Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

I rate both Freeman and Aish very highly, you guys did extremely well to get Aish. But Freeman suits our needs more so than Aish if he can get fit because we are desperate for that outside pace. Would have been great to get both though.
Yep that's fair enough. When we drafted him our need was outside pace too, but with the addition of Crisp and Varcoe our midfield has sped up considerably both inside and outside. We did still lack some outside class though which Aish has in spades.
I know the saints were interested in Aish, but I'm not sure how much Aish was considering any Vic teams outside the pies to be honest. The combination of having his best mate, his childhood idol as coach, and a family friend in Balme at the club made Collingwood an extremely attractive destination for him.

Hopefully you guys can get Nate's hammy right. I'm itching to see whether he can live up to the promise he showed in his draft year.

Not sure how much of Freeman you've actually seen, but he's not exactly an inside type either. Most just assume he is because of his build. It's something he might be able to add to his game, but as it stands, he's far more of an outside player than inside bull.

As a side note, you should watch more of Aish. Whilst he's predominantly outside, he actually has a reasonably decent inside game when he's required to do it.

I reckon Maxwell started that by claiming he was Dangerfield like. In his junior football he was more like a speedy outside player, I never bought the inside game thing, I reckon he could possibly do what Jack Steven does with his contested work but unlikely to be a centre square specialist.

Not sure how much of Freeman you've actually seen, but he's not exactly an inside type either. Most just assume he is because of his build. It's something he might be able to add to his game, but as it stands, he's far more of an outside player than inside bull.

As a side note, you should watch more of Aish. Whilst he's predominantly outside, he actually has a reasonably decent inside game when he's required to do it.

or they assume it because this was being put on the afl site prior to his drafting.
Another genuine clearance specialist with elite endurance and pace, Freeman tested impressively at the NAB AFL Draft Combine. The youngster from the Sandringham Dragons took out the repeat sprint event and came second in the 20m sprint testing, while also recording a top 10 result in the beep test and 3km time trial. An accomplished ball-user on the outside with an explosive change of direction, Freeman also has the ability to find his own ball with his strong build and ability to read the contest. He improved the defensive aspect of his game in 2013 and will be a tantalising prospect for any club looking for a line-breaking midfielder

or they assume it because this was being put on the afl site prior to his drafting.
Another genuine clearance specialist with elite endurance and pace, Freeman tested impressively at the NAB AFL Draft Combine. The youngster from the Sandringham Dragons took out the repeat sprint event and came second in the 20m sprint testing, while also recording a top 10 result in the beep test and 3km time trial. An accomplished ball-user on the outside with an explosive change of direction, Freeman also has the ability to find his own ball with his strong build and ability to read the contest. He improved the defensive aspect of his game in 2013 and will be a tantalising prospect for any club looking for a line-breaking midfielder
Yeah, the draft description always confused me, especially given most of his highlights seemed to be his outside work. I think the Dangerfield comparison came from his build and pace more than anything. He's definitely got the scope to improve his inside game though, if he's willing to use his size to advantage inside packs.

Yes they pretty much do.
So your theory is:
Manager: "Hey player x. You've had an offer that you're happy with, from a club that you want to play for, and you've accepted that offer and have your heart set on getting there, but this other club is offering a bit more cash so you're going there".

Player: "But I don't want to go to that club. I have a good deal from this club, and I feel like my prospects for success are greater here!"

Manager: "Do as you're told. You have no say in this."

Player: "Ok..."

:drunk:

Broomhead is definitely a worry for sure. I've been a big fan of his, and can see him becoming big time if he can get some continuity in his game, but he has just had such rotten luck with injury that he has struggled to establish himself as best 22. He's certainly one I can see heading back to SA at the end of the year if he doesn't cement his spot, which would be a massive shame.

In terms of our key backs, we aren't as badly off as people seem to think. Brown was actually one of the leagues best performed full backs last year, and if Reid can stay fit he can be one of the most damaging CHB's league wide with his intercept marking and rebound kicking. Marsh will surprise many this year and we have Keeffe returning in 2017 too. Our main concern is finding another key forward to play alongside Moore and Cloke, but if Cox can keep developing at the pace he has over the past 12 months he could become an extremely awkward 3rd tall forward to match up on.

As for the GWS juggernaut, I'd add GC to that category too. Had horrific injuries last year, but with a fit list I wouldn't be surprised if they push hard for top 8 this year.

Hopefully both keep the pies out. That would put a smile on my face.

Nah, top 4 beckons for the pies, haven't you heard? We beat team Dangerfield in a NAB game! ;)

I reckon Collingwood have a huge advantage in so many of the other clubs in Victoria with their big crowds, outside football advantages due to their networks and just in the perception of professionalism. It's pretty hard to pass up the offer to go there over another club with lesser facilities.

Collingwood might have such a good midfield coming through guys will have to leave for opportunity soon. Guys like Broomhead will eventually get elite or be pushed out if guys like Scharenberg come on at the level he is expected to. Collingwood probably need to address the KPDs but they are close to a very very good list now. Pies look like a top 8 club with the addition of Treloar. I reckon they are probs 2 years off premiership contention -if the GWS juggernaut doesn't halt all the building Vic clubs chances first.

When you can offer Travis Cloke a five year media deal and the AFL do nothing cheating is the word.

Is that thread still going?
Sure is. Somehow unbelievably Freeman is actually being discussed in there too! Give it a couple of hours though and I'm sure the topic will change to something else completely random, like Guatemalan politics or something :drunk:

Damn I love that thread.

I don't usually bother looking at other clubs thread but I thought I'd go over for a sticky beak. Good for a laugh. Quite a few pies fans obviously still filthy about him leaving and wishing for the worst.
yet I bet they'll be cheering Treloar and Aish!

He's predominately an outside runner. 40 of his 125 disposals for the Sandringham Dragons in his draft year came from handball receives. He needs to learn to win his own ball, and to be more damaging with it, to become a solid AFL player.

Won't be happy until he's playing consistent footy without hamstring issues.
Until then it's a holding pattern for me .
The longer he goes until that stage the more worried I will get about next years second pick we used on him .
This years 2nd round pick you mean

Basically the Pies priced everyone out of it. Massive overs for Aish.

Not even close too true

Aish chose the pies because of his relationship with bucks from unders days

In some ways as blatant a 'cheat' as the Dank saga. Yet Ken Wood and the AFL let it go. Disgusting on so many levels.

When you let Ball and Colljngwood manipulate the draft the agenda was set. Rules for one not the other.