Nathan vs Charlie

So what's your point? Drop Woja? He didn't have the best game today, but his run out of the backline is goig to be very important in September. Players with the ability to break the lines is SO important, he's a very important asset to our side, of course he has some deficiencies like any player.

Your post represents my point exactly. While he is an integral part of the side, he has the easiest role in the team. Rarely accountable, never given dangerous opponents(when he does gets ripped), should be fitter / get more handball receives, disposal suspect at pace.

I see your point about all players having deficiencies, I just believe Wojcinski represents a passenger more often than he should.... when he contributes scarcely to a game(recent weeks), he never gets rough treatment from fans.

Eg.. Josh Hunt gets usually the best opposition small forward every week, is relied on heavily for setting up plays out of defense and has a far greater responsibility than Wojcinski. He has one bad game and the flood gates open up. Most of you wouldn't even know who Wojcinski's man is from week to week... The bloke needs to work harder than he does... get more of the footy. THAT is my point.

Didn't really solve much today, on his first half, his best form for quite a while, he's a very valuable player and will certainly get another run next week, however his second half was almost as bad as his game last week, had no input whatsoever.

Will almost certainly get another game next week I'd imagine, but he'll want to put in a four quarter effort and not just two.

He still isn't up to AFL standard... carried by the best side in the league.

Yet you want him replaced by Gardiner, very interesting.

Martyk you are an excellent man to stir the pot...I appreciate what you bring to the board...most dont.

However...contradicting yourself on the same page of posts amused me...so i will enjoy watching you find a way out of this one...;)

Your Quote 1...In scheme of things, an average day for Nathan Ablett is the equivalent to an excellent performance for most other players in our side...

Your Quote 2...He still isn't up to AFL standard... carried by the best side in the league...

Stirring the pot still requires you to have some culinary skills. Avoid these type of idiocies and I will continue to enjoy your work, otherwise it might get a little old quite quickly. Some of us need real nourishment...not just pot stirring.

Yet you want him replaced by Gardiner, very interesting.

Before today, Nath had averaged less than 1 goal per game for the last 13 or so, not forgetting we won every one of those games by sizable margins.
Not good enough... simple as that. I know it's one tried hack replacing another but you have to give players a chance when they perform well in the 2s.

Your Quote 1...In scheme of things, an average day for Nathan Ablett is the equivalent to an excellent performance for most other players in our side...

Your Quote 2...He still isn't up to AFL standard... carried by the best side in the league...

Stirring the pot still requires you to have some cullinary skills. Avoid these type of idiocies and I will continue to enjoy your work, otherwise it might get a little old quite quickly. Some of us need real nourishment...not just pot stirring.

Pfft...

Nice try but unfortunately you missed my point. My point on Nathan Ablett represents the view of the general fan.. not MY view, which is just obvious. The average fan will give Nathan all the leeway in the world when compared to other players? Get it?

Before today, Nath had averaged less than 1 goal per game for the last 13 or so, not forgetting we won every one of those games by sizable margins.
Not good enough... simple as that. I know it's one tried hack replacing another but you have to give players a chance when they perform well in the 2s.

Fully realise that, his form has been average to poor for quite some time, just curious as to why you'd want to replace one guy who, according to you, "isn't up to AFL standard" with someone who we all know is certainly not up to that standard, no matter how good he's playing in the reserves.

Think Playfair has had almost as good a year as Gardiner and look how he went today, not knocking the guy, he's simply not up to it, and nor is Charlie.

Pfft...

Nice try but unfortunately you missed my point. My point on Nathan Ablett represents the view of the general fan.. not MY view, which is just obvious. The average fan will give Nathan all the leeway in the world when compared to other players? Get it?
He's played thirty games or so, mate. What do you want him to do? Better than most at his age.

Pfft...

It's almost like you are talking in the third person then. Sometimes its your opinion...then sometimes it's somebody else...but still you sort of. I assume every time you are wrong it's somebody else.

Either way third person discussions are bad for the health...You might want to see someone about that!..:confused:

3 goals and 10 touches, 5 grabs and a goal assist or two thrown into the stirring pot in a top of the table clash is more than up to AFL standard. He was working today...he played a good game.

Have you asked yourself the question how would we have gone if he wasnt there today? We might not have got so close...in fact I am sure we wouldnt have.

Fully realise that, his form has been average to poor for quite some time, just curious as to why you'd want to replace one guy who, according to you, "isn't up to AFL standard" with someone who we all know is certainly not up to that standard, no matter how good he's playing in the reserves.

Think Playfair has had almost as good a year as Gardiner and look how he went today, not knocking the guy, he's simply not up to it, and nor is Charlie.

I agree with you Cattery... I'm one who can appreciate that Charlie, Henry(especially) and Nath are all not up to scratch. I still feel that Charlie could have made more of the opportunities our forwards have been given during our dominant period... He at least deserves a chance while Nath is performing badly. Nath I feel will probably mature faster getting more of the ball in the 2s also...

It's almost like you are talking in the third person then. Sometimes its your opinion...then sometimes it's somebody else...but still you sort of. I assume every time you are wrong it's somebody else.

If you bother to read my posts properly you would have known my opinion on Nath... Are you saying I need to spell it out for some?? :confused:

3 goals and 10 touches, 5 grabs and a goal assist or two thrown into the stirring pot in a top of the table clash is more than up to AFL standard. He was working today...he played a good game.

Have you asked yourself the question how would we have gone if he wasnt there today? We might not have got so close...in fact I am sure we wouldnt have.

Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda.... What are you saying? He has played one good game out of 14, as a key position forward in the highest scoring side in the AFL.... pretty damming isn't it?

martyk;8535389 Shoulda said:
you [/B]saying? He has played one good game out of 14, as a key position forward in the highest scoring side in the AFL.... pretty damming isn't it?
Your very hard on the kid,is it because his name is Ablett?:eek:

If you bother to read my posts properly you would have known my opinion on Nath... Are you saying I need to spell it out for some?? :confused:

Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda.... What are you saying? He has played one good game out of 14, as a key position forward in the highest scoring side in the AFL.... pretty damming isn't it?

No need to spell it out Marty. I see you are allowed to amuse yourself at others' expense but I am not?

And Nathan is still learning the caper but I felt he came a long way from where he was last week. Rather than saying today is damning for other poorer days why not admit it's a great step in the right direction for the kid? or would that make me too metrosexual?

Considering the form he's shown recently I thought Nathan's first half was really good. Not just what he got but the number of contests he got to, the balls he brought to ground and his endevour around the packs was very encouraging. It must be bloody hard to get yourself into form at this level, but Playfair showed just how huge a gap there is between the 2's and the seniors.

It was a pity he faded out in the second half, but Port defence was all over us all day, even Mooney struggled. However Nathan showed just enough for other clubs to keep taking him seriously.

I think its the best shot in the locker at CHF we have at the moment

I agree with you Cattery... I'm one who can appreciate that Charlie, Henry(especially) and Nath are all not up to scratch. I still feel that Charlie could have made more of the opportunities our forwards have been given during our dominant period... He at least deserves a chance while Nath is performing badly. Nath I feel will probably mature faster getting more of the ball in the 2s also...

Don't really agree that Nathan is not "up to scratch" clearly the best of the three mentioned when on top of his game as he was late last year and early this season, and "if" we have to play one of the three he's the best choice in my opinion, has probably played more good games in his twenty odd matches then Charlie has in twice as many.

Been struggling for quite a while I'll admit, but still a better bet then the other two I reckon.

Considering the form he's shown recently I thought Nathan's first half was really good. Not just what he got but the number of contests he got to, the balls he brought to ground and his endevour around the packs was very encouraging. It must be bloody hard to get yourself into form at this level, but Playfair showed just how huge a gap there is between the 2's and the seniors.

It was a pity he faded out in the second half, but Port defence was all over us all day, even Mooney struggled. However Nathan showed just enough for other clubs to keep taking him seriously.

I think its the best shot in the locker at CHF we have at the moment

I was wondering where you had gotten to...;)

Considering how abysmal the delivery into the forward line was today, and the fact that Mooney had his worst game for the year, Nate was outstanding today. Was the only thing keeping us in it in the second quarter.

And Nathan is still learning the caper but I felt he came a long way from where he was last week. Rather than saying today is damning for other poorer days why not admit it's a great step in the right direction for the kid? or would that make me too metrosexual?

Agree with that but heck, on his form last week there was only one direction he could go wasn't there?

Good two quarters of footy but went missing in the second half, frustrating player, looks to have all the ability in the world but just doesn't produce nearly consistently enough.

Considering how abysmal the delivery into the forward line was today, and the fact that Mooney had his worst game for the year, Nate was outstanding today. Was the only thing keeping us in it in the second quarter.
Exactly, a voice of reason.

Just got to ask you are Westhoff and Tredrea up to AFL standard? Neither did anything more than Nathan but are part of a team that is vying for the flag this year.

By the way in your opinion what justifies being labelled as being up to AFL standard? And are you automatically assumed to be able to play to "AFL standard" from when you first get a game? Is there, in your mind, any time allowed for a young player, such as Nathan, to develop and improve such that he may reach his potential down the track?

All questions that are pertinent if we are to understand what you are talking about.

For what it's worth I don't care if Nathan's surname is Ablett or Smith - he is still our best bet at CHF and THAT is all that matters. We don't have a Jonathon Brown sitting in the VFL - if we did he would be playing. We don't (Hawkins may be in time if we give him TIME to develop).

Just got to ask you are Westhoff and Tredrea up to AFL standard? Neither did anything more than Nathan but are part of a team that is vying for the flag this year.

By the way in your opinion what justifies being labelled as being up to AFL standard? And are you automatically assumed to be able to play to "AFL standard" from when you first get a game? Is there, in your mind, any time allowed for a young player, such as Nathan, to develop and improve such that he may reach his potential down the track?

All questions that are pertinent if we are to understand what you are talking about.

For what it's worth I don't care if Nathan's surname is Ablett or Smith - he is still our best bet at CHF and THAT is all that matters. We don't have a Jonathon Brown sitting in the VFL - if we did he would be playing. We don't (Hawkins may be in time if we give him TIME to develop).
Couldn't have put it better myself, I agree entirely.

Exactly. We would have been blown out of the water without his 2nd quarter performance.

Was good to see him stand up in a time of need. If only he could have done it again in the 3rd or 4th :(

He has played one good game out of 14...
Oh dear, marty, another page another bogus statistic? He was omitted for three games to rest a persistent hip injury, which you'd know if you'd been following Geelong...but then you don't really follow Geelong, do you? ;)

I'd politely ask for your best 22, marty, except that a) I'd have to call it the 'least worst 22' to receive any response, and b) I know it's impossible to find another 21 Joshies.

year of the cat said:
For what it's worth I don't care if Nathan's surname is Ablett or Smith - he is still our best bet at CHF and THAT is all that matters.
Apparently a player sitting in the Top 10 Goal-kickers after a third of the H&A season is receiving special consideration because of his surname.

I'm sorry, YOTC, but if I'm a fanboy after making a number of posts critical of Nathan's attitude, then you're definitely a fanboy. But cheer up, we can swap Nathan posters!

What i say?