Neeld sacked

Any player who blames the coach for their own performances has the wrong attitude. It might be the coaches fault, they might not know what they're doing but as a player you should always take responsibility for your form. To hold a grudge and celebrate the guy getting the sack is absolutely disgraceful. A player like say, Jones would never do this kind of thing.

Moloney reminds me of Shane Watson so much.

Neeld may have taken a different path with him, but it is hard to argue that he didnt get his diagnosis of him right.

Moloney reminds me of Shane Watson so much.

Neeld may have taken a different path with him, but it is hard to argue that he didnt get his diagnosis of him right.

No doubt, but Moloney was a bloke looked up too by much of the young list.

Even admired.

If Moloney was caught off side it's not hard to imagine a lot of young guys siding with him.

No doubt, but Moloney was a bloke looked up too by much of the young list.

Even admired.

If Moloney was caught off side it's not hard to imagine a lot of young guys siding with him.

Not sure if that says more about Neeld's misjudgements or the lack of real quality leaders at Melbourne. Little bit of both probably.

I think though in that little nugget you may find both a partial explanation of how it went so wrong and how to come back from the brink.

A few years ago I would be infuriated and worried about this. But someone had to save the club from itself.
Agree. Think it had to happen.

AGM will be interesting, if not an EGM.

Change is happening and I'm actually a little excited.

I feel bad for Mark Neeld. This gig, in this era, with all the turmoil and all the shit he had to deal... couldn't have been easy or any fun. In the end though, he proved incapable living up to the challenge. Not totally his fault but if you're not part of solution, you're part of the problem.

Farewell.

Already made news. Will be a topic of conversation on footy classified I reckon.
It will but Neeld will play a straight bat, he's good at remaining restrained in front of camera.

Change is happening and I'm actually a little excited.

I feel bad for Mark Neeld. This gig, in this era, with all the turmoil and all the shit he had to deal... couldn't have been easy or any fun. In the end though, he proved incapable living up to the challenge. Not totally his fault but if you're not part of solution, you're part of the problem.

Farewell.

By that logic we should only have Nathan Jones on the list.

What the hell has class got to do with it. He's just calling a spade a spade.

Yeah, it shows a lot of class to kick a bloke when he's at his lowest ebb. What a hero...

The AFL told Jackson to fire him.

I don't give a rat's arse who denies it or how many times they deny it because it's so bloody obvious - Jackson was appointed by the AFL, McLardy was told to resign by the AFL, Neeld was sacked by the AFL and the Melbourne Football Club has now been completely appropriated by the AFL.

This actually gives me some confidence that things will come good eventually.

It will but Neeld will play a straight bat, he's good at remaining restrained in front of camera.

True. He wasn't always though. Apparently his first press conference after the Brisbane game is now used to instruct people how not to do a presser.

I wish Neeld all the best in his future endeavours. It cant be easy having the hardest task in football trying to turn around an absolute basket case of a club. I wouldnt wish it upon anyone.

He handled himself well in the press conference as it wouldn't be easy. At least now he and his family can have peace and quiet without having the parasites stalking the outside of his house and workplace. If it was me, Im sure some of those cochroaches would have become hood ornaments or speed humps a long time ago.

Not sure if that says more about Neeld's misjudgements or the lack of real quality leaders at Melbourne. Little bit of both probably.

I think though in that little nugget you may find both a partial explanation of how it went so wrong and how to come back from the brink.

There's always been too many tails wagging dogs at Melbourne. When the dog did finally wag the tail, violently, it developed a nasty infection, and fell off. Now the dog has had to be put down.

I was disappointed at the time that Moloney departed the club, but everything I've seen from him since has made me think it was the right decision (even if he has had some good form at the Lions). Neeld may have gone in a bit hard to begin with with a few home truths, but Moloney's a big boy - he should have been able to handle that. No need to be petulant about it. Hell, if he had sucked it up and worked as hard as we all know he could, he probably would have been back in the leadership group this year. The Instrgram post just shows he's still petulant, and has a chip on his shoulder. He should be better then that. No surprise Petterd responded to it the way he did too. Throw him in the same basket. No response from Stefan Martin either?

Re. Neeld - I do feel sorry for him, but he had to go. He was probably the wrong coach at the wrong time for the club. Hope he gets an assistants gig somewhere.

Beamer posted this on his instagram...

Classy fella.

But it does indicate that there would be players who disliked (may be an understatement) Neeld.

Well done Beamer on proving to the world that Neeld got at least one thing right.

There's always been too many tails wagging dogs at Melbourne. When the dog did finally wag the tail, violently, it developed a nasty infection, and fell off. Now the dog has had to be put down.

I was disappointed at the time that Moloney departed the club, but everything I've seen from him since has made me think it was the right decision (even if he has had some good form at the Lions). Neeld may have gone in a bit hard to begin with with a few home truths, but Moloney's a big boy - he should have been able to handle that. No need to be petulant about it. Hell, if he had sucked it up and worked as hard as we all know he could, he probably would have been back in the leadership group this year. The Instrgram post just shows he's still petulant, and has a chip on his shoulder. He should be better then that. No surprise Petterd responded to it the way he did too. Throw him in the same basket. No response from Stefan Martin either?

Re. Neeld - I do feel sorry for him, but he had to go. He was probably the wrong coach at the wrong time for the club. Hope he gets an assistants gig somewhere.

Sorry mate. I didn't hear about Petterd's response to Neeld's sacking??

Put claps on Beamers instagram

Wow. Juvenile. Petulant. Immature. Impulsive. Lacking in values and leadership. I'm glad they're gone.

Thanks S475.

Soon clubs will need to give training to players about how to use social messaging services. Either that, or give them an IQ test. If they score low, they're not allowed to have a computer or a phone with internet connectivity.

Wow. Juvenile. Petulant. Immature. Impulsive. Lacking in values and leadership. I'm glad they're gone.

Thanks S475.

Yeah, I'm glad they're gone - but I still think that Neeld go too many senior players off side too quickly.

No doubt that Rivers, Green, Davey, Moloney all felt slighted by Neeld - these are the guys who were leading the club (as bad as that is).

Yeah, I'm glad they're gone - but I still think that Neeld go too many senior players off side too quickly.

No doubt that Rivers, Green, Davey, Moloney all felt slighted by Neeld - these are the guys who were leading the club (as bad as that is).

Agreed.

Agree, in his eagerness to gain control of the group I think he over cooked it a bit wth the senior players. Lack of experience more than anything IMO.

Soon clubs will need to give training to players about how to use social messaging services. Either that, or give them an IQ test. If they score low, they're not allowed to have a computer or a phone with internet connectivity.

I truly believe that twitter was invented to expose morons. Congratulations Brent on being the latest volunteer, proudly supported by Ricky 'beer snake' Petterd.
All the best in finding a suitable coach. At least he won't have to be deal with blonkers like these 2, for that he can thank Neeld.

Neeld sacked