saying here then? You have nothing better to do but to get involved in other peoples conversations rather than have some input of your own on the topic? pfft.. pathetic, get a life for christ sake.

because he will always be refered to the sun of Gary ABlett. Or until the public perceive him as a better player. Sad Really.

You are witnessing many fanboys on this forum who want him to be a star player so bad, its like their willing him to be one. This is what the kid doesn't need.

Eg. Kent Kingsley kicked 57 goals in his 4th season at the club. Nathan is in his 3rd. If Nathan kicks 57 next year everyone praising the guy like he's the next legend of the game cause he's an Ablett. Pfft..

I'm really in the group who want the kid to have a successful career, but all the hype and bull**** is not good for anyone, and is the reason he was reluctant to play in the beginning.

You are witnessing many fanboys on this forum who want him to be a star player so bad, its like their willing him to be one. This is what the kid doesn't need.

Eg. Kent Kingsley kicked 57 goals in his 4th season at the club. Nathan is in his 3rd. If Nathan kicks 57 next year everyone praising the guy like he's the next legend of the game cause he's an Ablett. Pfft..

I'm really in the group who want the kid to have a successful career, but all the hype and bull**** is not good for anyone, and is the reason he was reluctant to play in the beginning.

Thats just Geelong supporters for you

Wow - you really are a goose.

If he kicks 57 goals, it will be the fashion in which he kicks them which will result in Geelong supporters being excited (and rightly so). Kent fumbled, sprayed kicks and generally got soft goals.

Some of Nathans Goals (i.e. scoop of the pack, left foot snap) are nothing but class.

You're fighting an uphill battle.

Wow - you really are a goose.

If he kicks 57 goals, it will be the fashion in which he kicks them which will result in Geelong supporters being excited (and rightly so). Kent fumbled, sprayed kicks and generally got soft goals.

Some of Nathans Goals (i.e. scoop of the pack, left foot snap) are nothing but class.

You're fighting an uphill battle.

I'm not a fan that gets excited about some guy with the last name Ablett, I don't care. I want to see Geelong win a flag... that is the purpose of a football team and ultimately what every fan wants to see.

I'm not a Kingsley supporter, but by your definition getting 57 "generally soft goals" is a bloody fine effort. One must ask what Nathan is doing wrong?? Why can't he get the soft goals as well as the "class" goals?

You can keep pulling yourself off over Nath, I'll be getting plastered when (if ever) we win a flag. Looks like Nath will need to do a little better than 57 doesn't it??

I invited whoever that was to go back and quote whatever I've said in the past, so what was your point? Why would you think I didn't have an opinion? I've been very clear about what I think about the kid. Or did you miss this when you were spending time going through 10 pages of this thread trying to catch me out... truely pathetic, get a life.
What are you saying here then? You have nothing better to do but to get involved in other peoples conversations rather than have some input of your own on the topic? pfft.. pathetic, get a life for christ sake.

Oh I know you have an opinion about him, as evidenced by the two quotes I posted, which I was simply pointing out, I didn't realise one needed an invitation to become involved in conversations on a public notice board.

As for "spending time going through 10 pages of this thread trying to catch [ you ] out" sorry mate, think you have to high an opinion of yourself if you believe I'd worry about doing that.

As far as input goes, well I've seen precious little from you as well, other then berating others on here for claiming he'll be a champion [ when in reality the overwhelming majority of opinions have been quite conservative ] and making unfounded assumptions about why he was reluctant to join the club to begin with and what his state of mind is presently, e.g. "and to put it simply, he doesn't give a $hit anyway..."

Will he become a champion, or close to it, well it's to early to tell at present though all the signs point to him being a very good player, certainly well above the average; disagree with you about him not being talented enough to reach great heights without working hard at it [ sorry I know you don't like to be contradicted ] the kids gifted with loads of natural ability, and is now showing signs that he feels comfortable playing at the elite level, combine the two, the desire, which he may already possess for all we know, with his raw talent and who knows, the often overused tag of "champion" may not be beyond him.

Oh yeah, and one "pathetic, get a life" would suffice, no need to repeat yourself.

We shouldn't expect him to be the next Carey. Carey is a once in an era player.

Nathan Ablett could be anything. We don't know how much of his potential he has reached yet.

I reckon we can guess pretty acurately though. Some players you can see have the potential to really dominate. Hawkins is an example, so is Lance Franklin. I have only seen one player who has the athletic capabilities of Franklins and that's Adam Goodes. Similarly only Tony Lockett has been more impressive than Hawkins at such a young age.

Nathan on the other hand does not stand out he not particularly strong, fast or possess great stamina. He has a good football brain, great timing and good skills. He will be an important player but he is not a star. Am I the only one who thinks this?

It seems the further you get from Gary the less of his football skill is passed on. Jnr is a star, Nathan is good but the first son got more of the magic, Luke ablett is playing some good football too while Tuck goes alright:D.