Family & Relationships Need advice - Help - Violent drunk neighbour - Death threats

Remember: Cops don't care about this kind of thing, because it's "work" for them.

Police are usually fairly inept individuals, who rather than head something like this off early, would prefer your mentally ill neighbour to go on a rampage, and ultimately get shot by police.

The police do not equal the law. They are just security guards and most of them don't understand the law at all.

Don't take no for an answer from the pigs,

Strong paranoia is strong:thumbsu:

Also, neighbour deserves some credit for becoming alcoholic by 22. Usually takes years of practice.

Remember: Cops don't care about this kind of thing, because it's "work" for them.

Police are usually fairly inept individuals, who rather than head something like this off early, would prefer your mentally ill neighbour to go on a rampage, and ultimately get shot by police.

The police do not equal the law. They are just security guards and most of them don't understand the law at all.

Don't take no for an answer from the pigs, get the reports filed and statements made because when this goes to court - and it will - those reports are going to form the basis of your evidence against this neighbour. You'll be able to demonstrate a history of behaviour that will be very hard to defend as a 'once off brain snap' like most assaults.

The main thing in assault is that there is an apprehension of physical harm. If he makes threats to assault you, and you believe it (the belief is the key thing) to be true - that's assault. Considering he's already done it repeatedly, you need only get evidence of him making the threat again.

And likewise, if he goes after your mum I highly doubt any court is going to convict you for beating the shit out of him.

The bolded lines normally come from petty criminal mouths....who think they're hard done by because cops took their alcohol off them on the street or something...

But agree with the rest

A friend of a friend was an old bloke that had 2-3 smart arse neighbors that were very rude inconsiderate people, who played music all night and acted aggressively around the neighborhood, and would not act in a more neighborly fashion, even when approached in a respectful and considerate manner.

The friend of a friend was then given the number of a group of local motorcycle enthusiasts and upon arranging to meet them, they informed him that, for a small donation towards the Christmas party, they would arrange to have "a chat" with his unruly neighbors and try to show them the errors of their ways.

The donation was made, the rude neighbors received a thorough "talking to" and the friend of a friend was informed by one of the motorcycle enthusiasts that if they had to return their service would be free of charge.

The motorcycle enthusiasts were obviously very good "talkers" because never had to return.

Last night, at about 1am, I was watching TV with my mum, while my brother was asleep in his room.

Out of no where, I hear our electricity box outside manually open (it had no lock) - the electricity switch was then shut off, and the box was then closed. All of this was heard clearly by me.

A few seconds later, upon telling my mum that someone switched our electricity off (now being pitch black in the house) as well as instructing her to wake my brother up - we hear someone try to open the security door outside.

At this point, we can hardly see anything or move - we used our mobiles as our only source of light and grabbed any sharp knives we could find, and called the police immediately. We waited, whilst keeping silent, in the middle of the living room, for the police to arrive. It took them almost 30 minutes to rock up.

At this point we are fairly confident that it was the neighbour (black male), most likely drunk due to receiving his centrelink payment, that had done this as a form of retaliation for what happened on Friday.

We noticed that the electricity box was tampered with and the police had a look around the house and walked by the neighbour's place. Since the neighbour was very known to these police officers due to being charged numerous times, they suggested that he may have gotten very drunk and decided to walk out and cause trouble. To me, it seems strange that someone drunk would realize to open the box and switch all the electricity off, but fair enough, the police said it wasn't an offence to manually switch a house's electricity off and were still unable to do anything about him - deciding upon not waking the neighbour up if he were to have been home. This might have been a good idea since he could just as easily deny everything and then come back for round 2 when the police leave.

Whilst they suggested to give them a call if anything else happened during the night, I had a friend drive over to our place and give us a view of our house from the outside (in case the neighbour returned after the police had left), but luckily there was no one.

I was very cautious because I assumed that one of the reasons to switch off all the electricity in the house could either be to,

• Startle me into coming outside so late at night (to flick the electricity switch back), and thus, hitting me or causing me serious harm from a surprise attack.
  • Disable the automatic light in front of the house, so that if he were to try and break in, it would be done so in darkness.
  • Turn the light off in case we're sleeping and try to open the door to enter in pitch black.

At the moment, since it's Monday, we have decided to explore options such as obtaining a restraining order as soon as possible (hopefully with the help of the police) and find the quickest possible avenue to finding a new place. We are currently renting with public housing (not private) - which means it would be quite a slow process in either finding a new place or swapping with someone asap. I suggested private homes, since it would be quick to enable a move, but would lose all of our government assistance, forever, as we do not possess a high enough income.

In the meantime, I have not had much sleep due to last night, as a result of keeping a watchful eye until sunrise as my brother and my mum (partly) gained some sleep. Luckily no one returned.

At times, I am quite scared to live. I've noticed that my mum has become increasingly cautious about things (she was never like this before) and I can't leave either my brother or mum alone at the house at night. We are planning to lock the electricity box as soon as possible.

Anyway, I just want to say that I have appreciated all of your advice so far guys, and I will still be reading for more - it is good to know that there are people like you all that care about your fellow aussie and it makes me feel like I'm not alone here. I really hope to be safe through this tough time as I just want me and my family to keep living another day. Please wish me luck and thank you all so much for the continued help. I hope to keep you updated as soon as I can. Again, I can never thank you all enough (especially since I write so much).

Actually my Expendables bowie knife just arrived, that thing would go through my entire chest no worries and the other bloke wouldn't even get their hands dirty :thumbsu:

Seriously though, if someone is giving you trouble and you reckon they are serious, waving anything considered a weapon in front of somebody will either a) Back away, probably while continuing to shout and rant and threaten, or b) Move to attack.

No drunken idiot is gonna wait for you to make the first move when you already have the upper hand.

Haha ok Arnie.

If you end up having to use it you're up for murder.

And statistically, there's every chance you end up getting stabbed with it yourself.

Okay, firstly ignore all the heroes advocating you and your family to fight back physically. That might be okay if you are that way inclined or built for it but it sounds like you aren't and that's nothing to be ashamed about.

Secondly, you have no idea what this guy is capable of (especially considering he has substance issues and a mental illness) or if he has family/friends who are likely to want to get involved as well.

My advice is to see as many people as you can about the issue.
That means:

*all 3 of you turning up at the local police station and demanding to speak to the highest ranked officer there. Get assurances from him or her. Get a special phone number off them. If they appear wishy washy or non committal, state that if anything at all happens to you then you will be seeing a lawyer and taking action.

*speak to your local State MP. Go through the same process as above. If you can, organise a meeting between the police, the MP (or staffers) and yourselves.

*speak to the Dept of Housing. Again outline that either next door moves or they find another residence for you. Give them a deadline and state as above that if anything at all happens to your family between now and until either of you move, then you will be taking legal action.

*speak to a lawyer. Slater & Gordon and co would probably be interested in something like this and would give you advice.

In short, you have to get on the front foot and start talking to people. My best recommendation is wherever possible organise face to face meetings instead of over the phone as its too easy to de-personalise issue over the phone.

I feel for you - horrible situation to be in.

Good luck.

Learn Krav Maga or brazilian jiu jitsu at least, and watch as much UFC as you can! :thumbsu: Failing that, just get this bloke to stay at your house for protection!

134_Alistair_Overeem_large.jpg

Learn Krav Maga or brazilian jiu jitsu at least, and watch as much UFC as you can! :thumbsu: Failing that, just get this bloke to stay at your house for protection!

134_Alistair_Overeem_large.jpg
which is the guy, the black guy or the trans thats standing directly behind him?

:p

<ul>Startle me into coming outside so late at night (to flick the electricity switch back), and thus, hitting me or causing me serious harm from a surprise attack.

Thats probably the first thing I would have done if the power went off. And I would of got smashed haha. Good on you for having your wits about you.

which is the guy, the black guy or the trans thats standing directly behind him?

:p
trans would probably give similar level of fight, but cause confusion and paralasys in the opponent allowing first blow (no pun). Go the tran dog for protection.

But on the topic, as nice as beating the crap out of this bloke would be, try not to do it. Self defence can quickly turn into manslaughter, especially is he's drunk and without good reactions and motor skills to protect his head on the fall. Secondly, he's obviously missing some tools and may just do something either during the ass whooping or after that's at a level you don't want to go to.

You really do sound like you need legal assistance as the authorities are fobbing you off. Failing that, you really need to DEMAND that something be done, don't leave the station without it.

Lastly, this sounds like a current affair episode.......call them as the 'abusive neighbour' season starts soon.

Yeah, AVO now, move out later. Don't waste time with the AVO. Do it straight away, as it forces the cops to do something.

As a general memo to the thread,
LouisCK is right; cops can be ****ing lazy, especially in areas with lots of public housing. If you were being harassed in Toorak, it would be a different story.

unfortunately, as you know, getting out quickly is obviously easier said than done if you're in public housing, but start the process now. Talk to the department about your problems, although the issue of tenants ending up with utter psychopaths as neighbours is unfortunately pretty common, I fear.

And give a lawyer a call today. If you can't afford one, call legal aid. They offer free legal advice, and are much better placed to help you than posters here.

And don't fight the guy or threaten him.

Send a letter to the Hells Angels claiming to be him and state in that letter that you know a lot of information and unless they give you $$$'s you will be going to the cops or their opposition with the relevant information.

Before you know it all your problems will be solved.

Haha ok Arnie.

If you end up having to use it you're up for murder.

And statistically, there's every chance you end up getting stabbed with it yourself.

This was my very point..........but you know, he probably paints his face black and ties a headband on each night before he jumps into his racecar bed.

If you decide to fight back/protect yourself you should find somewhere that does combat training.

Even a tiny amount of training will give you a massive advantage over 70%+ of people who go out and get into fights.

have you tried hitting him?

Pop_Thumbs_Up_medium.png

Seriously though, can't really say anything that hasn't been said. Only thing I could think of if it gets physical again is to kick him in the legs or something, take away his ability to move without too much risk

Public housing, black male, severe alcohol problem, acts of violence.... This guy is sounding more and more like Kev the Kiwi off the SBS series "Housos."

The bolded lines normally come from petty criminal mouths....who think they're hard done by because cops took their alcohol off them on the street or something...

But agree with the rest

Disagree.

There is literally decades upon decades of history to suggest Vic Pol is a thoroughly corrupt and horribly inept organisation.

Personal example: At a 21st at a private function hall, we had a large number (approx 20) local station thugs wanting to gatecrash. We called the cops (local police station was literally 600m down the road) 4 times over two hours, they never showed up. The station hangers weren't leaving for whatever reason, and eventually an all in brawl erupted involving knives, bats, planks of wood and tire irons.

45 minutes after the culmination of an almighty beating being perpetrated on the attempted gatecrashers, three police vans arrive and start harassing the people who were actually invited to the party, trying to lock people up and basically accusing THEM of being in the wrong because a number of weapons were found on the ground (brought by the gatecrashers, no less).

They are worse than useless.

A friend of a friend was an old bloke that had 2-3 smart arse neighbors that were very rude inconsiderate people, who played music all night and acted aggressively around the neighborhood, and would not act in a more neighborly fashion, even when approached in a respectful and considerate manner.

The friend of a friend was then given the number of a group of local motorcycle enthusiasts and upon arranging to meet them, they informed him that, for a small donation towards the Christmas party, they would arrange to have "a chat" with his unruly neighbors and try to show them the errors of their ways.

The donation was made, the rude neighbors received a thorough "talking to" and the friend of a friend was informed by one of the motorcycle enthusiasts that if they had to return their service would be free of charge.

The motorcycle enthusiasts were obviously very good "talkers" because never had to return.

Have heard similiar stories - in one case a guy had a teenage daughter who was receiving a lot of "highly inappropriate attention" from a nearby neighbour. He similiarly made a donation to a group of motorcycle enthusiasts who then convinced said neighbour to direct his attentions elsewhere.

The problem with doing this is that once you've made such a donation, you've established a relationship with the motorcycle enthusiasts, and they may come back in the future, "asking" you to do them a favour...