Nathan Van Berlo

• Thread starter Thread starter Crowked

Stiffy_18 said:
For ********s sake what other people?????? Please tell me I would LOVE to know?????? Where they there to know this??????

Moderators is the any way you can check this tool's IP number and compare it to that of powerknob and mike. I am sure it will be a match.

yes it is a match, please dont personally attack me! i take this very seri :mad: usly.

i think it was on the westcoast board or it may have been here a couple ppl said that it butler was offered but we didnt make a offer, (cause we needed 12 for thompson), and that butler was now ********ed because we didnt make an offer. apparently port offered a first rounder but wcoast rejected that cause they wanted stenglein. oh and they got this from speaking to butler

now ofcourse i cant say 100% that this happened, but the same goes for you. you cant say that butler was never offer because you dont know. you werent there and you have no link there. anything you get is just like what the wcoast guy said its third hand so we dont know.

it doesnt matter anyway, all we had to do is say if you want stenglein then give us this or you dont get him, what are they going to do??? roo said that if a deal fell throught that stinga would stay anyway. i bet next year if we try and get one of them we'll lose our first rounder and then some

jack did it said:
i bet next year if we try and get one of them we'll lose our first rounder and then some

Goin by rucci's method, itll be van berlo and 2nd rounder.

or if van berlo dosnt show much we'll just take the victorian rielly. :D

jack did it said:
the porblem is that waters will go up in value as the year goes on. i wouldnt want to trade our first rounder for him.

if he is worth a first rounder then your gonna have to trade a first rounder. the eagles would have known full well that sam/beau's value is going to rise significantly this year, so even if they did want to go we would get more for them. dont forget these guys were top20 picks in the draft, so we would hope that if we were trading them after only 2 years and in that time they have proved themselves to be legit AFL performers, we would get at least equal value back for them.

I rate Waters and Butler, but geez, they aren't gods, and that is how a lot of people seem to be viewing them.

I hope people aren't being narrow minded and realise that in a time the club needs to be rebuilding, we have to be very careful as to who we trade for and what we give up for them. Draft picks are at a premium considering our situation. (Especially if we can continue to draft like we did this year!)

Damien_R1 said:
I rate Waters and Butler, but geez, they aren't gods, and that is how a lot of people seem to be viewing them.

I hope people aren't being narrow minded and realise that in a time the club needs to be rebuilding, we have to be very careful as to who we trade for and what we give up for them. Draft picks are at a premium considering our situation. (Especially if we can continue to draft like we did this year!)
Agreed.

I would rather have Cooney than either of those 2 lads.

Stiffy_18 said:
Agreed.

I would rather have Cooney than either of those 2 lads.

Cooney rather than Butler, but I'd probably take Waters over Cooney. I love the tough way he goes in for the ball - very Josh Carrish in a way.

Whoever it is, I don't want the Crows to ever do a Carey again, by selling the farm to get 1 player. Even with Waters or Cooney, we shouldn't do it oif the trade cost is going to be too high.

This year has shown us what can happen if you have good draft picks and use them wisely. A couple more years of doing the same, and we should put a sound long term foundation in place to be successful.

macca23 said:
Cooney rather than Butler, but I'd probably take Waters over Cooney. I love the tough way he goes in for the ball - very Josh Carrish in a way.

Whoever it is, I don't want the Crows to ever do a Carey again, by selling the farm to get 1 player. Even with Waters or Cooney, we shouldn't do it oif the trade cost is going to be too high.

This year has shown us what can happen if you have good draft picks and use them wisely. A couple more years of doing the same, and we should put a sound long term foundation in place to be successful.
I would go for Cooney.

Don't get me wrong I love the way Waters plays but lets not forget that we need some balance in our side. especially in our midfield. We need some classy, pacey ball carriers that can also play in the guts. Cooney fits the bill beautifully.

For all his great attributes Waters isn't exactly a speedster.

Agreed. If we can't get Waters, Cooney or Butler for good value - forget them and concentrate on other 'good value' deals.

I reckon that we will trade away a few players next year, bode, dougherty, skippy ect as all teams need these depth types (but nobody needs 10 of em)
these trades should be enough to get us Cooney and maybe even one of the west toast guys. without comprimising our requied picks that is.

Guys, Waters was taken at pick 11 and Butler at pick 20.

Instead of giving up heaps to get these guys back we should be looking at picking up others of this standard in next years draft.

jc67 said:
I reckon that we will trade away a few players next year, bode, dougherty, skippy ect as all teams need these depth types (but nobody needs 10 of em)
these trades should be enough to get us Cooney and maybe even one of the west toast guys. without comprimising our requied picks that is.

Mate I hope you are right but I dont think its realistic that Bode, Doughty, Skippy (3rd round draft choices - except Bode perhaps slightly higher) could be used to get Waters/Cooney (1st round draft picks would be needed IMO)

I think if we want Cooney we will need to give up our first round draft pick. OR swap a Victorian wanting to go home - Reilly/Watts

Couldn't agree more ****. Waters for instance was picked up at pick 11 and so WC will ask MORE for him in return as they have spent time and money training and developing him. Unless he will cost no more than 1 first round pick, I wouldn't bother trying to get him back to Adelaide.

jc67 said:
Is that jack did it school of trading??????:p

Stiffy_18 said:

sure is get rid of them all.

I think everyone agrees that we will not get waters or butler without paying now. And ofcourse we'd take cooney first, but we had something wcoast wanted, we dont have anything that the bulldogs need. we did ok this year but lost a big opportunity IMO

Stiffy_18 said:
I resent that! :p
It is a likley senario though, 3 fringe players traded into a very high 1st round and bundled with another fringe type for cooney.
Lets hope reilly has a blinder of a year and cooney has a poor one so we could swap and get their 1st round.
BTW I like Reilly but I sadly belive that his future will be in melbourne.

Kane McGoodwin said:
No way would I swap Watts & Reilly for Cooney.

well I would. :cool:

Cooney could be a long term legacy player, Reilly & Watts - who knows. there will always be other players.

both Reilly and Watts can be replaced easier than it is to obtain a player like Cooney.

Crow-mosone said:
well I would. :cool:

Cooney could be a long term legacy player, Reilly & Watts - who knows. there will always be other players.

both Reilly and Watts can be replaced easier than it is to obtain a player like Cooney.
How do you replace your best CHF prospect?????

Good ruckmen and CHF are the hardest to find. You build a team around a gun CHF.

Stiffy_18 said:
How do you replace your best CHF prospect?????

Good ruckmen and CHF are the hardest to find. You build a team around a gun CHF.
Gotta agree with this one - the trade off for Cooney is too expensive.

watts lacks class i'd trade him, long way to go though. reilly i'd keep it seems hes on the verge of coming good, just needs to find a bit more agression. need to find out which one actually wants to play for the club.

i have some doubts on cooney and the amount of improvement he has in him, after all physically he is a man so and skill wise he is actually quite poor. but in saying that u'd give up a first rounder anyday.

as long as cooney wants to come to the crows and not the power there is not a problem. you just say to the bullies take the first rounder or get nothing. IMO we need to keep our first rounders for the next couple of years aleast. can only hope that some of the duds play we and we can trade, not cut them. unlikey u'd think after 5yrs of practically doing nothing