New age customer service linguistics.....

My Monday mornings dripping the kids to school is about a 50-60 minute drive. I usually leave early and beat most of the traffic across town.
My son doenst mind getting in early, but my daughter can't due to primary school restrictions.
So we go the cafe near my son's school so I can sit for about 20min, and she can have a hot chocolate.
She's been a bit intolerant to milk, so I figured she likes a weak milky tea,less milk then a hot chocolate.
So I order, can I please have a black tea with lots of milk.
She looks at me like I'm stupid and says what?
Black tea with some milk.
Oh we only have green tea, this tea , that tea , English breakfast, Earl Grey , blah blah.

I say Yea I don't mind as long it's black, Lipton ok with me too

She says we don't have black tea?

Well English breakfast or early grey then. FMD

My face don't hide my feelings, until the owner stepped in and said to her black tea is English breakfast or earl grey .
Dumb asses

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Do you go to pubs and order a beer?

Vic country pubs, back in the day, that's exactly what you did. They only had Carlton Draught on tap. "Two beers" got you 2 7oz glasses. If you wanted pots you had to specify. :)

Beer in a 7 oz? Barely enough to wet the tongue!

They reckoned it didn't go flat or warm

Well yeah, it wouldn't last long enough to go warm or flat, along with the skinny glass helping with the carbonation.

I can't imagine it worked out well for the hip pocket though or frequency of going back for another round.

I'm doing private tutoring for extra cash atm and when i go over classwork with these kids I am astounded at how lenient some teachers are with spelling and grammar. I understand that some kids struggle and need extra help (thats why I'm there) but surely going 'good enough'*tick!* is not the best approach? Why not just correct it??

Although being in a classroom recently has made it clear that some teachers themselves don't know basic english.

I don't know any teachers but I bet they don't just correct issues because they have 30 papers to mark every night and they can't be bothered putting in the time to mark everything perfectly as the majority of kids won't even review their mistakes.

My response: Did you get your ******* tea or not?

Just like the cafe worker doesn't care or know about your personal life you don't know or care about hers. So why the drama? Did you get your tea or not?
You sound like your in the service industry.
Take pride in your work and don't be a dumb ass forever trapped as a disposable casual

You sound like your in the service industry.
Take pride in your work and don't be a dumb ass forever trapped as a disposable casual

I don't work in the service industry. I'll always do my best @ work.

Being employed however by a boss/customer does not give someone else the right to treat you like shit thou. Just hate the saying the customer is always right because its total bullshit.

Yea maybe

The girl should have had more of a clue nonetheless though and maybe asked if there was any particular brand you prefer. I think it is reflective more of lack of training than anything else.

The thing that always gets me is the mini heart attack all retail/fast food workers have when you grab the EFTPOS terminal from their hand to insert your card. Or the annoyed groan when you say "savings please, just needs to be inserted" and they stand their constantly tapping their card for like a minute before giving in

I'd say 'black tea' is a term that most people would not be familiar with, and would just refer to english breaky, earl grey or whatever by their name. Especially confusing as Lipton sells one of their teas as just 'black tea'

People **** tea names up all the time. Most people think 'white tea' is black tea with milk.

Look, I'm not gonna lie, I only drink Bushell's Blue Label black tea, not a fan of any others. Wouldn't have any idea if a cafe even stocks that or how to order it, so without embarrassing myself, I just don't order it and get the old flat white instead. Need to educate myself on all that lingo now that I'm in the older half of my 20's I think.
Same as when I first moved down from Darwin and was copping a pounding with uni exams, my mate took me to a fancy bar in the city. I ordered "a beer", copped a mouthful from the barman about the 30 different hills brewed beers with different fillings etc. on tap, and I honestly felt like old mate from the Smarter White ads by saying "I just want a beer that tastes like real beer".

Look, I'm not gonna lie, I only drink Bushell's Blue Label black tea, not a fan of any others. Wouldn't have any idea if a cafe even stocks that or how to order it, so without embarrassing myself, I just don't order it and get the old flat white instead. Need to educate myself on all that lingo now that I'm in the older half of my 20's I think.
Same as when I first moved down from Darwin and was copping a pounding with uni exams, my mate took me to a fancy bar in the city. I ordered "a beer", copped a mouthful from the barman about the 30 different hills brewed beers with different fillings etc. on tap, and I honestly felt like old mate from the Smarter White ads by saying "I just want a beer that tastes like real beer".

View attachment 698799
only 2% fat

I hate customer service personnel who ignore me when I'm standing at the counter. They seem to be able to look everywhere except the most likely place they would see a customer, then if you say "excuse me" they suddenly look right at you. Their speech idiosyncrasies don't bother me as much as this shit.

Pubs should have a default beer they pour when someone just asks for a beer. Like how Maccas will default give you sweet&sour sauce with your nugs if you don't specify.

In Darwin , you'd ask for a "beer" and they'd pour a Carlton Dry or Carlton Draught without saying anything else. Those were the easy days

What would you accept as a 'default' beer? Presumably an inoffensive tasting lager like a Tooheys

Yeah not something too bogan, but nothing on the higher end either. I'd say a Hahn SuperDry is a good compromise haha