mansize rooster

kangas
lets make this thread for new bands that you have been digging and want everyone to here.

i'll start it off.

grand archives
http://www.myspace.com/grandarchives

seems like they only have 4 songs out,but they sound very smoking. its real 'dreamy pop' at its finest. the vocals are smooth and the sound is fantastic for demos. they are on the famous subpop label now, who are more known these days for there more glorious pop.

over to you guys..

cool thread, i was planning to start something similar... eventually...

here's my hot tip:

Mercy Arms
I saw these blokes last year, when they supported the Strokes and they were terrific. Then they dropped off the face of the earth for 12 months. Now they've finally released a new EP and it's pretty damn awesome. They played a set last friday at the Northcote Social Club and it was the best 12 bucks I've spent in ages. Their lead singer has this ethereal quality about him. Just superb and I seriously reckon they'll be massive in two-three years.
Get on it!
http://www.myspace.com/mercyarms

yeah mercy arms are tops. supported pixies to. and 'the horrors' over in the uk. the songs have the power of the first bloc party ep/album. hope the albums as good.

Check out my band! (see below)
Will release our debut album in the next 2-3 months.

Shameless self-plug over.

Check these guys out:

SYDONIA

Unique, Heavy but also ambient and ethereal. Massively dynamic and contrasting. Can be bonecrunchingly intense, but beautiful and wistful in the next second. Supported Lamb of God and then Stone Sour here in Oz, and SS loved them so much they asked them to tour the States with them. Are there as we speak. Check 'em out, very worthy and hard working Melbourne band....

http://www.myspace.com/sydonia

I'm the king at finding good new bands.

Old Man River-Get the album "Good Morning".
Hard Fi-Not exactly new but they're awesome. New album "Once Upon a Time in the West" is out October but you can get it now if you know where to look
Switches-Album's called "H.E.A.R.T. Tuned to Dead"

cool thread, i was planning to start something similar... eventually...

here's my hot tip:

Mercy Arms
I saw these blokes last year, when they supported the Strokes and they were terrific. Then they dropped off the face of the earth for 12 months. Now they've finally released a new EP and it's pretty damn awesome. They played a set last friday at the Northcote Social Club and it was the best 12 bucks I've spent in ages. Their lead singer has this ethereal quality about him. Just superb and I seriously reckon they'll be massive in two-three years.
Get on it!
http://www.myspace.com/mercyarms

I am seeing them tonight at the Rocket Room :)

Check these guys out:

SYDONIA

Wow, if "No Woman's Land" is anything to go by, these guys suck arse. Incredibly boring and simplistic garbage. Verse (which consists of two chords), chorus (consisting of three chords), verse, chorus, end. To call it boring would be an understatement.

edit: LOL, "Incoming" and "Sorry" are even worse. Did you actually call this band "unique" and "massively dynamic"? Oh dear.

double edit: Oh, I just saw they have 'Creech' listed in their influences section. That explains your post.

Wow, if "No Woman's Land" is anything to go by, these guys suck arse. Incredibly boring and simplistic garbage. Verse (which consists of two chords), chorus (consisting of three chords), verse, chorus, end. To call it boring would be an understatement.

edit: LOL, "Incoming" and "Sorry" are even worse. Did you actually call this band "unique" and "massively dynamic"? Oh dear.

double edit: Oh, I just saw they have 'Creech' listed in their influences section. That explains your post.

Mate, I think you need to change your name to 'Mr_Arrogant_completely_up_myself'. Would be far more appropriate....

theyre not that new.....but just check out eleventh he reaches london from perth. ****ing amazing.

Mate, I think you need to change your name to 'Mr_Arrogant_completely_up_myself'. Would be far more appropriate....

If you had just said "a decent little nu-metal band", I wouldn't have said anything. But after seeing it described as "unique", "ethereal", "massively dynamic", "bonecrunchingly intense", and "beautiful and wistful", I expected something a little better than this absolute dreck.

Whatever.

I will ask one thing, though. Are you in a band? You would just about have to be a bitter muso who never got anywhere to have such jealousy in you.....

Silversun Pickups are really kool, not sure if they are new though, they could've been around a while now.

I saw "and we thought he was mad" by Sydonia on rage years ago. Thought it was cool. Could never find any of their stuff though, online or in shops. Not that i tried too hard.

Roddy said:
I will ask one thing, though. Are you in a band? You would just about have to be a bitter muso who never got anywhere to have such jealousy in you.....

Yeah I'm super jealous of such an awesome nu-metal band touring with musical geniuses like Stone Sour. That's the very definition of success right there. They're almost as good as Creech.

The Flowers
The Flowers have existed since February 2007. Having started giging at the end of May they are slowly building up a small reputation for putting on a pretty decent live show. They hope to continue playing around Melbourne for the time being and look forward to seeing where it takes them.
Influences: Jeff Buckley, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin
www.myspace.com/wearetheflowers

Pretty talented group of guys, can hear some of there stuff on myspace and on the triple j unearthed website where they have a number of songs ranked in the top 40 nationwide (23rd, 25th and 26th), the highest of any Victorian group.

Yeah I'm super jealous of such an awesome nu-metal band touring with musical geniuses like Stone Sour. That's the very definition of success right there. They're almost as good as Creech.

Yep, you should be. They got selected for the Lamb of God support because Randy heard them and liked them so much he requested them to be on their Aussie tour. From that they got the SS support. SS liked them so much they requested they tour America with them. So, as we speak, they're touring the States, playing to probably somewhere between 1000 and 8,000 people every night, making money from their art, getting massive exposure in the biggest music market on the planet and undoubtedly having the absolute time of their lives.

And then there's you, sitting on your arse at home posting crap about them on Big Footy. Hmmm.........

The Fratellis

Don't know if they are big over in Australia yet but they are gaining a rather large gathering over in Europe (particularly popular in Netherlands) thanks to Chelsea Dagger.

Although it's their best "drinking song" it definetaly isn't their best musically and Costello Music is a fine album. Henrietta (track 1), For the Girl (5) and Ole Black and Blue Eyes (13th and final) are all ripper tracks.

There's something about them as well that has that x-factor in the way that the rolling stones do i reckon, although not to that extent.

Were excellent live when i went to see them the other week. Were easily better than the main act, the Kaiser Chiefs (who weren't too bad but they're just not that great of a band).

But they need to get a single out quickly that catches some attention otherwise they're in danger of being labelled a one hit wonder with Chelsea Dagger, which they are too good of a band to be put in that boat IMO.

The Fratellis

Don't know if they are big over in Australia yet but they are gaining a rather large gathering over in Europe (particularly popular in Netherlands) thanks to Chelsea Dagger.

Although it's their best "drinking song" it definetaly isn't their best musically and Costello Music is a fine album. Henrietta (track 1), For the Girl (5) and Ole Black and Blue Eyes (13th and final) are all ripper tracks.

There's something about them as well that has that x-factor in the way that the rolling stones do i reckon, although not to that extent.

Were excellent live when i went to see them the other week. Were easily better than the main act, the Kaiser Chiefs (who weren't too bad but they're just not that great of a band).

But they need to get a single out quickly that catches some attention otherwise they're in danger of being labelled a one hit wonder with Chelsea Dagger, which they are too good of a band to be put in that boat IMO.
I've been on their bandwagon since the start of this year. One of the best bands going around at the moment. Reason I didn't include them is that I've been pumping them up on this board all year, so they're hardly "new" in that regard :p

Costello Music is an incredibly good album. Not a single bad track. I got the two bonus tracks that came with the Japanese version. One of them, "Cigarello", is easily one of their best songs.