Nathan Burke

dreampolice

williamstown
Apologies for invading your page sainters, but despite being a magpie can i say what a champion Burke is. You don't realise unitll they are finishing sometimes how great a player is. Burke is a professional and he will be missed by others as well as yourselves. The gold fm tribute at 8.40 this morning was sensational.
Good luck guys.
Well done Nathan Burke

Yes, I echo those thoughts. I am a Hawk fan but have always admired the way Nathan Burke went about his football. A true champion and worthy games record holder for the Saints.

Agreed - as a Lions fan I have respected Nathan as a player and person! He plays the game hard but he also played it fair - he's proof that big thing do come in small packages :p.

I hope the saints players can give Nathan the send off he deserves.

ALL THE BEST BURKEY!

sorry bout spelling his name wrong in the AFL forum - :o

There's a function for Burkey after the game in the Victory Room (where in the ground is that?), as there was for Stewie last year. A woman at the club told me yesterday that it's $10 for adults and $5 for children, which seems very expensive to me. They don't exactly make it easy for those of us who don't have much cash!

My Dad went to Stewie's one (I was overseas), and he reckons it's not worth it for that, as you couldn't see or hear properly anyway. What do you people reckon?

Originally posted by Winmar
There's a function for Burkey after the game in the Victory Room (where in the ground is that?), as there was for Stewie last year. A woman at the club told me yesterday that it's $10 for adults and $5 for children, which seems very expensive to me. They don't exactly make it easy for those of us who don't have much cash!

My Dad went to Stewie's one (I was overseas), and he reckons it's not worth it for that, as you couldn't see or hear properly anyway. What do you people reckon?

I went to Stewie's after match tribute last year and I thought it was awesome. All the players were in attendance and it was very emotional to hear everyone's thoughts about Loewe and what he meant to the St.Kilda Football Club. The great man spoke as well, and there was a lot of passion and pride in the room. If you can make it there to farewell Burkie then it would definately be worth it. I am not positive, but from my memory the Victory Room is near Aisle 17??? on Level 1. Unfortunately I can't make it, but I hope heaps of Saints fans can get to the match and cheer the team on, then head to the victory room to say farewell to a club champion.

Best of luck to the little champ. One of my favourite opposition players.

Wishing his farewell game wasn't against the Tiges however.

I'll probably end up with that same bittersweet feeling I had after watching McCartney against Richmond earlier this year.

Terrible isnt it One-Eyed-Tiger.

Well done to Burke. I think he made the right choice. I dont think he would have wanted to end it any later (except for the end of the year). Best of luck to the champ.

Nothing but the utmost respect for Nathan. Has been a gun over the years and has led a great career.

Congratulations mate. Enjoy retirement.

what a champion Nathan Burke is!!!!

He is one of the most underrated, toughest guys to have pulled on a guersney in recent years.

One of my all-time favourite Non Eagle players, because of his never say die attitude, and it's now a shame that his career has come to an end.

He is an inspiration to all and We are lesser for not being able to watch the great man take the field.

Just out of interest, did he make St Kilda's team of the century, was he close?? He must've been extraordinarily close if he didn't get in (do they even have one??).....

Yes he did make our Team of the Century Black Thunder & deservedly so:

Saints Team of the Century...

B: Kevin Neale (1965-77), Verdon Howell (1958-68 ), Nathan Burke (1987-2003)

HB: Daryl Griffiths (1963-70), Neil Roberts (1952-62), Trevor Barker (1975-89)

C: Colin Watson (1920,22,25,33-35), Ian Stewart (1963-70), Nicky Winmar (1987-98 )

HF: Daryl Baldock (1962-68 ), Dave McNamara (1905-09,14-15, 18-19,21-23), Bill Mohr (1929-41)

F: Ross Smith (1961-71,1975), Tony Lockett (1983-94), Alan Morrow (1957-88 )

R: Carl Ditterich (1963-72, 1976-78 ), Harold Bray (1941-43, 1945-52), Robert Harvey (1988-)

Int: Jim Ross (1948-54), Stewart Loewe (1988- 2002), Lance Oswald (1957-63), Barry Lawrence (1968-78 )

Coach: Alan Jeans (1961-78 )

I think that a couple of nice things about Burkie's retirement were that he chose his own timing & he hadn't diminished too much as a player. Whilst you couldn't say he went out at his peak he certainly hasn't besmirched his image by trying to hang on too long.

Thanks for the memories Burkie.

Nice to se supporters of other clubs showing some class and recognising what a champion Burkie was for St Kilda and Footy as a whole. Lov ya Burkie

Nathan Burke is an absolute legend. St Kilda was/is very lucky to have him. Best wishes in retirement Burkey - feel free to join Spud and Stewie, we'd love to have you! :D