Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

What about the 'damage control' part?
We don't have that anymore. Just some guy named Davoren who goes around damaging players hamstrings and calves.

No backsies on Bill either!
:(

I'd settle on just being rid of the bastard tbh. The gutter would be fine, he doesn't need to go back to you guys!

Strahany What's your thoughts?

Without knowing exactly what caused this "awareness", it's difficult to say. There's a relatively large difference between ending a training session with a bit of soreness, and an acute onset of pain after some form of explosive movement(s). Reading into the situation, I would say it's the latter, and therefore expect up to 3-4 weeks to return to the state he was in, prior to this re-injury, assuming the club wishes to remain conservative in their management. Would probably involve a week of absolutely minimal work, with a slow build over the following two weeks, before pushing the line a little bit in the last week, and re-introducing these explosive movements in controlled scenarios.

If it were someone without prior hamstring concerns, I would see this done in the 2 week timeframe the club is quoting. Could squeeze it into one if it was a finals match coming up.

Without knowing exactly what caused this "awareness", it's difficult to say. There's a relatively large difference between ending a training session with a bit of soreness, and an acute onset of pain after some form of explosive movement(s). Reading into the situation, I would say it's the latter, and therefore expect up to 3-4 weeks to return to the state he was in, prior to this re-injury, assuming the club wishes to remain conservative in their management. Would probably involve a week of absolutely minimal work, with a slow build over the following two weeks, before pushing the line a little bit in the last week, and re-introducing these explosive movements in controlled scenarios.

If it were someone without prior hamstring concerns, I would see this done in the 2 week timeframe the club is quoting. Could squeeze it into one if it was a finals match coming up.
Interesting. Would it be a different prognosis if Freeman was running multiple laps yesterday at a relatively high pace?

This was reported by a training watcher yesterday. Would this constitute minimal? Not being rhetorical, genuinely interested.

Obviously running laps is at one pace and not explosive movements as you were alluding to above.
I am not expert at all, but running laps wouldn't be ideal for a hammy issue would it?

Can someone TL;DR this for me?

As in what actually happened rather than sky's falling chickens without heads etc
Club gave freeman another week off because his hammy felt tight and they are being super cautious as they stated they would.
Supporters starting lynch mob.

Club gave freeman another week off because his hammy felt tight and they are being super cautious as they stated they would.
Supporters starting lynch mob.

Do you know the nearest place i could buy both a pitchfork and a torch? Would bunnings have it?

This thread needs more Models!
Think you're barking up the wrong tree. You'd need to go to .. I don't know .. Barbados perhaps to find anything like that

Just so long as Freezer isn't an Uncontrollable Boy!

Don't worry, once we get him on the park everyone will be Big On Love

Boy, Google getting a workout this morning!

what's that say mate I can't see it :(
It's just the 'awareness' and Richo saying they'll hold him back from Senior footy until next year.

A year in the Twos won't do him any harm at all.

It's just the 'awareness' and Richo saying they'll hold him back from Senior footy until next year.

A year in the Twos won't do him any harm at all.
sweet cheers. yep I have no problem with this whatsoever. good to hear we're taking the conservative approach

Interesting. Would it be a different prognosis if Freeman was running multiple laps yesterday at a relatively high pace?

This was reported by a training watcher yesterday. Would this constitute minimal? Not being rhetorical, genuinely interested.

Obviously running laps is at one pace and not explosive movements as you were alluding to above.
I am not expert at all, but running laps wouldn't be ideal for a hammy issue would it?

When it comes to a player with "unlimited time" to recover, so to speak, then I would probably be as precautionary. However, without such luxuries, then one would certainly prefer to are presented with a case of soreness after prolonged high intensity use of the muscle, rather than the acute onset that I alluded to.

Typically, soreness after a prolonged session will be more chemical in nature (lactic acid and other metabolites) and therefore no damage may have occurred, and even if there was to be some damage, it would be minimal. However, acute onset soreness after a given movement will almost always mean direct tissue damage, which isn't ideal for anyone, and definitely not what is wanted for someone with a history such as Freeman's.

Running laps would actually be ideal for hamstring recovery, as it's something that can be modulated very easily (i.e the speed that you run at; more speed means greater force generated by the hamstrings). Running will be introduced during rehabilitation and gradually increase in duration and intensity, just prior (and in conjunction with) higher loading of resistance, which will then be followed by "specific movements" which are tailored to the athlete (so, for a footballer, would involve sprinting from a standstill, bending over at pace, changing directions etc)