Crowked

When I first heard who we picked @24, I didnt recognise his name and thought, what the...........!, who the ...........?

I'm still wondering even after reading about him and hearing some possitive comments from the gang on 5AA. Is he any good or have we wasted an early pick.

I am wondering if taking a relatively little known but apparently quite talented Western Australian is part of a master plan to get Beau Waters from West Coast in 12 months.

Whats is everyones thoughts on this guy? Any good? A keeper? or a part of some master plan?

Crowked said:
When I first heard who we picked @24, I didnt recognise his name and thought, what the...........!, who the ...........?

I'm still wondering even after reading about him and hearing some possitive comments from the gang on 5AA. Is he any good or have we wasted an early pick.

I am wondering if taking a relatively little known but apparently quite talented Western Australian is part of a master plan to get Beau Waters from West Coast in 12 months.

Whats is everyones thoughts on this guy? Any good? A keeper? or a part of some master plan?

I think he was pretty well known in the relevant circles, an i think he is a steal at 24. Someone else mentioned Brisbane was considering him at 18 and only changed their minds because Wood was still available. I think he was tipped to go late first round to second round in the phantom drafts, so really i dont think his selection was out of left too much.

Fudd said:
Someone else mentioned Brisbane was considering him at 18 and only changed their minds because Wood was still available.

If that's right, it was our choice of Meesen that forced Brisbane to take Wood, which then meant we could pick up their preferred first round draft pick.

Go Stewie!!!!

Fudd said:
I think he was pretty well known in the relevant circles, an i think he is a steal at 24. Someone else mentioned Brisbane was considering him at 18 and only changed their minds because Wood was still available. I think he was tipped to go late first round to second round in the phantom drafts, so really i dont think his selection was out of left too much.

I hadnt heard much, a mate said after the draft on Saturday that he was only a maybe late in the draft. Also the Mock Footy Draft site had him at #51. Must be another symptom of the eveness of the draft after pick 6.

Lets hope he's a good one.

I would seriously doubt that it would be part of a master plan to get local talent back to SA.

He tested well at the draft camp which would have boosted his rating in the ND, so a pretty good choice I reckon.

I would want to go on footy talent first rather than beep tests ect. I am sure the Jarman brothers would have done poorly in the draft camp test if they had them in their era and we know how good they were as players.

I just hope Van Berlo was selected for his footy talent first and foremost

baaaallllll said:
I would want to go on footy talent first rather than beep tests ect. I am sure the Jarman brothers would have done poorly in the draft camp test if they had them in their era and we know how good they were as players.

I just hope Van Berlo was selected for his footy talent first and foremost

He was selected on footy talent. His big motor helps his footy and apparently he's of impeccable character as well.

He was on 5AA tonight and he's of Dutch parents via New Zealand, I think he said. He's been studying geophysics and will continue that course here.

He was captain of his U/18's WA club side and played with success for WA in the U/18's National championships. He played midfield/half-back but stated that he loved running forward. He finished the season in the league side playing wing and said that he was happy with his form at that level.

He's flying home tonight to get his things organized and returning Sunday for good as he put it.

Very eloquent respectful young fellow with a good sense of humour - if the good judges are right he could make an impact as early as next year.

He's certainly a fine athlete. Trained with the big boys and gave them a hiding in the running this morning.

He came across as a really nice guy who genuinely appreciates being drafted by the Crows in his TV appearances today.

The AFC have really done their homework this year.

macca23 said:
He's certainly a fine athlete. Trained with the big boys and gave them a hiding in the running this morning.

He came across as a really nice guy who genuinely appreciates being drafted by the Crows in his TV appearances today.

Of all the draftees Van Berlo and Knights seem to be most excited about being picked up by Adelaide.

macca23 said:

Macca, this seems to be a trait of all our recruits (havn't heard about Knights) drafted this year - a genuine excitement about coming to the Crows.
Your right the AFC have done their homework.

Stiffy_18 said:
Of all the draftees Van Berlo and Knights seem to be most excited about being picked up by Adelaide.
Haven't heard any comments from Knights - is there any info (interviews) you can post :confused:

Wayne's-World said:
Haven't heard any comments from Knights - is there any info (interviews) you can post :confused:
Knights appeared happy to be drafted full-stop. If I recall he said he wasn't the most talented player around, but he get's the most out of his ability.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Knights appeared happy to be drafted full-stop. If I recall he said he wasn't the most talented player around, but he get's the most out of his ability.
Was that a radio or press interview?

Stiffy_18 said:
It was during the press conference today. They showed it one the news. Out of all draftees Van Berlo and Knights were genuinely stoked to be picked up by Adelaide.
Knights just stoked to be picked up ;)

How was your read on Maric?

Wayne's-World said:
Was that a radio or press interview?

All 5 of the new blokes attended a press conference today. Some of it was shown on the news tonight. It'll be in the papers tomorrow, why it isnt on the AFC site already is beyond me.

Van Berlo and Knights were very happy. Knights was pretty happy with the Coach and Goody meeting him at the airport and the encouragement he received on the track.

Wayne's-World said:
Macca, this seems to be a trait of all our recruits (havn't heard about Knights) drafted this year - a genuine excitement about coming to the Crows.
Your right the AFC have done their homework.
The kids were blown away because the club got the likes of Roo, Goody, Edwards and McLeod to wait for them at the airport. They couldn't take a smile of their faces.

I think you will find that the club has took extra steps this year to make sure we keep draftees happy and get them to settle in ASAP. I think the emphasis is to try to improve our retention rate.

Wayne's-World said:
Knights just stoked to be picked up ;)

How was your read on Maric?
To be honest Maric and Meesen either came accros as not particulatly stoked or they are very ordinary with the media. With Van Berlo, Knight and Gibson, they couldn't wipe the smile of their faces while with the 2 ruckman it was all poker faces and no smiles :(

Stiffy_18 said:
The kids were blown away because the club got the likes of Roo, Goody, Edwards and McLeod to wait for them at the airport. They couldn't take a smile of their place.

I think you will find that the club has took extra steps this year to make sure we keep draftees happy and get them to settle in ASAP. I think the emphasis is to try to improve our retention rate.
Kane, did you read this - this is what club culture is all about!

Stiffy_18 said:
To be honest Maric and Meesen either came accros as not particulatly stoked or they are very ordinary with the media. With Van Berlo, Knight and Gibson, they couldn't wipe the smile of their faces while with the 2 ruckman it was all poker faces and no smiles :(
We know that Meesen was stoked to be picked up, maybe he's press shy in a new city(ne town, ne suburb :p ).

Maric - don't know.