Nathan Bock

• Thread starter Thread starter force65

I'm surprised how many of the boys in melbourne 'let loose' on illegal substances in public. I've seen a couple do such things in publicview which surprised me.

Not condoning this stuff but a few drink out after 2, no issues at all. Football players aren't super human, they shouldn't be deprived a life because some people thing their 'role models' (you have a choice on who you label as role models too) shouldn't hit the clubs.

mate you've got it in one. Anyone that thinks footballers should be role models to their kids needs a serious lesson in parenting. They are generally some of the worst behaved biggest piss heads who treat women like shit coz they can and who root around flat out and spend enormous amounts of time with other blokes at exactly the same level as them which magnifies it massively. And i say that having had some really good mates being those people. Not to say they are all like that of course. But they are the worst "group" you could put up to be a role model.

And if you can't explain to your kids that it's fine to love Johnny superstar from the crows or Collingwood or whoever but love them for their football ability and nothing else then you should re-evaluate if you are fit to be a parent. Aspire to play like them not be like them. Problem is, 3/4 of the parents love the player blindly and pass it on and then when they get caught being naughty they have no way of explaining it coz all their kids have heard for years is how unreservedly incredible so and so is.

Major mistake, they are average blokes with pumped up egos who can kick a ball and grab it better than most and that's it.

I cant think of any situation in life where hitting a woman is acceptable.

There aren't many but you're not thinking hard enough if you can't think of one. ICBF telling the whole story now but suffice to say I was put in one of them out one night where it was completely justified and the ironic thing about it was there were a couple of crows players i knew who were right there when it happened.

And the silly bitch in question approached them acting like she was a victim wanting them to "get me" (not knowing they knew me) when it was actually I who was the victim and they laughed their asses off in her face right before she was kicked out of the venue and told to never come back.

good times :D

Can everyone please stop providing courses of punishment. He may not be GUILTY of assult.

I've already explained how little it takes for someone to be charged with assult in domestic violence cases.

To those on their role model high horse, as footy fan and I have said, if you deem football players (as a whole) role models, not great sportsmen, please adjust your criteria for role model, I suggest you start at those who give their life to others.

Shut this thread down, it's going stupid.

And i find the implication that simply being out late in town is a behaviour that is only for unsavoury types insulting.

Of course not. But c'mon we both know that most assaults or fights occur later in the night on weekends where large volumes of alcohol have been consumed.

Can everyone please stop providing courses of punishment. He may not be GUILTY of assult.

I've already explained how little it takes for someone to be charged with assult in domestic violence cases.

To those on their role model high horse, as footy fan and I have said, if you deem football players (as a whole) role models, not great sportsmen, please adjust your criteria for role model, I suggest you start at those who give their life to others.

Shut this thread down, it's going stupid.

Fair enough.

Its irrelevant now the punishment that is handed out to Bock by the AFC or the courts. The fact he assaulted a woman should end his career at the AFC. I would trade him at years end. With so many youngsters on our list, we can't have a senior player like this on our list. It will hurt us in the short term bigtime but long term it will benefit the club.

I cant think of any situation in life where hitting a woman is acceptable.

I am still hoping its some sort of mix up but if not, Bock has to go.
jesus!!!

we know there was an assault allegedly against bock's girlfriend, what that entails no one bar a few know. As far as you know he could have simply bumped into her...

very very harsh......

its good to see trial by media is still very much alive in our pissant little town... :rolleyes:

Edit - are there any mods here???

I don't want to close the thread just because it's getting out of control, but please try to remember that we

A) Don't actually know what has happened yet,
B) Don't know if he is guilty of what he has been accused of, and
C) Are living in a media climate where stories will be jumped on before they are even close to confirmed,

and try to save your sweeping judgements until we have even the first semblence of facts presented to us.

Of course not. But c'mon we both know that most assaults or fights occur later in the night on weekends where large volumes of alcohol have been consumed.

We also know that the vast vast majority of people out are not involved.

So Bock may have done the wrong thing after getting drunk. He was arrested and charged. Will go to court later in the year. What use is it suspending him and penalizing the team and supporters? He knows he's done the wrong thing (in the cool light of day). And don't tell me about being a role model...blah, blah, blah. He needs to get on with the job he is paid to do and perhaps go to anger/booze management classes in his spare time. If he is convicted of a crime, then pay the fine/do the time as anyone else in the community has to. Don't single out footballers/sportsmen as special cases- would a normal employee be suspended from work due to being on a charge of assault? Everyone is entitled to one mistake-have a look at some of the pollies and so called businessman lately.

If part of your job description involved being extremely visible in public and your actions reflecting the performance of your organisation, then yes, you probably would be in trouble.

The issue is not whether this is punishable. The issue is that it is not confirmed yet what happened, if anything.

Don't most assaults occur in the home? Agree with the alcohol part though.

You're no doubt right. I was talking more assaults and fights that break out on a night out on the weekend.

Anyway, its abit harsh of me to hang Bock out to dry before the fall story is known. Not a good look though.

They also said he pushed his GF not punched. FFS how can someone be charged with assault for pushing someone. Why its not a good look, its hardly serious. Wow, storm in a tea cup.

Indefinite suspension until he is ready to resume but definitely this week.

So basically he is out this week for sure coz the club would be hammered if they let him play and they'll see if the shit storm has passed sufficiently next week before deciding if he has to miss another one to keep everyone happy. Hopefully the 50 hours at a women's shelter will buy them 1 less week they have to sit him out.

It is all BS! The word "role model" came up in the press conference and the 3rd question was "what does the AFC have to say to its large contingent of female supporters and corporates?

In other words, what ya going to do to stop the moral outrage?

Be nice if they said, "well he is going to say sorry, do some counselling, go to court, cop his punishment, volunteer at a women's shelter, cop a $5k fine and hopefully shut down Pav on the weekend and go along way to helping us win and in the process make 100,000 female supporters pretty bloody happy."

Shits me to tears, exactly the same thing happened at Collingwood. The club freaked out with the didak/shaw thing and were so scared with the backlash they came out with this massive penalty that appeased the media etc and by the time finals came most people didn't give a stuff and thought it was silly they weren't playing.

They also said he pushed his GF not punched. FFS how can someone be charged with assault for pushing someone. Why its not a good look, its hardly serious. Wow, storm in a tea cup.

If all he did was pour a beer over her and push her - ASSUMING HE DIDN'T REALLY SHOVE HER AND HURT HER - then it's absolute bullshit that he's been charged for it.

Its just absolute BS that he was charged for something so trivial. He definitely needs a good kick up the a$$ but to be charged with assault, what a joke.