Stuyd1.................................................18....2...20
peanut.................................................17....3...20
Billybunter............................................16....3...19
getgaff................................................16....3...19
ravenxau..............................................16....2...18
Blackdog32...........................................15...**...16
TJ Hendricks.........................................13...**...14
Dogwarna.............................................11....*...12

Blackdog and TJHendricks have missed two weeks of selections - miss this week and they are eliminated

Was a cracking game between Redlands and Southport today. They have a habit of playing in absolute thrillers. You would have been happy early if you tipped Southport, they were all over the Bombers. Redlands stuck at it though and clawed their way back into the game. Enthralling finish, and great atmosphere at the ground.

sounds like it was a ripper peanut.
saw aspley v demons. perfect day at manuka. aspley too big, talented and drilled beautifully. it was one of the best teams ive seen at around this level.
demons did press in 3rd qtr to get within 12 points but aspley hit another gear.
i had a chat with Blair before the game and went to aspley huddles. that man is unbelievable. his philosophy/game plan is simple. he expects everyone to play a role and wasnt afraid to tell anyone (ie sainsbury)if they werent sticking to it. no shouting etc just calm and clear. i wanted to play for him!
he made an interesting observation re brisbane AFL clubs not engaging well with the brisbane 3 community sides. he felt that gws and swans encouraged young developing talent to go to Demons / Syd Uni etc. whereas in Brisbane the 2 AFL clubs actually tried to "hide"(his word) players. he felt that didnt help either the community clubs in aspley redlands and southport or the player themselves.
that is certainly true in the canberra region gws academy kids all encouraged to go to the demons. after all not all players in academies will be drafted.

lastly i noted that aspley had some terrific mature players all around the ground. their voices were fantastic all day. like having 6 or so coaches out on the ground. that exposed demons youth i reckon

sounds like it was a ripper peanut.
saw aspley v demons. perfect day at manuka. aspley too big, talented and drilled beautifully. it was one of the best teams ive seen at around this level.
demons did press in 3rd qtr to get within 12 points but aspley hit another gear.
i had a chat with Blair before the game and went to aspley huddles. that man is unbelievable. his philosophy/game plan is simple. he expects everyone to play a role and wasnt afraid to tell anyone (ie sainsbury)if they werent sticking to it. no shouting etc just calm and clear. i wanted to play for him!
he made an interesting observation re brisbane AFL clubs not engaging well with the brisbane 3 community sides. he felt that gws and swans encouraged young developing talent to go to Demons / Syd Uni etc. whereas in Brisbane the 2 AFL clubs actually tried to "hide"(his word) players. he felt that didnt help either the community clubs in aspley redlands and southport or the player themselves.
that is certainly true in the canberra region gws academy kids all encouraged to go to the demons. after all not all players in academies will be drafted.

lastly i noted that aspley had some terrific mature players all around the ground. their voices were fantastic all day. like having 6 or so coaches out on the ground. that exposed demons youth i reckon
The two Qld AFL clubs are genuinely clueless !! They go on and on about not being able to retain talent, and want concessions in their cap etc to make up for this, yet players like Oxley, Smith, Wagner etc. end up at Victorian clubs. They are dead set clueless, and the club drafters must spend every day on the beach or something, cos they certainly don't go and watch games of footy. I told a lot of people how good Smith was while at Redlands, and it is no surprise to see him do well at Collingwood.

Totally agree with your comment above Pea Nut,

I spoke in passing at a NEAFL game a couple of years ago, with a recruiting employee of an AFL Club (I will not divulge who he was or the club of his employment at that time) when he made the comment that Corey Wagner was an absolute jet at 16yoa (which I also agreed with) but his brother Josh would struggle In His Opinion at an AFL level, which I totally disagreed with. That type of comment is what I considered and still consider to be Pigeon Holing!!!!! Too much of this unfortunately has been and is still being done.

I told him at the time not to be too quick to overlook a lad of 20yoa who was growing with talent and ability in the NEAFL every week, so now I am just so glad that Josh has gone on and broken those shackles with the Dee's, that one AFL so called expert had locked him in. *Footnote* to this, is neither of the Wagner boys arrived at the club he was working for at the time last year.

The amount of Qld born talent drafted since the creation of the Sun's, that have been missed by our two Qld sides and then gone to all other non Qld states is mind blowing, I keep harping on about opportunity given or lack of this, not given and that is all it is to any player who shows he has something special to offer who are then pigeon holed, but it mostly all comes down to the games that these young guys play in the youth U/16 & U/18 carnivals each year, some but not most drafted, go on to become good or even great players, a lot of these draftees play for 1 or 2 years and then leave the system bewildered and confused as 19 or early twenty something year olds who have been told early in their junior life that they could be future champions of the game, but leave it with only memories and thoughts of things that could have been.

My argument has always been that 17 and 18yo players are still just kids, who most have just left school, met their first real girlfriend and then some are having real trouble adjusting to life. As the past and current Lions and Sun's NEAFL Teams has shown, I am not sure how many other clubs have the same trouble, seem too young to play in a competition albeit a State League like NEAFL, VFL, SANFL, WAFL or even the AFL, against much bigger and older bodies playing for their own lively hoods week in and week out.

Mature age kids being drafted at say 20 - 23yoa or even older makes so much more sense to me, this gives these chosen players time to work out if they really do love the game to a point that they are willing to give it a chance to work as their full time employment and know that they can mix it at the levels chosen, but unfortunately this wont happen anytime soon, as the brains trust at the AFL don't want to lose the advantage of offering these kids and their visions of grandeur parents, a chance to make the time and effort put in pay off big, by getting the drop on these kids before they can make some real informed choices about the direction for their future lives in general. The average playing stats, so I have been told for most drafted players is about 20 - 60 senior AFL Games over an average of a 5 year period. This if it is an average for say 100 players each year does, not exactly set a player up for life.

I always remember what a good friend of mine who played over 150 VFL (pre AFL) games, once said to me when I asked why he did not encourage his young fellow on to an AFL career. His answer was firstly he felt he was not quite good enough to make it as champion of the game and told him bluntly so why bother, he could get as much enjoyment playing at a local club with his mates (which I disagreed with) and secondly he said he strongly encouraged him to go as hard as he could in his education, then to get into Uni and take up a a law degree because once he set himself up financially (which he well and truly did), he could buy an AFL Club (at that time you could until good old Doc Edelstein put pay to that opportunity) not just play at one.

This good friend of mine to this day I admire so much as a true realist and a true parent, as he told his boy how it really was, in doing this, he probably broke his boys heart by giving him this frank above advice, but then again it was this advice he took from one who truly loved him, to this day I wonder was he saved from much heart ache in his current life, if his then dream of following in his Dad's foot steps did not come true? Or is his heart filled with achievement to listen to his Dad's advice and then go on and find great success to date. I have not asked this question of him, as I think and hope the latter is the answer he will give me.

From the time of of being told the above story, I have always believed that "You can find greatness in whatever you choose to do - Only if the opportunity is given for greatness to find you"

i agree smy....plenty of examples of 18yo draftees still "developing" at VFL, SANFL, NEAFL level for some years, yet 1 pre season into Josh Smith or Vandenberg or Wagner sees them not only getting AFL games but featuring in best players.

NEAFL TIPPING COMP - after week 7

Ally Craft...............................................23...4....27
Chikka Ferguson....................................21....4...25
justabaraker.........................................21....4....25
Stuyd1.................................................20....4....24
peanut.................................................20....4....24
getgaff................................................19....4.....23
Billybunter............................................19....3....22
ravenxau..............................................18....4...22

NEAFL 2016