Player Watch Nathan Freeman

It's not much but I had a very brief chat to his neighbour the other day and apparently he "should be signing" with us pretty soon.

Might see the man himself in a fortnight.

Lol who ever is talking delisting or trading freeman because they are simply impatient are silly.

Did people not watch what happens when you be patient with players last week? Im speaking about Menzel if you haven't you already guessed.

There is a reason he was taken at pick 10, im willing to be patient and i think everyone else should be as well.

Whose fault is it then? In the scheme of performance based contracts etc, having a body that is capable of playing and withstanding AFL footy is number 1 on the list of player requirements.
It's Sinclair's fault or Blair's. Wait, do we still hate White? I can't keep track any more.

Lol who ever is talking delisting or trading freeman because they are simply impatient are silly.

Did people not watch what happens when you be patient with players last week? Im speaking about Menzel if you haven't you already guessed.

There is a reason he was taken at pick 10, im willing to be patient and i think everyone else should be as well.
I agree that we should be patient with Freeman but I dont like the Menzel comparisons much. He'd already showed a hell of a lot at AFL level before his horror run started whereas Freeman hasnt even starred in the VFL. Fair enough to blame his injury for that but I think a better comparison would be Josh Thomas

To be brutal about it as well, Menzel hasn't proven it was worth retaining him yet. He'll needs to put together some consistent footy to do that. I how he does, just get worried people are going to jinx him by saying it's paid off already.

I get what your saying. But clearly he has the talent so its been a good club decision by the cats to retain him. Same as freeman. If we want to be bold and give him a 3 year contract now i wouldnt complain. He is a talent.....we just need to get his body right and let him get a good run at it

Fair call mate but he is someone i see as worth taking the risk of keeping on the list, obviously he has a bucket load of potential.

He is already one of my favourites and he hasn't even played lol :P

I would hate and be so bitter if we were to trade him and he turns out to be a gun at another club, it's happened before :/

Ok got ya. It's not worth the risk then. Someone would definitely take a punt on him in a rookie draft wouldn't they... Silly me....:$:(

I think most list managers wouldn't touch him after reading this thread. There might be the odd renegade list manager who might take the punt and go against the wisdom of the board but I think most would be convinced by the logic presented here. I don't think they would take him. We're safe to rookie him and we'd probably get away with charging him $100 a week for his medical bills...

I don't get starstruck like some. I was not bragging about sitting near a kid who can kick a football.
I was sitting in the Grand Stand and they came and sat behind me by chance. I did not chase them.
The point is that he made an effort to come to the game and was sitting with the coach and other senior players.
Many other players did not bother showing up.
Perhaps they chased you!

Fair call mate but he is someone i see as worth taking the risk of keeping on the list, obviously he has a bucket load of potential.

He is already one of my favourites and he hasn't even played lol :p

I would hate and be so bitter if we were to trade him and he turns out to be a gun at another club, it's happened before :/
You haven't got a crush on him by any chance? Perhaps attracted by his good looks and strong physique? He is your avatar after all. He hasn't done anything on the football field to justify being an avatar, so there must be something more ......

He is already one of my favourites and he hasn't even played lol :p

Absolutely worth keeping on the list, totally agreed and let's hope he comes good but at this point you'd have to think the odds are against it

You haven't got a crush on him by any chance? Perhaps attracted by his good looks and strong physique? He is your avatar after all. He hasn't done anything on the football field to justify being an avatar, so there must be something more ......

Just got a good feeling about him is all, had the same feeling when we drafted pendles and heaps of people wered doubting it :P

Just got a good feeling about him is all, had the same feeling when we drafted pendles and heaps of people wered doubting it :p
Pendles proved his worth as soon as he started playing. Freeman has not shown the same attributes as a player even at under 18 level. Pendles also came from a basketball background late to football so had lots of upside.

Yeah true, i dunno, guess we will have to wait and see. I'm sure we all hope he turns out to be a gun

But they are making documentaries about this kid in Geelong? He must be a hall of famer to get that sort of exposure down there? I guess it is red neck central though

Bumped. Some news today.

Wants to stay but is holding out for more cash. St.Kilda are sniffing around him.

http://www.news.com.au/national/nat...d-at-a-stalemate/story-e6frfkp9-1227523110336

Freeman, 20, has told Pies’ officials he wants to stay at the club but the ongoing dispute over his contract has clouded his future.

Collingwood has tried repeatedly to re-sign the blistering midfielder beyond this year but talks on a new deal have dragged into the postseason.

The Saints this week told the Herald Sun they will make further enquiries about Freeman if he was unable to agree to terms with the Pies in coming weeks."

Collingwood remains confident it will re-sign Freeman but has offered the speedy onballer a contract offer in line with its trusted pay scale.

The age of entitlement is well and truly upon us.

TBF - I have no idea what the club is offering him or Shazz but I'd love to know what they want and what's on offer.

Interesting times.