Never Married

• Thread starter Thread starter james Dean

Look I turn stuff down to spend time with my family, I've said no to work travel, I've said no to mates, but then people do that without being in a relationship

Just because you get asked doesn't mean you have to say yes.

I say if you find someone do hat works for the two of you, helps if you find someone you can talk to obviously
Yeah I’m not saying it’s exclusive to being in a relationship, just saying that in these cases it’s their only chance for a bit of freedom turned down. Some people are fine with it, but I could imagine for some it’s a problem and probably why couples do end up getting divorced.

Lots of reasons people get divorced, unrealistic expectations and poor communication pretty common parts of it

I think Scotland votes liberal just quietly

Everyone who disagrees with Bomberboyokay is a 'Liberal voter'.

Lives in Julie Bishop's seat I believe.

Nah. Used to once upon a time, so appreciate the stalking. Still live in a safe Liberal seat but there's no ****ing way I'd vote for Dennis Jensen (now gone).

A West Coast Eagles supporter getting shitty and defending the Liberal party... well I never.

Defending the Liberal party? And people mock Arts degrees...

Simply pointing out that there's nothing zing-worthy about defining people as Liberal voters. Or Labor voters for that matter. Most people vote for one or the other and it's only a small percentage of people that actually give a shit about either.

In your dreams do I stalk you. If you don't want me commenting on the awfulness of our Liberal government and its enablers (you) well tough shit. You're right, you are far from the only person who votes Liberal then when predictably things get worse go "Well grrr Labor mumble mumble just the same" and act offended anyone questions your judgment.

Not ideal in the supermarket. Especially large dogs once they get a whiff of the deli section. They (well, at least one) can get out of control and it gets quite messy. ..... Or, so I'm told.

Train a guide dog!

Not married or ever with kids is one thing, but to never have a girlfriend your whole life is very very strange. And that's when you emit the closeted vibe.

what if they are just asexual?

also get over the fact that people could be homosexual

I would have liked a kid or two, for most of my life that wasn't a possibility and the boat was probably sailed for me now. Maybe it's an ego thing, a bit of you carrying on even after you peg it and a lot of parenting looks like the sort of responsibility I've spent my life running from but it also looks like an absolute blast.

what if they are just asexual?

also get over the fact that people could be homosexual
Jeeez what? This is a reference to Scotland saying how you can give off the 'hiding something' vibe if you've never been married, which I disagree with. However never had a serious girlfriend in your life? Unless you're a huge rooter it definitely is going to be a bit weird.

Just because I used the word 'gay' once doesn't mean I'm a homophobe. Ffs this is a footy forum.

Amazing how much you're stung for slightly laying it on homosexuals yet constant racism against Aboriginals is fine on here, issues like climate change and the cost of living and unemployment, all those sort of things are secondary to gay rights. Have gay rights, it's a fantastic thing, but jesus christ the amount of attention it attracts is offensive to things that literally threaten our livelihoods or literal lives. Just an easy social thing to latch onto – bit like how everyone says 'don't kill sharks' and then forgets about all the flora and fauna being decimated elsewhere in Australia...

Jeeez what? This is a reference to Scotland saying how you can give off the 'hiding something' vibe if you've never been married, which I disagree with. However never had a serious girlfriend in your life? Unless you're a huge rooter it definitely is going to be a bit weird.

Not what I intended to convey. The dude I know that is probably 70 now and never married is a career single to the best of my knowledge.

For people of the boomer generation and older the choice was really marriage or singledom. Pretty rare to find a couple in their 70s or 80s who just decided not to get married.

It's just the societal pressure from others that force a lot of people into marriage. "Oh, you've been with your boyfriend 5 years and you're still not married? Does he even love you?" Then the females get all jealous because their friend who has been together half as long is now engaged, it just makes no sense to me.
As someone that is in a long term relationship the pressure from other couples to get married is ridiculous. If you're the type of person who is constantly saying "you guys are next" to your friends then you probably need to be told you're a campaigner. Same goes with having children, jesus, does my head in.

This. All my married friends and especially their partners always ask 'so when are you two going to get married?'. Its like for them its unnatural to get married, whereas i think its a thing people are raised in thinking they have to get married.

Ive got no interest in getting married much to the annoyance of my missus but I ask her to explain why she wants to and her answer is all about how socially its better and so on.

She also says im less likely to walk away from the relationship if we are married which:
a. annoys me as ive never thought of leaving and tells me she probably has thought of it and;
b. if I decide im not invested in this relationship anymore then nothing will stop me ending it/walking away, least of all marriage.

This. All my married friends and especially their partners always ask 'so when are you two going to get married?'. Its like for them its unnatural to get married, whereas i think its a thing people are raised in thinking they have to get married.

'When are you going to meet someone and settle down?' - yeah not sure not a psychic
'When are you getting married?' - none of your business
'When are you having kids?' - none of your business
'So you got married but you're not having kids, why did you get married then?' - FFFFFUUUU

Ive got no interest in getting married much to the annoyance of my missus but I ask her to explain why she wants to and her answer is all about how socially its better and so on.

She also says im less likely to walk away from the relationship if we are married which:
a. annoys me as ive never thought of leaving and tells me she probably has thought of it and;
b. if I decide im not invested in this relationship anymore then nothing will stop me ending it/walking away, least of all marriage.

I do feel for the women because they no doubt cop more pressure to get married and gestate but the reasons why they care about it are for the most part, based on others perceptions. It's probably the thing that does my head in the most, if the reasoning was personal then thats cool but if it's just because you're the only one out of your friends group who isn't married, then that's not the right reason.

Also, people drop like 40K on weddings (thats probably mid-range). Even at 10K (which is a povo wedding) it seems like such a terrible financial decision to make.

I do feel for the women because they no doubt cop more pressure to get married and gestate but the reasons why they care about it are for the most part, based on others perceptions. It's probably the thing that does my head in the most, if the reasoning was personal then thats cool but if it's just because you're the only one out of your friends group who isn't married, then that's not the right reason.

Also, people drop like 40K on weddings (thats probably mid-range). Even at 10K (which is a povo wedding) it seems like such a terrible financial decision to make.
shit we must have been sub povo then

I reckon having kids is fairly overrated if you can recognise the fact that it's a biological impulse. The kids will probably turn out average like most people. A lot of people become pretty boring when they have them in my experience.

34 and never married. It's kind of weird, but I think I want kids more than I want a wife. Sort of like an Adam Sandler in Big Daddy situation. The kid would help me pick up hotties at the supermarket. :D
Fair call. I'm married with 1 kid and a golden retriever. Both are pussy magnets. Bit of a catch 22, can't take advantage of their magnetism but would never have had either of them if I was single.

shit we must have been sub povo then
What did you get for less than 10K? Asking for a mate.

Fair call. I'm married with 1 kid and a golden retriever. Both are pussy magnets. Bit of a catch 22, can't take advantage of their magnetism but would never have had either of them if I was single.
I can understand the not having a kid when single but am a little bit concerned about why it wasn't possible to have a dog single.