Nathan Brown

I was against Brown's recruitment and I'll always stand fully behind that because I believe it was too much to pay for a relatively short term gain, but I'm also not about to hang him for one bad game where three out of four weeks he'd kick the bulk of them.

The man goes through physical and mental hell just to get on the park week in week out, I respect that and I really thought he'd got on top of that battle when he kicked that goal from outside 55m against Port -the first time since his injury where he's showed his old confidence with the kicking penetration to back it up.

He'll bounce back, perhaps it will be irrelevant, but he'll work his hardest to do his individual best and try to lift the team to the level his body allows.

Bottom line, we still pay the price of the Frawley era with Brown and Johnson, but you can't blame Wallace for playing them when they're the best available of a bad lot he inherited - almost all of whom are already gone.

team to the level his body allows.

Bottom line, we still pay the price of the Frawley era with Brown and Johnson, but you can't blame Wallace for playing them when they're the best available of a bad lot he inherited - almost all of whom are already gone.

honestly - no one has stated that he should get dropped - everyone has just critised his performance today. he played really poorly IMO 0 alll compounded that it was on a "once in a century" celebration to our club, in a do or die clash for a chance at finals - and against our deepest arch nemisis.

not hard to understand why so many people are angry that a player who gets paid around $500k a season - played about 20 games in the last three seasons - kicked 0.7 and also made several bad decisions which lead to turnovers or butchering of key goal opportunitys in a key moment of a game

...against our deepest arch nemisis.

Thin ice for a bloke who this time last year was switching back and forward between the two clubs like a fickle wind?

From "our" to "deepest" to "nemisis" (sic), do you think you have the right to say these things ahead of Brown himself?

not hard to understand why so many people are angry that a player who gets paid around $500k a season - played about 20 games in the last three seasons - kicked 0.7 and also made several bad decisions which lead to turnovers or butchering of key goal opportunitys in a key moment of a game

Yes, he was very poor. I'll have bruises on my leg for a week from his ____ups - and wore the first five before I really lost my temper in the heat of the match.

But I also recognise that none of it was from lack of effort. He is a game breaker and today he broke his own club. Do you think he's proud of it or doesn't care one way or the other? Hardly. He'll be gutted all week if not for months afterwards and probably go way beyond the already crazy lengths he already goes to in order to make up for it next week.

I don't like him as a person based on his public persona. I disagree with our decision to recruit him. But I'll NEVER question his commitment to give his all for our club - and above all else, that's what counts.

Nathan Foleys opponent in Nick Stevens won Carlton the match and was clearly BOG, why dont you start a thread ripping into axel? Brown had a bad day but Foley and Johnson were much worse, we were smashed out of the middle.

honestly - no one has stated that he should get dropped - everyone has just critised his performance today. he played really poorly IMO 0 alll compounded that it was on a "once in a century" celebration to our club, in a do or die clash for a chance at finals - and against our deepest arch nemisis.

And why is that? Is Brown some kind of sacred cow ( ala Richo!)?

He is- in terms of position- a forward, in terms of skills highly skilled and in terms of toughness and hardness, well, a squib.

He did not do his job as a forward today, missing some relatively easy shots at goal. He did not use his skill-as he has done in previous matches- in the half-back line or in the midfield. Instead, he was trying all game to push a taller and stronger opponent under the ball, loosing, comically, his feet a second later.

The only function he performed really well today was the squib one. I mean, you people call Bowden and Pettifer soft, but I reckon Brown is even softer! ABC Commentators were saying that the only way Brown will-one day- lay a tackle is when his opponent falls into his arms!

So, since he was clearly the most detrimental- for the Tigers- player today why can’t he get dropped and be replaced by Pettifer? At least our squibness will remain intact that way!

And why is that? Is Brown some kind of sacred cow ( ala Richo!)?

He is- in terms of position- a forward, in terms of skills highly skilled and in terms of toughness and hardness, well, a squib.

He did not do his job as a forward today, missing some relatively easy shots at goal. He did not use his skill-as he has done in previous matches- in the half-back line or in the midfield. Instead, he was trying all game to push a taller and stronger opponent under the ball, loosing, comically, his feet a second later.

The only function he performed really well today was the squib one. I mean, you people call Bowden and Pettifer soft, but I reckon Brown is even softer! ABC Commentators were saying that the only way Brown will-one day- lay a tackle is when his opponent falls into his arms!

So, since he was clearly the most detrimental- for the Tigers- player today why can’t he get dropped and be replaced by Pettifer? At least our squibness will remain intact that way!

as much as i dont think brown can or deserve to be dropped - i would love to see how our forward line would work with both he and richo not in it -with pettifer taking browns spot alongside morton, hughes, reiwoldt, edwards and cotchin. i think that the balance would be pretty good there. It suprises me somewhat that many people dont notice (or choose not to notice) browns lack of chasing and tackling - is probably worse than petts in that area.

infact brown has onyl layed 6 more tackles this season , 4 more goal assist, & both have performed Zero 1%'ers - all this with browny playing 8 more games

the only genuine upside brown has had over him this season was the goal tally - which is 24 - 6. Both's workrate off the ball is disgraceful

To be fair - if wallace is going to be serious about dropping players that are not willing to do the team things - Brown should be the first to go

:thumbsd:

thats because Buddy is exceptional every week - nathan brown is not.

many are living in the past here - brown had the biggest stage yet for this club to show the footy world he is the genuis he likes to act like he is - he cracked under the pressure - he missed at least 4-5 goals today that were absolute gimnmes

not ____ing good enough for what i want from my highest paid, senior player:thumbsd:

Its probably because Buddy hasnt been recovering from a broken leg for the past 2-3 years.
Your a f*%kin joke Toby!

give the guy a break, geesus h christ on a popsicle stick.

he had a shocker, all players do at some point! he'd be the first to admit he had a stinker of a match.

the most embarrasing part was that it was some rookie tool from a club of cheaters.

Nathan Foleys opponent in Nick Stevens won Carlton the match and was clearly BOG, why dont you start a thread ripping into axel? Brown had a bad day but Foley and Johnson were much worse, we were smashed out of the middle.

Actually agree with this, Foley had a mare too. Stevens ran riot the whole game. Where is the thread about him?

You can't create class, and Brown has kept us in games more often than not.

:thumbsd:you were utter shit today.

your teammates delivered you top class ball on multiple occassions and you blew it. In the final quarter you lost your nerve and became indecsive - and turned the ball over

for a senior player to turn in such a shit game on an occassion like this is completely unacceptable - the coach put a lot of faith in your abilities today and you cracked under the pressure of a big crowd - you wanted to come to richmond because you wanted a bigger market - fact is, in a game which meant a lot to this clubs history - and was basically a mini final for us - you did not handle the pressure and failed.

We can all have a go at Tivendale, Hyde, Bowden, JON -etc - but this bloke today let us down equally to any one of these individuals have in any given game - and no game more important than this:thumbsd:

hats off to Moore for his effort on Fev - cotchin was brilliant, Polo did a great job - and both Hughes and Morton did what the had to do to make this forward line work today Unfortunately, it was the most experienced, highly paid Nathan Brown that didn't have the composure to make it a winning forward line

Couldn't agree more. He was simply a disgrace!

Its probably because Buddy hasnt been recovering from a broken leg for the past 2-3 years.
Your a f*%kin joke Toby!

im pretty sure nathan brown doesnt want people using the broken leg as an excuse anymore - and i will treat the bloke with respect and not;

0.7 is a terrible return from a marquee forward:thumbsd:

:thumbsd:you were utter shit today.

your teammates delivered you top class ball on multiple occassions and you blew it. In the final quarter you lost your nerve and became indecsive - and turned the ball over

for a senior player to turn in such a shit game on an occassion like this is completely unacceptable - the coach put a lot of faith in your abilities today and you cracked under the pressure of a big crowd - you wanted to come to richmond because you wanted a bigger market - fact is, in a game which meant a lot to this clubs history - and was basically a mini final for us - you did not handle the pressure and failed.

We can all have a go at Tivendale, Hyde, Bowden, JON -etc - but this bloke today let us down equally to any one of these individuals have in any given game - and no game more important than this:thumbsd:

hats off to Moore for his effort on Fev - cotchin was brilliant, Polo did a great job - and both Hughes and Morton did what the had to do to make this forward line work today Unfortunately, it was the most experienced, highly paid Nathan Brown that didn't have the composure to make it a winning forward line

not a good comment mate
if browny kicked six straight we still would have lost you know.
so whats your point.
its the blokes idea to let the opposition take it out of our backline so
easy,thats a disgrace to have that happen,how do you win games when you let them have it on a plate till they get to chf and then be defensive

browny had an off day with the boot. A rare one but one that he would most definelty not be happy with. Game was as good as over if he kicked straight...but he didnt and we are where we are and Browny is still a star who will have his critics of saturday's game, eating their words...if you think otherwise, then you have NFI. ;)

It wasn't just his poor kicking...

Nor his lack of forward 50 pressure...

Bad decision making? Not not just that.

Here's the rub. Several times our midfielders were surging forward with the ball, in the clear and Brown was trying to play from behind. Wallace even dragged him after the third pathetic, lazy occasion Brown tried to wrestle with his opponent when he should have played from in front given he has a distinct advantage in the air over Carazzo.

Dumb. Selfish.

yer I will bet subi in a couple of weeks time looking foward to seeing browny bounce back if any Tiger ppl comming over for the game let me know would love to catchup and have a couple of beers at the vic before and after.:thumbsu:

browny had an off day with the boot. A rare one but one that he would most definelty not be happy with. Game was as good as over if he kicked straight...but he didnt and we are where we are and Browny is still a star who will have his critics of saturday's game, eating their words...if you think otherwise, then you have NFI. ;)

Agree with most of what Toby has said in his posts on this topic, Browny was shocking and should be singled out to a certain extent. One of his shots on goal in the first quarter was unbelievable. Marked it right in front of where I was sitting and I thought it'd be a certain goal, and he ran off the mark and snapped it. A simple set shot, drop punt would've been a much better option. To say he'll kick a bag next game is irrelevant - it was this game where he needed to be at his best, and some of those shots he missed were very basic ones.

Having said that, he the reason we lost is because we were undisciplined in manning up and chasing opponents when they had the ball.

But the biggest problem with us on the weekend was players getting the ball and realising they're about to run into trouble so they handball to a guy that's standing two feet away from, who's about to get tackled themselves. Poor decision making and disposal is what's keeping us in the position we're in on the ladder. Until they work on moving the ball more fluently and with better accuracy, I can't see it changing a hell of a lot.

Agree with most of what Toby has said in his posts on this topic, Browny was shocking and should be singled out to a certain extent. One of his shots on goal in the first quarter was unbelievable. Marked it right in front of where I was sitting and I thought it'd be a certain goal, and he ran off the mark and snapped it. A simple set shot, drop punt would've been a much better option. To say he'll kick a bag next game is irrelevant - it was this game where he needed to be at his best, and some of those shots he missed were very basic ones.

Having said that, he the reason we lost is because we were undisciplined in manning up and chasing opponents when they had the ball.

But the biggest problem with us on the weekend was players getting the ball and realising they're about to run into trouble so they handball to a guy that's standing two feet away from, who's about to get tackled themselves. Poor decision making and disposal is what's keeping us in the position we're in on the ladder. Until they work on moving the ball more fluently and with better accuracy, I can't see it changing a hell of a lot.

Until the likes of Hyde and Johnson are removed we will be as you suggest.
Tuck escapes, purely because of the grunt factor in close, but another that has NFI when it comes to awareness and know how.
Case in point: We are running it out of the backline, in the third. Ball lobs to Johnson between CHB and the center. He has marked it facing away from what is unfolding down field. Doesnt even take a look to see if there is an option downfield, just turns to his right and lobs a lolly pop kick, 15 ms to his right, to a player who can do nothing more than hold up play.

Get rid of him ASAP, he has NFI and we cant move forward with duds like this in our side. He aint a captains left testy FFS, and here we are giving him the 17 and the medal honouring the 17? What a ____ing joke. ;)

To be fair - if wallace is going to be serious about dropping players that are not willing to do the team things - Brown should be the first to go
I agree. There seems to be some confusion with supporters regarding Brown. They believe his sometime brilliance excuses his selfishness and lack of pressure when he hasn't got the ball. It doesn't.

Thin ice for a bloke who this time last year was switching back and forward between the two clubs like a fickle wind?

From "our" to "deepest" to "nemisis" (sic), do you think you have the right to say these things ahead of Brown himself?

Yes, he was very poor. I'll have bruises on my leg for a week from his ____ups - and wore the first five before I really lost my temper in the heat of the match.

But I also recognise that none of it was from lack of effort. He is a game breaker and today he broke his own club. Do you think he's proud of it or doesn't care one way or the other? Hardly. He'll be gutted all week if not for months afterwards and probably go way beyond the already crazy lengths he already goes to in order to make up for it next week.

I don't like him as a person based on his public persona. I disagree with our decision to recruit him. But I'll NEVER question his commitment to give his all for our club - and above all else, that's what counts.

What, you know him personally now do you? how do you know he will be gutted? flog!

He regulary kicks points when it matters!

To be smashed by carazzo was totally embarassing.

Low percentage Nathan needs a serious rocket.

Finally got around to watching the game and it was a bit of a stinker from Browny. Surprising because he had been excellent the weeks before. Seemed to lose confidence after missing those first three shots. He did play from behind a bit, but that is part of his MO to work his oponent under the ball. Just didn't come off so weel this game. But by and large I'd be happy to see Browny have 7 shots at goal every week. Most weeks he would kick 5 from the shots he had. He didn't seem to play up the ground as much against the blues which was also surprising, since he gave us so much drive from on-ball the previous two weeks.

And Hyde was just terrible. Three times he passed to a leading forward and could have set up 3 goals. The results - 2 grubbers and 1 over the head. 3 turnovers instead of 3 goals. Not good enough for an alleged senior player.

One of his shots on goal in the first quarter was unbelievable. Marked it right in front of where I was sitting and I thought it'd be a certain goal, and he ran off the mark and snapped it. A simple set shot, drop punt would've been a much better option.
I agree with this bit, but it isn't just Brown. This seems to have become the norm right across the league. Morton does it all the time, but he usually kicks them so doesn't get criticised. Collingwood players do it all the time as well, as do many others. Don't understand what is wrong with a simple drop punt myself.