NEAFL 2017

smy1305

Jan 27, 2011
Buderim
Gold Coast
Might agree to disagree then peanut. The less the club sides play against the afl sides the harder it will be for recruiters to get a line across potential players who may be good enough to play at the next level. Baker was drafted bc he showed his abilities vs afl players, not club players. If an aspley bloke towels up a listed player then this will stand him in far better stead than pantsing a Redlands bloke imo.

justabaraker

Mar 28, 2012
cherrybrook
GWS
Which unfortunately makes it more difficult for non afl players to be drafted as they play against the afl players less.
I don't know how life operates north of the Tweed, but for us down in God's country Mexico, afl footy is a fishbowl.
Good talent is identified pretty much in the womb and the recruiters know EXACTLY who's around (mostly via Rep footy) and they are corralled at birth into Academies and other talent spotting places.
By the time they get to senior club footy age, they've pretty much been taken out of the system and into Swans or Giants NEAFL, or drafted, or left behind as 'rejects'. Or at least there's a 'watch' on them. The best are playing NEAFL already, or biding their time in club footy.

They'd be kidding themselves to think they'd fly under the radar. Because they're such BIG fish in such a SMALL pond.

When NEAFL started in Sydney, we had an influx of hopeful out-of-towner fortune seekers, who fancied themselves as being picked up by the fledgling GWS GIANTS. And you can be sure they were tracked and observed. Now they come to us from the NSW catchment areas via junior footy and the academies.

You'd be a freak to be teleported in like Mr Bean, unexpected and unnoticed, and then escape the gaze of AFL recruiters.

Name names if you can think of anyone who has slipped through the net..I bet there was a black mark against their name (chronic injury, attitude, personality conflicts, etc)

billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
Aspley and Sourhport in bidding war for Andrew Swallow.

He will be a good edition to the League.

Well its official - Andrew Swallow is now a Hornet in 2018, what a great get !!!!! That is some recruiting by the Club, to out bid Southport in all areas is a major coop for our negotiators at the Bumble Bees!!! Along with Jake Spencer joining and Johno Freeman returning, these guys will hopefully ease the blow outs suffered over the last few year's against the full listed AFL Reserve sides + Academy players. With our new facilities at the club and an ex AFL Captain in our mix, there seems like exciting time ahead from the NEAFL Team from the Northern Suburbs of Brisbane.

pinocchio

Apr 7, 2009
Congratulations on a great signing billy boy, but out bidding Southport to get him is a little of the money.. He signed at Aspley because 1. His best friend Ben Matthews plays there and the wifes are very close. 2. He only has to travel down the M1 to training once a week 3. He gets to travel mid season on a holiday. Southport wanted him to train 3 nights like everyone else and didn't like the idea of him going on a holiday mid season ! Spencer if playing all year is a massive pick up, will be the best ruckman in the league, swallow would be the best mid even with 10 games played one would think!

billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
Congratulations on a great signing billy boy, but out bidding Southport to get him is a little of the money.. He signed at Aspley because 1. His best friend Ben Matthews plays there and the wifes are very close. 2. He only has to travel down the M1 to training once a week 3. He gets to travel mid season on a holiday. Southport wanted him to train 3 nights like everyone else and didn't like the idea of him going on a holiday mid season ! Spencer if playing all year is a massive pick up, will be the best ruckman in the league, swallow would be the best mid even with 10 games played one would think!

Mmmm,

Maybe in that scenario painted pinocchio, its not all good as it looks: Another to take a mid season holiday and only one night a week training Gee's reverting back to "Camp Hornet" What is wrong with taking a holiday in the off season?????? I suppose if he and a few of the top line players take a break throughout the season, this will balance the books to allow the not so esteemed of our players to get paid for their services and keep that old elephant in the room "Salary Cap" sustained.

Anyway even with the points you raised mate, he is still a great get, he will be a big help to Blairy and I am sure the great J.B. will get some up to date thoughts on the current leadership qualities required to stay in front of the pack.

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
Mmmm,

Maybe in that scenario painted pinocchio, its not all good as it looks: Another to take a mid season holiday and only one night a week training Gee's reverting back to "Camp Hornet" What is wrong with taking a holiday in the off season?????? I suppose if he and a few of the top line players take a break throughout the season, this will balance the books to allow the not so esteemed of our players to get paid for their services and keep that old elephant in the room "Salary Cap" sustained.

Anyway even with the points you raised mate, he is still a great get, he will be a big help to Blairy and I am sure the great J.B. will get some up to date thoughts on the current leadership qualities required to stay in front of the pack.

Billy.
I hear he has a job with the Suns and is living in Byron Bay !!!!!!
Long way to travel even for only one training night a week , you may only get 6 games or so out of him , like Broadbeach did this season with Eddie Sansbury.!

billybunter

Mar 12, 2012
Caboolture
Billy.
I hear he has a job with the Suns and is living in Byron Bay !!!!!!
Long way to travel even for only one training night a week , you may only get 6 games or so out of him , like Broadbeach did this season with Eddie Sansbury.!

Negotiations for players services has not been one of our strongest attributes stuyd1, mid season sabbatical's etc, has always been a given as part of our better players arrangements - You have to remember our footy manager is an ex Collingwood player, if what has been reported is correct it looks like we might have a few on the holiday roster system to head overseas this year. 6, as you recon games at least wont break the bank as far as salary cap goes and I would imagine that there will be a few sportsman's lunches to be had to capitalize on costs through out the year, so all and all not a bad result, he brings a lot of experience to our side in more ways than one. some of the younger guys might have to carry a photo around of him so they know who he is if the run into him at training (when he is there apparently). Oh well at least we hopefully wont get smashed this year by the AFL reserve sides when we play them - Until finals time that is!!!!!!

smy1305

Jan 27, 2011
Buderim
Gold Coast
I agree B.B. (and we don’t do that a lot! ). Strange recruiting unless it is for an alterior motive bc like you and others have said, barely there. Hard to have an impact if you aren’t there a lot. Might be surprised too of the standard of footy, not sure he will be able to float in and dominate. It’s better than div 2 suburban footy in Melbourne!
Anyway time will tell. Hats off to Southport for sticking to guns. Reckon Jono will do well for you.

Basher101

Rookie
May 12, 2017
Brisbane Lions
Sharks will be big improvers this season with the proven combination of Fields and Daniels with the able back up of Skinny Lappin and Aaron Cornelius. Looks as though there has been some big player movement & rightfully so, if the previous players couldn’t get the job done then move along. Daniels is big on attitude and won’t put up with big heads who don’t perform on a Saturday, which has looked the norm at the Sharks in recent seasons, along with copious amounts of hair gel and teeth whitening.

Super Paradise

Mar 21, 2017
Sharks will be big improvers this season with the proven combination of Fields and Daniels with the able back up of Skinny Lappin and Aaron Cornelius. Looks as though there has been some big player movement & rightfully so, if the previous players couldn’t get the job done then move along. Daniels is big on attitude and won’t put up with big heads who don’t perform on a Saturday, which has looked the norm at the Sharks in recent seasons, along with copious amounts of hair gel and teeth whitening.

Agree Sharks will improve - more so initially because of a draw that makes the competition mickey mouse.
They have had a clean out at the end of each of the last 3 seasons. How long do you keep blaming players and or coaches.

Basher101

Rookie
May 12, 2017
Brisbane Lions
Agree Sharks will improve - more so initially because of a draw that makes the competition mickey mouse.
They have had a clean out at the end of each of the last 3 seasons. How long do you keep blaming players and or coaches.

Same coach for the past few seasons and can’t of been easy to sell that coach to potential gun recruits.
A proven coach and footy manager now, I reckon you’ll see a vastly different outfit.