richmond
Not an easy subject to discuss without emotions getting in the way, but I'm going to have a go anyway.

I reckon the club needs to move on past him. The heart says the boy had a horrible injury and we need to stick by him, but the head says he is also not the sort of boy to work his socks off to get back to his very best. Clothes shops, style council, Mr Pink: he's got a bit of the Nick Daffy about him.

I'll be very surprised to see him fight his way back to the top. I think he'll be happy to keep taking money play a few games and then parade around Chapel St shops when his footy career winds up.

He is a guy that seems to play footy because it pays better and he is good at it, not because he loves it and wants to go out at the top, and its the latter that drives you to come back from career threatening injuries

Smacks of innuendo 1980.
Seriously, unless you know the bloke personally, I don't see how you can talk with any authority whatsoever on NB's mindset.
He had his leg literally smashed to pieces and I have no reason to think that he isn't doing anything in his power to get back and play good footy again.
We had a loss to Carlton. We lost by less than 3 kicks and the world is suddenly ending. yes, we're all feeling frustrated, but bringing up threads like this, does nobody any good.
Just my opinion.

That's why he said he's so frustrated he can't play,obviously he's telling us porkys and is more interested in his fashion business and latte's down chapel st,Give me a break.:rolleyes:

Smacks of innuendo 1980.
Seriously, unless you know the bloke personally, I don't see how you can talk with any authority whatsoever on NB's mindset.
He had his leg literally smashed to pieces and I have no reason to think that he isn't doing anything in his power to get back and play good footy again.
We had a loss to Carlton. We lost by less than 3 kicks and the world is suddenly ending. yes, we're all feeling frustrated, but bringing up threads like this, does nobody any good.
Just my opinion.

No innuendo mate. No authority either. Just an opinion from afar. Some players have the desire, some dont. I just feel he falls into the latter category. Doesnt mean I'm right, nor does it mean I want to be right.

That's why he said he so frustrated he can't play,obviously he's telling us porkys and is more interested in his fashion business and latte's down chapel st,Give me a break.:rolleyes:

Yeah, and Hitler said he wouldnt invade Poland. Look it up.

i wouldnt get rid of him because he is the only senior player we have who has talent and even so i doubt the club has the balls to do it

should be on a 1 year performanced based contract and up to him to repay us for the last 2 years, it wasnt his fault but he is still getting full pay for doing jack ****

that being said with a goose like miller in charge anything can and will happen

should be on a 1 year performanced based contract and up to him to repay us for the last 2 years, it wasnt his fault but he is still getting full pay for doing jack ****

that being said with a goose like miller in charge anything can and will happen
Yeah, right.
Miller should have paid out his current contract and then put him on a performance based contract as well.
Gobble, gobble.

Yeah, right.
Miller should have paid out his current contract and then put him on a performance based contract as well.
Gobble, gobble.

does browny deserve another 600k contract with no gurantee he will even come back?

same with cogs

you dont want to act like dogs but you need to do whats best for the club and treat your members money with respect and not just throw it away

does browny deserve another 600k contract with no gurantee he will even come back?

same with cogs

you dont want to act like dogs but you need to do whats best for the club and treat your members money with respect and not just throw it away
Brown is not on "another" 600k contract. The one that brought him to the club is still running. You can't just suddenly turn it into a different contract.
Cogs has a long term contract still running as well.

If you were in charge, you just threw away a few hundred thousand of the members money in your scenario.

He is a guy that seems to play footy because it pays better and he is good at it, not because he loves it and wants to go out at the top, and its the latter that drives you to come back from career threatening injuries
Tempting to think that way 1980 but I think Browny is a classic case of can't judge a book by its cover. I think the reason he has had trouble coming back is the opposite - he is working too hard to get back, rather than working smart. During the preseason there were reports of him flying, beating his pb over 20m etc. Instead it should have been a slowly slowly approach. Why even play him in a practice match? He knows how to play footy and the match fitness gains count for little for a player like him over the entire season. Maybe he heard his football timeclock ticking and wanted to get back to his best asap, but it seems a classic case of mishandling the injury because everyone else wanted the same thing.

Not an easy subject to discuss without emotions getting in the way, but I'm going to have a go anyway.

I reckon the club needs to move on past him. The heart says the boy had a horrible injury and we need to stick by him, but the head says he is also not the sort of boy to work his socks off to get back to his very best. Clothes shops, style council, Mr Pink: he's got a bit of the Nick Daffy about him.

I'll be very surprised to see him fight his way back to the top. I think he'll be happy to keep taking money play a few games and then parade around Chapel St shops when his footy career winds up.

Thankyou for your opinion, but i'd pretty much say that you had the wrong idea.

Tempting to think that way 1980 but I think Browny is a classic case of can't judge a book by its cover. I think the reason he has had trouble coming back is the opposite - he is working too hard to get back, rather than working smart. During the preseason there were reports of him flying, beating his pb over 20m etc. Instead it should have been a slowly slowly approach. Why even play him in a practice match? He knows how to play footy and the match fitness gains count for little for a player like him over the entire season. Maybe he heard his football timeclock ticking and wanted to get back to his best asap, but it seems a classic case of mishandling the injury because everyone else wanted the same thing.

I think you're right Crums.

Its a solomon issue for me (as in the baby splitter, not the footballer). Cant make up my mind either way.

Would not give up Nathan Brown for my stolen soul.

I dont know why your opinion has changed so much after 1 article?

Even if he didnt get involved at the Dogs, he is richly involved at the Tigers, hes a match-winner, a class act, and when hes on form, is one of the best players in the league.

Go Browny :thumbsu:

Would not give up Nathan Brown for my stolen soul.

I dont know why your opinion has changed so much after 1 article?

Even if he didnt get involved at the Dogs, he is richly involved at the Tigers, hes a match-winner, a class act, and when hes on form, is one of the best players in the league.

Go Browny :thumbsu:

Nothing to do with articles. He's a celebrity footballer, and normally they dont work as hard to overcome adversity

by the same token, champion footballers usually work harder than mere mortals. Hes busting his gut not just to get back, but to get back to what he was. I wont write him off yet but geez i feel for him. The endeavour and will is there

Brown has said he's never had the motivation and dedication that he got after he broke his leg.

He could come back better than before if the leg holds up considering how much harder he now works.