Negative " Supporters"

The level of enthusiam in the cheersquad seems to be similar to watching people clap at a game of tennis, doesnt it? o_O
Couldn't agree more. People seem thrilled to admit they're in the cheer squad, yet... where do these voices go come game time? I hear more sound from the reserved seating folks on Level 2 than the CS.

I never bag our boys. I usually go nuts at the footy but that's when we do something good.

I pay out on opposition players and Umps. I actually caught myself calling John Brown a hack on the weekend (momentary lapse of reason....I actually love Brown...one of the Best CHFs of all time).

Much and all as negative supporters give me the sh*ts too...at least they turn up. Our crowds have been truly appalling this year and our supporters need to take a good hard look. I intend to turn up for the rest of the year and watch the team becuase I love the club....not because I have any expectations of winning.

What is it about our supporters? I can't stand it when they bag out our players - that is the job of the opposition.
I sit in aisle 32, behind us we had two women that sat behind us last year who just yelled at Miinson at every opportunity. The lady who sits next to us asked them what it was all about in the end, and one said it was personal. Thank god they have moved.
There are too many supporters who bag out the players, but never clap, cheer or do anything when the players do a good thing - frustrates me as well.

Maybe we should organise a bay of just Big Footy supporters to lead the crowd in cheering loudly booing umpire decisions etc - because we are way to quiet at our games.

The worst ones are the ones who do the "Oh why the hell did you do that!" and then a goal is kicked to which I say "That's why!" that usually shuts them up.

Or ones who point out a bulldog player mistake 3 plays after the dogs have kicked a goal. It's like "C'mon, the dogs kicked a goal, why are you still bagging the player 3 posessions before the goal was kicked!"

Someone who sits next to me at home games NEVER cheers when the dogs kick the goals, but bag players mercilessly. I mean what the hell is that!

The lack of atmosphere at our home games is deplorable, sure at the moment there isn't much to cheer about, but I wish our supporters would show a bit more passion, instead of clapping monotonously and barely making a yelp. I guess it takes a certain personality type to get fired up at games, but that excuse doesn't account for just how quiet our supporters are collectively. It's a shame that teams that play us don't have to deal with the 'crowd factor' as it's safe to say were the most timid bunch of supporters.

As for negative supporters, like with most, they've a right to express their opinions and it at least shows that they give a damn!

There's giving a damn and there's abusing players and using "passion" to hide the fact they don't think before they speak.

The groaning of supporters when we kick backwards always makes me laugh. I would have thought that the strategy of opening up the fat side has been established long enough for people to realise that going backwards often results in a scoring opportunity. Pity we can't kick straight to take advantage of them.

"passionate" supporters don't know jack about strategy. Goes hand in hand with "Just kick it!" and then the players do, which results in a tunover to cries of "Oh why did you kick it!"

I always maintain that if supporter points out problems with selection or with the President, then they have to have a solution.

"Drop him!!!"

"For who?"

"This guy"

"He's on the rookie list'

"Ermmmm"

"Smorgo is a liar, he has to go!"
"Who replaces him?"
"Errrrrm..this guy"
"What if they don't want to be president?"
"Errmmmm"

Isn't a converation "passionate" supporters would like to have when it comes to team selections or the presidency.

Level 3 down the Footscray end is where it's at
i'll try, i'm going with Dons supporters, and our rule is that we never seat near a major group of supporters.
So we don't get bashed if we yell something out lol

Accepting mediocrity isn't very easy, fans are going to vent, I know I'm always up and about when we are playing good football, but if we dish up what we did the other day I'm not one to sit back and say oh I'm not going to say anything negative because I love the club, it's fine to vent FFS I understand some fans do take it over the top but football's a passionate game, if it isn't going our way I expect fans to be in disgust and asking for more instead of sitting back and saying it's okay we are young, rebuilding etc etc.

Well I'm passionate, but I play the ball, not the man.

"Passionate" supporters go after the players, I on the other hand move on quickly to the next phase of action.

There's venting and there's abusing players. Calling them spuds, soft, spineless and all other things passionate supporters like to call the players that play for their club.

IT always amuses me, we as supporters can abuse the hell out of AFL footballers, but we can't snipe and call other bigfooty members anything. Shouldnt' it be one rule for all?

Unless of course you're a supporter who believes venting = abusing players.

AS for rebuilding etc.

Well, IT'S THE GODDAMN TRUTH...sorry for venting.

There's wanting more and then there's facts.

THIS LIST is not good enough to win many games.

THIS LIST will be reshaped for the 2013 season.

If negative/venting supporters can't get that through their passionate head, then of course they'll get angry when their expectations aren't met.

But if you want to keep venting and get angry at a struggling team with a list of players that isn't going to win enough games to play finals...then hey...whatever floats your boat.

I'm thinking of the end of the season, when the delistings/trades/drafts happen.

Just think 2 picks in top 8 in a row.

Although I reckon negative supporters will point out our crappy recruiting.

To which I say

FFS, stop supporting the club, because it's obvious you just don't like supporting the club anymore!

PS. I reckon opposition fans would start to bag bulldog players and then hear our own supporters doing it and think "Well geez, why bother, they're doing a pretty good job of it already!"

The level of enthusiam in the cheersquad seems to be similar to watching people clap at a game of tennis, doesnt it? o_O

I agree, but don't just blame the cheersquad - there's not many of them & the numbers seemed to be boosted up each week by a group of school kids brought in as a one off day out (last week these kids all got up & left at the start of the last quarter!). Seems a dirty job, but someone's gotta do it.

Most of our supporters are like this. As I said in a previous post, we call them "theatre goers" - they like to watch, but not get too passionate about it. Politely clap at the end of each act in the show.

Oh well, the Club needs all the supporters it can get as annoying as people are to each other.

I really feel the Club is in danger of relocation or merger a few years down the track - I hope not - I couldn't go through all that again.

FFS, stop supporting the club, because it's obvious you just don't like supporting the club anymore!

PS. I reckon opposition fans would start to bag bulldog players and then hear our own supporters doing it and think "Well geez, why bother, they're doing a pretty good job of it already!"

Re: top line.

Don't go getting married mate. You're allowed to fight, to have rough patches and voice dissent without chucking it all in.

The fans are the Club, long after characters that annoy us, shit seasons and coaches and Presidents are gone, the fans remain. Voicing frustration and dissent at off field direction, or on field performance is normal. Equally as normal as being a member and cheering the team on. You invest too much into the value of being rational as a fan, when really, it is an inherently irrational and immature role to fill. Everyone has a role to play. The fans breathe life into the carnival that is footy and create space for players and administrators to weave their mark.

If you want to be an analyst and 'objective' that is fine, but that is a different role to that of a fan and it is silly for you to get frustrated when a fan's behaviour doesn't reflect on your understanding of the game and your expectations of an individuals role within it.

Couldn't agree more. People seem thrilled to admit they're in the cheer squad, yet... where do these voices go come game time? I hear more sound from the reserved seating folks on Level 2 than the CS.

Should get the sort of thing Port Adelaide have going. They have a fairly vocal group about ten rows back from their cheersquad that go off.

And they take the piss out of the cheersquad something chronic.

"You only sing when we're winning, you only sing when where wiiiiiiiiiiniiiing" (to the tune of "one tony lockett")

"We're ten goals down and taking the piss, we're ten goals down and taking the piss, we're ten goals down and taking the piss... all day long".

Missy Maxi and London Bulldog. Yeah I would not be surprised if you are talking about the same bloke. He is not far [ enough] from my seat either.
And yes he is an absolute pain in the A***!
LB, if you are his son, I have a suggestion for you. For everyone's sake, for his birthday, have you ever considered a muzzle.

Unfortunately, this is not a new phenomenon. I remember when I was a little kid at the old Western Oval, there was an old bloke who spent the entire game week in and week out
shouting at least 1,000 times a game: "oh, luck's a fortune".
The first few times it was so silly it was 'almost' funny.
I think by 3/4 time most weeks, somebody had asked him to leave, or threatened if he did not shut the *##* up, they would punch his#**#"n lights out.
But he never seemed to get the message, cause sure enough, there he would be next week, shouting out that same drivel again.

You would think the world could just move on. The face may change, but the inanity does not.

On a positive note

With the best group of younger talls in the comp
Cordy
Roughed
Campell
Jones
Talia

Mids
Wallis
Tutt
Libba
Dalhouse
Howard
Wood
Smith

All we need is this draft 2 outside speed machines to compliment our already tuff onballers and that premiership we all dream off is in reach :)

Best position our club has been in 30 years

Be Positive guys

Re: top line.

Don't go getting married mate. You're allowed to fight, to have rough patches and voice dissent without chucking it all in.

The fans are the Club, long after characters that annoy us, shit seasons and coaches and Presidents are gone, the fans remain. Voicing frustration and dissent at off field direction, or on field performance is normal. Equally as normal as being a member and cheering the team on. You invest too much into the value of being rational as a fan, when really, it is an inherently irrational and immature role to fill. Everyone has a role to play. The fans breathe life into the carnival that is footy and create space for players and administrators to weave their mark.

If you want to be an analyst and 'objective' that is fine, but that is a different role to that of a fan and it is silly for you to get frustrated when a fan's behaviour doesn't reflect on your understanding of the game and your expectations of an individuals role within it.

Oh hey, everyone has a role, passion etc etc, but I draw the line at abusing players. Unless that's an okay role for you. I don't think that's silly at all. But wait I did sit with you and your friends and family a couple of times, it was quite an interesting experience.

But you are right, I can't condone irrational and immature, maybe you can, but I can't.

So now we are going to define what a "fan" is.

Well I am a member of the bulldogs, I love the club and I get angry when people abuse the players I support and then criticise the club, when they offer NO viable solution.

This SHOULD be the definition of a fan of the club.

Support the club
Don't abuse your players
If you see a problem, have a solution and then explain what it's viable.

I don't know if there are enough bulldog supporters that can actually do all three.

The negative supporters or as you like the call them "fans" would not able to do ANY of those three things.

Maybe I should just accept the fact that the majority of bulldog "fans" are the cliched, dumb, impatient and abuse the players fans that they are.

I just want our supporters to be better than that. Isn't that something to aim for?

People speak about the culture of the club and it's players.

How do our supporters act during games and what do they write on footy forums?

Forget about other clubs, just think about the how your fellow supporters treat the club and its players.

What kind of culture do bulldog supporters have? Do you think it's good?

Do you want your kids to grow up and also have that kind of culture after you've brainwashed them
into supporting the bulldogs?

I personally wouldn't want to have the "negative" supporters you believe have a role to play as fans of our club, because that role that should be made reduntant because the role doesn't do anything productive! Except maybe the "sack the...coach/president/recuriter/player/football manager" KPI.

As someone pointed out. If fans have a problem rock up to the annual AGM and tell the president, the club your problems. Say what you type in the forums and scream when at the games.

Unless of course that's not part of the role.

Every club has negative supporters, passionate supporters, and our club has plenty of quiet supporters. If our little supporter base made some more noise at our games, whether it's positive or negative, might create a bit more atmosphere. I remember the Port game, I know there were only 16,000 but Jesus, don't just sit there with your knitting and say nothing, speak up a bit, create a bit of atmoshere for pete sake!

Instead of coming on here and complaining about negative supporters, get out there and make some bloody noise and support your club for Christ sake!

While it would be great to have more atmosphere at our games, I think some people are missing a key point.

Not everyone is the same!

Some people LIKE to go to games and simply watch, take it all in. They don't WANT to be screaming non stop.
It is a bit rich for us to demean them about this, they pay the same value we do for our tickets (mostly).

However, in saying that, while people are entitled to do mostly what they want at games seeing they buy a ticket, they should NOT be a nuisance to other supporters. That is simply rude and probably even against the conditions of the ticket.

I find it's funny having a thread about "Negative Supporters" and everyone complaining about the negative support at games but where is the "Positive" support for the team in the "Face off" threads. I know we played bad last week but have we played to bad games in a row so far this season.

The negative supporters or as you like the call them "fans" would not able to do ANY of those three things.

As someone pointed out. If fans have a problem rock up to the annual AGM and tell the president, the club your problems. Say what you type in the forums and scream when at the games.

Unless of course that's not part of the role.

Now, now Dex. No need to get so touchy, there is a lot of emotion in that post, settle down, think rationally. :).

You are the one identifying fans from what I've described as negative supporters, which suggests to me the threshold between voicing dissent and the sort of behaviour that has you demanding people walk away is way too thin. A fan, is a fan. They shift along a very long spectrum. The allegiance should always be to the Club. The Club exists beyond any individual involved at any point in time. A view opposing that of an individual representing the Club is not the same as being against the Club. I think you understand that, but it just hasn't come across in any of the discussions we've had this season.

Agree on your last point though, apathy is a key issue, it is important for fans to "do something," there aren't enough of us to simply loaf.

Negative " Supporters"