CJH

It is reported in today's Sun that Richmond seek to have an annual season opening match against Collingwood, ditching our current 'traditional'
rolleyes.gif
match against Melbourne.

If this comes to fruition, this means that Collingwood will also ditch their season opener against Hawthorn.

This to me seems an excellent idea, and the only thing that concerns me is why didn't someone think of it earlier?

You see, Melbourne and Richmond don't really have any degree of rivalry whatsoever and my extensive research (the person who sits next to me is a Hawthorn supporter, so I asked him
biggrin.gif
) has shown that Hawthorn and Collingwood also don't share any degree of deep seated hatred.

It seems that these two match ups, which have occured for the past 3 seasons now, are really just a contrived attempt by the AFL to manufacture a degree of rivalry - a ploy that has succeeded in creating passion that is as hoit and searing as an ice cube.

On the other hand, matching Collingwood / Richmond and Hawthorn / Melbourne makes more sense.

The Tigers and the Pies have hated each other for near on a century now and there is no need to manufacture any passion - it is already there by the truckload!

Hawthorn / Melbourne's recent history lends itself naturally towards creating a degree of rivalry, in light of the failed merger of 1996 and the classic match the was played between these sides in Round 22 of that year.

It appears that this is one thing that the AFL can implement and will be a winner!

------------------
Dutch Oven Tiger Tank tells why we shouldn't roast Ben Holland
Hopping Mad - Kangaroos Preview
Ruck RotationsTigerFury's observation of a new tactical ploy.

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 04 May 2001).]

Kangaroos have a rivalry with...

Bulldogs

so the Kangaroos should play them twice every year...

as we have little rivalry with

Port Adelaide
Brisbane

the Kangaroos should only play them once each season...

Are we a f*cken bank or something?

The Bomber supporters around here think they are the envied club! It is clear that everyone else wants to be Collingwood and exploit the game's number one asset to their full potential.

The Hawks made sure their deal to move from Waverley included a guarantee that they play Collingwood first round, because this assured one home game against the biggest drawing card in the comp.

Richmond should p*ss off. Collingwood are actively trying to bring tradition back in to the game which has been steadily loosing it for the past 20 years. Leave our traditions, including ANZAC Day, alone and find your own.

It's tough being the best and it is even harder being humble when you are great!

No, no, I'm in full agreeance on this one. Let Collingwood and Richmond play each other in the first round. The AFL could call it the "We Wish Were A Big Important Club That People Took Seriously But Unfortunately Since We've Only Won One Flag In The Last 27/43 Years And Neither Of Us Has Made The Last Four Since Christ Played Centre Half Forward For Jerusalem, The General Football Public Laughs At Us And Our Pathetic Attempts To Compare Ourselves To Carlton And Essendon It's Nothing To Do With On-field Success Or Off-field Wealth It's All About How Many Mindless P|ssed Abusive Brain-dead Morons We Can Coerce Through The Gates We Really Are A Big Team Really We Are" Trophy.

The only difference between this and a real blockbusters is that the WWWABICTPTSBUSWOWOFITL2YANOUHMTLFSCPCHFFJTGFPLAUAOPATCOTCAEINTDWOSOOWIAAHMMPABMWCCTTGWRAABTRWA Trophy will go to the losers, to honour the sterling tradion of losing that both clubs have perpetrated for the last twenty five years or more.

Originally posted by Danny Sook Fan Club:
Sour grapes, sour grapes, stop leaving us out, we need money too, why won't anyone take notice of Hawthorn, whine, whine, etc

Poor DSFC - same tune, different violin.

Originally posted by an intimidated and clearly traumatised FIGJAM:
Leave our traditions, including ANZAC Day, alone and find your own.

FIGJAM - You really are terrified of Richmond supporters, aren't you. It stands out in every thing you post.

Collingwood FC appear in favour of the move, but then they haven't had to experience the horror that you have.

[This message has been edited by TigerTank (edited 04 May 2001).]

Danny Bonaduce Fan Club strikes again!

If we take away the money so generously donated by Collingwood fans attending Hawthorn's home game agaist us, you would be voting to merge with Melbourne again.

Either that or you would be having one hell of a lot of Chook raffles!

We may not have been successful in terms of premierships over the last 43 years, but we have been a very successful club. We've bankrolled clubs like your's Bonaduce, for 70 years and this includes during your one and only good run through the eighties!

Your envy and jealousy extending towards the Collingwood Football Club is clearly evident in the number of posts that you post in, which has a Collingwood theme! Your futile attacks attempt to bring the Great Club down, when it is obvious that we are about to achieve Dominance once more.

I've just read a great idea at a Collingwood board, that would solve all of this "sponging" off Collingwoods greatness!

Collingwood should charge appearance fees! If the lesser clubs (B!tchmond, Norf, Dorks, Melbourne et al) want to play The Club twice per year, Collingwood should get a percentage of the away gate! 20% souds like a good figure.

"Terrified of Richmond?" TT, let me respond to that by sayng, WHAT???. By the quote you provided, I was referring to the Leaches that are Melbourne, Bulldogs, Norf etc as well as Richmond, who continually try and attach themselves to our greatness in the vain attempt to perhaps get close to being the greatest club in the competition and inevitably fail.

I rank Richmond along side St Kilda in terms of scariness. Collingwood supporters never have to fear any opposition supporters. Side by side we stick together.

Me and one of my best mates (Hawk fan) look forward to playing each other Game 1 every year. We have done it, combined with excessive alcohol, for the last five years and I want to do it again in 2002.

Originally posted by FIGJAM:
I've just read a great idea at a Collingwood board, that would solve all of this "sponging" off Collingwoods greatness!

Given that even Collingwood supporters (Mags, Buckleys Surfers, etc.) said there were more Richmond fans at the last Collingwood HOME game against us than Collingwood fans.

I ask you...

WHO IS SPONGING OFF WHO?????

It looks very much like the Tigers are propping up your mob.

------------------
TT - The obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
No, no, I'm in full agreeance on this one. Let Collingwood and Richmond play each other in the first round. The AFL could call it the "We Wish Were A Big Important Club That People Took Seriously But Unfortunately Since We've Only Won One Flag In The Last 27/43 Years And Neither Of Us Has Made The Last Four Since Christ Played Centre Half Forward For Jerusalem, The General Football Public Laughs At Us And Our Pathetic Attempts To Compare Ourselves To Carlton And Essendon It's Nothing To Do With On-field Success Or Off-field Wealth It's All About How Many Mindless P|ssed Abusive Brain-dead Morons We Can Coerce Through The Gates We Really Are A Big Team Really We Are" Trophy.

The only difference between this and a real blockbusters is that the WWWABICTPTSBUSWOWOFITL2YANOUHMTLFSCPCHFFJTGFPLAUAOPATCOTCAEINTDWOSOOWIAAHMMPABMWCCTTGWRAABTRWA Trophy will go to the losers, to honour the sterling tradion of losing that both clubs have perpetrated for the last twenty five years or more.

Ahh, I see what you problem is DCFC! You are jilted and a little miffed!

You see, Collingwood have also given this idea their approval, ditching Hawthorn, for the very simple reason that you are inadequate!

That's it. You just dont quite measure up.

Collingwood are more than willing to go with someone who satisfies!

biggrin.gif

------------------
Dutch Oven Tiger Tank tells why we shouldn't roast Ben Holland
Hopping Mad - Kangaroos Preview
Ruck RotationsTigerFury's observation of a new tactical ploy.

CJH, I can't talk for what satisfies Collingwood, but experience tells me a bowl of Good-Os and fresh water suffices for their fans. If Collingwood finds Richmond more satisfying, then I wish them all the best - the interbreeding should provide for a few wildlife specials on "The World Around Us". I'm more than happy for you and the Pies to battle out the Mediocrity Cup in the first round - at least one of the *ahem* Armies will have something to brag about each year before crushing reality hits at, ooh, around Round 2.

TigerStank needs no attention to be paid to him at all. He lives in a constant state of Hawthorn envy, from our beautifully crocheted teapot warmers to our loving diagonally cut and crustless sandwiches. He yearns to escape from the working-class, Labor voting, feeble-brained, bourbon drinking socialists that all Richmond fans are, to be a sophisticated, urbane, upper-crust somebody who supports Hawthorn. Fear not TigerShrank, I can show you the light.

As for you TOEJAM, the only envy I have for Collingwood is the remarkable array of skin diseases evident on your supporters - how do they fit so much trailer trash into one ground? And the only way the Pies are about to enter a period of dominance is if the AFL is instituting a second division for the lesser clubs to play in.

Originally posted by TigerTank:
It looks very much like the Tigers are propping up your mob.

Time for a reality check here TT!

Collingwood is the major drawcard of the competition. No doubt. WE SELL OUT EVERY SINGLE INTERSTATE GAME WE PLAY. Why, cause we're Collingwood and you're not.

Whether or not BS or Mags thought the crowd was in Richmond's favour is their opinion. I for one thought the crowd noise was dead even, but in terms of colours Richmond appeared to have more supporters. Given that both teams sport black, the yellow stands out far greater than the white. This is the only advantage Richmond has over Collingwood. The ONLY advantage. We have been, and will always be a far superior club to Richmond!

We were the second bottom team last year and for us to be playing our third 80,000 plus crowd in a row, must bring every supporter of opposition clubs to their knees, in complete astonishment and awe of the Great Club.

Originally posted by TigerTank
Given that even Collingwood supporters (Mags, Buckleys Surfers, etc.) said there were more Richmond fans at the last Collingwood HOME game against us than Collingwood fans.

I ask you...

WHO IS SPONGING OFF WHO?????

Aah, but TT the great Eddie hath spake and he hath declared that:

''Our fans are attending our games, but it's the opposition fans who aren't turning up. It was all Collingwood out there again today.''

So who is wrong? You or Eddie McTosser?

FIGJAM, 26K at Colonial v Freo isn't a sellout...neither was 35K last year in Sydney, or 22K against Port.

But then again seeing as you reckon 73K is over 80,000 we shouldn't be surprised that everything else you said was wrong either. :D :D :D

David, there should have been 80,000 there yesterday except the Carlton supporters showed as much heart as their senior footballers' on-field performance, when it came to getting to the game (ie. NONE).

I didn't say we sold out every game, so don't make out that I did.

Freo and Port don't count cause they have had poor supporter bases. However if we beat Norf this week, Football Park will be a sellout in two weeks. No question.

Our club is the most superior club when it comes to crowd pulling power. To deny this Dave, would mean that you have been smoking some seriously strong hash!

"Dave???... Dave's not here man!" :p

Originally posted by FIGJAM
I didn't say we sold out every game, so don't make out that I did.

I didn't. You said you sold out every interstate game, which patently you didn't. Now that you've been shown up it's "Freo and Port don't count". Nice try, but no cigar son.

However if we beat Norf this week, Football Park will be a sellout in two weeks.

FP is always sold out, hence the cammries membership waiting list. It's got nothing to do with Collingwoodenspoon :D

You keep on worrying about crowds FJ, I'll just enjoy my sides on field success, that's all the counts at the end of the day. Your boys are playing some pretty good footy at the moment though. Probably good enough to squeak into the finals. Just!

Man you must be really stoned this morning!

Were playing Port in two weeks, not the Crows and as it stands Port's games are not complete sellouts!

Regardless, off-field success is as important as on-field success and teams like B*tchmond, who are constantly in financial trouble, need to address this!

Not stoned, just tired (my son was up all night with gastro). Ok, so you're not playing the Crows, but I'll bet FP is not sold out, but then you'll just claim "Port don't count" again.

And I don't barrack for "B*tchmond" either sonny.

Regardless, off-field success is as important as on-field success and teams like B*tchmond, who are constantly in financial trouble, need to address this!

Please explain to me this constant financial trouble?

While you are at it, explain why Collingwood wouldn't have been regarded as worse over the past decade?

Graverobbingwood

Man you must be really stoned this morning!

... teams like Richmond, who are constantly in financial trouble, need to address this!

He's not the only one FOGJERM.

Collingwood have been in much more financial strife than Richmond in the last 5 years, but we wouldn't want to wreck a good rant with the truth, would we?

Collingwood were in diabolical poo, only a couple of years ago until a wealthy simpleton from Wodonga died and left the club a cool million. You're nothing but glorified Grave-robbers!

Richmond has made a profit every year over the last 10, except last year. Collingwood's record isn't anywhere near as good.

I think it is time Collingwood stopped trading on past glories, and finally woke up to itself. You are a pathetic shadow of what you once were.

True Enemies

You guys are missing the point, Collinwood V Carlton, Ho Hum
Essendon V Richmond, Ho Hum
West Coast V Freo, Ho Hum

Wicked Witch of the West V Me, now that would sell out the MCG, lol

does it go like this ? ...pure gold chooky,thucken pure gold,how the thuck was that ?.......love it when pie fans say "just wait till we start winning then you will see the crowds"....in other words,just look at our bandwagon as everyone hops on....thucken pure gold,thuck i like that.

I would be quite happy not to play Richmond first game. They always seem to be fired up for it, all passionate about it. Better to play them later when all that is gone.

Originally posted by dees01
I would be quite happy not to play Richmond first game. They always seem to be fired up for it, all passionate about it. Better to play them later when all that is gone.

Are you saying that Melbourne play without passion? :p

Do you actually believe that Richmond's wins have been fuelled by passion or haven't you been paying attention?

I was bemoaning the fact that our first 4 wins of the year were achieved by playing clinical football, devoid of out normal passion.

At least the Kangaroos had a crack and took the game up to us. For the first time this year we had to use more than just skill to win a game.