Neeld sacked

I dont mean to be a troll in any way at all but
when you consider that Neil Craig is part of the coaching setup and doesnt get any attention in the media at all i think that is a bit rich, as far as im concerned he would be heavily influencing Neeld and if Neeld gets sacked they have to sack him too (he is like Thompson is to Hird).

The other thing is Neeld gets appointed (when Bailey shouldn't have been sacked, as the club advised him to tank, then sacks him for it) and then the club get screwed with the tanking issue and part of the clubs support staff (chris connoly) gets suspended.

It sure made sense to get the most experienced coach to a young inexperience team when bailey got sacked and thats why Gary Lyon must take responsibility for not appointing Kevin Sheedy. Sheedy wouldnt have taken sh*t from the club and the board and would have had the players respect and looked after the players and the team.

when you consider that Neil Craig is part of the coaching setup and doesnt get any attention in the media at all i think that is a bit rich, as far as im concerned he would be heavily influencing Neeld and if Neeld gets sacked they have to sack him too (he is like Thompson is to Hird).
The other thing is Neeld gets appointed (when Bailey shouldn't have been sacked, as the club advised him to tank, then sacks him for it) and then the club get screwed with the tanking issue and part of the clubs support staff (chris connoly) gets suspended.
It sure made sense to get the most experienced coach to a young inexperience team when bailey got sacked and thats why Gary Lyon must take responsibility for not appointing Kevin Sheedy. Sheedy wouldnt have taken sh*t from the club and the board and would have had the players respect and looked after the players and the team.

I agree Craig will probably have to go. I dare say most of the current FD will be out the door once the new senior coach is appointed. He hasn't really helped Neeld develop as a coach and whatever his role may otherwise entail, our results suggest he didn't perform it to a very high standard.
Also I think Sheeds was already signed up for GWS when Bailey got the sack. However we probably should have given him a run instead of Bailey after Daniher got sacked. Oh well, all in the past now though. Just have to make sure we make the right choice this time. The future of the club as a whole is probably riding on this next appointment.

Change happened under Neeld: we bought in an almost completely new coaching panel, one of the most highly respected assistant coaches in the game, we poached a highly regarded fitness guru and an experienced and well regarded director of coaching, we increased our footy department spending and told the guys who messed it up previously to get their heads the hell out of there.

Change in and of itself doesn't fix things. It took about 6 months for Neeld to lose his messiah status, I wonder how long before people realise that PJ isn't the answer to all our problems? I'm not saying he's a hack who will ruin the already smouldering ruins of this club, but haven't we learned by now that deciding a guy is the chosen one just because he's new is a bad idea?
I agree with all of this, but at the same time it is vitally important to the future of the club that the supporters, the players, the coaches and all the rest are unified behind whoever the next leaders of our club may be. There was a lot of change when Neeld came in but a few things remained the same that shouldn't have (same Schwab, same board, same stupid decisions) and you never really felt that everyone was pulling in the same direction. To be honest it was a half arsed effort and nothing fundamental really changed at the MFC.
On the flip side, Port underwent a major change over the off-season, which like you say does nothing in and of itself, but everyone bought in and the shift in the clubs mentality was noticable. Big name sponsors, big words, big expectations but most importantly they all got behind the new leaders and now they get big results (at least for a while) and demand a bit of respect. PJ isn't the messiah but its worth everyone getting behind him to see what he can do.

Please tell me you aren't one of the North flogs asking for Bon to be sacked?
Lighten up mate. Read the post and you should be able to see it is meant in a light hearted manner.

I am always intrigued as to why the coach always cops it when clearly there are other issues. McLardy has gone too and I just don't understand quite how he is responsible for the on field issues either.

As always the players get off lightly in my view. Maybe at the end of the year there will be a clean out of the list and they will be held accountable then. But is sacking Neeld now the answer? I doubt it.

No I have not asked for our coach to be sacked.

Lighten up mate. Read the post and you should be able to see it is meant in a light hearted manner.

I am always intrigued as to why the coach always cops it when clearly there are other issues. McLardy has gone too and I just don't understand quite how he is responsible for the on field issues either.

As always the players get off lightly in my view. Maybe at the end of the year there will be a clean out of the list and they will be held accountable then. But is sacking Neeld now the answer? I doubt it.

McClardy was the head of a board that reappointed Schwab for 3 years, then sacked him a year later. They also condoned tanking (if not actively supported it; who knows, it's still a very grey area). They've also handled a lot of the scrutiny on the club poorly. Putting out statements saying Schwab has their full support a week before sacking him; saying the club had no affiliation with Dank when he did (albeit in a very minor way). The board, while individually they've all chipped in financially, haven't really performed their roles to a very high standard.
I agree that Neeld shouldn't be held out as a scapegoat, but he hasn't performed well at all. I doubt things will turn around under Craig and agree that there are a number of players who need to be moved on. That said though the on field position of the club is due in part to Neeld's failure as a coach. There have been a lot of distractions for the club that would have impacted morale (Stynes' passing, the tanking inquiry, Jurrah's case, etc) however he still needs to come up with a decent plan for the players to follow that should allow them to at least compete for 4 quarters (they're professional athletes, none of this 'good in patches' shit should carry weight).

Both Neeld and Bailey handled themselves well at their post sacking pressers, sometimes I wonder if these players (bar the good few) deserve a quality coach.

Yes, that is how you decide if a coach is good or not.

I have seen much worse MFC lists than this one. We are not that bad.

If there is a worse MFC list in my time of following the club (23 years ) I cant remember it...especially when compared to other clubs. Granted there were dark times in the 70's/early 80's but there were only 12 teams in the comp back then. Now we're well behind 16 other teams.

Fair enough, apologies.

We just get so many opposition fans coming in here and 'telling us how it is'... it gets tiresome when all we've discussed for the past 18 months is 'how it is'.

Believe it or not, we've covered just about every conceivable explanation for our situation.

Sorry to see Neeld go

He seemed to be a decent bloke who'd been associated with success elsewhere

But maybe a "decent bloke" is not what you require right now

Sarcasm, always of the highest form of wit.

There's no on-field results to suggest either Bailey or Neeld were 'quality coaches'.

They both turned over significant number on the list without return.

Or do we just constantly recruit lazy campaigners?

Fair enough, apologies.

We just get so many opposition fans coming in here and 'telling us how it is'... it gets tiresome when all we've discussed for the past 18 months is 'how it is'.

Believe it or not, we've covered just about every conceivable explanation for our situation.
Thanks. Yes I can well understand your frustration. We get plenty of idiots coming to our board and having shots. I mostly ignore them.

For what it is worth, I hate seeing what has happened on field at your club this year. I watch a fair bit of footy and have been barracking for your boys week in week out, to win but if not just to be competitive. Getting beaten is one thing, (though a few wins would be nice) but getting thrashed, week in, week out is a terrible position to be in. Believe me I went through it at its worst in 1996 with Fitzroy.

Whatever the outcome lets hope we see some better on field performances for the rest of the year (apart from against us :)).

Thanks. Yes I can well understand your frustration. We get plenty of idiots coming to our board and having shots. I mostly ignore them.

For what it is worth, I hate seeing what has happened on field at your club this year. I watch a fair bit of footy and have been barracking for your boys week in week out, to win but if not just to be competitive. Getting beaten is one thing, (though a few wins would be nice) but getting thrashed, week in, week out is a terrible position to be in. Believe me I went through it at its worst in 1996 with Fitzroy.

Whatever the outcome lets hope we see some better on field performances for the rest of the year (apart from against us :)).

When was the last time we gave a good on field performance against your mob :p

Revisionism at its worst. Bailey was not fired for tanking. His tanking took place two years before he got sacked.

There's no on-field results to suggest either Bailey or Neeld were 'quality coaches'.

They both turned over significant number on the list without return.

Or do we just constantly recruit lazy sillys?
Of course they weren't quality coaches, I'm saying that even with one, lack of effort is still lack of effort.

If there is a worse MFC list in my time of following the club (23 years ) I cant remember it...especially when compared to other clubs. Granted there were dark times in the 70's/early 80's but there were only 12 teams in the comp back then. Now we're well behind 16 other teams.

Condolences (or should that be congratulations?) for showing Neeld the door. It was inevitable, and I personally reckon doing it sooner rather than later is the smart choice. This gives Craig half a season to show what he has to offer, and its hard to imagine that the team won't improve under a new coach.

I was a big supporter of Neeld for ages because he seemed to be a hard nut like Clarkson which I felt was exactly what Melbourne needed after Bailey who I always perceived as being a bit on the soft side. Well I don't know if Neeld ended up losing the players at some point (sure looked like it though) or he simply ended up being a dud, but either way Melbourne's performances this year haven't been reflective of the talent on the list.
There's a lack of experience and leadership there but there's also some very good footballers who haven't been playing for each other as a unit, and Sydney more than any side demonstrates how far you can go with a somewhat average team that executes its coach's gameplan perfectly.

The good news is momentum plays a huge role in football and its amazing how different everything feels when your team notches up a win. Craig's first step will be to restore the players' confidence in themselves and get them playing for each other. If nothing else I've no doubt you can look forward to a second half of 2013 that is immensely more promising than the first.

Best of luck for the rest of the year guys.

I think it's fantastic what is happening at Melbourne. Peter Jackson is finally cleaning the place up.

Best mate, who is a Dees supporter, and I go to the footy together and the last time our teams played finals together was 1941.

Might be a few years away but at least there is now some hope that we both get to see finals action at the same time.

Neeld sacked