Neil Young thread

Some of the crowd was a bit annoying where I was though. Old w***ers who were uppity and unenthusiastic, bitching that he didn't play heart of gold (worth it just to piss these ***** off), continuously telling me to sit down and giving me weird looks whilst I was fapping furiously during Cortez...

Had the same deal at the Sydney Ent Cent. The crowd was so unresponsive in Sydney that he played Rockin In The Free World early, did a shortened Day In The Life and just walked off. So disappointed.

l reckon the 'Decade' album which was a best of the 70's for Young is the BEST "best of" album ever, just brilliant stuff. Went and saw him the other night and he was brilliant.

Had the same deal at the Sydney Ent Cent. The crowd was so unresponsive in Sydney that he played Rockin In The Free World early, did a shortened Day In The Life and just walked off. So disappointed.

The story I heard about Sydney is he was pissed off with the Ent Cent security not allowing the crowd to interact.

I flew over to Melbourne to see the great man.

What an amazing show. He played a great range of stuff with his acoustic stuff going down really well. But the highlight for me was his brilliant electric guitar work. Cortez the Killer was fantastic. Everybody Knows this is Nowhere, Cinnamon Girl......... were just out of this world.

The finale of A Day in the Life was crazy with the broken strings used for feedback. Best $2000 I have ever spent.

I then saw him at the Perth BDO and again, he was terrific. My all time musical hero and he did not let me down.

Neil was sensational in Perth Sunday night. My Morning Jacket put on an awesome set earlier in the day as well. Man it would have been sweet for that particular sideshow to have happened in Perth.

The crowd were great for Neil and Rocking In The Free World wow

Neil was sensational in Perth Sunday night. My Morning Jacket put on an awesome set earlier in the day as well. Man it would have been sweet for that particular sideshow to have happened in Perth.

The crowd were great for Neil and Rocking In The Free World wow

I loved My Morning Jacket at the BDO, but in Melbourne as Neil's support act, the sound was so low that it was like background music. I have all 3 of their albums and love them but they were badly done by at that concert.

More than three albums mate. As Molly would say, do yourself a favour and check the rest out.

Studio:

The Tennessee Fire (1999)
At Dawn (2001)
It Still Moves (2003)
Z (2005)
Evil Urges (2008)

Live:

Okonokos (Live - 2006)

Compilations:

Early Recordings: Chapter 1 - The Sandworm Cometh (2004)
Early Recordings: Chapter 2 - Learning (2004)
The Tennessee Fire/At Dawn Demo Package (2007)

Plus more than a few EPs with some exclusive (and great) tracks.

More than three albums mate. As Molly would say, do yourself a favour and check the rest out.

Studio:

The Tennessee Fire (1999)
At Dawn (2001)
It Still Moves (2003)
Z (2005)
Evil Urges (2008)

Live:

Okonokos (Live - 2006)

Compilations:

Early Recordings: Chapter 1 - The Sandworm Cometh (2004)
Early Recordings: Chapter 2 - Learning (2004)
The Tennessee Fire/At Dawn Demo Package (2007)

Plus more than a few EPs with some exclusive (and great) tracks.

I stand corrected. I knew that I should have done a quick check before making an alleged statement of fact.

Thanks for the info.

I stand corrected. I knew that I should have done a quick check before making an alleged statement of fact.

Thanks for the info.

No probs - At Dawn is their masterpiece (IMHO), with Z a close second behind. But honestly, there's gold on every single one of those that I mentioned.

I saw Neil at the both Melbourne shows.

The BDO show was brilliant. We were ten metres to the right of the stage, right on the fence, and their were heaps of people really getting into it. Young and the old. He played all the classics and it was fantastic.

The Music Bowl show was good, for a different reason. He obviously played a different set, tailoring it to a specialised crowd. Again, he was in fine form.

I must say that I don't think I'll return to the Music Bowl, unless I really have to. It's really hard to see anything. Also, warm beers for $7.50 is just un-Australian.

Neil's put out an album called "Le Noise" songs just Neil and guitar, no band, working with Daniel Lanois. 6 electric tracks, including "Hitchiker" and 2 acoustic numbers featuring Neil's harrowing voice. Songwriting reminds me of "Rust Never Sleeps" at times. Album is definately different, barely commercial and worth checking out.

Possibly two of the most underated tracks in rock history:

This song is so goddamn good they put it on the same album twice:
[youtube]foydBgsse6Q[/youtube]

Steak house, french fries, I got lots of gas
Full moon to chop in to, you don't have to ask:
[youtube]veZ4l0Asmms[/youtube]

95% of people have never heard these tracks.

Danny Whitten. Too late. Too soon. Live version of Come on Baby Lets Go Downtown appeared on Live at Fillmore East NY performance series. Always loved the way it appears on Tonights The Night, a real album, up there with my beloved Zuma

What are people's thoughts on Neil sharing the stage with others? One of my faves of these were the 2004 vote for change shows where he joined Springsteen for "Souls of the Departed" An angry "All Along the Watchtower" and "Rockin In The Free World" No situtation seems to intimidate Neil the man is fearless.

God only knows how many times I have played this album. A masterpiece. Agree with Zuma, up there with Zuma and On The Beach.

Neil Young thread