NEAFL 2016

Yes, the Friday night game caught me out too. And Stuyd1 too as it seems as he put in his tips after the first bounce.
But there is a bright side to this story. The Appeals Tribunal (my wife, my son and me) has met........
If you two had not put in your tips at all then you would have gotten the away team, as per the rules. And putting the tips in late is the same as not putting them in at all.
So I guess you both get the away team. Swans in this case.

Unless someone has a better idea then I reckon that's the way we will go.

Yes, the Friday night game caught me out too. And Stuyd1 too as it seems as he put in his tips after the first bounce.
But there is a bright side to this story. The Appeals Tribunal (my wife, my son and me) has met........
If you two had not put in your tips at all then you would have gotten the away team, as per the rules. And putting the tips in late is the same as not putting them in at all.

Can anyone explain how a game at the SCG is an away game for the Swans ?? The NEAFL makes some strange decisions but this is one of the craziest I have ever seen.

Pea Nut,

Point of order, my request first - Why would the NEAFL schedule a Friday afternoon game starting at 4.00pm - In relation to Uni, I understand that the Students could probably get away from their classes early but what about the rest of the side, the guys that work for a living and play footy for fun and limited funds (unless I am reading the money being paid by Uni is well worth the 1/2 day off). With the Swans well every day for most of these guys is do as we say and that's it.

As far as your question above goes and it is a very valid one mate, let the best story (explanation) win.

Justa,

Thank you for your advice on the appeals Tribunal decision - I have been on the phone all day trying to find my Barrister ( I would have called at least 10 golf clubs) for a whinge, I guess that's why he is unavailable ha, ha. Thank the said Tribunal on behalf of myself and Stuyd 1 (he is still probably oblivious to all of this currently), Due to the enormous Prize Funds on offer with this competition I feel the right ruling, after scouring the rules in major detail has been made. Also and the main point of this post, as I am currently sitting last on the order of merit, this has instilled me to keep on tipping - unlike some others who have given up, it seems for no other reason than poor judgment.

I don't know the answers to these questions (about Swans V Uni)...I don't even know how the can opener works. But, a couple of random thoughts anyway.....

First of all, I'm betting that the only people for whom it makes a difference who is the home team and who is the away team, the only ones who care, are people in a tipping competition where entries are submitted late and the outcome of the tipping depends on which team is listed second.
That would be eight people in the whole of Australia.
It probably makes no difference to the NEAFL or the teams who is which. Or perhaps it helps maintain the home>away>home>away sequence. Maybe Uni as home team gets the lions' share of the gate takings (20 people).

Why is the game scheduled for 4pm Friday ? Because it's a curtain-raiser to the main game starting at 7.40pm, and there has to be a mandatory time space between matches.
NEAFL players are a mystery to me with the sacrifices they make to their lifestyles to train, play and travel as they do. I can only guess that the Uni players take it in their stride because it is what it is.

Justa,

Thank you for your advice on the appeals Tribunal decision - I have been on the phone all day trying to find my Barrister ( I would have called at least 10 golf clubs) for a whinge, I guess that's why he is unavailable ha, ha. Thank the said Tribunal on behalf of myself and Stuyd 1 (he is still probably oblivious to all of this currently), Due to the enormous Prize Funds on offer with this competition I feel the right ruling, after scouring the rules in major detail has been made. Also and the main point of this post, as I am currently sitting last on the order of merit, this has instilled me to keep on tipping - unlike some others who have given up, it seems for no other reason than poor judgment.
Gee, and I thought all Queenslanders were like Clive Palmer - in many ways, but mostly in the way he sues anybody, everybody, all the time. Thankyou for saving me the legal costs required to defend myself.

I just checked the NEAFL website for the latest results, Its 9.05pm and nothing from the Lions V Suns game or the NT v Redlands game, The NSW Branch of the NEAFL must be rostered on to do the updates and score results, quite clearly they are all still involved in the toasts at the Wedding or out celebrating their racehorse's win at Randwick today, if this is so the case, then it is very clever scheduling the Friday afternoon game, as even when their game gets played and its done and dusted, then screw the rest of us as no one gets the results of the late Saturday games until Monday when the hangover wears off. Someone should tell these jerks (tongue in cheek about NSW Reps, but if the cap fits etc.) that if they want to instill interest in their game, then they need to keep their supporters interested and informed. How can we check our footy tipping results without results!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The NEAFL app has the results and stats.
image.png

NEAFL TIPPING COMP - after week 9

Ally Craft................................................31...5.....36
Chikka Ferguson.....................................28....4....32
justabaraker..........................................28....4....32
Stuyd1..................................................28....4.....32
peanut..................................................27....4.....31
getgaff..................................................26....4.....30
ravenxau...............................................26....3....29
Billybunter............................................25....4.....29

Ally, the newbee, stretches their lead after nailing Redland to beat Thunder in Alice Springs; behind our leader, the pack is bunched.
And everyone tipped the Lions to beat the Suns....go us !!
Swans were the away team against Uni (don't blame me, I just run the tipping comp !!), so everyone including the non-tippers got a successful tip there.

After watching Demons 1st 8 games i'm going to invent another stats column called simply "defensive acts". demons have been beaten more or less easily this year. i note its usually their midfield in best players (mostly based on possession count). to me this can give a real misread to the game and its very frustrating. the same as midfielders always win the brownlow.
defensive acts will include: effective spoils, body checks and blocks, going back with the flight regardless of outcome(bog!) and unrewarded forward running.
my aim is to see backmen getting 20+ poss each week. then some of them might actually get a mention each week!

The NEAFL app has the results and stats.
View attachment 251542

Cheers Archie,

I am still trying to come to turns with my computer and how not to infect it, let alone trying to understand the use of apps and the like, the good old results section of the webpage used to work for me but like every thing else these days (including me) it must be just outdated.

Justa,

Happy to accept the umpires adjudication on this, but in all honesty I am fuming that the NEAFL have now joined the 20th Century by playing a local game on a Friday night and they did not make a big deal out of it - Like this is big news is it not, at least worthy of a story on their to date boring news section of their home page, when I read the above I thought (possibly along with Stud 1 when he reads it) WTF is this about, I then had to have a second look at it as I thought again what the hell is this about, then the penny dropped, they have played this game on a Friday night, how adventurous of the NEAFL, well I am shocked by this, did the NEAFL staff in Sydney have a wedding on today or have they got a horse racing at Randwick ???????

In all honesty if the result was reversed and Uni had defeated the Swans, I still would have gone for the Swans even knowing the score as the Swans are ticking along and Uni although a challenging side for many are not in their (The Swans) class ATM.

My fault not checking the draw but I wish someone at the NEAFL would have put a big bulletin out for us punters, I hope the local supporters in Sydney are not looking for a NEAFL game today as they will be Shyte out of luck, all 50 of them.

Billy Bunter , spot on ,, I had no idea the game was on Friday ... I just went about my normal routine ,, and submitted my tips as per usual ,,, and lets get real, would of I tipped Uni to beat the Swans whom are top of the ladder and some 40% above the 2nd place club in percentage !!!!
This is a joke ,,, and fellow poster be it Peanut ( who raised the issue ) is the joke !!!

I don't know the answers to these questions (about Swans V Uni)...I don't even know how the can opener works. But, a couple of random thoughts anyway.....

First of all, I'm betting that the only people for whom it makes a difference who is the home team and who is the away team, the only ones who care, are people in a tipping competition where entries are submitted late and the outcome of the tipping depends on which team is listed second.
That would be eight people in the whole of Australia.
It probably makes no difference to the NEAFL or the teams who is which. Or perhaps it helps maintain the home>away>home>away sequence. Maybe Uni as home team gets the lions' share of the gate takings (20 people).

Why is the game scheduled for 4pm Friday ? Because it's a curtain-raiser to the main game starting at 7.40pm, and there has to be a mandatory time space between matches.
NEAFL players are a mystery to me with the sacrifices they make to their lifestyles to train, play and travel as they do. I can only guess that the Uni players take it in their stride because it is what it is.
I was more thinking along the lines of the players and their want to win the game, and push towards making and succeeding in finals. Playing at the SCG wouldn't be much of an advantage I wouldn't have thought for the Uni side. Surely you want some sort of advantage, however slight, when playing a home game.

Peanut ,
it sounds like your suggesting Billy Bunter, Justabreaker , and myself were cheating !!!!! You are a egg as well as a peanut !!!!!
No I never suggested that at all ?? How the hell did you come to that conclusion. I brought it up so everyone could discuss. If everyone was ok with it, then I was ok with it. But they weren't. So here we are. You should probably stop now, you are making yourself look silly !!

Mate, the only one looking silly is you .. anyway ,, let it rest now hey ..cheers, no hard feelings

Peanut ,
it sounds like your suggesting Billy Bunter, Justabreaker , and myself were cheating !!!!! You are a egg as well as a peanut !!!!!

Stuyd 1,

Who is this Justabreaker you mentioned here above, you must have been really annoyed (pissed) when you wrote this post. I didnt take any offence from Peanuts post, he was just pointing out the bleeding obvious and in fairness we did stuff up thanks to the NEAFL now living in the present. I am glad that you and Peanut have kissed and made up - Life is to short to get upset over little things like footy tipping, even if the prize for First is something GREAT WHICH I THINK NOT.

WELL DONE jUSTA FOR YOUR AND THE MEMBERS OF YOUR APPEALS BOARD'S TIME AND EFFORT IN RUNNING THIS VARY GOOD AND CONTROVERSIAL TIPPING COMP, ITS ABOUT THE ONLY FUN THIS THREAD HAS, APART FROM US ALL PUTTING SHYTE ON EACH OTHER AND OUR SUPPORTED TEAMS WHEN EVENTS WARRANT THIS.

Bjelke Jo, Pauline Hansen, Clive Palmer, Bruce Small, Jason Akermanis.....we Mexicans have seen it all from you Queenslanders and we know when to hold up, when to fold up, know when to walk away and know when to run......

Yes, It's all a bit of fun, thanks for the kind words, and let's all unite behind Sydney Uni to take home the flag in September.

I'm passing on your kind words about my astonishing wife to her and, as a result, things are looking promising for the evening to come !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I might be thinking of you all later !

Bjelke Jo, Pauline Hansen, Clive Palmer, Bruce Small, Jason Akermanis.....we Mexicans have seen it all from you Queenslanders and we know when to hold up, when to fold up, know when to walk away and know when to run......

Yes, It's all a bit of fun, thanks for the kind words, and let's all unite behind Sydney Uni to take home the flag in September.

I'm passing on your kind words about my astonishing wife to her and, as a result, things are looking promising for the evening to come !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I might be thinking of you all later !

Justa,

I trust the evening was pleasent and eventfull!!!! You sure know how to open old wounds with the names you mentioned above, the scary part is that 4 out of the five mentioned above are members who have served the Australian public in a parlimentary capacity (apparantly). I wonder how long it will take before Jason makes it 5 out of 5 and jumps on the gravy train also???

Pauline is having another crack at it I see (surley once bitten twice shy) or are some who walk among us just stupid?

I hope for all that your beloved Uni do well (as they have my vote as the only non AFL allined side in Sydney) but even with Jason's help if he was to give it - I think it might be a quite September for your boys. But then again the way my tipping is going I may very well be wrong.

anyone know where finals are played? ie would uni play at scg or drummoyne? is it home ground for the higher finisher? i know none will be played at Manuka this year!

NEAFL 2016