Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

Have a feeling armo is a better player than freeman so they aren’t dropping him. Dunstan is also better based on how they have performed at sandy when he was dropped. I love this magical thought that a guy comes in and will do better than guys in there but when the guys in have played at sandy they are always in the best. If freeman is slow which he was 4 weeks ago I can’t see who he replaces. He certainly isn’t a defensive forward or goal kicker. He is an onballer and I reckon we are slow enough there.

I never mooted that he'd be better what-so-ever. I was just pointing out the holes in the club's position. I can't understand why you think it's a good thing to tread water on list development. Are you still holding onto a top 4 finish? Well I've got some news for ya Plugg, and it's coming in on the next rainbow...

I think I have said more than most the list isn’t good enough But that also means the seconds. The seconds are getting beaten worse than our firsts lately and the best usually always includes non listed players. There is no magical gun in the seconds. They are either not good enough or are young and not good enough yet. 2 or 3 games won’t have any bearing on their careers. Rather guys get picked because they continue to put their hand up.

Yeah I understand and agree with all of that, but I just have a different perspective. Soooo...
We are short about 5 good<elite senior players, which everyone knows. So to fill that gap, the top 5 guys that aught be depth/developing get sucked up into the senior team to make up numbers, which makes our 2nds bad too, and the guys remaining are less likely to be ripping games apart because they are the dregs of our list. "If" we were in a better position over all then I'd agree that those blokes earn their spot as per normal. But, things are not normal, and different measures apply at the moment because of a situation that's imposed on the 2s from the top. Gifting games isn't desirable, but in the scheme of it all you could say that any game given to Wright, Minch, Gilbo are a gift. So why not Hugh and Freeza, particularly given that there "may" be something to salvage from them if they can show even a little bit before the season ends. I mean FFS we are talking about the difference between finishing 2nd/3rd or 4th last in a shocker of a season. I WANT to see what we've got on the shelf, even it it turn out to be nothing at all.

Even at 75% Freeza is still quicker than Spook and Dave and most certainly more agile than Dave. The line from the club infers that he has no other value as a player if he can't hit top speed, but that is just total BS! Spook is a bit off atm from what looks like his shoulders again, and Dave is a known quantity with a year to go before he's likely to retire, and our season is shot to hell anyway. It's logical and sensible that Freeza and Hugh should be getting games now and till the end of the year if they can manage it, unless the club has written them off already....Others may differ of course, but I can't fathom a reason not to at this point.
Dont know if that is entirely correct
Maybe it's 75% correct?

Yeah I understand and agree with all of that, but I just have a different perspective. Soooo...
We are short about 5 good<elite senior players, which everyone knows. So to fill that gap, the top 5 guys that aught be depth/developing get sucked up into the senior team to make up numbers, which makes our 2nds bad too, and the guys remaining are less likely to be ripping games apart because they are the dregs of our list. "If" we were in a better position over all then I'd agree that those blokes earn their spot as per normal. But, things are not normal, and different measures apply at the moment because of a situation that's imposed on the 2s from the top. Gifting games isn't desirable, but in the scheme of it all you could say that any game given to Wright, Minch, Gilbo are a gift. So why not Hugh and Freeza, particularly given that there "may" be something to salvage from them if they can show even a little bit before the season ends. I mean FFS we are talking about the difference between finishing 2nd/3rd or 4th last in a shocker of a season. I WANT to see what we've got on the shelf, even it it turn out to be nothing at all.

You can watch sandy to see what we have. They don’t magically come good in a competition 30 goals better. And it’s not like we aren’t playing young guys. Need balance especially when our seconds aren’t any good. Anyway it’s obvious we have different opinions and that’s probably I’m not against richo as much as some others because I don’t think selection of the side has been that bad where as you and others do and that’s fine.

No, no, no, no, no Plugg!!! You have to agree with me for this to end. That's how it works, remember??

Yeah...well...you got me there [emoji4]

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Seeing Freezers draft video. Looks a bit of an inside player get ball and kick....just like he does at Sandy.

When he is in the open that's when he is noticibly quick. Have not seen that at Sandy.

Have not seen him do the explosive break away Al la Judd or even Stuv in video or at Sandy.

Maybe that's what they want him to do and he is yet to do....

I do know.....

But it would disapoint me a lot as a club if we did not give him a fair crack because that is what we stand for as a club if nothing else.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

see i agree with that thinking that Freezer aint quite hitting the notes we want him to hit ... but then the thing that contradicts that is when we have guys like Sav , Weller , Newnes, Lonie and Wright to continue to get games when they are equally not hitting those notes that got them drafted ... it does very much look like a boys club and richo's favs get the breaks

As if Richo doesn’t want to play freeman?

His boys club?

Last time I checked they have a coaching team and selection committee. It’s not Richos call solely.

Oh and if it’s richos boys club, then he technically recruited freeman, so why wouldn’t he want to play him to justify trading for him? Hmmmm...

Have a feeling armo is a better player than freeman so they aren’t dropping him. Dunstan is also better based on how they have performed at sandy when he was dropped. I love this magical thought that a guy comes in and will do better than guys in there but when the guys in have played at sandy they are always in the best. If freeman is slow which he was 4 weeks ago I can’t see who he replaces. He certainly isn’t a defensive forward or goal kicker. He is an onballer and I reckon we are slow enough there.

Stop making so much sense Plugger!

Unfortunately people on here fail to realise that there are no fairytales in afl football.

Freeman will play if his performance, fitness and the wider team make up warrant. Like every other player. Everything else ‘guessed’ at on here about him is dribble..

Unfortunately people on here fail to realise that there are no fairytales in afl football.

Freeman will play if his performance, fitness and the wider team make up warrant. Like every other player. Everything else ‘guessed’ at on here about him is dribble..
Freeman has a crook shoulder that needs operating on , so we will not see his best - I would like to see him play but if he needs a operation get done now , put him on the rookie list give him a full preseason and see if he comes good next year.

As if Richo doesn’t want to play freeman?

His boys club?

Last time I checked they have a coaching team and selection committee. It’s not Richos call solely.

Oh and if it’s richos boys club, then he technically recruited freeman, so why wouldn’t he want to play him to justify trading for him? Hmmmm...
Because Richo has been planted at the Saints by Collingwood to keep us on the bottom. The Freezer business is all part of it. Richo wasn't expecting him to come good, and now that he has it has left Richo in an awkward situation. That's why his explanations are so pisspoor.

This theory Really Speaks to me!

Beware the thought police my man..

Can you prove it as fact?

I think Richo was actually on the money last night. Freeman is finding plenty of the football which is great, but he’s missing the one thing that got him drafted in the top ten.

I’m not so sure he’s able to get that back, Richo seems to think that it might just be in his mind though.

If he could get his dynamic speed back it would be huge for the club.
I tend to agree with the bit about the explosive speed, but isn't someone who can find the footy with relative ease and in abundance, not a valuable prospect anyway? His kicking is fairly sharp from what I've seen as well. Surely worth a try?

I think you're on to something there, old boy. The filth network is strong in the charmless one.

Except Lonie. Him continually getting a game is as mysterious as the Bermuda Triangle disappearances.

When they go back especially lonie he is always in the best. The vfl is a bloody weak competition and we are a weak side yet freeman struggles to get in the best. If he was ready he should now be dominant

Phillips, Wright, Austin, Rice and Longer have hardly dominated at VFL level, yet all have been given opportunities. Why not Nate? Maybe he could play up to the standard if we only gave him an OPPORTUNITY!

So does this mean Freemans career is effectively over?

I can't really see him getting another contract extension without playing a game this year. Maybe they'll rookie him, who knows?

I find it baffling that Richo can't gift the guy a game just to give the fans something to cheer about. It's been a rough year, what's the point in waiting till he hits all the right KPI's while you're playing spuds like Lonie, Newnes, Mav, Giblet and Geary constantly?