Nathan Vardy

772028-nathan-vardy.jpg

mckernan96ll.jpg

Oh well, thought it might really have been you/him . But now you know, after your user names footy career he went onto teach.o_O

Thanks, no I didn't know that, I just used to love his name when I went to the games as a kid, and we didn't have much else to cheer about in 1957/58.
Nevertheless, his son-in-law and grandson have made up for those dark days.

If Vardy has a big enough fitness base he could be the lift we need to get deep into finals.

A West / Walker combo was combative but you can't ask a 19 yo CHF to do what Walker was trying to do in finals. Well done to the kid he has helped get us there.

Suddenly, last week, we looked very competitive against the Swans ruck duo.

To see Vardy start in the centre and jump all over Mumford had me in shock for a few seconds.
Vardy has talent and it looks like he is able to use it more immediately than most young blokes his size.

We now have that September look again. Two rucks and two KPF's.

Its easy to get too bullish about new kids but this one does look to have a lot of upside - and the better judges on Fox seem to have had a "sit up in the seat" moment over him as well.

if anything he reminds me of a young Nick Riewold!

That's what I thought, especially after he ran the defence around and spotted up for that leadup mark,
deadset like Nick, only bigger!
Also, a white Natinui, run and jump.

I saw Steve take some fantastic high marks. PJ was soul destroying. Magnificent mark, then a heart breaking mongrel kick. You could see the team deflate around him.

Thanks CF , I thought I had erased those memories forever.
How many times would he pull down an absolute screamer and miss? Sometimes from 15M out !!
Could have been anything !!

I had no shame in having a tear in my eye when that bloke picked up his Premiership medal.

Yeah. One of the best stories in football, I think. Courage personified:thumbsu:

Actually, footscore has been right on the money with his profile pics. That Tommy Hawkins one was delicious!!!

I had no shame in having tears in my eyes when that bloke picked up his Premiership medal.

Edited for accuracy

I wanted to throw stubbies at the tv everytime i heard what a great story Andy K was.

Tom was the real deal inspiration that day. He should get the most courageous player every year as far as I'm concerned.

Back on topic- I think Vardy must handled his injury rehab with gusto. Between him and Menzel I hope they become the inspirational stories this september.

Guilty as charged.:(

I think most cats supporters got emotional seeing him with the medallion, I know I had tears.
I still well up when watching the replay of it. Just the epitome of all that is good.

Any guy on our injury list or in the rehab group would just look at Tom's scars in the change room and get a sense of confidence to keep pursuing your goals.

I had no shame in having a tear in my eye when that bloke picked up his Premiership medal.

I had a tear in my eye too. But it was dust.......honestly!

Was a bit worried that he wasn't making the trip to perth, but after reading the article I'm confident he's not injured. Fair enough they want to preserve him for when the real deal starts :thumbsu:

Looks Geelong's best choice for a Leigh Brown role, so he will add something to that side right away.

has terrific athleticism, moves so well for a big guy, reckon we may see him line up in the goal square RD1 and exploit Hawthorn's lack of height down back.

Even though Lake is quite big, he's more compact in size, doesn't have the long arms like some other players 6ft'5 and Vardy could pose question marks if he plays well in the NAB cup campaign.

Looks Geelong's best choice for a Leigh Brown role, so he will add something to that side right away.

He will succeed as a ruckman, forward or both.
But given his far superior natural talent it would be bitterly disappointing to see him end up as a mediocrity of the Leigh Brown-David Hale standard.

I feel a bit for Trent West. Luckily for him McIntosh isn't fit because if he was West would be up against Vardy. As hard-working and honest as West he's never going to be a star of the competition. Vardy's got future gun written all over him and, if fit, I don't see that he'd possibly be dropped to the VFL.

I imagine they're not taking Vardy across just because of our lack of ruck options. McIntosh and Simpson are both long-term prospects and we really don't want to lose Vardy before the season too. Just ease him through ready for round 1. Once HM is back on the park we can look at giving him a bit more workrate since we'll have better depth on the off chance he does break down.