Player Watch Nathan Freeman

I also think Scharenberg is a massive chance to return to SA unfortunately. Will either be part of Dangerfield trade or we will lose him for nothing in 2 years.
What gives you the indication that he is going? Dangerfield is a RFA so there is no need to trade for him. Why would we lose him in 2 years for nothing.

On Freeman, players develop at a different rate I'll. Beams wasn't a star when he first started then once season just exploded. 2 years from now is his time to be judged not after playing 4 VFL games.

More fool anyone who believed that.

FWIW the club really didn't help themselves with the unwarranted media that Freeman received over pre-season it whipped many supporters into a frenzy over Freeman expecting him to come out and be a best 22 player right from the get go. Yeah it's exciting to hear he was doing well in the running, but its just that running and he has a long way to go with the stuff that really matters.
The club and media created expectation in the off-season which obviously cannot be met. Is it the injury? Is it a lack of footy smarts? A combination? That's what the thread is seeking to answer.

I have watched Freeman really closely and in my opinion his lack of development has nothing to do with his hamstring. He doesn't have footy smarts -everything he does it based on instinct and unfortunately his instincts are not great. Every time I've seen him play he runs around like a headless chook, positions himself poorly and doesn't use his solid frame anywhere near enough.

If the kid is smart maybe he will learn it but right now he comes across like a lost fairy on the football field.

I also think Scharenberg is a massive chance to return to SA unfortunately. Will either be part of Dangerfield trade or we will lose him for nothing in 2 years.

In brighter news I think Hine got us a gem in Degoey. Can't win them all.
This post touches on deficiencies apparent in Freeman's game prior to us drafting him. We obviously wanted his outside pace and were prepared to put the time into developing his footy smarts and awareness. Buckley has said as much in suggesting that he will need a season in the VFL to develop a game style that will suit our requirements of him at senior level.

TG does have an abrupt style and perhaps also his views are 'disturbingly free of context' as claimed in an excellent post by JB1975 above. JB1975 is critical of being characterised as 'as a blithely optimistic cheerleader for anyone wearing a Collingwood jumper'. I accept that I have probably unfairly characterised a large proportion of posters as unremittingly optimistic in their views. This was a reaction to the posters labeling the thread as embarrassing and disgraceful, or calling for mods to suspend TG.

Posters such as JB1975 and didaksrightfoot have very eloquently described their dislike for TG's style without resorting to calls for his censure or labeling the thread as offensive. Personally, I have found the discussion useful in tempering my own views on Freeman and what he might eventually offer the club. Despite criticism of TG for initiating the thread, the ensuing discussion has been interesting and informative.

Watched last weeks VFL replay against Footscray (reigning premiers) and I thought he went ok.

Doesn't get enough touches at this stage but what he did with the ball looked accomplished to me. If he takes a bit of time so be it, he's had a nasty injury to contend with.

What gives you the indication that he is going? Dangerfield is a RFA so there is no need to trade for him. Why would we lose him in 2 years for nothing.
Spot on. Lethalburns seems to have his wires crossed on that one.

On Freeman, players develop at a different rate I'll. Beams wasn't a star when he first started then once season just exploded. 2 years from now is his time to be judged not after playing 4 VFL games.
Actually, Beams pretty much came straight in to the senior side and never looked out of place. It took him about 4 years to elevate himself to elite status, but you could tell the kid was going to be a star from day 1.

I have watched Freeman really closely and in my opinion his lack of development has nothing to do with his hamstring. He doesn't have footy smarts -everything he does it based on instinct and unfortunately his instincts are not great. Every time I've seen him play he runs around like a headless chook, positions himself poorly and doesn't use his solid frame anywhere near enough.

If the kid is smart maybe he will learn it but right now he comes across like a lost fairy on the football field.

In brighter news I think Hine got us a gem in Degoey. Can't win them all.
So Freeman is a bust and Scharenberg is going home? The whole 2013 draft for us would be a watse.

Actually, Beams pretty much came straight in to the senior side and never looked out of place. It took him about 4 years to elevate himself to elite status, but you could tell the kid was going to be a star from day 1.

I remember reading a pre-draft report on Beams that said some nice things about him but also said he was 'reactive' or some such. Most recruiters overlooked him at least once which you wouldn't expect if they thought they were looking at a star.

Dw about Freeman. I do wonder where his development is at at the moment too. But I do not believe it is of major concern right now.

What we should be worried is:

I was at the pies vs cats game on Friday night. And realised how useless tony Armstrong is. Why do we keep bringing these useless supposed "rebounding defenders" over and over again. They are garbage.

Tony Armstrong
Jordan Russle
Simon Buckly
Anothony Corrie
Clinton Young(undecided yet)

The first four are the worst list cloggers ever! And I was not very impressed with Witts but let's him a little bit more time.

Dw about Freeman. I do wonder where his development is at at the moment too. But I do not believe it is of major concern right now.

I was at the pies vs cats game on Friday night. And realised how useless tony Armstrong is. Why do we keep bringing these useless supposed "rebounding defenders" over and over again. They are garbage.

Tony Armstrong
Jordan Russle
Simon Buckly
Anothony Corrie

The first four are the worst list cloggers ever! And I was not very impressed with Witts but let's him a little bit more time.
Depth. No surprise that he came in when Seedsman, Ramsay, young all injured, shazza and Maynard not ready. Guy plays one game and it's like he's getting picked every week

TA was exactly the player we thought he was on Sat. He is depth at best, he is not strong in the contest but is a roleplayer and does what we expect adequately. He is there when we need a filler when injuries strike. Not one to worry too much about.

Freeman just needs time before we know what he will be. After 3 VFL games in his career we are not yet in a position to make any judgement

The goody 2 shoes members of this forum, of which there are a considerable number, would have us discussing only positive aspects of the team's performance. Until I am convinced otherwise, I have doubts about Freeman as a genuine top 20 pick, and believe a legitimate case can be made for threads of this nature. Why some posters take such offence to discussion of a player's possible deficiencies is beyond my understanding. As supporters we are entitled to question the worth of draft picks, and we should feel free to do so without fear of moral censure from fellow supporters. Thank God for the That'sGolds of the forum who liven the place up a bit with their fearless thoughts and opinions.

Happy to discuss merits of draftees, but writing one off because a couple of people compared him to Dangerfield, and he hasn't yet debuted, is hardly the basis for a discussion. TGs thoughts fearless.... more peerless.

Matt Scharenberg was already an acknowledged complete player when he was drafted. Freeman had question marks hanging over his ability to perform at AFL level. Freeman has done a complete pre-season this year and was supposedly ready to strut his stuff, whereas Scharenberg has only played a couple of VFL games. Even so, VFL observers claim that Scharenberg looked impressive last week in only his second game.

Freeman has so far displayed little evidence that he is going to be a quality AFL player. We also know that Scharenberg is on track to play AFL in the second half of the season. Freeman seems unlikely to be ready until next year. There are possibly legitimate excuses for his ordinary form to date and a thread of this nature gives people an opportunity to explain those reasons on his behalf.

Don't recall Bucks or any of the coaching panel or any of the selectors claiming this. So we're writing him off on the back of a couple of uninformed casual observers comments.... That makes it right then!

And I'd say after watching both on Saturday night that neither Freeman or Scharenberg were "impressive". Both had there moments, Freeman was probably more involved and workmanlike of the 2. But that's just my opinion.

Tell me more about this Dangerfield trade...

Freeman would probably be playing in each of those sides except for maybe the Bulldogs. Also it's a bit of a stretch to say they're all playing consistent good footy, but that's nitpicking. Each of those players played a full year of footy last year and by no means did they come in straight away and make an impact. Freeman is basically a first year player, same with shaz.

If he's still playing this way this time next year then maybe we can be worried, but he's only played 4 VFL games so at this stage I'm not that worried. Strikes me as a guy who would benefit from the higher paced and cleaner AFL footy so hopefully gets a run in the back end of the year.

Spot on the money.

Actually both those players are behind 1st year because we have to be careful about how we manage their bodies coming back from serious injury

Not sure why I'm even giving that a response, but it's pretty simple. If his body isn't right to go full on, then he wouldnt be playing. He's been over his hamstring since October last year and there would be absolutely 0 chance that the club would say "don't sprint full on". Just would not happen.
I wouldn't say absolutely zero chance. Would make some sense to avoid the afterburners at least for a little while.

The club and media created expectation in the off-season which obviously cannot be met. Is it the injury? Is it a lack of footy smarts? A combination? That's what the thread is seeking to answer.

This post touches on deficiencies apparent in Freeman's game prior to us drafting him. We obviously wanted his outside pace and were prepared to put the time into developing his footy smarts and awareness. Buckley has said as much in suggesting that he will need a season in the VFL to develop a game style that will suit our requirements of him at senior level.

TG does have an abrupt style and perhaps also his views are 'disturbingly free of context' as claimed in an excellent post by JB1975 above. JB1975 is critical of being characterised as 'as a blithely optimistic cheerleader for anyone wearing a Collingwood jumper'. I accept that I have probably unfairly characterised a large proportion of posters as unremittingly optimistic in their views. This was a reaction to the posters labeling the thread as embarrassing and disgraceful, or calling for mods to suspend TG.

Posters such as JB1975 and didaksrightfoot have very eloquently described their dislike for TG's style without resorting to calls for his censure or labeling the thread as offensive. Personally, I have found the discussion useful in tempering my own views on Freeman and what he might eventually offer the club. Despite criticism of TG for initiating the thread, the ensuing discussion has been interesting and informative.

Hence my opinion to question the club and media for creating those expectations. It's a chicken and egg situation. If the media and club don't create them are we left searching for reasons as to why he isn't at the levels they projected? My guess is no outside of those fixated on the number a player is drafted as a predictor for making the grade.

I also think you have misconstrued my thoughts because the discussion is certainly warranted and I believe that TG regularly receives a bum wrap.

Worthy thread. He's been up and running since September last year. Had a blistering pre season and can't feature a mention in the seconds. Second year on the list and can't get a touch playing 2nds footy. Top 10 pick in a really good draft might be wasted pick.
mate I've been up and running since September doesn't make me worthy of selection. until you are put under game pressure and match fitness training doesn't stand for much.

I wouldn't say absolutely zero chance. Would make some sense to avoid the afterburners at least for a little while.
Yeah maybe for the first game or two, but he's played 6-7 straight games so they wouldn't be still telling him that.

Tony Armstrong
Jordan Russle
Simon Buckly
Anothony Corrie

Gee you better make your mind up on Young quick, he'll be delisted in a few months.