Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

When you let Ball and Colljngwood manipulate the draft the agenda was set. Rules for one not the other.

Mate you are giving a bad name to St Kilda supporters here. This thread is about Nathan Freeman, not issues that happened 6 years or anything about Travis Clokes media deals..

What ever mate it was all part of the topic at the time.

Freeman underscores where the Saints are at - recognizing the need to invest in the medium term and need for outside run.

I am pleased we have him and more than happy to take our time with him.

Collingwood supporters stating he needs to add an inside game to become a solid AFL player totally miss the point - he is an outside player. In time I believe he will become an all round player who for now we need to take care of and I think they know how good he is and can be!

If we add outside run to our game we will be very dangerous.

St Kilda have been very smart in recruiting and drafting (yes all the publicity goes to the Carlisle trade but than should be judged in time not now and picking up Gresham mitigates this years impact), over the last couple of years compared to trying to pinch a flag which we were trying to do towards the end of the Lyon period,

We now have a damn solid list (I reckon only gaps are KPD, outside run in the middle and potentially vulnerable in ruck if Longer long term injured), that has actually been strategically addressed. The gaps have been addressed and given time to work on.

Have to also admit that Collingwood have developed a very good list and have what we have not in the past- buying power. But they have played kids and you have to give that to them.

Believe Freeman will be a very handy addition to our list and we are managing him the right way and I respect that and I do not care what other teams supporters think or say about our list as it is damn strong!

Freeman should never have been compared to Dangerfield; IMO Shuey is a better comparison, but as others have said, he's an outside player who had the curious misfortune to be built like a Mack truck, which makes people think he's a bulldozer.

He CAN, however, develop an inside aspect to his game. Jesus, if Lachie Whitfield apparently can, anyone can!

Freeman
should never have been compared to Dangerfield; IMO Shuey is a better comparison, but as others have said, he's an outside player who had the curious misfortune to be built like a Mack truck, which makes people think he's a bulldozer.

He CAN, however, develop an inside aspect to his game. Jesus, if Lachie Whitfield apparently can, anyone can!

Well said Barrels - Shuey is a good comparison but in the future I reckon others will be comparing new players to Freeman in a positive way - I have faith!

Its going way off topic with nothing remotely about Nathan

It's been a difficult thread to moderate, with discussion about the trade itself, what we gave up, who we could have got, bringing up the fact Aish and Treloar too ditched their own sides, not sure how Cloke entered the discussion though. :drunk:

Anyway moved the Aish and Treloar discussion to the mega thread, hopefully we can remain vaguely on topic for a week or two!

Also don't forget to check our Freezer's player thread, karaoke does a top job and while the discussion is less it's much more quality over quantity.

He's predominately an outside runner. 40 of his 125 disposals for the Sandringham Dragons in his draft year came from handball receives. He needs to learn to win his own ball, and to be more damaging with it, to become a solid AFL player.
Pardon me, that was his 2012 TAC Cup season. In 2013 he had 108 possessions of which 33 were from handball receives. Even so the ratio is pretty similar, and it paints the picture of an outside player who doesn't yet find a lot of his own ball.

Most of the in-depth write-up's I read of him in his draft year said that he would play a lot in the guts, but wasn't really one to go in and win the ball himself, rather he would wait just on the outskirts of the pack for someone to dish it out to him, where he would take it and try to run and break the lines from there.

Said that he had all the physical attributes to be able to go in and win it himself and so-on, but for whatever reason generally chose not to. Whether that is how he was told to play by whoever was coaching him is unclear.

Pardon me, that was his 2012 TAC Cup season. In 2013 he had 108 possessions of which 33 were from handball receives. Even so the ratio is pretty similar, and it paints the picture of an outside player who doesn't yet find a lot of his own ball.

I reckon Richo doesn't mind the fleet of runners cruising past for a handball receive and get it forward quickly approach of Port Adelaide a couple of years ago and Geelong at their heights. I get the feeling our game plan will end up being similar to that style so guys like steven, Freeman and savage streaming past works for us. Three or four tall marking options and a couple of mid sized versions and some defensive smaller forwards who can run and crumb to kick it to. Hopefully Lonie and Billings can be as good at it as Robbie Grey and Chad Wingard, I reckon Paddy and Bruce will be an upgrade on Shultz and Westhoff.

When you let Ball and Colljngwood manipulate the draft the agenda was set. Rules for one not the other.
Hold grudges much? It happened 6 years ago and could have been avoided. Move on with your life.

Your president still complains about losing the 66 premiership- that's a grudge. Anyway we Saints supporters cope mentally by blaming everything on evil consiracies. You guys were all juiced in 2010;) we want our trophy back.

I don't usually bother looking at other clubs thread but I thought I'd go over for a sticky beak. Good for a laugh. Quite a few pies fans obviously still filthy about him leaving and wishing for the worst.
There's one or two who are still a bit salty, which you'll get in any supporter base. Most of us just remain skeptical about Nate's prospects of returning to genuine full fitness. We've all heard the old '2-3 weeks', 'we're being super conservative', 'he could play if we needed him to' lines so many times that we've become a bit jaded.

Your president still complains about losing the 66 premiership- that's a grudge. Anyway we Saints supporters cope mentally by blaming everything on evil consiracies. You guys were all juiced in 2010;) we want our trophy back.
Eddie does love a grudge, I'll give you that!

Now we have Eddie entering the thread and juiced up players and 2010 :eek:

Remember this bloke?

f8aac400a1fc248b7c361b5a489ea214

There's one or two who are still a bit salty, which you'll get in any supporter base. Most of us just remain skeptical about Nate's prospects of returning to genuine full fitness. We've all heard the old '2-3 weeks', 'we're being super conservative', 'he could play if we needed him to' lines so many times that we've become a bit jaded.

It's funny how you come on this thread being all "no we only wish Nathan the best" then head back to the Collingwood board to gloat about his progress and pray for his next hamstring injury.

Please quote a post in our Freeman thread where I've wished for his next hamstring injury?

Now we have Eddie entering the thread and juiced up players and 2010 :eek:

Remember this bloke?

f8aac400a1fc248b7c361b5a489ea214

Come on man, nothing would get posted this time of year if it wasn't for pointless thread hijacking or arguing over how shit all our older players are and building ridiculous unattainable expectations of the kids.

I would suggest that if anyone has nothing constructive to add to a thread, and cant stay on topic, that they piss off out of it, instead of wanking over themselves for the sake of, i feel like a footy internet legend because i can bring up nothing to do with this thread, because i know nothing about this topic, but geez i need to show the world i know something about nothing of what happened to someone else way back when in Disneyland.

A few more beers and i will be back :drunk:, until then?

This is Nathan Freeman
1450252265911.jpg