Nathan Vardy

Vardy may not have done much yet....and we should indeed be a little cautious with him right now, but barring injury, this bloke will be something special. He's big, strong, hard at it, a nice kick and can take a grab....and as athletic is it comes....he's shown glimpses of all this so far...we just need to see him do this on a more consistent basis. Big guys take time ( sorry...I hate cliches! :~)

Will be a fixture in our best 22 by 2014/15...

Don't be surprised if Walker delivers in a big way next weekend, from all accounts he's way bigger than last year and mega fit, the young guy is only just beginning to make a claim for senior footy.
He's also got a little bit of the old mongrel in him, which won't do him any harm, as long as he keeps it in check.

By the way, if Vardy's 'ok' then why hasn't he been out there training with the group?

Vardy may not have done much yet....and we should indeed be a little cautious with him right now, but barring injury, this bloke will be something special. He's big, strong, hard at it, a nice kick and can take a grab....and as athletic is it comes....he's shown glimpses of all this so far...we just need to see him do this on a more consistent basis. Big guys take time ( sorry...I hate cliches! :~)

Will be a fixture in our best 22 by 2014/15...
No, Vardy will be in our fixture this year. There is no way that a player whom was pushed into senior side by all around him for finals, will not be a key component of this year's assault. Showed more in his two games back last year than most do in a season.....game against Swans first up, the premiership team whom needed to win at time, highlights his ability.

He is 22 this year, so if fit, will play.

No, Vardy will be in our fixture this year. There is no way that a player whom was pushed into senior side by all around him for finals, will not be a key component of this year's assault. Showed more in his two games back last year than most do in a season.....game against Swans first up, the premiership team whom needed to win at time, highlights his ability.

He is 22 this year, so if fit, will play.
I reckon the hip is still a bit of a worry and the club will monitor him very closely this year
my guess is that is why he didn't make the long trip to Perth NAB 1 and may not travel this year at all IMO.
I have nothing but tea leaves to back that up,but manage him through this year should be the plan and hopefully reap the benefits over the next 10 years.

Don't be surprised if Walker delivers in a big way next weekend, from all accounts he's way bigger than last year and mega fit, the young guy is only just beginning to make a claim for senior footy.
He's also got a little bit of the old mongrel in him, which won't do him any harm, as long as he keeps it in check.

By the way, if Vardy's 'ok' then why hasn't he been out there training with the group?

You can be as big and fit as you like, but if you can't kick the thing, then your athletic ability doesn't matter.

I really hope walker makes it, but for now, I just see too much of playfair/McCarthy in him. Can fly for a speckie but I cringe when he disposes of it.

I hope he has really worked on his skills this summer and makes it.

I reckon the hip is still a bit of a worry and the club will monitor him very closely this year
my guess is that is why he didn't make the long trip to Perth NAB 1 and may not travel this year at all IMO.
I have nothing but tea leaves to back that up,but manage him through this year should be the plan and hopefully reap the benefits over the next 10 years.

Yes...I think 2013 will see further development in Vardy, but lets not ask too much of him too early. He's good...and could be very very good but I dont see a 5 game player being a "key component" in 2013.....

For me 2014/15 will see Vardy hit the headlines...I think ypo is right when he suggests Vardy will be managed through 2013....

i spoke the other day to my friend down at the club who is involved with managing the list

when i asked him about vardy he said " he has gotten through training over the pre season, no set backs, the only issue is he regularly gets a lot of soreness still"

im assuming this is why they didnt fly him over to perth, im guessing he has been restricted somewhat the pre season and had to rest a little here and there with soreness, i really hope this isnt a constant thing..

im a little doubtful after hearing this... he may be a little too ginger still

By the way, if Vardy's 'ok' then why hasn't he been out there training with the group?[/quote]

He is starring in the Cats new reality series, "Extreme Player Management" the show is based around several key players who are recovering from injuries and the club must navigate their way thru the NAB cup without letting anyone know exactly where these players are at...

Final is last training session before Rd 1.

Results show airs 1 hr before Easter Monday game....

GO Catters

He is starring in the Cats new reality series, "Extreme Player Management" the show is based around several key players who are recovering from injuries and the club must navigate their way thru the NAB cup without letting anyone know exactly where these players are at...

Final is last training session before Rd 1.

Results show airs 1 hr AFTER Easter Monday game....

GO Catters

EFA

Will someone ring SEN friday and get some sense out of Neil Balme?.......surely he's not paid big bucks to be a compulsive liar all the time.
Something like, "Come on Neil, what is the truth about the Vardy no shows?????" Hey!!

I presumed Vardy was just left out of Perth because of the likelihood of the hard ground.

I am hopeful he will be named today.

Very frustrating pre-season so far.

Will someone ring SEN friday and get some sense out of Neil Balme?.......surely he's not paid big bucks to be a compulsive liar all the time.
Something like, "Come on Neil, what is the truth about the Vardy no shows?????" Hey!!
84201116 there you go good luck.

Yeah, no doubt he will come clean to some random bloke calling him off the cuff...

Vardy is still suffering from the effects of a hip injury.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl...ery/story-e6frf3e3-1226587106611#.US8PCKIr6So

Geelong's ruck stocks have hit rock-bottom after premiership ruckman Trent West had knee surgery yesterday.
West's operation means the Cats don't have a fit ruckman on their list, with Nathan Vardy (hip), Hamish McIntosh (knee) and Dawson Simpson (back) all sidelined.

Read more: http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/geelongs-ruck-stocks-hit-rock-bottom-after-premiership-ruckman-trent-west-had-knee-surgery/story-e6frf3e3-1226587106611#ixzz2MB9TrLXb

Either his absence has nothing to do with his hip, he has somehow re-aggravated his hip in the past 10-12 days (after being 'pain-free' for months), or the club is lying to us. There's no other option.

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2013-02-15/vardy-vanquishes-demons

Since then Vardy has continued to train well during the preseason and is looking really good, despite experiencing a little bit of pain at the beginning, which went away the following week after and hasn’t returned.

"My body is feeling really good. I have got a lot of training in me now this summer, which was a worry for me leading into the pre-season,’’ Vardy explained.

"So hopefully my hip troubles are all behind me."

Vardy will not only return to the 2013 season without his hip worries but also without his number 36 guernsey...

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2013-02-15/vardy-vanquishes-demons

I'll assume his only recently re-aggravated the hip, and they're being cautious. Then again, I can't say with the utmost certainly regarding any injury at our club MC Extra Dollop

Either his absence has nothing to do with his hip, he has somehow re-aggravated his hip in the past 10-12 days (after being 'pain-free' for months), or the club is lying to us.

We still have 1 more game after this weekend.
There's no need to panic, why risk playing a bloke who could suffer injury in these meaningless games?

He didn't play for a year and came back into the team last year and made an immediate impact.
Blicavs gets a great opportunity to play an entire game and they may be eager to see how he performs as it may be more about West than Vardy in regards to RD1.

I'll assume his only recently re-aggravated the hip, and they're being cautious. Then again, I can't say with the utmost certainly regarding any injury at our club MC Extra Dollop

Not having a go at all, but that's the way I see it. If he's being managed and considering how confident/comfortable he was sounding two weeks ago, I reckon it would have made a lot more sense to give him a run around for half an hour in NAB 1, rather than resting him both weeks. Cutting it a bit fine...

We still have 1 more game after this weekend.
There's no need to panic, why risk playing a bloke who could suffer injury in these meaningless games?

There's always going to be risks. If he comes back next week, chances are he'll be going against some ruckmen (Currie, Daw, perhaps Mabon along with Goldstein) who will be a bit more fair dinkum than Jacobs will be this week. Currie, in particular, looked like a monster at the bounces (though his kicking wasn't too flash). As mentioned, I just think if he was going to be managed at least until the next NAB game, fly him over to Perth and give him 25-30 minutes of game time to give him a taste of it. I guess we'll see what's going on soon enough though.

Not having a go at all, but that's the way I see it. If he's being managed and considering how confident/comfortable he was sounding two weeks ago, I reckon it would have made a lot more sense to give him a run around for half an hour in NAB 1, rather than resting him both weeks. Cutting it a bit fine...

There's always going to be risks. If he comes back next week, chances are he'll be going against some ruckmen (Currie, Daw, perhaps Mabon along with Goldstein) who will be a bit more fair dinkum than Jacobs will be this week. Currie, in particular, looked like a monster at the bounces (though his kicking wasn't too flash). As mentioned, I just think if he was going to be managed at least until the next NAB game, fly him over to Perth and give him 25-30 minutes of game time to give him a taste of it. I guess we'll see what's going on soon enough though.
My thinking was a bit different to yours Macca,I thought they may have been reluctant for him to sit on an airplane for such long periods,but it's a worry if he can't front up at home.

Yeah, fair call. Just think you'd probably be obliged to play him 50% of this game as a bare minimum...it's just a standard 22 this week isn't it? Or do all 26 players on the squad play?

Is it 3 subs this game?I can't keep up,but regardless I'd expect he would see half a game of footy minimum this week some things not quite right in my opinion.

This weeks game has been changed to 3 interchange + 3 subs so two players from the squad will miss the cut.

Vardy was never going to play 3 nab cup games in a row so it was a question of whether they played him this week or next week along with round 4 of the nab cup. His non selection this week dosn't tell me alot. It will be if he is not picked next week that will have me worrying. It would be a normal occurance for a player like Vardy to only play 2 nab cup games leading into round 1 when you consider the injury he is coming back from and his importance to the team now that so many of our ruckmen are fighting to be fit for round 1. I just hope he isn't one of them.

This weeks game has been changed to 3 interchange + 3 subs so two players from the squad will miss the cut.

Vardy was never going to play 3 nab cup games in a row so it was a question of whether they played him this week or next week along with round 4 of the nab cup. His non selection this week dosn't tell me alot. It will be if he is not picked next week that will have me worrying. It would be a normal occurance for a player like Vardy to only play 2 nab cup games leading into round 1 when you consider the injury he is coming back from and his importance to the team now that so many of our ruckmen are fighting to be fit for round 1. I just hope he isn't one of them.

If he hasn't been training with the group of late I'd say your chances of him playing in the NAB are fairly slim, and that doesn't fill me with confidence regarding round 1.
Unless he's at least running up and down at KP I'm very concerned, he might be big and strong but he also seems fragile.

il say it again, been told by someone down at the club wo works with the players, involved with list management, that all pre season he has gotten hip soreness and requires periods of rest along the way, thats all he said, il ask again on saturday when he hands me some tickets for the match

he obviously hasnt had a 100 percent fit run through the pre season, he still gets soreness and is ginger, take what you want from it really, doubt they will bother with him in the nab cup if he has any kind of soreness occuring

il say it again, been told by someone down at the club wo works with the players, involved with list management, that all pre season he has gotten hip soreness and requires periods of rest along the way, thats all he said, il ask again on saturday when he hands me some tickets for the match

he obviously hasnt had a 100 percent fit run through the pre season, he still gets soreness and is ginger, take what you want from it really, doubt they will bother with him in the nab cup if he has any kind of soreness occuring

There we go, thanks GC26, if we could get all these guys up and going we'd be a serious threat this year, this is a genuine blow, one we didn't need.