National Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Agree with your comments re Maric and Veszpremi, but don't you think it is "safer" to a degree for our progression and structure to take the best possible talent (more importantly, the best possible talent in the area we are most deficient in) rather than take the easy option and opt for a safe bet-what you see is what you get-type that may not necessarily be most suited to our needs in the future?

When you say you think we will take the "safe option" with our first pick, are you thinking more along the lines of a Myers/Grimes/Collier/Grant/Gaertner? Just interested to know what direction you think the club will be taking with our first and most important pick.

Its true, there will be other similar small forward types like Hockey/Motlop/Lane/Farmer later in the draft but I would much rather we focus our energy on getting the best available talent in this position as early as possible.. Didak was still raw (albeit highly talented) and for many was considered likely to become either an outstanding hit, or eventual miss, when Collingwood took him at pick 3 in 2000. He busted his gut and went through alot of heartache (pardon the pun) at Williamston before settling into Malthouse's plan.

I just think it's time we did take a punt (hell we can't do any worse than we have with our previous highly-rated 1st round selections!) and put faith in our ability to develop a player of this mould - it is after all, what we are screaming out for.

Good post.

not to mention our ever-increasing obsession with taking promising, finals-hardened Calder players - putting young Addam in the box seat :D

He did after all kick 5 in last years GF loss to the Chargers.. I would think he is high on our radar, but that's only my perception ;)

not to mention our ever-increasing obsession with taking promising, finals-hardened Calder players - putting young Addam in the box seat :D

He did after all kick 5 in last years GF loss to the Chargers.. I would think he is high on our radar, but that's only my perception ;)

That has certainly been a trend in our drafting in recent times. :)

Mitch Farmer. :thumbsu:

And tuth be told, we haven't done too badly with our Calder Cannons kids.

Reilly, Maric and Douglas have all been good recruits IMHO!

You couldn't pick a better club to draft from, in terms of culture, either IMO.

Agree with your comments re Maric and Veszpremi, but don't you think it is "safer" to a degree for our progression and structure to take the best possible talent (more importantly, the best possible talent in the area we are most deficient in) rather than take the easy option and opt for a safe bet-what you see is what you get-type that may not necessarily be most suited to our needs in the future?

When you say you think we will take the "safe option" with our first pick, are you thinking more along the lines of a Myers/Grimes/Collier/Grant/Gaertner? Just interested to know what direction you think the club will be taking with our first and most important pick.

Its true, there will be other similar small forward types like Hockey/Motlop/Lane/Farmer later in the draft but I would much rather we focus our energy on getting the best available talent in this position as early as possible.. Didak was still raw (albeit highly talented) and for many was considered likely to become either an outstanding hit, or eventual miss, when Collingwood took him at pick 3 in 2000. He busted his gut and went through alot of heartache (pardon the pun) at Williamston before settling into Malthouse's plan.

I just think it's time we did take a punt (hell we can't do any worse than we have with our previous highly-rated 1st round selections!) and put faith in our ability to develop a player of this mould - it is after all, what we are screaming out for.
As far as the safe option goes I'm trying to guess what I think the club might do. Our first round draft picks in recent times have been abysmal and I'm basically speculating that the club might be looking to atone for that by taking someone who won't fail, but might not necessarily be spectacular. So yeah, those guys you mentioned except Gaertner! :eek: I couldn't think of a riskier player in this draft! Replace his name with Selwood from that list for a 'safe' option. :thumbsu: I wouldn't necessarily call Grant safe either. I don't have him near my Top 10 TBH.

In my opinion we should draft addressing our need for a small forward with our early picks - it all depends on what happens on the day but I would prefer it to be with Pick 10. Rioli might be gone but for some reason I still kind of baulk at using Pick 10 on him. As I've been saying with Taylor Walker it's always difficult to judge the Division 2 players considering the lower quality of opposition they're playing against. With that said, I believe Rioli was playing school footy on a Scholarship in Melbourne this year but I didn't watch any school games and I hear mixed reviews about the overall standard.

He does have sublime talent, there's no doubt about that and he's a very smart sort of player. Objectively, he is probably the best choice of the small forwards in this draft. One thing you get with Rioli is great reading of the play and awareness of team mates. Rioli and Walker were actually equal first in goal assists at the U/18 Championships this year. ;)

Weaver said something interesting just recently about Rioli in that he could go between Pick 5-30 and it wouldn't be a surprise to him and I think that pretty much sums up my feelings too. That's exactly how I feel about Maric and Veszpremi too and I guess I'm still trying to project who might be the best long term AFL option. I'm still leaning towards my avatar (Veszpremi for those who haven't been reading my posts ;)) but am not as convinced as I was before.

As far as the safe option goes I'm trying to guess what I think the club might do. Our first round draft picks in recent times have been abysmal and I'm basically speculating that the club might be looking to atone for that by taking someone who won't fail, but might not necessarily be spectacular. So yeah, those guys you mentioned except Gaertner! :eek: I couldn't think of a riskier player in this draft! Replace his name with Selwood from that list for a 'safe' option. :thumbsu: I wouldn't necessarily call Grant safe either. I don't have him near my Top 10 TBH.

In my opinion we should draft addressing our need for a small forward with our early picks - it all depends on what happens on the day but I would prefer it to be with Pick 10. Rioli might be gone but for some reason I still kind of baulk at using Pick 10 on him. As I've been saying with Taylor Walker it's always difficult to judge the Division 2 players considering the lower quality of opposition they're playing against. With that said, I believe Rioli was playing school footy on a Scholarship in Melbourne this year but I didn't watch any school games and I hear mixed reviews about the overall standard.

He does have sublime talent, there's no doubt about that and he's a very smart sort of player. Objectively, he is probably the best choice of the small forwards in this draft. One thing you get with Rioli is great reading of the play and awareness of team mates. Rioli and Walker were actually equal first in goal assists at the U/18 Championships this year. ;)

Weaver said something interesting just recently about Rioli in that he could go between Pick 5-30 and it wouldn't be a surprise to him and I think that pretty much sums up my feelings too. That's exactly how I feel about Maric and Veszpremi too and I guess I'm still trying to project who might be the best long term AFL option. I'm still leaning towards my avatar (Veszpremi for those who haven't been reading my posts ;)) but am not as convinced as I was before.

I guess we all agree there is no chance of getting Ebert then?

Ummm, I wouldn't bank on it but it's not out of the question. If he's there at Pick 10 I wouldn't think we'd pass on him though.

Agree!

They have a very good record in producing long term AFL players. Arguably the most successfull TAC Cup club in doing so!

Just speaking of Calder, I watched a bit of the TAC cup GF and they had a very impressive kid running around in the ruck. Don't think he's eligible this year, but reckon he could be a very high pick next year.

Trengrove I think his name was.

Just speaking of Calder, I watched a bit of the TAC cup GF and they had a very impressive kid running around in the ruck. Don't think he's eligible this year, but reckon he could be a very high pick next year.

Trengrove I think his name was.
Spot on. Jackson Trengove, not eligible this year but is likely to be a high pick next year.

Fair enough about Selwood, I just don't think he's AS highly rated as everyone is making him out to sound, I was thinking he might go between 17-25. Gaertner and Grant I threw in because they were highly rated juniors who put in great displays at the champs last year and happen to both be tall, rebounding defenders - something many clubs currently seem to have a lack of and were obviously chasing in the trade period. This year seems to be a reasonable year for KP defenders so I would have thought Rance, Myers, Grant, McNamara, Gaertner, Pears, McKenna, Kangars and Daniher (Although his fate has already been decided) would figure prominently in the first 2-3 rounds? I could be way off in my thinking though!

As for Rioli, I agree he has a sublime talent, but what is most exciting about his game is his willingness to run all day (he covers a shitload of ground) and create opportunities for his teammates. Not only did he tie with Walker, as you said, for the most score assists at the champs this year, but led that category last year too! Not to mention leading the centre-clearances, and overall finished top 3 in contested possessions, effective kicks, clearances, inside 50s and long kicks.

But as you say, recruiters are slightly skeptical about Div 2 and the quality of the opposition - which is why I think we may lean towards taking a top-tier Div 1 player with our pick 10 like a Maric/Veszpremi. I can only hope that apparent skepticism takes its toll, and someone of Rioli's quality is still available at our next pick 27, although I highly doubt it! :rolleyes:

Fair enough about Selwood, I just don't think he's AS highly rated as everyone is making him out to sound, I was thinking he might go between 17-25. Gaertner and Grant I threw in because they were highly rated juniors who put in great displays at the champs last year and happen to both be tall, rebounding defenders - something many clubs currently seem to have a lack of and were obviously chasing in the trade period. This year seems to be a reasonable year for KP defenders so I would have thought Rance, Myers, Grant, McNamara, Gaertner, Pears, McKenna, Kangars and Daniher (Although his fate has already been decided) would figure prominently in the first 2-3 rounds? I could be way off in my thinking though!

As for Rioli, I agree he has a sublime talent, but what is most exciting about his game is his willingness to run all day (he covers a shitload of ground) and create opportunities for his teammates. Not only did he tie with Walker, as you said, for the most score assists at the champs this year, but led that category last year too! Not to mention leading the centre-clearances, and overall finished top 3 in contested possessions, effective kicks, clearances, inside 50s and long kicks.

But as you say, recruiters are slightly skeptical about Div 2 and the quality of the opposition - which is why I think we may lean towards taking a top-tier Div 1 player with our pick 10 like a Maric/Veszpremi. I can only hope that apparent skepticism takes its toll, and someone of Rioli's quality is still available at our next pick 27, although I highly doubt it! :rolleyes:
Yeah, I also don't rate Selwood that highly but he's in the mould of 'safe' players. You know what you'll get with him.

As for Maric/Veszpremi they both made U/18 All Australian as a bottom ager so they've each performed on the big stage when thrown into the deep end.

I'd really like to see what each of them run on the beep test coz I thought Rioli had reasonably low endurance. I know that Veszpremi has questionable endurance (he was injured for Draft Camp too) and I have no clue with Maric.

Yeah, I also don't rate Selwood that highly but he's in the mould of 'safe' players. You know what you'll get with him.

As for Maric/Veszpremi they both made U/18 All Australian as a bottom ager so they've each performed on the big stage when thrown into the deep end.

I'd really like to see what each of them run on the beep test coz I thought Rioli had reasonably low endurance. I know that Veszpremi has questionable endurance (he was injured for Draft Camp too) and I have no clue with Maric.

Agree :thumbsu:

And I'd be very surprised if Rioli has an endurance issue - last year he covered the third most territory of any Div 2 player!! :eek:

Even if any of these 3 had an endurance issue, I'm sure Craigy's l'entrainment pour Tour de France will fix the problem :p

Seriously though, we have the best sports science minds and facilities available in football, I'm fairly confident Craig, Walsh and co. will be able to develop and extract the best possible physical output in the players we take. My uncle worked closely with Neil at the AIS over a long period of time and he's always reminding me just how brilliant Craig is in this department - even when things appeared their bleakest during our wretched run with injuries this year, my uncle was adament Craig would have a positive long-term physical effect (fitness-wise :p) on any player that was representing the club then, and in the future.

I guess only time will tell if he is correct... But then Olympic Gold Medals aren't just handed out to professional athletes without them first having had world-class tutelage and conditioning - Craig is more aware of this than anyone else currently employed in football.. :rolleyes:

http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/41623
Click on the link and then click on Draft camp review. 27 minute analysis on all the big names of this draft. :thumbsu:
Veszpremi needs a lot of work on his endurance before he can play AFL footy in the midfield. Might struggle to run out a game in the midfield in the SANFL... his best beep is 11.9. Will need a lot of endurance work. It didn't say what beep Rioli got in the draft camp but his repeat sprint was in the top 5. He's not lightning but 2.96 is considered quick.

http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/41623
Click on the link and then click on Draft camp review. 27 minute analysis on all the big names of this draft. :thumbsu:
Veszpremi needs a lot of work on his endurance before he can play AFL footy in the midfield. Might struggle to run out a game in the midfield in the SANFL... his best beep is 11.9. Will need a lot of endurance work. It didn't say what beep Rioli got in the draft camp but his repeat sprint was in the top 5. He's not lightning but 2.96 is considered quick.

Thanks for the link it made for extremely interesting viewing. We all hope Brad Ebert will be there at pick 10 but I think he will go before then. What i took from it is that Selwood would be the safest pick echoing what others have said on this board. If we are looking for a small forward, they spoke of Rioli highly and Vic Crows Veszpremi was viewed highly as well. I think the tall running defender Meyers would be a ripper as well. Honestly I don't think you could go wrong with any of these players.

I guess we have to view it from what Adelaide needs the most. I guess the answer is we don't kick enough goals and we lack pacy, mid fielders. Who cares where the experts list players in this draft, it must address deficiencies in our list, not the long held view that we should pick up the best available talent. I think defense can maybe wait another year even though I rate Meyers. We answered the key forward issue with last years draft. With Bodes departure I think a small forward with our first pick is the right call. I hope the injury that Veszpremi had was why he had a poor beep test. In saying that he is quick off the mark and has a thumping kick on him. If we don't get a mid, I think Vic Crow has just about got me sold on Veszpremi. In saying all of this I will probably change my mind 100 time between now and the draft. I wish it would hurry up.

Personally have been sold on Rioli, Maric and Vez. Any one of them would be good. All address a need and sound like quality players.

Reckon Ebert might go at #6, with Knights having been at the Magpies and all.

At this stage I would think we will go a quality midfielder at #10 and hope that one of Maric, Vezpremi(or whatever it is), and Rioli fall to 27, before hopefully picking up a Greenwood or something.

The draft by the sounds is pretty well stocked in quality defenders and Ruckman, this could mean that these players go earlier or it could mean that since there would be a few clubs very interested in picking up quality ruckman and defenders these midfielders/smalls could slip through.

Doubt we will take a Ruckman or a Defender early, pretty well stocked in this department with the addition of Symes and Moran, maybe later on, but I think we should probably go midfielders or sml forwards.

Rendel's loss of pick 22 seems to be a pretty big one at the moment, that would have in handy, 27 and 30 are almost a touch too late.

Will get a better idea closer to draft date I assume.

At this stage I would think we will go a quality midfielder at #10 and hope that one of Maric, Vezpremi(or whatever it is), and Rioli fall to 27, before hopefully picking up a Greenwood or something.

The draft by the sounds is pretty well stocked in quality defenders and Ruckman, this could mean that these players go earlier or it could mean that since there would be a few clubs very interested in picking up quality ruckman and defenders these midfielders/smalls could slip through.

Doubt we will take a Ruckman or a Defender early, pretty well stocked in this department with the addition of Symes and Moran, maybe later on, but I think we should probably go midfielders or sml forwards.

Rendel's loss of pick 22 seems to be a pretty big one at the moment, that would have in handy, 27 and 30 are almost a touch too late.

Will get a better idea closer to draft date I assume.

Yeah 22 would have been fantastic ... I hope this doesnt come back to bite us :(

Personally have been sold on Rioli, Maric and Vez. Any one of them would be good. All address a need and sound like quality players.

Reckon Ebert might go at #6, with Knights having been at the Magpies and all.

Apparently you're not the only one who's been sold on Rioli.. I just read on the 'Draft and Trading' Board Rioli himself said Adelaide showed the most interest in him :D followed by St Kilda

Could be BS but I'm happy to believe it :p

I for one hope with pick 10 and 27 we pick the best player available, as long as it isnt another brainiac halfback flanker who lacks a bit of pace. Whether it be a key forward, defender or pacy midfielder grab them. With the lower picks we should draft players for requirements. We need pace big time!