billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
UP THE MIGHTY THUNDER!!!!!

Scotty13,

Glad you have another team to barrack for in the Thunder old mate hang on for the ride, after The Adelaide Crows demolished the hapless Port Adelaide on the weekend - I See Charlie Dixon played a great game in his second game down South (not) thank God you guys signed him and not Freo as he was high on our list of preferred forwards. I hope that Domination comes for you but it might take a few more consistent players to achieve it.

Aug 27, 2007
brisbane
Damo,
Jack Anthony had a great game and he will make a big difference to the Sharks, its a shame the other big signed so called stars did not contribute and the only thing Paynie did deliberately was soak his foot in an ice bath as it burnt up the Graham Road Ground once again, Aspley too strong all over the ground even with some under done players who were blowing big time at the end of the game.

Sounds like you have found a little long lost bro love for the Sharks???? Given what they got away with over the last 20 years of domination in QAFL footy, a few missed decisions yesterday may have been just a little karma.

It's just me giving an opinion. As I didn't watch the game until today

billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
I'll be in on the tipping comp from Round 2

Welcome aboard "getgaff, good to see a fellow West - Coaster involved in the new frontier NEAFL comp, like the classic Leo "De" movie - catch me (and the others who are the current bench mark) if you can!!!!!

justabaraker

Mar 28, 2012
cherrybrook
GWS
Yes, Getgaff, welcome to our little tipping comp....welcome, that is, as long as you don't barrack for Collingwood !!
No, seriously, welcome anyway..............

billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
It's just me giving an opinion. As I didn't watch the game until today

Damo,

No offence taken old mate, a good observation from the stream vision I guess (Watched this vision today and it is most refreshing to listen to Pricey and Bob Batty's un-biased description of the game, unlike some who were quick to condemn or push their agenda via their most biased commentary - Well done boys and good choice of commentators, thank you NEAFL) but being there is so much better, the crowd was fantastic (even though the stream did not show this on reflection), I think most punters (pardon the pun) were in the club rooms keeping cool and their fluids up contributing to the Aspley FC player payment cap on the one push bandits, KENO and Shril's overworked still only 2 TAB machines, (who says local QAFL or NEAFL footy, depending on the clubs structures, can't make any money into the overall club finances'????).

How did the remainder of the list play down at the Seahawks or any of the other games that you may have attended mate, as I have been led to believe, that is were your passion with the up and coming boys lies currently, does this make you one of Blairys forward Scouts?????? Exciting times ahead for the Bumble Bee's I feel.

getgaff

Sep 30, 2010
WA
Liverpool, Miami Heat, Old Easts
Welcome aboard "getgaff, good to see a fellow West - Coaster involved in the new frontier NEAFL comp, like the classic Leo "De" movie - catch me (and the others who are the current bench mark) if you can!!!!!

Yes, Getgaff, welcome to our little tipping comp....welcome, that is, as long as you don't barrack for Collingwood !!
No, seriously, welcome anyway..............

Thanks Billy and Justa. Having recently spent two years in NSW and following the Thunder on NITV over the last couple of years i have got into the NEAFL more closely. Looking forward to another big season ahead

billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
A Question for the educated,

Can someone with some knowledge of how the NEAFL system works, explain how the Sun's (being an AFL side) can name a captain of their reserve side (NEAFL affiliate) who to my knowledge is not a Sun's AFL listed or rookie player, does this now mean that all of the other 3 AFL sides who play in the NEAFL comp can now go and appoint a specialist Captain without using a listed player (all current Captains named in those other 3 AFL affiliated sides are either AFL Listed or rookie players)?

Does this above scenario now affect the eligibility as far as the restricted listed players go when playing non AFL sides?

The reason that I ask this is, it came to my attention when I read an article recently on the Goulburn Valley bigfooty website, where the Sun's newly appointed Captain was actually offered the playing/coaching position at the Echuca Footy Club, the article stated that he was then offered a role which entailed coaching employment experience with the Sun's and also along with this he was also offered the Captains role of the NEAFL side to help the younger players within the group??????

This current situation confuses me, not that this is hard to do - But is there a discrepancy here when it comes to all AFL clubs playing within the NEAFL, comp when a top up player in reality (searching for a better word here) is actually the named Captain of the side every week unless injured or suspended????

thunderdoc

May 27, 2010
dimboola
Brisbane Lions
A Question for the educated,

Can someone with some knowledge of how the NEAFL system works, explain how the Sun's (being an AFL side) can name a captain of their reserve side (NEAFL affiliate) who to my knowledge is not a Sun's AFL listed or rookie player, does this now mean that all of the other 3 AFL sides who play in the NEAFL comp can now go and appoint a specialist Captain without using a listed player (all current Captains named in those other 3 AFL affiliated sides are either AFL Listed or rookie players)?

Does this above scenario now affect the eligibility as far as the restricted listed players go when playing non AFL sides?

The reason that I ask this is, it came to my attention when I read an article recently on the Goulburn Valley bigfooty website, where the Sun's newly appointed Captain was actually offered the playing/coaching position at the Echuca Footy Club, the article stated that he was then offered a role which entailed coaching employment experience with the Sun's and also along with this he was also offered the Captains role of the NEAFL side to help the younger players within the group??????

This current situation confuses me, not that this is hard to do - But is there a discrepancy here when it comes to all AFL clubs playing within the NEAFL, comp when a top up player in reality (searching for a better word here) is actually the named Captain of the side every week unless injured or suspended????

thunderdoc

May 27, 2010
dimboola
Brisbane Lions
Billy

The system works like this - The AFL reserves do as they please. Rules (which are rarely policed) states that an AFL club may nominate a maximum of 2 mature age players (over 23) at start of season. These players are eligible to play if their are 13 or less listed players in the line-up. Looking at the line-up there are probably at least 16 listed players.
Suns last year played Matthew Lappin who was clearly ineligible and then QAFL then allowed him to play finals for Labrador, and Leigh Harding played for Lions. Sam Reid also played for GWS when not a listed player (is now).

In relation to the Suns there are 5 Gold Coast QAFL clubs with lots of under 23s and also half of their Academy side available to fill the list.

Add to this the farcical manner in which the AFL Reserves treat the NEAFL finals and one questions the validity of the comp. It is a huge slap in the face to the volunteers of Qld footy who put in week and week out to be treated with such disdain.

ravenxau

Jun 8, 2013
Footscray Bulldogs - Ballarat Swans
First post here - I'm a Victorian that watches the games on NITV and youtube. Hope it ok to join the tipping a week late..if so...

Round 2

Swans
Southport
Thunder
Aspley
Redland

Ally Craft

Mar 20, 2016
Billy

The system works like this - The AFL reserves do as they please. Rules (which are rarely policed) states that an AFL club may nominate a maximum of 2 mature age players (over 23) at start of season. These players are eligible to play if their are 13 or less listed players in the line-up. Looking at the line-up there are probably at least 16 listed players.
Suns last year played Matthew Lappin who was clearly ineligible and then QAFL then allowed him to play finals for Labrador, and Leigh Harding played for Lions. Sam Reid also played for GWS when not a listed player (is now).

In relation to the Suns there are 5 Gold Coast QAFL clubs with lots of under 23s and also half of their Academy side available to fill the list.

Add to this the farcical manner in which the AFL Reserves treat the NEAFL finals and one questions the validity of the comp. It is a huge slap in the face to the volunteers of Qld footy who put in week and week out to be treated with such disdain.
good reply doc....afl ressies DO do as they like!

big test for Demons this week. i'm looking for a more competitive away showing than last year but I reckon Sthport will be too strong.
GWS v Swans is a tricky tip given the A grade academy kids are away on Nationals. Its hard to know what the top ups are like.
Tips... Southport
Uni
Aspley
Swans
Redlands

am keeping an eye on young Himmelberg for U18 Qld this weekend.

Hornets Nest

Feb 6, 2014
Billy

I'd find it pretty damn hard to question the validity of the competition given the grand finals we've had in the last few years: two of which involved AFL clubs. Seems pretty full on and willing to me.

justabaraker

Mar 28, 2012
cherrybrook
GWS
First post here - I'm a Victorian that watches the games on NITV and youtube. Hope it ok to join the tipping a week late..if so...

Round 2

Swans
Southport
Thunder
Aspley
Redland
Ravenxau, you're also to join our little tipping comp as long as you don't barrack for Collingwood. Western Bullies give you enough accreditation to be in. Good tipping.

justabaraker

Mar 28, 2012
cherrybrook
GWS
I'd find it pretty damn hard to question the validity of the competition given the grand finals we've had in the last few years: two of which involved AFL clubs. Seems pretty full on and willing to me.
The comp is certainly valid for the community clubs but I'm not so sure about the AFL clubs. A couple of seasons ago, the Swans NEAFL coach let slip that they're not fussed about winning the comp because they use NEAFL to finetune their structures and workshop players. They are quite liberal about including and excluding players whether that will improve their chances to win or not.
But, like all topline sportsmen, they get whiteline fever and hate losing, so when the first ball is bounced, they switch on.

ravenxau

Jun 8, 2013
Footscray Bulldogs - Ballarat Swans
Ravenxau, you're also to join our little tipping comp as long as you don't barrack for Collingwood. Western Bullies give you enough accreditation to be in. Good tipping.
NEAFL TIPPING COMP - after week 1

justabaraker.........................................4
Ally Craft...............................................4
Dogwarna..............................................4
Stuyd1..................................................4
Chikka Ferguson.....................................4
getgaff...................................................3
ravenxau.................................................3
TJ Hendricks..........................................2
Billybunter.............................................2
Blackdog32............................................2

Thank for letting me join the tipping and spotting me 3 for round 1....next season will be ready for round 1....Go NEAFL Swans!!!!

Hornets Nest

Feb 6, 2014
The comp is certainly valid for the community clubs but I'm not so sure about the AFL clubs. A couple of seasons ago, the Swans NEAFL coach let slip that they're not fussed about winning the comp because they use NEAFL to finetune their structures and workshop players. They are quite liberal about including and excluding players whether that will improve their chances to win or not.
But, like all topline sportsmen, they get whiteline fever and hate losing, so when the first ball is bounced, they switch on.
Just a" did you see the reaction of the Swans NEAFL coach after the loss. Looked a bit like sheep stations we're. The line to me. He found it hard to bring himself to shaking J Blair's hand.

AND I agree wholeheartedly with your comment re community clubs. They make up over a half of the comp. I just hope that some on the thread can just give up on the whole "farcical" crap? It's getting boring.

Not you Justa. I enjoy the Southern banter. Keep it up.