Never Married

• Thread starter Thread starter james Dean

People are complicated.

My advice to any AFL player with a long term girlfriend or wife would be to knock her up quicksmart. Have a couple of children and then sit down with a developmental psych once you leave the game and be the man your children need you to be for them to grow into great people, be super-dad. Walk them to school, coach every junior team. Even if your relationship with their mother doesn't work out you have a full time purpose that's never going away.

That is absolutely horrific advice imo. Granted if they want children go for it but to just do it so they hang on post career is gambling with their elongated retirement years.

I'd be encouraging them to enjoy the game and opportunity for what they are and keep an eye on the future. If they are a star they can basically set themselves up for life and have options galore on the type of life they want when they retire. Having something to look forward to and charting their direction of their future life is far more exciting then locking down to family at a young age.

If they are the majority of players who will only be on a list 4 or so years. I'd say use some of your cash for property/investments that enable you to be your own boss and chart your direction in life. When it all goes **** up (which it will for most) just have a plan you can fall back on and attack a new purpose. For the love of God don't knock a groupie or the new girlfriend up.

I dont buy this 'don't find them attractive' bullshit.

Most people would root most other people if they were being 100% honest to their desires rather than whatever ****** up bullshit is going on between their ears.
"Hes too young for me", "Shes a vegan", "Hes unemployed", "Shes too old" "Pointy elbows" "Tattoos" "Bit fat" "Haircut"...

"Not exactly my type"

STFU!

Most men would.
Reckon women are more fussy and are not as naturally promiscuous as men/hard wired to find everyone attractive. But if they do then sure agree with above.

The not my type unemployed/pointy elbows etc is because they don't want to get attached/fhave a relationship/lose status in front of their mates/friendship group etc. But if you're just talking about the bolded tend to agree. Why else are there secret relationships, secret affairs etc.

I don’t necessarily read it that way . Being an eagles player comes with a lot of travel /time away from home , and with retirement , the time actually spent together increases (and may draw out issues which may not have been apparent when they were either busy with footy , or on holiday mood in the off -season)

Travel 10 times interstate a year for a night or 2 at most. Hardly think that's excessive.

Said it before and said it again, but if you marry a footballer you're probably an idiot and if you're a footballer and marry one of those chicks, you too are an idiot.

I still remember the four or five Eagles and Dockers players who wilted away and got delisted and within a year all their wives and partners had called off their relationships. They all went onto lawyers or doctors. Absolutely shameful and it goes to prove you don't have to be grounded-intelligent to be a lawyer... imagine going out with some girl who got with an AFL footballer then dumped them when their money and relevance dried up. Unreal.

The whole thing is so grotty. Very incestuous circle. Gross.

A certain 'nice guy' snippy little shit captain apparently stole the girlfriend of an 18-year old who walked into the club and was out four games and two years later. Shit bloke.

That's beady eyes? Kristen Bell is stunning. I assumed you meant like Crash Bandicoot type stuff. Can you post an example of the perfect eyes in your opinion, interested to see.

Kristen Bell in the movie Lifeguard, damn son.

Claire Forlani. Meet Joe Black is worth watching just for how effortlessly beautiful she is in that movie (also just a great and underrated movie)

149408e9495dc742c7fce1b8eb2919fd.jpg

lol feeling sorry for dumb **** footballers on 70
Claire Forlani. Meet Joe Black is worth watching just for how effortlessly beautiful she is in that movie (also just a great and underrated movie)

149408e9495dc742c7fce1b8eb2919fd.jpg
I read this movie as 'Mighty Joe Young.' Which was the first movie that ever made me cry.

This chick is pretty hot though. What's sexier, girls' tees with the short sleeves or girls in boxy boy ones? Jury's out.

Also how good are eyes? Good for seeing but also on other people they're very attractive.

Women have to worry about being r*ped on a level heterosexual men rarely do.
Because men don't get king hit or intimidated?

FFS I know blokes who are 6'5 and have been choked, threatened without doing anything wrong. What about the average shitkicker?

Because men don't get king hit or intimidated?

FFS I know blokes who are 6'5 and have been choked, threatened without doing anything wrong. What about the average shitkicker?
What has that got to do with rape?

Men have to worry on a conceptual level. In that you **** up/step out of line with what society expects/be the wrong enemy of someone you will be thrown in jail to be violently beaten/tortuted/assaulted and lets face it r*ped by a bunch of psychos. And that it was what Law and Order is all about. Obey the rules (both reasonable and good as well as arbitrary bullshit to protect the rich) or you are literally and figuratively ******.

Women have to be cautious and worry on a day to day basis.
Mate I don't worry about being thrown in jail because I don't do things that will land me there

Sure sometimes walking down the street I worry about danger but I'm a lot less danger and worry a lot less often, to the point it's just not comparable and I'm sick of people trying to compare it

Me neither. But when everyone is getting chucked in for every which way (as per certain political policy) and if you have to defend yourself then what.

Don't think this happens in Australia. Hard enough to see any lengthy prison time even if you do commit violent crimes.

Women definitely a bit more prudish than the gents as a collective.

Social views stuck in the past don't help either.

Nobody '**** shames' a woman like another woman.

Sent from mTalk

Just to clarify- im not crying over "waaa I dont have a bf"- its kind of other stuff too, like the rift thats pretty much divided my family in half (over money what else)- and just other shit. It's getting better tho, I guess.

I work with kids too. I love it and i think that definitely helps that I will 99% most likely never have them myself.
Do't you work with high school kids? That should be enough to convince anyone not to want kids.
Therapy can be really beneficial if you've spent a lot of time tightening yourself up in coping mechanisms to the point where you have a distorted view of either yourself, the world around you or both.
Oh, I've been in coping mode for 40+ years. But have (I believe, but I would) a perfectly reasonable view of the world and myself. Both are completely ****ed, just in my case without the actual f'ing. Therapy helped get me past highly regular suicidal thoughts a couple of years ago (now only a serious consideration once every few months on average) but has no chance of anything more.

Don't tend to keep count.

But women tend to want to get to know a man/partner well/or at least build a rapport as opposed to men in general
That's a pretty old fashioned generalisation

It might be your experience, no idea, but it's not true

But women tend to want to get to know a man/partner well/or at least build a rapport as opposed to men in general
They can find out everything they need to know with a quick facebook check. High status guy? DTF.

If this is news to you, then you will be amazed on the first occasion you go out at night with a high status guy.

Especially if he is good-looking.