New Breed Kangaroos...

Apr 3, 2000
I think the Recruiting Staff out at Arden St... deserve a damn good slap on the back...

2000 National Draft picks or Rookie list players... only two have not played a senoir... and they will...
Dylan Smith
Daniel Motlop
Corey Jones
Daniel Harris
Daniel Pratt
Drew Petrie
David Teague
Digby Morrell

These young players have been given a chance this year... and all have improved on 2000...
Lindsay Smith
Stuart Cochrane
Brady Rawlings
Shannan Watt
Troy Makepeace
Shannon Motlop

Of the established players recruited to the club...
Sav Rocca... has been very good
Joe Mclaren... has added pace
Jess Sinclair... is still adjusting to the Kangaroos system... time will tell...

The Kangaroos have had 10 debutants so far and we are only up to round 14... I have to think of 1989 to remember being more excited about our future...

IT MAY NOT BE 2001... BUT IT WON'T BE FAR AWAY... MARK MY WORDS...

Sorry to burst your bubble mate, but I reckon North are in for a frustrating few seasons while their top veterans slowly dwindle and eventually disappear. To your management's credit, however, they seem to be focusing much of their efforts on recruiting and blooding young players with relatively good foresight. Hopefully for North, they won't make West Coast's mistakes and cop it as sweetly as we are now.

But without a lot of cash, and with the prospect of losing Pagan next year, I worry for North's future in the depressingly cutthroat corporate world that has become of the AFL.

McKenna for PM... don't worry you haven't burst my bubble... no need to be sorry....

I am very confident that the Kangaroos board will not allow our club to spend any prolonged length of time outside the top 4... and I am just as confident that Pagan is North through and through... and as stated many times will be staying at the Kangaroos...

Agree with most of your players Rooboy but the selectors deserve slapping for recruiting Sinclair...just a freo dud with no ticker and double slapping for drafting Ricky O..Mclaren has been ok and Sav has had his moments.
Harris,Smith and Pratt need to step up next year...Stevo and Harvey are doing all the work with Adam Simpson and Blakey as our run with taggers...might work against the bottom teams but not against Ess or Carlton...we need more class runners...Cochrane and Rawlings cant cut it against the Misiti's,Johnsons and Camperoele type players.
We need another class forward to help the king..the poor bastard is having to play with injuries and sooner or later he is going to be stuffed on a permanent basis...McKernan is not reliable and Sav isnt the answer.
Troy makepeace is one of my fav players but makes a better backpocket than midfielder.
Shannon Watt and Adam Lange are players who could still make it..I have always liked Lange and feel he doesnt get a good enough go in the seniors...
2001 wont be the year but 2002/3 could be when the joey's leave the pouch and a new era of Roo dominance will emerge.

Crikey... I get told I am pre-occupied with Essendon when I bag the Dons... I get told I am pre-occupied with Collingwood when I bag the Pies... and now I am not allowed to write about my own club... Thuck make up your mind....

Originally posted by Kingy
Agree with most of your players Rooboy but the selectors deserve slapping for recruiting Sinclair...just a freo dud with no ticker and double slapping for drafting Ricky O..Mclaren has been ok and Sav has had his moments.
Harris,Smith and Pratt need to step up next year...Stevo and Harvey are doing all the work with Adam Simpson and Blakey as our run with taggers...might work against the bottom teams but not against Ess or Carlton...we need more class runners...Cochrane and Rawlings cant cut it against the Misiti's,Johnsons and Camperoele type players.
We need another class forward to help the king..the poor bastard is having to play with injuries and sooner or later he is going to be stuffed on a permanent basis...McKernan is not reliable and Sav isnt the answer.
Troy makepeace is one of my fav players but makes a better backpocket than midfielder.
Shannon Watt and Adam Lange are players who could still make it..I have always liked Lange and feel he doesnt get a good enough go in the seniors...
2001 wont be the year but 2002/3 could be when the joey's leave the pouch and a new era of Roo dominance will emerge.

Hi Kingy... firstly Ricky O was always a gamble... Mr Pagan has wanted him at the club since 94... I say after two flags... let Denis have some fun...

Harris Smith and Pratt are all first year players so they probably will take the next step next year... Cochrane will replace Blakey in a few years... and Rawlings is getting better and better... remember he is only a skinny little kid...

Sav and Corey... Sav has been great... he is playing more as a HFF then a FF... and Corey has only played one bad game since being dropped... and to me anyway looked a changed person...

I personally think Troy is too small for back pocket... and he has to start playing more as a midfielder or he wont be here in three years time...

Watt will be Mickey's replacement and Lange will sadly be traded or delisted I think...

but that is only my opinion....

Originally posted by Rooboy 96
Crikey... I get told I am pre-occupied with Essendon when I bag the Dons... I get told I am pre-occupied with Collingwood when I bag the Pies... and now I am not allowed to write about my own club... Thuck make up your mind....

mate mate mate mate....

ok.. firstly, i never said u couldnt write about your club ok? we all write about our club on here...

but a topic such as this, must be posted on the kangaroos board... thats why you have one!!!

Originally posted by Rooboy 96

I personally think Troy is too small for back pocket... and he has to start playing more as a midfielder or he wont be here in three years time...

Could not agree more. I have said this to him while he was injured and he was itching to get up the ground and take a role and the last 2 games have proved this. A bit to go but he is always improving its great to watch.

Its a shame the former king has become a monk and taken a vow of silence he has at one stage written off every player on our list and playing footy at every level for that matter. His input would have been very constructive. Something like " Gives away 3 goals a week and cant kick 50m" its a shame he has gone but he will be back maybe not under CIK but he will return. He must still read this come on old boy come back. Your knowledge of the great game cant be matched or only by a small child or a twisted mind. Your constant negative comments are leaving a massive hole in our threads. So wipe the egg of your face and join in the fun.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK SKULL !!!

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Listening on radio after Sundays game, it was interesting to hear Harvey make the comment that King, Pickett, and Makepeace had been teaching him the skills of taking the kick after a behind has been conceded.

Clubs pick the players with the most accurate kicking skills to take the kick outs, so those on the coaching staff obviously rate Makepeace's foot skills pretty highly.

Originally posted by Shinboners
Listening on radio after Sundays game, it was interesting to hear Harvey make the comment that King, Pickett, and Makepeace had been teaching him the skills of taking the kick after a behind has been conceded.

Clubs pick the players with the most accurate kicking skills to take the kick outs, so those on the coaching staff obviously rate Makepeace's foot skills pretty highly.

With a range of 40-45 metres, Makepeace's strength is his accurate kicking, which is why I never understood CIK's insistence that he was a turnover merchant.

Originally posted by Howdy
hasnt morrel turned out to be another carey

I am not sure he is a Carey... infact I doubt it very much... There is only one King... but he is quickly turning into a cult figure... the crowd go crazy when he comes off the bench... and his fist pumping... love a young kid with a bit of spirit....

New Breed Kangaroos...