NEAFL 2017

Watched Redlands vs Southport today ,, my first viewing of a Neafl game this season ,,,
Very scrappy game with a lot of poor skills in the kicking area.( for this level ).. Redlands just far to quick all over the ground ,, made Southport look slow.
Southport ,, well I couldnt believe their game plan ,, all out of sorts , continually going backwards and sideways when in possession of the pill.. Is their list that lacking or is it that they are not coached well ????

Watched Redlands vs Southport today ,, my first viewing of a Neafl game this season ,,,
Very scrappy game with a lot of poor skills in the kicking area.( for this level ).. Redlands just far to quick all over the ground ,, made Southport look slow.
Southport ,, well I couldnt believe their game plan ,, all out of sorts , continually going backwards and sideways when in possession of the pill.. Is their list that lacking or is it that they are not coached well ????

Hey Stuyd I watched them play a months back against Redlands and the list looked just fine then. They won well in NT last week too. Didn't watch yesterday but it sounds like you answered your own question with them continually going backwards or sideways.
The coach must be in some strife you'd reckon.

Tipping ladder after Round 14

GRIMLOCK..........................43.....4.....47
STUYD...............................42.....4.....46
ALLYCRAFT.........................41.....3.....44
PEANUT.............................39......4....43
JUSTABARAKER..................35.....3.....38

I was in Melbourne for the weekend and had the opportunity to watch a Northern Football League prem div match between two middlers (Bundoora and Heidelberg for anyone who is interested). Northern Football League is one of the top five or six suburban comps in Melbourne.
From what I saw on a dry day, light wind, firm track, I would reckon that middle level Melbourne suburban footy is somewhere about the standard of a NEAFL game between two good non-AFL NEAFL teams.
I think our comp has a long way to go to be up there with the best.

A few weeks ago, a pretty solid NEAFL Rep team beat Tassie by just a few goals so perhaps we are thereabouts with Tasmanian footy.
I was interested in Stuyd1's observations of Redland v Southport, which again painted the picture of a middling standard comp.

This is not meant to be bagging out NEAFL ( I very much enjoy following it) but rather to get some kind of gauge of how we're tracking. For what it's worth, I would say that some of our local Sydney guys have been taken up to a new level by playing NEAFL.

By comparing us to the big footy (AFL), I see that our comp is evening up a bit like the AFL is this year, but that the standard might have slipped a bit, like I reckon has happened in AFL this year.

I'd be interested to hear your comments but I wouldn't anyone to get too aggro about it because we're comparing apples and oranges and everyone's opinion is just a valid as mine.....you just have to see how I'm tracking in the tipping comp to know how good I am when it comes knowing our game !!

They tell me that a good Northern FL prem div player is getting $800 - $1000 per game (which might be blurred a bit by the employment he is offered by a club sponsor).
Is anyone in the non-AFL NEAFL getting anywhere near that ?

They tell me that a good Northern FL prem div player is getting $800 - $1000 per game (which might be blurred a bit by the employment he is offered by a club sponsor).
Is anyone in the non-AFL NEAFL getting anywhere near that ?

Justabraker,
from what I know and have heard there would be quite a few getting this sort of money ..... Im aware of some players being on $ 1500 a game !!!!

Justabraker,
from what I know and have heard there would be quite a few getting this sort of money ..... Im aware of some players being on $ 1500 a game !!!!
a mates son is playing for Douta Stars in the Essendon District FL....hes on $900 per game. played Rams footy in 2012 and is an OK player...no star.

BUT....hes got to buy about $400 worth of raffle tickets each week at the club!

On another issue, Brisbane Lions won 3 AFL flags Swans won 1 and been thereabouts for Christ knows how long, all with their reserves playing in the Brisbane or Sydney/Canberra local comps.

a mates son is playing for Douta Stars in the Essendon District FL....hes on $900 per game. played Rams footy in 2012 and is an OK player...no star.
BUT....hes got to buy about $400 worth of raffle tickets each week at the club!.

So, you'd better tell us about the rest of his deal...if he wins the raffle, does he get CASH to replenish what he bought in raffle tickets ? Does he win 20 meat trays ? Or do they redraw ?
If he doesn't win then I guess he is just the loser of the week.

dunno exactly JB...hes got to sell a certain amount of $50 tickets each week.....hes also just been told that the club is over the salary cap and all players have to take a 20% haircut!

Something along these lines ??

2441ECBC00000578-2886563-image-m-13_1419455910626.jpg

Tipping ladder after Round 15

GRIMLOCK..........................47....5....52
STUYD...............................46....5.....51
ALLYCRAFT.........................44....4....48
PEANUT.............................43....4.....47
JUSTABARAKER..................38....4.....42

NEAFL 2017