Neng's First Round and PP

adelaide either needs a midfielder with good pace.. or a midfielder with exceptional skills.. i think they'd be our picks first round.. and then second round get a young key forward

Which teams will bid their first round pick on Cordy?

None of the top 5-6 teams would lodge a bid, but it's likely one of Rich,Coll,Syd or Stk would make a bid, at the very least to ensure the dogs have to take him with pick 14. The best case scenario would be to get him with our 2nd pick (#32) but it's unlikely.

Richmond will. Between trying to poach Clayton & starting rumours regarding club discoard at the start of 08, you'd expect them to do anything to try and disrupt us.

I'm sure there is more than one Bulldogs fan hoping this happens, that would be a nice pickup.

Then again, I personally think the Father/Son rule should be changed back to how it use to be.

We dont need a key forward.. we're full of them atm. If we pick one, it'll be with a 3rd-4th rounder IMO

Edwards, Smith, Tarrant, Hansen, Hale, Thompson, Wundke, Jones, Petrie can all play as key forwards

We need a midfielder or key defender, would love Robinson

We wouldn't take a FF with our first round pick, we did that last year. Hale, Edwards, Petrie, Thommo and Tarrant can play there, no need for us to top up.

We'd be after a classy midfielder with skillz to thrillz... then after that a key defender plz 193-195cm plz

We wouldn't take a FF with our first round pick, we did that last year. Hale, Edwards, Petrie, Thommo and Tarrant can play there, no need for us to top up.

We'd be after a classy midfielder with skillz to thrillz... then after that a key defender plz 193-195cm plz

Would the Kangaroos punt on Tom Swift?
Otherwise they may look for Sam Blease...

Good effort though I question the pick of Swift to Geelong. I reckon if all other picks fall they way you have them, we would almost certainly take Trengove. With Egan's future being uncertain and Scarlett, Milburn and Harley's careers coming towards the end we are more likely to take a highly rated KP player than another midfielder.

As it is, with a full team to choose from, we are unable to accomodate Prismall, Varcoe, Byrnes (though he is crap), Tenace (ditto) and younger players in Djerkurra and Hogan.

Good read though.

Nice mock mate. Your first 7 picks are what I have but after that its a lottery..good effort though.
I think this is one of the most open drafts ever.
I cant wait to see how wrong everyone is come draft day lol

It is quite hard after those first seven picks
So many players are so evenly matched, it's more of case of who teams need instead of the best available as per usual drafts.
I'm looking forward to it, I have only just come into looking at the drafts in the past two or three years and this one has really impressed me... such depth!!

Any one think melb will finish last next year (of course its hard to tell)but... if they're thinking they will or at least bottom 3 maybe they will ask watts not to nominate until next yr and take nat or rich this yr, i know this throws up lots of possibilities and can seem a bit stupid just a thought maybe watts chooses not to nominate for school reasons etc. .. who would melb take rich, nat or a victorian

Doubtful that will happen (in terms of Watts not nominating). However if it were to happen they would take the best available (why waste the number one pick?) so out of nat or rich i would say they would take one of them...

Would make West Coast's recruiters jobs much easier...

no, its probably too hard to tank for a whole year. and there is a bloke called butcher who will probably end up being a handy player who they would miss out on if ur idea came to fruition

8 - Shaun Mckernan (Rich) - Correct me if I am wrong this kid can play ruck/forward?? The best available. Be careful WB, they may look at Cordy here my heart says.

I wouldn't be taking him this high and don't think he will go that high even though most Mock Drafts have him up there. I wouldn't think he could play genuine ruck in AFL footy.

It doesn't matter where you finish in the finals. It matters where you finish at the end of the home and away season, so I'd still be worried

What to worry about if he's as good as everyone says then i'm happy to get where ever, first round or second round it does'nt matter. With Clayton in control for the last time it might force him to get a talented tall instead of a runner with our first pick.

Reguarding where you finish at the end of the home & away season, how you go in finals does change the ladder.

I would really be peeved off if Richmond used pick 8 on McKernan. It port passes on Vickery I want us to pick him up. If Port picks Vickery then I'd like Jonstone or Sidebottom and pick up Roughead with our second pick.

I have seen so mny mock drafts and have looked quite closely. I mysef am aquainted with a Sydney Swans scout over here in Perth. He has been around for a while and knows a fair bit of inside news.

1 - Jack Watts (Melb) - Self explanatory really, Melbourne need a forward, and here he is

2 - Nicholas Naitanui (WCE) - This is the difference here to most, I have heard the Eagles are craving Nat, doesn't suprise me with his game for Swan Districts on the weekend. He is more so a long term option to Daniel Rich, but seeing the development of some of the kids at West Coast I don't mind an neither will the Eagles. A 195cm odd kid who can run faster than most midfielders and can jump over players heads is quite dreamy.

3 - Daniel Rich (Fre) - I don't see Fremantle passing up a quality mid such as Rich. Especially when they know their midfield is becoming slightly faster and more effective than past Freo midfields. With the loss of Peter Bell and Josh Carr they may need another midfielder anyway.

4 - Tyone Vickery (Port) - After much delegation, it has been decided Port need a ruck not a mid, vickery is the next best after Nat, so he goes here.

5 - Michael Hurley (Ess) - Quite simply, Mal Michael retired, Fletcher is old and slowing, Essendon need another key defender. Hurley fits the mould perfectly

6 - Hamish Hartlett (Car) - It's a case of the best mid available for Carlton. This will make their midfield look REALLY scary

7 - Jack Ziebell (Bri) - Similar to Carlton, the best mid available. Brisbane should see it amazing Ziebell will last to their pick.

8 - Shaun Mckernan (Rich) - Correct me if I am wrong this kid can play ruck/forward?? The best available. Be careful WB, they may look at Cordy here my heart says.

9 - Stephen Hill (Syd) - Sydney are dead keen on this kid, I think pace off the half-back/wing is a good starter for them in this draft, Kennelly keeps popping his shoulders out and who knows how Malceski will hold up...

10 - Nick Heyne (STK) - Heyne is dangerous, something that the St Kilda midfield don't really have a lot of at the moment.

11 - Nick Suban (Ade) - I think Adelaide will take Suban, especially if Johncock is traded

12 - Steele Sidebottom (Col) - Oozes class, will complement the midfield well, especially as Collingwood are a good long kicking team, Sidebottom has the skills

13 - Lewis Johnston (NM) - Thompson is getting past it, time to get a new forward, and perhaps Johnston should be it. But even Trengrove could slot here.

14 - Ayce Cordy (WB) - Father/Son, will not let a good young ruck go

15 - Clancee Pearce (Haw) - Gives good drive off the half-back, and quite hard at it, which is much like Hawthorn

16 - Tom Swift (Gee) - I feel seeing as Geelong have such a good midfield at this point in time, they will pick Swift, who will possibly be an option longer term? If it pays off, the Geelong midfield may remain a force

17 - Sam Blease (Mel) - Need a quality midifelder after taking Watts at pick 1, I would be happy if I were Melbourne

18 - Chris Yarran (WCE) - Natural crumbers are a must at West Coast, Yarran is this and will not be passed up by West Coast at this pick

These picks are purely speculative and I am certain it won't turn out like this. But I had a go. Any comments??

EDIT: Vickery to Port
Hartlett to Carlton
Ziebell to Brisbane
Mckernan to Richmond
Johnston to North Melbourne
Will Melbourne draft Mitch Robinson with pick 19? ;)

Robinson isn't even in your first 19 picks ahead of Tom Swift who has a knee. :confused:

Originally Posted by neng
I have seen so mny mock drafts and have looked quite closely. I mysef am aquainted with a Sydney Swans scout over here in Perth. He has been around for a while and knows a fair bit of inside news.

1 - Jack Watts (Melb) - Self explanatory really, Melbourne need a forward, and here he is

2 - Nicholas Naitanui (WCE) - This is the difference here to most, I have heard the Eagles are craving Nat, doesn't suprise me with his game for Swan Districts on the weekend. He is more so a long term option to Daniel Rich, but seeing the development of some of the kids at West Coast I don't mind an neither will the Eagles. A 195cm odd kid who can run faster than most midfielders and can jump over players heads is quite dreamy.

3 - Daniel Rich (Fre) - I don't see Fremantle passing up a quality mid such as Rich. Especially when they know their midfield is becoming slightly faster and more effective than past Freo midfields. With the loss of Peter Bell and Josh Carr they may need another midfielder anyway.

4 - Tyone Vickery (Port) - After much delegation, it has been decided Port need a ruck not a mid, vickery is the next best after Nat, so he goes here.

5 - Michael Hurley (Ess) - Quite simply, Mal Michael retired, Fletcher is old and slowing, Essendon need another key defender. Hurley fits the mould perfectly

6 - Hamish Hartlett (Car) - It's a case of the best mid available for Carlton. This will make their midfield look REALLY scary

7 - Jack Ziebell (Bri) - Similar to Carlton, the best mid available. Brisbane should see it amazing Ziebell will last to their pick.

9 - Stephen Hill (Syd) - Sydney are dead keen on this kid, I think pace off the half-back/wing is a good starter for them in this draft, Kennelly keeps popping his shoulders out and who knows how Malceski will hold up...

10 - Nick Heyne (STK) - Heyne is dangerous, something that the St Kilda midfield don't really have a lot of at the moment.

11 - Nick Suban (Ade) - I think Adelaide will take Suban, especially if Johncock is traded

12 - Steele Sidebottom (Col) - Oozes class, will complement the midfield well, especially as Collingwood are a good long kicking team, Sidebottom has the skills

13 - Lewis Johnston (NM) - Thompson is getting past it, time to get a new forward, and perhaps Johnston should be it. But even Trengrove could slot here.

14 - Ayce Cordy (WB) - Father/Son, will not let a good young ruck go

15 - Clancee Pearce (Haw) - Gives good drive off the half-back, and quite hard at it, which is much like Hawthorn

16 - Tom Swift (Gee) - I feel seeing as Geelong have such a good midfield at this point in time, they will pick Swift, who will possibly be an option longer term? If it pays off, the Geelong midfield may remain a force

17 - Sam Blease (Mel) - Need a quality midifelder after taking Watts at pick 1, I would be happy if I were Melbourne

18 - Chris Yarran (WCE) - Natural crumbers are a must at West Coast, Yarran is this and will not be passed up by West Coast at this pick

These picks are purely speculative and I am certain it won't turn out like this. But I had a go. Any comments??

EDIT: Vickery to Port
Hartlett to Carlton
Ziebell to Brisbane
Mckernan to Richmond
Johnston to North Melbourne
Lewis Johnston to North, When we drafted Tarrant last year, along with Wundke Josh Smith and Hansen the year Before. Time for a Quick Skill outside mid i think