Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

I think this is exactly why he left Collingwood, isn't it? Because he had issues with his hamstring that he noticed during his recovery, which was picked up by the medical staff, and he was pushed to play regardless, which in turn led to him significantly reinjurying himself. I may be wrong, but at the very least I'm happy with the professionalism and patience the club is showing. I think, perhaps, we've learned from our mistakes with Ball and Clarke, and we're not goi g to let him go full Jesse Smith

If you look through my posts of a few weeks ago you will see a post where I said "perhaps I know something you don't". Sadly it appears as though this kid is never going to realise his potential.
The club now in damage control, lost a highly valuable second round pick in this years draft plus have spent $1 million in him...he's been crippled by these hamstrings, can we return him to sender?
No thanks!
Done with that rollercoaster ride.
We already have four season ending best 22 injuries.
No malice intended, hopefully he does get on the park at some point for you.
So much potential. Frustrating.

If it makes you feel better with all the GWS academy picks and injector compensation it will probably only be pick 26:D
Probably later than that. Our pick 24 that we traded off in the Carlisle deal last year ended up being pushed out to pick 29

Except in Freeman's case there is no fitness test for this week's game. It's just give it a miss and reassess the following week aka ultra conservative. To quote richo, he is here for a career not just one game
Exactly. And that due to his hamstring history. If it were Dunstan or Bllings, they probably have the fitness test this week & be ok a play. That's the difference I was trying to make

At the end of the day, we've just played Round 5 at his first season at the club. If this is still the ongoing issue in 12 months time, then I'll be worried, but at this stage it's a body management thing and I'm happy for the club to take their time.

Whilst Rors is very informative I think it's Oliver that specialises in muscle injury & rehab. Both have added plenty to the discussion from a professional POV.
Havent read Olivers posts. Will go back and have a look. Thanks Glen

Have you ever done hamstring curls and when you get up you have that almost tickly type feeling in your hamstrings? Hamstring "awareness" is essentially a mixture of feeling fatigue and tightness. You can flex and extend your leg no worries but you have a general feeling in the muscle group. If you've ever done a hamstring you'll know what I'm talking about as you'd have felt it at some stage in your rehab. As Freeman was missing a game due to the bye they would have (I assume) put him through a pretty tough session to get high intensity loads into him. It just means his hamstrings weren't happy with the load so they'll drop him back to recover and build him back up. The scan was negative. It's not ideal but I'm essentially no less confident that he will be a player at the Saints.

Sorry mate I meant negative for a strain/tear. There may well have been some level of signal.

Look I'd only be speculating in relation to Freeman but hamstring awareness is physical. It may be that because of his history he mentions it to staff earlier than a player with no history so in that case there is a psychological element.

To put it into perspective, I've had 3 patients who are rehabbing from hamstrings in the last 2-3 weeks. Two of which have had awareness in a session. I dropped their loads back a bit but haven't changed their return to play dates yet. If managed it's generally not an issue. However, of course Freeman is different due to his history so they are a bit more conservative. It's certainly not ideal but also not major.

Exactly.

These posts are worth reading for those that initially missed them.

If you look through my posts of a few weeks ago you will see a post where I said "perhaps I know something you don't". Sadly it appears as though this kid is never going to realise his potential.
The club now in damage control, lost a highly valuable second round pick in this years draft plus have spent $1 million in him...he's been crippled by these hamstrings, can we return him to sender?
No backsies!

So basically freeman had some tightness he got a scan, it came back all clear so the club isn't playing him and drops his workload. Nothing wrong with that considering his history.

I'd have been surprised if he didn't have tightness after a game, the kid hasn't played for 12+ months. Even players with steel hammies feel tightness after a extended time off the park.

Completely natural response to a player returning from a long term injury. So many players have a blinder first game up then struggle for a few weeks later after a long lay off. Freeman is no different and will be playing good footy for us in the future.

Have you ever done hamstring curls and when you get up you have that almost tickly type feeling in your hamstrings? Hamstring "awareness" is essentially a mixture of feeling fatigue and tightness. You can flex and extend your leg no worries but you have a general feeling in the muscle group. If you've ever done a hamstring you'll know what I'm talking about as you'd have felt it at some stage in your rehab. As Freeman was missing a game due to the bye they would have (I assume) put him through a pretty tough session to get high intensity loads into him. It just means his hamstrings weren't happy with the load so they'll drop him back to recover and build him back up. The scan was negative. It's not ideal but I'm essentially no less confident that he will be a player at the Saints.

Then there is tongue awareness , when you realise its there in your mouth and down your throat, its really creepy.

Alan Richardson March 2016

"He's here for a career. He's not here for round one or a particular game so we're going to be pretty conservative."

All discussion regarding where Freeman is at needs to be considered in the light of that comment until he's either

A - picked in the AFL or

B - completely blows a hammy in the VFL reserves.

About time you owned up to being a campaigner.
Found it funny out of all the different opinions and post last night. There was only one person who found the need to go to name calling.

At the end of the day, we've just played Round 5 at his first season at the club. If this is still the ongoing issue in 12 months time, then I'll be worried, but at this stage it's a body management thing and I'm happy for the club to take their time.
You're not worried now?
He played 3 VFL games for Collingwood in 3 years.
He's been at our club 7 months and has managed 3 quarters of development league football with what is now his 2nd setback.
No intra club football either so it is literally 3 quarters of football.