Mags

Suspended
Collingwood and Newcastle
Ok at the moment Im not at a normal mainstream school but at a school that is for kids that dont fit in at normal schools.

We dont do normal subjects at our school then we would at a normal mainstream school.

Now my dilema is........ Do I go back too a normal mainstream school and get a good vce score there or stay at the school Im now at and be stuck wondering did I waste my time there and I regret it.

VCE is offered at my school but I dont like the chances of me doing too good if I stayed there.

At the moment Im still not too sure what I wanna do as a career, So Im Confused.

BTW as well does anyone have any career sites that tell ya what you have too do too get into that career etc....

Mags they had that when i went to school..it used to be called General Education..and it was a free-er way of education and learning. Worked for some of the students but didnt work for lots of others.

Id recommend the normal school for VCE.

Could end up back in a school uniform by the looks of this :(

Mags

mags,

you should do whatever you want in life.

If ya don't wanna go back to normal schoolign dont do it. But dont do it because its the easy way out.

Let life bring you to whereveer u want it.Trust me, its not working for me, but maybe for you.. :)

Its boring as hell, really academic, and a hard joyless slog

But nothing matches that piece of paper Mags ...

Even if you have no idea what you wanna do with your working life, believe me mate, having a qualification is good insurance if nothing else.

cheers

Hi Mags, I empathize with your dilemma, it's a tough choice to make.
You might want to look around at what some of the "normal/mainstream" schools have to offer in the way of not-normal classes.

You'd be surprised at what alot of the high schools are now offering in the way of subjects that are far from the home ec, graphic arts and shop classes that were around in my day.

One of our local high schools has for the last few years geared itself away from the mainstream subjects and now offering the more "sports minded" students an opportunity to go down that road. They have excellence programs for both Rugby League and Soccer that have been undertaken for a few years, and more recently this year, an AFL program where they gear the students to become professional footballers. Aside from this, for the students who have the "brains" but not the ability to become professional athletes, but still want to be involved in the sports aspect of thing, they offer alot of sports administration, sports management, sports medicine kinds of programs. And the best thing is that these subjects are accredited as viable subjects to complete your VCE.

I'm sure that these types of programs aren't isolated to a few schools in Queensland. Maybe it might be worth your while to see what some of your local schools have to offer in the way of non-mainstream subjects.

Mags, I would suggest going back to school and doing your VCE, but it is up to you. We all hated doing VCE but we all did survive it and it will give you more options. But you are going to have to want to go back for it to work.

Go for the VCE and a degree. They are both meaningless but open doors for your future.

Go private if possible. They teach with accountability at these schools ie, if the teacher is crap he gets fired, unlike state schools.

Finally, if you learn well and become an intelligent, learned, responsible person you will see the light and becom a WCE member ( and enjoy Chardonnay) :)

Originally posted by FunkyBlue
Hi Mags, I empathize with your dilemma, it's a tough choice to make.
You might want to look around at what some of the "normal/mainstream" schools have to offer in the way of not-normal classes.

You'd be surprised at what alot of the high schools are now offering in the way of subjects that are far from the home ec, graphic arts and shop classes that were around in my day.

One of our local high schools has for the last few years geared itself away from the mainstream subjects and now offering the more "sports minded" students an opportunity to go down that road. They have excellence programs for both Rugby League and Soccer that have been undertaken for a few years, and more recently this year, an AFL program where they gear the students to become professional footballers. Aside from this, for the students who have the "brains" but not the ability to become professional athletes, but still want to be involved in the sports aspect of thing, they offer alot of sports administration, sports management, sports medicine kinds of programs. And the best thing is that these subjects are accredited as viable subjects to complete your VCE.

I'm sure that these types of programs aren't isolated to a few schools in Queensland. Maybe it might be worth your while to see what some of your local schools have to offer in the way of non-mainstream subjects.

Well I wanna get into sports administration and today I found out I can do it 3 ways....

Go Back Too Mainstream School
Traineship or Tafe

Thanks for the help all. :)

Mags

Originally posted by Beausgirl43
I reakon you'd look kinda cute in a school uniform Brock.

;) :D ;) :D

cheers...

Cute.... Thats what u call it?

Me and school uniform just dont agree with each other. I dont feel myself in it either.

When I did wear a uniform...... It use too be a non school uniform jumper and skate shoes. You wouldnt see me dead in a freakin uniform and jumper and school shoes.

Mags

Mags, this will be from the heart mate, and I'll be serious for the entire post, in life there will be a number of unfair things happen to you.
One of them is that you will need to make a decision, at a young age, on something that will impinge upon your entire life, do you continue on with your schooling? do you go to a higher level of schooling? do you go onto university? even what courses do you choose?
None of these questions on a 16 year old are fair, none of them are easy, do you take the easy options, or do you challenge yourself, do you strive for excellence, do you push yourself to be the very best you can be?
When you go to the footy, and you see a Collingwood player being slack, are you angry with him for not pushing himself? of course you are, you can tell when a player is being slack, you can tell when a player has not pushed himself to his absolute limits.
What happens when you see a slack player, you get angry at him, and rightly so.
Imagine then your parents, your teachers, they can see a bright young man, with a future in front of him that is only limited by how hard he is willing to push himself.
Mags, are you wanting a future that means you take the hard decisions now?
Will you push yourself academically to achieve everything in life that you are capable of?
Or Mags, will you wait till you are 45 years old, and reflect then upon the decisions that were open 30 years earlier, and think to yourself, ****, I wasted my life, I could have done so much

Mags, do you want a future that will be full of regrets, or a future that will be difficult, but one where you can ALWAYS say that you have tried your best

What do you reckon Buckley would do, would he take the soft options, or would he try his guts out?

Mags, this will be from the heart mate, and I'll be serious for the entire post, in life there will be a number of unfair things happen to you.
One of them is that you will need to make a decision, at a young age, on something that will impinge upon your entire life, do you continue on with your schooling? do you go to a higher level of schooling? do you go onto university? even what courses do you choose?
None of these questions on a 16 year old are fair, none of them are easy, do you take the easy options, or do you challenge yourself, do you strive for excellence, do you push yourself to be the very best you can be?
When you go to the footy, and you see a Collingwood player being slack, are you angry with him for not pushing himself? of course you are, you can tell when a player is being slack, you can tell when a player has not pushed himself to his absolute limits.
What happens when you see a slack player, you get angry at him, and rightly so.
Imagine then your parents, your teachers, they can see a bright young man, with a future in front of him that is only limited by how hard he is willing to push himself.
Mags, are you wanting a future that means you take the hard decisions now?
Will you push yourself academically to achieve everything in life that you are capable of?
Or Mags, will you wait till you are 45 years old, and reflect then upon the decisions that were open 30 years earlier, and think to yourself, ****, I wasted my life, I could have done so much

Mags, do you want a future that will be full of regrets, or a future that will be difficult, but one where you can ALWAYS say that you have tried your best

What do you reckon Buckley would do, would he take the soft options, or would he try his guts out?

How poignant is this post from a legend of BF that is no longer with us.
I'd like to think that Mags followed the advice from Asgardian and is now doing something he wants to do.

Look, you are young mate.

Just starting out.

Life is going to trick you and lie to you and break your heart, but it is also going to keep promises and dreams too.

Life is going to offer you second and third and fourth and sixth and ever more chances

There is no finish line in life, there is just this, life.

Follow your heart and soul, do what makes your soul light up and your mind feel real human fire.

And let that take you where it will.

Courage young man, it is in you.

You were born into it.

Short Buddhist version mate.

Your future is made in the present moment.

What ever you find true to you right now, true to your heart and mind, do right now.